Customer Reviews for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical

18" Stride Length, Commercial-grade Steel Construction, iPod® Compatible Music Port
Average Customer Rating:
2.842 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
8
10 of 19(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Review 1 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santee, CA
Date:May 8, 2010

INCOMPETENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

Pros: pretty sturdy construction
Cons: terrible customer service and lousy console!
Model Number: EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
"So I ordered this online from Costco (I love Costco!) and it arrived with no issues. I received it and assembled it with relative ease except that it was heavy!(!!!) to get out of the box, etc. I was very excited to jump on and try it out, and then the lousy console never turned on. Being a reasonable person, I called the manufacturer and asked when they could have a new console to me. They said they didn't know. I called back in a couple of weeks and asked again - they said they thought it would be about a month from then. Well, this process went on for about THREE MONTHS until I finally gave up and took the thing back to Costco fully assembled - lifting the 280 pounder was great on my back, by the way... To the manufacturer's credit they said they would 'restart' (but would not extend it to make up for the inconvenience) the one year warranty once I got it working and they sent me a very cheap Ipod adapter in an effort to make things less irritating - it didn't work. I thought the build on this thing was great except for the console, but I will never, ever, ever again buy another Epic product. EVER...."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mount Prospect Il
Date:March 9, 2010

Good Elliptical

Pros: easy to put together, easy to use, preprogrammed workouts are good
Cons: at high rpm's it wobbles a little
Model Number: EPIC EL 2790
"Good overall machine. At higher RPM's it wobbles a little, but the mechanism is smooth, and the preset workouts are good. I use it daily.
It arrived in a timely fashion, and was easy to put together. It seems well built.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:April 21, 2010

Worst purchase

Pros: reasonably priced
Cons: poor quality, noise
Model Number: Epic EL 2980
"I read the reviews before i purchased this elliptical. Delivered in time. Problems came in when opened the box. A defect part was found and cannot fit in the joint of the other part. We called Costco and the company. The replacement was shipped in after a week. We enjoyed the ellipitical for a week, then hammering noise started on the right handle side. We tried to fix it by applying some lubricant. However, it is unexpectedly so difficult to dissemble the handles because of the cheap design. We tried to loose the screw on one end, the screw on the other end turned with it. After finally solving the dissembling issue and applied some lubricant around the joints, the noise still remains. We hope to return the machine, it will be a great hassle to dissemble and move the heavy parts to the store ......"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2010

Well-Made Elliptical,

Pros: quiet and takes relatively small space
Model Number: EPEL 66809
"I reviewed several machines from different sellers. So far, it seems I made a good choice. After a minor problem was corrected, everything operates great. Costco Customer Serv and Icon customer Serv did excellent followup. I'm a happy camper. Love my elliptical. My wife and I use it daily."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 26, 2010

Excellent Customer Service

Pros: responsive customer service, durable product
Model Number: EL 2980
"Had one minor problem with the EL2980. Epic's customer service was excellent-they answered their phones, sent out a replacement part immediately and had a local technician follow up and offer to install replacement part at my home. Was easy enough I did it myself."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 3, 2010

Good Value

Pros: all the features of a more expensive unit, fast delivery, size smaller than most
Cons: need at least 2 people to put together, shorter stride
Model Number: EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
"Wow, it has some great features for this price. I love the fan and the automatic incline, oh, and the speakers are great.
It was a bear to put together.My son and I
got it upstairs, piece by piece. We started to assemble it, things were going great until the last couple of parts. We had a few "choice words" for that part. I thought we were going to have to give up, but with persistence, and alittle calming down, we got it.
I love the thing!! This one is smaller than most, only 64' long-that was a selling point for me since I am short on space.
I also bought the mat that Costco sells, you will need a good one, and it works great too.
No trouble with the console at all. Large numbers easy to read.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Acworth, GA
Date:January 12, 2011

DO NOT BUY EPIC

Model Number: EL2980
"We have had this machine for less than a year and it has already broken twice. DO NOT BUY EPIC anything. They have the worst customer service ever. If you have a problem you have to wait up to a week for a technician to call and schedule an appointment and then wait another 1-2 weeks for your appointment. If they have to order a part, it gets ordered and once the part comes in they call you to schedule another appointment. So another 1-2 weeks of waiting and hoping that this fixes the problem. First our console went out after about 2 months of use. It took about 1 month to get that fixed, then a bolt that holds the main part of the machine together got stripped. This happened over a month ago and still nothing. I called Epic today and they said they have to send it on to product resolution and this can take 2-3 weeks. ARE YOU SERIOUS!?!? This is just for them to make a decision about what they are going to do. Replace my entire machine or 2/3 of it. I am not a large person, I weigh about 145 and I'm the only one that uses it so all I can conclude is that their products are as terrible as their customer service."
Review 8 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waldorf, MD
Date:April 15, 2010

What I needed for intense cardio

Pros: easy to assemble, variable incline, smooth forward motion, simple yet complete display & console, great sound from internal mp3 speakers, built in fan
Cons: no way to enter body weight for more accurate cals, heart rate monitor is fussy, slightly choppy in reverse
Model Number: EPIC EL 2790
"This elliptical is exactly what my wife and I needed to exercise at home and still be able to watch our newborn. It was delivered in about a week and a half. Assembly was simple and took an hour. I recommend a ratchet with a bit driver since some of the allen bolts need more force than a hand wrench can provide. Once set up, the unit is very simple to use.
MP3 connection and internal speakers are fantastic and sound great. The built in fan keeps me comfortable and has minimal noise. Console is easy to use and read. Motion of the wheel is very smooth in the forward direction. Unit is stable and level. Variable incline adds another facet of resistance and is something that not all ellipticals have. Make sure you have eight foot ceilings so you don't run out of room on the max incline.
I noticed there is no provision to enter your weight, so the calories burned display is really an estimate. The heart rate monitor is a little touchy, but I'm getting the hang of it. The reverse motion is a little different, but still effective.
All in all: great machine for the price, good programming. You'll get the exercise you need!"
Review 9 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:June 21, 2010

Great machine

Model Number: Epic EL 2790 Elliptical
"I was hesitant to place my order after reading a few of the reviews. I decided to order it anyways because I've been looking for an elliptical that has automatic incline at a great price and couldn't fine one. I've been using my machine now for just over a month. It's very smooth, the speakers sound great. The incline also works just fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 16, 2010

Poor quality elliptical

Pros: looks good
Cons: not a good machine poor quality parts, terrible customer service
Model Number: EL2980
"After they set up the elliptical I noticed the console was not working. I am not sure if the installers checked the machine. Since then I have been trying to call the ICON customer service they donot answer the phone. I even left a number to call as they instructed but no call back.
I will return the machine and get another brand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:May 21, 2010

Very pleased!!

Pros: smooth
Model Number: Epic 2790 elliptical
"I bought this machine originally for my wife but i decided to also use it. Very smooth. I love the upper-body exercise and the automatic incline. The ipod speakers are a nice bonus. It took about 1.5 hours to assemble; I'm not the most mechanically-inclined. I'd recommend, especially for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, California
Date:July 2, 2010

better HIRE a PRO to assemble

Model Number: EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
"after reading all the reviews... good and bad.. i still bought this because it was from Costco.
i was desperate to get an elliptical for the house.
the delivery was very fast. i was expecting it not till 2 weeks from now, surprised to get a call from the Freight yesterday.. they delivered it today.
to my excitement, i opened the box myself. assembled the elliptical myself.. i spent almost half day doing this.. and still NOT yet done..
putting it together is a WHOLE LOT OF WORKOUT.. it is very very HEAVY!!!!
i'm down to my last 2 parts.. and it is NOT going in, i am waiting for my husband to put the last pieces in.
I AM SO TIRED.
If you are planning to buy this, get a pro to assemble it. save you the stress .. unless you want to start your work out already."
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:April 20, 2010

Poor quality elliptical

Cons: poor workmanship, ineffective customer service from the manufacturer
"I bought this for myself as an upgrade to a Proform Elliptical machine, thinking this was a better grade product. How wrong I was, after 6 months I still have not gotten the console to work. It neither counts down nor does it display the programs. I have contacted the manufacturer, who sent me a new console. Still same problem, each time I was told it might be something else, take it apart again, adjust this, we'll send you this part, etc.... Since this product does not include the assembly service the burden of getting it to work is on the consumer. After knowing this product inside out and still not getting it to work, I am returning it. I caution everyone who would actually like to work out on this, rather than tinker with its assembly to stay away...."
Review 14 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Falls Church, VA
Date:December 14, 2010

Looks good so far.

Pros: great looking machine
Cons: i hated the curb side delivery though.
Model Number: EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
"I think this is a great piece of equipment. It took me 2 hours to put it together and isn’t that hard if directions are followed properly. However, it would be great if the manufacturer would name or number the parts. I would also recommend the manufacturer to put out an assembly video as well which would make it much more easier for the customers.
I am 150lbs and the machine wobbles when the speed increases, the base is not sturdy enough other than that it looks great. I just put it together yesterday; let’s see how great of a machine it is.
BTW, Costco should remain the way it used to be. Curb side delivery for an item like this is not reasonable at all."
Review 15 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:January 21, 2011

Console very user unfriendly

Model Number: EL 2980/ EPEL 69908
"The machine itself works fine but I am on our 2nd console (Intermix Acoustics 2.0) and it is very difficult to navigate through. I have had to call several times and had one repair visit after they mailed a replacement console. I cannot get it to keep a decent journal. Some of that may be due to the difficulty in navigating the console. I am considering asking COSTCO to take the darn thing back and get a different brand."
Review 16 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Roseville,Ca.
Date:April 19, 2010

Somewhat disappointed after 3 weeks

Pros: reliability questions, more testing befor shipping
Model Number: EPIC El 2790
"Except for excessive fan noise , we loved the performance for 3 weeks untill the EPIC 2790 elliptical started making hammering noise when I used it! My wife had no problem as she weights about half my weight. I'm at 205 lbs.So called for service and now waiting for a new fan and maybe a bearing replacement. If the service is positive we will keep the unit but it's a little concerning."
Review 17 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area CA
Date:April 21, 2010

Needs more reliability

Pros: husband liked smooth operation when it functioned
Cons: reliability not there
"Bought one of these for my husband. He is the main use and weighs 185 lbs. Since we had it a belt has broken twice and the metal where the ellipical arms are attached has cracked/broken. Regret purchase. Would love to find someone to cart this thing away since we can not use and it is taking up space in my house and weighs too much for me to move"
Review 18 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Wyoming
Date:January 26, 2011

Good for the money

Model Number: 2790
"So far I love it! It’s so quite, except for when you are changing the incline. It did take about 2 hours to put together and once it was together the electronics didn’t work, good thing for my handy dandy husband. One wire was not plugged in and he found it and it works fine."
Review 19 for EPIC EL 2790 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:October 5, 2010

Best elliptical out there for the price

Model Number: Epic EL 2790 eliptical
"I was very impressed with all the features this has, especially considering the price. You won't find a power ramp elliptical anywhere for this value. The ipod speakers are a nice bonus, although I haven't used them much."