Customer Reviews for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord

Powerful 6.5 Amp Motor; 14" Cultivating Width; Only 17 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
51 of 62(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Review 1 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, California
Date:June 24, 2012

Love My Tiller!

Pros: light enough i can use it with no problem., being electric i can start it., has the ability to do the work of a big tiller
Cons: there are none
Model Number: TJ600E
"I am a 66 year old woman who is in love with Tiller Joe. I bought this several months ago and between my husband and myself we have put Joe to work. Our ground is clay and not easy to work. With a little water sprinkle down this tiller goes through with no problem. Our ground has not been turned over in 20 years and this tiller tears it up with no problem. WE LOVE TILLER JOE!"
Review 2 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West Jordan, UT
Date:June 23, 2012

Worked for a little bit

"I couldnt believe it when i opened up the gear housing that drives the blades, to find the main gear drive is plastic! After using this for about 3 hours, the blades stopped spinning. The blade mount came mostly disconnected from the motor, so i figured that was all that needed to be done, after re-attaching the blade mount, the blades would still not spin, the motor would run, but not the blades.
After disconnecting the blade mount to see if something came disconnected, or what, i saw the plastic gear driver, and saw that it was completely sheared off.
Seems like this will work perfect in soft no-rock soil. If you have rocks, have a hammer on hand to free up jammed rocks. I couldnt go further than 8 feet with this before a rock would get up in the blades, and jam it
I upgraded to the heavy duty model. The motor is much better, but today i just broke a blade, and the plastic handle broke off as well. I am not mistreating, or overusing the product, i am using it in a typical scenario, i just think they are built a little cheap. Will be taking back the heavy duty one now for a refund. Can't say i will buy another one."
Review 3 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California, Los Angeles
Date:June 16, 2012

Worked well at first, then failed on 3rd use

Pros: very powerful
Cons: failed on 3rd use, housing comes loose needed to screw down
"Worked well on outside project. Very powerful on tough terrain and hard dirt. On 3rd usage, motor went out. I was not overly abusive and run time was limited to less than 10hrs total. Screws on housing unit came loose and needed to screw down."
Review 4 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL
Date:June 8, 2012

Can't live without this tiller

Pros: easy to handle, powerful, does an excellent job
Model Number: TJ600E
"I put the tiller together today in about 5 minutes and couldn't believe how lightweight it is. We haven't had rain for a few weeks so I watered the garden and then used the tiller. OMG...it has unbelievable power and went right through the dirt. I could easily handle it and after a few passes it was ready for planting. I have small sections in my flower garden that needed to be tilled and since this is so compact I was easily able to maneuver around the plants. I am just thrilled with the power and performance of this tiller. Just what I needed to make quick work of what usually took hours. I highly recommend this!!! I think folks should keep in mind that this is probably not designed to till ground that's hard as concrete. If you water the area for about 20 minutes (don't make it muddy) it will zoom right through it...that was my experience today. Good luck!"
Review 5 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:June 6, 2012

Disappointiing

Model Number: TJ600E
"Will only till in the softest soil. Would not dig in enough to till my yard so I had to hand turn my yard with a spade and used the Tiller Joe to bust up the dirt clods, so at least I got that out of it. Not worth it."
Review 6 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 4, 2012

Great Tiller. Gets the job done..

Pros: easy to clean. light weight.
"This is my first tiller and i was as skeptical as others. However this was very easy to assemble and was able to use it immediately.
The extension cord is an added bonus from Costco.
Every SPRING we spend days mannually tilling to prepare our flower and vegetable garden. With this tiller we were able to complete our job in 2 hours.
This tiller is easy to use, store and clean.
Great buy.. Would defnitely recommend.
"
Review 7 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:June 3, 2012

Works Great (for a while)

Pros: works well on hard ground, easy to use
Cons: overheats
"I was initially very pleased with the product's results; however in less than 2 hours of intermitten use the motor failed. I guess I got one of the lemons no one wants. Instead of returing the unit to Costco, I went through the Snow Joe company. At first they were going to send me a new replacement motor, but instead they sent me a replacement unit. I received what appeared to be a used, dirty unit to replace the new one I bought. I was dissappointed to say the least."
Review 8 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Feeding Hills, Ma
Date:June 1, 2012

Not good purchase

Pros: easy to put together
Cons: motor no good
"Tiller kept dying after 10 min. Had to wait for the motor to cool. Will be returning tiller and hoping that the 9amp tiller will be a better purchase."
Review 9 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clinton Twp, Mi
Date:May 16, 2012

Tiller Joe does the job

"I had weed whacked my vegetable garden area prior to using it as instruction book said 'for turning in mulch'. Weed and grass roots still covered the whole area.
Tiller Joe went through it all and I was done in about 20 minutes. This was my first time using a tiller and I was very pleased as it would have taken me hours to turn over by hand.
It did not die or overheat. I would highly recommend this to anyone. It was easy to assemble too.
"
Review 10 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:May 6, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

Model Number: TJ600T
"It turns out that I made a great decision when I purchased this product. This tiller is light weight and very easy to put together and do some awesome digging/cultivating. When I used to prepare my backyard garden, I toiled for at least two hours worth of time cleaning grass and weed and then preparing the soil with a spade. That was a daunting task every Spring as my back used to pain for a few days after the cleaning/cultivating. With this machine, I am able to complete the job in about 30 minutes without putting any strain on my back. I really enjoy working in my garden with this machine as it is efficient. The 50 feet extension cord is very practical. It was a very good idea to include that with the machine."
Review 11 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Wa
Date:May 2, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: easy on back, 50 foot elec. extention cord included
Model Number: Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller
"I had a previous electric tiller however; it only had a single handle and was very hard on my back. This tiller has two handles and is a world of difference in the operation. Most of my garden has been previously tilled once per year so I do not know if this tiller will “work-up” really tough soil. In my case it works great and I’m completely satisfied with the purchase. Fast, free delivery was also a big bonus."
Review 12 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:April 26, 2012

Just Perfect Tiller/Cultivator

Pros: handle folds if storage place is limited, just the right weight (17 lbs) for a woman, powered by electricity
Model Number: TJ600E
"The tiller/cultivator arrived promptly after I ordered it on 3/27/12. My husband put it together with minimum effort and commented that it was better manufactured than the previous one I had purchased in another store which only lasted a year and could not be repaired. I enjoy working in my yard and this tiller is easy to use and very powerful. This w/end i planted over 50 hostas, a couple of wisteria and other bushes and was very pleased with its performance. Just perfect for me and the work I have to do around the garden."
Review 13 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2012

Good buy

Pros: lightweight, shipped quickly
Model Number: TJ600E
"I have always wanted a tiller. Hooray for Costco! They offer a great tiller at a reasonable price. My boyfreind put it together. It is fairly light weight so I was able to carry it down through the yard to the garden. Some dirt had been priviously dug with a shovel. Tiller worked great. Saved my knees and back. Garden is planted.
Very happy with tiller!
"
Review 14 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:E. Wenatchee, WA
Date:April 18, 2012

Three cheers for Costco

Pros: every gardner should have one
Cons: don't like the belt clip put cord over shoulder
"I sold my old gas powered tiller last year as it was too hard to handle but this little electric one is a jewel to handle and doesn't beat my old body. I was amazed at what it was able to do when I tilled chopped grass and leaves in my hard sandy soil. I now have 2 large plots for cantaloupe, watermelons and hot peppers. So light and easy to use that I will break more ground."
Review 15 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moses Lake, WA
Date:April 17, 2012

Handy cultivator

Model Number: TJ600E
"The Tiller Joe Plus was easy to assemble. Although not so good for a large job, it is very efficient on a smaller scale. The convenient belt hook for the cord keeps the cord out of the way while tilling."
Review 16 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2012

Tiller died on first use

Pros: easy to handle
Cons: motor failed
"The box arrived damaged. I used it to till the garden area. It worked fine at the start, but ten minutes into it the machine died. I waited another ten minutes and it started, but died 30 seconds later. I will be taking this back. If it didn't die, I would say this is a good tiller. Light weight but a worker! (digs better when you pull it back towards you)"
Review 17 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago,IL
Date:April 13, 2012

Good purchase

Pros: ease of use
Cons: only goes backwards
Model Number: TJ600E
"This tiller is lightweight and very simple to use. It leaves the soil looking fresh and new."
Review 18 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2012

Very happy with 6.5 amp tiller

Pros: easy to set up and use.
"Just got last weekend, so can't rate long-term, but based on first use, I wish I would have purchased last year...or earlier.
Worked through a tough 800 sq.ft planting bed filled with clay & rock soil for two non-stop hours. Occasional large rock (3"+) would wedge between housing and blade and require removing, but blades held shape and no damage to unit housing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:April 12, 2012

Product would not start

Pros: called costco and return and new shipment was on, costco stands behind everything
"My need, sounded good, price right, trusted supplier, etc. Just would not start out of the box. Damaged in shipment ????"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tiller Joe Plus Electric Tiller Added Value: 50' Outdoor Extension Cord
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, Virginia
Date:April 11, 2012

One great lil tiller

Model Number: Joe Plus Electric Tiller
"always had gas tillers. looked at big box tillers. This lil electric is wonderful. It is smaller than the tillers that i am used to which makes it more maneuverable and i can get around easily. The engine is powerful and does the job of my old gas job.
It is a bargain and i am more than pleased.
"
1 2 3 4 next>>