Customer Reviews for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System

Includes: 12-month Subscription, Extra Strap and Free Coupon for 3 Additional Skins
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
18 of 23(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Review 1 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:October 19, 2010

Great gadget

Pros: motivating, easy to use
"I have been using my bodybugg (same product under a different name) for just over 9 months now and have lost 57 pounds. Yes, you do need to either buy the digital display or connect to the Internet to see your results, but it has been worth every penny spent; my husband and I both have them now and will keep using them for a long time to come. I had no idea how slow my metabolism was until I got this device; seeing exactly what revs my metabolism and burns calories has been invaluable. The deal from Costco made it even sweeter! I've gone from a couch potato to a runner in large part because of this device and am probably in the best shape of my life."
Review 2 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2010

Its' Ok

Pros: can monitor calories burnt physical activities, calories accurate readings, small and affordable
Cons: internet access to sync info to site
"I was really excited about this product after researching and reading the reviews from users. Costco always have a good deal but as far as the product itself. I am going to rate it as an ok product. First, you have to have the internet to access the site in order to sync and review your hard work. If you don't have internet, this product isn't so useful because unlike a pedometer, you can't see your efforts. You have to buy another product separately to see your efforts in real time. If you do have access to the website, it's amazing how it is able to record your calories burned, physical activities, sleep, and etc. Body Media is ok but the product itself doesn't amaze me that much. In addition, your suppose to wear it constantly to keep track of your calories but it's also kind of hard to hide the product on your left triceps if you are wearing casual attire for work without you being noticed. Good Luck!"
Review 3 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Antioch, CA
Date:September 24, 2010

Amazing

Pros: great tool
"I've only had mine for two days, but can't imagine life without it! After the first night, I discovered that my sleeping stinks in the middle of the night and that I only burn a single calorie per minute while sitting at my desk. OCD? Sure, but it's for the good of my body! The online site is easy to use and the product vouchers worked fine. Personalized skins were fun to do. Fast shipping!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockland, New York
Date:August 24, 2010

Great Product!

Pros: great way to account for calories in and out!
Cons: none
"I have been using the BodyMedia FIT for a little over two weeks now and it is a great product. It really helps with personal accountability when one is trying to lose weight or improve fitness level. It was so easy to get started and the website tools are super!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 17, 2010

Excellent information

Pros: great feedback
"I've been using the product for a couple of weeks and I love it. It's kind of the missing link. You can track your caloric intake by any number of methods, but the calories you expend were anyone's guess. I was surprised at how little physical activity and steps I was taking. The information is priceless. Also, the nutrition aspect is great, I never realized how much cholesterol I was consuming. ."
Review 6 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010

bummed

Pros: the online features.
"I had high hopes for this product. The best thing I can say is that the online portion of the service is great - easy to use, view and enter data. The trouble is the arm band does not capture the claimed data elements. It uploads a total number of calories burned, but not the steps, sleep quality or intense workout minutes. I sent the original unit back (on my dime) and am awaiting a replacement unit. I hope it works."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2010

Disappointing results for the investment

"I have to say I'm not thrilled with this product for tracking exercise/physical activity. It's not even coming close to accuracy in either duration of exercise or in number of steps taken. Last night, I walked over an hour, and both the treadmill and a separated pedometer showed over 2 miles, but the BodyMedia unit showed I only walked for 30 minutes and less than half the number of steps of the pedometer. And that makes me question the accuracy of the rest of the information it's giving me."
Review 8 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:July 26, 2010

Great product, need to be able to update

"I've used my bodybugg since Christams 2009 and have lost 72 pounds so far! This led me to purchase another one for my daughter. Both products came from Costco, but the interface and web site for using them is completely different, and I can't use my bodybugg on my daughter's (better, in my opinion) web site. I would not have known about the difference if I hand't liked the product so well I ordered another, but now that I do know, I'm upset that I can't take advantage of the updated web site without forking out another $200 plus."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:July 8, 2010

Worth the $ money

Pros: color services size
Cons: not waterproof monthly subscription
Model Number: 100624
"It was frustrating to get started with my MAC but once I got the program working it has been super. I love the meal logging and the website that shows calorie progress and activity. One of the features I like the most is the sleep tracking. I also like the grey color band available because it seems to blend with my daily wardrobe."
Review 10 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kingsland GA
Date:June 29, 2010

Great idea but some serious flaws :(

"My wife bought this and has been using it for a week now.
The concept is great. Other tracking systems track calories consumed, but then you have to figure out calories burned yourself. This system aims to do both, in an easy to use and accurate manner, and thus actually motivates the user by providing data that heretofore has only been guessed or at best imprecisely calculated outside of a laboratory setting.
It works, though there are a couple of flaws, in my opinion.
1. The sensor is supposed to determine calories burned, and one of the factors that is used in the calculation is the number of steps walked by the wearer in a days time. Well, I have serious doubts about the accuracy of the detection of steps taken. For example, would moving the arm that the armband is on, while sitting count as a step? My wife is fairly active and even she has doubts that she has walked the number of steps that the sensor seems to think she has.
2. The most serious flaw I have found is in the software though. While the ability to "create recipes" by entering amounts of ingredients used, and thus figuring out calorie counts is a great feature, the software assumes that you are entering a single serving of a recipe.
Why is this a limitation? Suppose you are cooking a recipe for a family of four. Would you measure ingredients twice (once for your portion and once for the rest of the family)? Would you then cook your portion separately, and then cook the rest of the family's portions in another pan?
It would be far better (and more accurate) if we were entering the recipe for the whole family, and then were able to enter the precise amount of the portion consumed by the person on the program, by entering the number of grams or ounces. This would be far more accurate and easier to figure.
However, there is no easy way to do this. If you enter the recipe for the whole family, then you are forced to set the number of servings that the recipe is for. Well not all recipes can be neatly portioned into servings. I might eat 300grams of the lasagna, and my wife might eat 200grams. So which would be considered a serving? It would be better if my wife were able to enter the 200grams that she ate, rather than 1 serving.
If this can be fixed, and if somehow the accuracy of the sensor is independently verified to be accurate, this product would deserve 5 stars.
3. One good thing is that the food database is fantastic. It has a lot of foods and brands and even ethnic dishes, but sadly none of the Costco deli items!! If my wife eats a Costco hot dog, she would have to find the nutritional counts elsewhere!
In all its a solid product, but I think the flaw described above is a serious one, especially for people who actually cook most if not all their meals from scratch at home out of basic ingredients and staples."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maui
Date:June 29, 2010

Accountability that motivates!

Pros: easy to use, motivates, great results
Cons: not waterproof... would like to be able to swim!
"This is a great product! It motivates you and keeps you on track. Even if I don't have the chance to input my food everyday it has an average that I can quickly plug in to keep track (I eat a lot of the same things). The activity monitor gives you a great overall picture of how and why you burn what you do. I work on the fourth floor and feel guilty if I ever take the elevator (did the other day cuz I brought coffee for coworkers) so I feel more accountable for my actions... but I can see the benefits. Great investment for me as losing weight is a big priority now. I have lost @ 7 lbs in 3 weeks. The same coworkers who questioned the validity are now asking where they can get one because they have seen the results first hand! Thanks for a great product. Worth the money to me!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:June 29, 2010

The weight is gone!!!!

Pros: no longer overweight, easy to use
Cons: not even one!!!!
"And it will never come back. This is the best weightloss $$ I have ever spent. Lost 66 pounds and they will not be returning. I have recommended this to everyone, and believe me, you will get many questions while wearing it.
There really isn't anything to losing weight while wearing this thing, other than honesty. You must input your food, and be honest about portions. However, if you do this, you will scientifically know how much weight you are going to lose. It couldn't be easier. Weightloss maintenance is a breeze, too. My trainer is even getting one to help her with her figure competitions."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:June 23, 2010

Well worth the money

"I LOVE my armband! I don't know how it knows how many calories I am burning doing things like riding my bike slowly, or waving my legs around while lying on my back, but it does.
I love all of the visual feedback in the form of graphs, for everything. It is very motivating.
I highly recommend this product."
Review 14 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:June 13, 2010

Changed my life

Pros: the entire product
Cons: none
"I have had one for 10 months. Lost 50 pounds. And running a half marathon.
Truly changed my life and gave me life back. The food diary is half the battle. Great food journal make it easy to see in black and white how many calories I have taken in, how many I have expended.
Best money I have spent on myself! Do yourself a favor and change your life!"
Review 15 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hinckley, OH
Date:June 6, 2010

LOVE IT!!

Pros: easy to use, accurate, big motivator!
Cons: no iphone app (yet!)
"I have been using this just under a month and I have lost 8 pounds. If you are like me and like to see everything in black and white... then this for you!!! My arm did get a bit red for the 1st few days but I just kept moving it around on my arm... Now I barely know its there. The computer system is easy to navigate. I e-mailed the company about an iPhone app and I was assured that they are working on it and it will be out within the next 6 months. YEAH!!! Well worth it!!! Thanks Costco for having the year subscription included, its DEFINITELY a plus!!"
Review 16 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avon Lake, Ohio
Date:June 6, 2010

Best Investment

Pros: motivating, clear-cut indicators, helps to more easily reach goals
Cons: everyone asks what the band is about
"I've been using the arm band for over a week. I've been inputting in my eating and wearing the band 24X7. I've lost 2 lbs and it is clear how that happened when totalling my calorie deficit for the week. I've learned that I personally can only get into the vigorous mode when I run. That valuable finding has motivated me to run for a minimum of 30 minutes daily in conjunction with my overall workout. I'll fill you in with more results this next week now that I'm upping my calorie deficit with the increase of intensity. I've learned to just tell people that it's a fancy pedometer."
Review 17 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 5, 2010

Awesome. BUY IT, especially if you're struggling.

"I'm about the age where I started wondering if it was even possible for me to lose weight anymore. I was trying (hard, even) and failing in the past couple of years, then I saw this device and thought (after reading reviews on another website) it would at least help me figure out what was going on with my body.
I've been wearing it four weeks and I've lost eight pounds - just about exactly the target I set for myself. No more mystery - now I KNOW.
The only two drawbacks I've experienced are a) it doesn't seem to interface very well with my Precor elliptical trainer - even if I'm doing high intensity interval training, it doesn't register as much vigorous activity as I'm doing (a different story if I run on my Precor treadmill, though - it registers that as vigorous and gets it all), and b) customer service isn't very good. I was trying to get some answers early on about a couple of things (be sure you wear the device with the logo toward your shoulder and the lights toward your elbow on your left tricep), and they weren't very responsive...but thankfully, the problems were minor and turned out to probably be user error anyway - all straightened out now.
I don't know how I ever lived without this thing, and I wouldn't go a day without it now. When I reach my goal I'm going to use it for maintenance - no more guesswork for me! BUY IT."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 28, 2010

Not a fan

"This product is a good motivator if you need to get up and move. But it is not very accurate in registering the intensity and in some cases the duration of your activity.
I have used the BodyMedia for 3 weeks and here is what I saw:
I work out 3 times a week with a personal trainer. During my hour long sessions, my heart rate is as high as 178. This product did not register my work out as vigorous. It also did not register the length of time I worked out
When I do cardio (walking and running), the product tends to be more accurate with the length of the activity but not the intensity.
Also, if you have sensitive skin, you may have a reaction to the armband."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2010

A great tool

Pros: real time feedback, pretty accurate for most activities
Cons: no quick start option, relies too much on pedometer reading, log is written in java
"Manage your weight in real time. Takes the guesswork out the process. The big plus for me is having a daily goal to shoot for. I'm eating whatever I want to but either moderating the amount, or increasing my exercise to offset the intake. Think of it as pay as you go. I didn't need the coaching session and am not using anything but the log so I can't speak to how well the meal plans etc work."
Review 20 for BodyMedia® FIT Lifestyle and Calorie Management System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2010

Great product, awful customer service

Pros: accurate, convenient, easy to use, useful for health and fitness
Cons: unresponsive customer service, mine broke while still new.
"I bought this product through Costco.com. Costco had, as always, prompt processing and shipment. Great price, too.
I used the device for a few days with no problems. It's a great tool! It seems to be accurate and simple to use.
Then, after just a few days use, the armband stopped working; it no longer collected data. The online customer support was unresponsive. I finally got hold of a live customer service rep, who was helpful in diagnosing the problem and arranging a product exchange.
However, it took two weeks and another complaint from me to actually get the replacement shipped; I infer that my Return Authorization was lost in the shuffle. To be fair, they expedited shipping and gave me an extra two week subscription to the online software to make up for the problem.
Summary: Excellent product, a good purchase. Terrible customer service. I think the device has been so popular that the company's processes have been unable to keep up with demand."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>