Customer Reviews for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor

Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
9
22 of 39(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Review 1 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 29, 2010

A very good product

Pros: meter display has large easy to read characters., good design and quality, cuff storage holder is a plus
Cons: poor software instructions
Model Number: BP3NB1-1X
"I bought this unit because I wanted one with two person memory capability. I also wanted one with PC software so I could upload the readings for print outs that I could give to my doctor. The instructions for operating the unit are above average and easy to understand. The software instructions a very poor and one would need a good working knowledge of PC's in order to implement and use the software. Once I figured out the correct way to enter patient data and to upload readings from the meter I think the program works pretty well. Some things to be aware of If you buy this unit are: (1) Follow the Sample Patient example when entering data i.e., enter height as "5/9" and not "5-9". It won't take "5-9" and nothing tells you why. (2) Be sure you have the date and time set in the meter before you take any BP readings that you want to upload to your PC. If you don't you will get error messages and no data will be transferred to your PC. (3) Be sure the meter is set to the correct person, (i.e.1 or 2 that is associated with the patient screen on your PC) before beginning a data transfer.
If your not into using a PC and won't use the software then buy one without the software capability. It will cost less and serve you just as well.
I would have given this model a 5 stars if the software was more user friendly."
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 25, 2010

Definitely Accurate.

Pros: accurate, big display, very nice carry case for portability, you can put the bp cuff on by yourself
Cons: alone can't put bp cuff on as tight as i'd like
"I returned the WRIST BP machine because it was not accurate at all. Just slight difference in elevation and the BP would change dramatically.
This one isn't as portable but it's VERY accurate. I am a nurse and I can attest to the accuracy of this machine.
Although not the size of a fist like the previous one, this one DOES come with it's own carrying pouch. Finding that it came with a Pouch was a PLUS. I think it's definitely portable with the pouch, regardless of the size.
The size of the screen wasn't important for me, but I have to say I'm definitely enjoying the HUGE display. My mom uses it also, and there's no way she can't see the numbers. It's so big that it makes it easy for her to know which one is the HR, and which is the BP.
The only thing I'm not too ecstatic about is the ease of putting the cuff on. That was a very important factor for me. I was looking for something that I could possibly just stick my arm into and it'll start working (like the ones at pathmark). If you're by yourself, you can't make it VERY tight, but it'll go around your arm fairly well. It does have a CURVED HARD PLASTIC section that goes around your arm to help you. I think it does a very good job. You won't be fumbling around, trying to put it on. So even if you're by yourself and using it, it might be slightly loose, but the reading is still accurate.
Overall, I'd definitely recommend this."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 4, 2010

Bad Support

Cons: will not replay to e-mail when you need support
Model Number: BP3AC1
"I have had my microlife blood pressure machine for over 2 years even though it is not this model and it gave good readings but their cuffs for apart at the seams and i can not find replacements for it and i have e-mailed microlife a few times and they do not reply back and i have checked health stores and the net and can not find replacement cuffs for this machine and their support is terrible..
I will not buy another one of their machines and will buy a Omron now.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:July 7, 2010

Best BP Unit

Pros: accurate, color display, easy to use
"This unit has it all. A huge color LCD screen, 2 users, averaging, irregular heartbeat detector, hypertension risk indicator and a cuff that fits arms up to 18.1 inches. It's very accurate and best of all, it's so affordable. Great product that I highly recommend!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tennessee
Date:March 9, 2010

Microlife Makes A Great Monitor

Pros: big colorful display, highly accurate, great price
"This Microlife meter is great. The display is very large, colorful and so easy to read. But even more important, I can trust the readings, it is very accurate. At this price it is far better than anything on the market."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2010

Best Blood Pressure Machine

"I have used several BP machines over the years and this is the best I have come across. Very easy to use and comfortable. The lighted display is a plus at night and the cluff clip keeps it organized."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:August 11, 2010

Blood pressure reading too high

"I love the look, the display and the software that comes with the unit. The only issue is that the readings so far have been wrong. I was getting very concerned with very high readings for everyone in the family. My wife and I both had are pressures checked by medical staff and they were perfect. I do understand that readings can varied all day long but all the readings from the unit have been approximaly 20 points high.
I'll be reviewing the manual to see if it has a way to calibrate the unit. I'll also check and see if software updates can be done and are available. If it can be fixed I'll be returning it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cambria, CA
Date:November 23, 2010

Liked but Just Not Accurate

Pros: easy to operate and read.
Cons: records 20 - 30 points high
Model Number: Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor Item #498045
"Purchased and tracked our pressures for one week. Concerned since numbers very high and then matched with doctors manual instrument. The Microlife consistantly registered 30 pts high on the sys. and 20 high on the dia. Originally bought Microlife because Costco Pharmacist uses one, now returning the Microlife for on Omron which the nurse at my Doctors Office uses."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:August 31, 2010

Not Reliable

"First reading was probably correct, next 8 were widely variable. After 4 times with pressure over 215 lbs, I packed it up and returned it."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:May 25, 2011

Easy to read display

Pros: nice display, handy storage case
Cons: painful cuff
Model Number: BP3NB1-1X
"I like the easy to read display and the fact that the machine is easy to use, but the cuff is NOT friendly. The preformed cuff has a hard plastic core that does not unkink to actually fit my arm so I get dig marks every time I use it. I've tried laying the cuff flat to try and uncurl it but that only lasts for one use. Because the cuff is hard to get on properly due to that hard plastic core the measurements aren't always accurate since it doesn't want to stay put, so I have to do it 2 or 3 times to get a good reading. If they would make a better cuff I'd give this 5 stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, Oregon
Date:February 23, 2011

Use With Caution

Pros: ease of use, good software
Cons: accuracy issues
Model Number: BP3NA1-1X
"The Microlife Premium BP Monitor is extremely easy to use. The software is informative, helpful, and the printed data was easily e-mailed to my physician.
I read the posted reviews prior to my purchase. Several suggested there was an accuracy issue. I can confirm, with the help of my physician, that the unit I purchased has accuracy problems. After 30 days of use, It sporadically read high by 10-15 points. At other times it was accurate.
Use this product with caution. Have your physician test the unit 1st."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Emerson, NJ
Date:July 3, 2011

Best Blood Pressure Monitor

Pros: easy to use, reliable, good value
Model Number: BP3NB1-1X
"I have owned, and used, many blood pressure monitors, and this is by far the best. It is accurate, easy to use, and has great computer software associated with it. It has many improvements over the Microlife older model, which I have been using, namely: ability to record two separate user histories, nicer display, more convenient cuff, storage for cuff, etc. My one recommendation for improving next year's model: provide a simpler, one touch, switch for switching users."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011

Really wish it worked

Pros: usb connection, software, easy logging
Cons: accuracy, consistancy, did i say accuracy?
"I have had two of these units. I selected them because of the computer interface. The first unit was ridiculously high and went back in a few hours.
The second unit was lower but sometimes very inconsistent and today in a heads up comparison at my doctor's...
The doctor got... 128/72 The Microlife got 153/91... Back to Costco it goes. I'll try an Omron this time. I will just have to keep a manual log."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Cal
Date:August 11, 2010

is accurate and works easily

Pros: serves purpose
Cons: drop the extras
"The 'software/extras' is confusing but the main purpose of reading blood pressure and HR works great. It is the same unit used in my Cardiologist's office when I go there for routine check ups. If you get some advice as to how to take pressures and what variables there are, the previous comments show lack of knowledge not any problem with the machine. For the money it is a great deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:July 21, 2011

Cuff Issue

"I was impressed by the monitor's features and design except for its fatal flaw, the cuff. The rigid cuff was fine for me (thin arms, no muscle) but did not conform to my son's arm (average circumference with defined muscle). I returned to Costco because we could not get a valid reading on my son. My local Costco accepted the return, no problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lawrence, NY
Date:November 3, 2010

Great display, hard to adhere cuff

Pros: good large readout easy controls
Cons: hard to get the cuff on properly - unassisted
"I found the cuff with its enforced curvature difficult to get a tight enough fit for an accurate reading. THe directions should advise that your arm be flat on a table top, if not, the slightest flex of the bicep will cause there to be too much give. Difficult to do on your own - and if you need help, what's the purpose?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2011

SCARED ME TO DEATH

"THE MONITOR SHOWED A READING OF 210/90 AND 212/86. I TOOK THE MONITOR TO THE DOCTOR WITH ME. SHE TOOK MY BLOOD PRESSURE ATA HER OFFICE AND IT WAS 139/82. THEN I TOOK MY BLOOD PRESSURE WITH THE MICROLIFE MONITOR AND IT WAS 210/90.
I WILL RETURN IT TO COSTCO UPON MY NEXT VISIT.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:August 11, 2010

Disappointed

Pros: large clear screen, good software
Cons: doubtful accuracy, difficult to put on with one hand.
"Excellent screen, good software program but the units accuracy widely disagreed with the blood pressure readings that my cardiologist's office has been getting.
The arm cuff is also clumsy and somewhat difficult to put on with one hand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamiah, Idaho
Date:March 11, 2011

Microlife Premium Auto. Blood Pressure Monitor

Pros: cuff fits both very small & very lge. arms., it alerts you to irreg. heartbeats.
Cons: it's a little awkward to put on my arm correctly.
Model Number: BP3NB1-1X
"This is a remarkable blood pressure monitor. It's easy to use and has big numbers that are easy to read. It'll track 2 persons BPs separately and comes with a computer program to store your readings and upload them to your physician."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Microlife® Premium Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:March 17, 2011

Disappointing and difficult

Pros: large display, ac and dc
Cons: cup is terrible
"Found the unit easy to read and use along with the software. But, the cup is almost impossible to put on correctly by yourself. It slides around the bicep because of the pre-form cup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>