Customer Reviews for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear

ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear

Office Chair Mat Multi-purpose for use under chairs, plants, crafts and more Ideal for home and light office use (usage less than 8 Hours or 200 lbs) Protects hard wood floors (laminate, wood, tile) and other hard floor surfaces Straight edge Rectangular Clear 46" x 60" Mat size Each Additional Features: Made in USA GREENGUARD Indoor Air Quality certified Manufacturer's Lifetime "No Crack Mat" Limited Warranty Model: ESR 131826  
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
51 of 56(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Review 41 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia suburb
Date:July 6, 2011

Very good product; Excellent service

Pros: transparent but visible so no tripping hazard., no lip so chair can easily roll over the edge
Cons: solvent smell for the first 16 hours
"It is a simple floor mat for the new hardwood floor in my home office, and it performs exactly as expected for a high quality product. As another reviewer suggested, I aired it out in the garage for a day to let the residual plasticizer smell go away.
Delivery from Costco.com was exceptionally fast. Price was an exceptional bargain, as is usual for Costco."
Review 42 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 30, 2012

works great

Pros: arrives flat not rolled works great immediately, good rolling surface for office chairs, great price
"This is not a very exciting product. You roll around in your swivel chair, and that's it. But its a good quality mat, AND the way it is shipped is REALLY good - comes flat between sheets of corrugated cardboard, and is delivered by a sole-operator delivery service, just a guy with a pickup truck, who does special size items that UPS and Fed Ex prefer not to bother with."
Review 43 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011

Best I've used

Pros: large size
Cons: slides a bit on wood floor
"This is nice and big, which means I can roll around a bit on my chair and not worry about rolling off the protective plastic onto our new wood floors. The plastic does slide a bit occasionally. If not for that, I'd give it 5 stars, but this is still the best of this sort of product I've used. It came in a box flat so I didn't have to flatten out a rolled or creased item."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carter Lake, IA
Date:March 27, 2014

Hardwood floor protector is great

Pros: durable, not visually distracting, large size
Cons: floppy, hard to maneuver alone
"I wish I had purchased this a year ago, I now have an unsightly ring on my hardwood floor where my office chair is. I never gave it any thought that the rollers on the chair over time would harm the finish, but it certainly did. Not only does the mat protect the hardwood floor from further damage, because of its opaque appearance it also hides or minimizes the look of the damaged floor."
Review 45 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 18, 2013

Disappointed in lack of transparency

Pros: protects the floor
Cons: not clear or see-through
"I purchased this item to protect my Cherry wood floors while letting the beauty of the floor come through the clear, see through material. The mat is NOT clear, but opaque, and the floor beneath is not visible. Other reviews on this item stated that it was see-through. That is why I purchased it. Ultimately diappointed. If you want a chair mat that is see-through, do NOT order this one."
Review 46 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:September 19, 2010

My mistake, too

Pros: price
Cons: doesn't work on carpet
"Although this is billed as a "hard-floor" product, I couldn't tell from the company description whether it was suitable for carpet use or not. It isn't. I had an old floor mat that was pretty used up and needed to be replaced. I just put the Robbins product over the old mat, and it works fine.
Robbins did ship the mat, flat, in one large cardboard container, so I didn't have a curling problem."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 3, 2011

Great Product / Delivery

"I read the online reviews first and was surprised by the many stories of 'next day delivery.' I gladly ordered rather late in the day, yet was still surprised when I saw a 'missed delivery notice' on my door less than 24 hours later. Called the number shown and worked it all out for the very next day. I was forewarned of the smell online, and found that to be on target - so I left it to air out in the basement first. Fantastic all in all!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:September 24, 2010

Works great!

"Unlike the two other writers, I did read that is it for hard floors. I ordered three for my new office, with vinyl floors. It shipped in a flat containers, so no problem with any creases. My husband promptly stole one for his home office. My new office is coming together. My employees have their mats. I had to order another one for myself. My husband loves his. It does not move around once the chair is placed on it. He does not notice the edge. I can 't wait to get mine!"
Review 49 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SFO Bay Area
Date:August 8, 2010

Shipped promptly, good value

Pros: good value
Cons: crease in the middle takes time to undo, the edges don't hug the floor tightly
Model Number: Item# 499484
"Costco offered the best price for this item, which is not a surprise. The item shipped promptly and arrived the next day (must have shipped from a local warehouse).
The only issue I have with the mat is that it was shipped folded in half and it is a pain to get rid of the fold. I had to put heavy boxes along the crease for a couple of days to get it to a state where I can comfortably use it. After that it is fine. Also, the edges don't "slope down" to hug the floor which makes the mat a slight tripping hazard."
Review 50 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:November 20, 2010

Great Product for Hardwood Floor Protection

Pros: quality, price, function
Cons: none so far
"I refinished the hardwood floors in my house recently, including the ones in my home office. I wanted something to protect the floors which would also not cover up all the hard work I'd done to get the floors to look so good. While the mat is not transparent, its translucent design lets the beauty of the wood shine through while offering the protection I need. The mat surface is ideal for sliding my chair wheels around on, and already seems like it will be quite durable. It's also been very easy to clean when dirt from my shoes, or *ahem* crumbs from my desk fall to the floor."
Review 51 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 3, 2010

Great Service

Pros: fast shipping
Cons: low transparency
Model Number: Costco 499484
"After a lot of searching for a chair mat for my new hardwood floors, I chose this product. My need was actually for the entry to protect the hardwood floor from wet shoes etc. Costco not only offered the best price, but they shipped it so fast. It was shipped in a flat pack and even though there was a bit of curling on one edge, a heavy load for a few days on that spot took care of it. The mat does smell for at least a week but it is not an overpowering smell. The only con to me is that the mat is not as transparent as it seemed in the pictures and what I had hoped. But it will do."
Review 52 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:August 24, 2010

My mistake

"I misunderstood "hard floor chair mat" as being the inflexible (hard) plastic as opposed to the somewhat flexible type, which this is. We have a carpeted office, so it IS my mistake. However, if this mat moves around anywhere near as much on hard floors as it does on carpet, it will displease you. I have to reposition it several times a day, as it hits the desk and bows up. I need to return it, but I put the packaging out for recycling before I realized the problem, and it was picked up before I could retrieve it -- so I will have to take it in to the store, and I'm not sure it will fit in my VW Beetle!"
2 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2011

Great Service, looks to be an excellent product

Pros: service / delivery, quality, size & shape, as advertised
Cons: none!
"Ordered Tuesday, arrived Thursday (was going to come out Wednesday but the weather was pretty bad and we are a ways from town). Delighted with the product quality. Little bit of a marbly/leather like texture so does not look like cheap plastic. Great size, my chair is not going to fall off the edges of it - perfect for a solid surface floor. Good thickness does not look like it's going to crack and disintegrate like some I've had in the past. Very, very slight plastic smell - hardly enough to mention and I'm sure that it will not be noticeable after today. Great price too, or you could spend the same or more and get a crummy product from someone else."
Review 54 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central Coast of CA
Date:November 1, 2012

A Good Deal

Pros: good value, flexible but sturdy plastic
Cons: two one inch edge sections were curled up
Model Number: ESR 131826
"I was looking for a chair mat that was heavy duty enough to protect the wax finish on our stained concrete floor yet still be able to see through it. This mat does that and the surface area is big enough to allow rolling around without having to worry about the wheels dropping off the edges. My only complaint is that there were two one inch long places on either side of the long edges where the mat was curled up, perhaps due to banding at some previous point. We used a hair dryer to soften and attempt to flatten them out, but weren't 100% successful. Not a big enough issue to warrant returning it, but I am hoping that these areas will relax further over time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:January 27, 2011

Good Purchase

"Delivery was within 48 hours to my front door as noted by other customers. Mat was enclosed in a cardboard container and not folded so there were no creased to deal with or be concerned about. Tip: One corner of the mat was bent (slightly) from the way it was packaged. After waiting for the plastic mat to warm up after delivery from a cold truck, I applied my wife's hair dryer to the bent area and the heat from the dryer enabled me to quickly and easily push the bent area flat with my fingers. It took about 30 seconds. The mat lays nicely on laminated flooring, does not move, and the chair rolls on it quite well and you can see the floor thru the plastic mat. A good buy and less costly than elsewhere."
Review 56 for ES Robbins Chair Mat for Hard Floors, 46" x 60" No Lip, Clear
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:February 14, 2012

Excellent chairmat - NOT FOR CARPETS

Pros: works like a charm for hard floors!, very fast delivery, no assembly and no instructions required
Cons: odor takes a couple of days to go away
Model Number: ES Robbins HARD FLOOR Chairmat 46" x 60" No Lip
"The only negative reviews that I read for this item were either for
1) The Odor - Valid but not a big deal. Unpack the chairmat as soon as you receive it (which will be FAST). Put it in a low traffic room for a couple of days and then it will be ready for your office.
2) Some users gave it a low rating because it doesn't stay put on carpet. Hence the product description "HARD FLOOR CHAIRMAT".
The irony is that I didn't realize that they made chairmats for hard floors (this item does't have the little spikes that dig into carpet) or else I would have ordered one years ago.
I foolishly waited until the wheels of my office chair started to damaged our Pergo floors.
If you have read this far, then you at least think you need this product. Order it now. If for any reason you don't like it you can always return it to Costco.com or at your local Costco warehouse.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3