Customer Reviews for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner

Automatic Shutoff, Machine-Washable Filter Bag, Recommended for All Pools Up to 20’ x 40’
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
35 of 42(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2010

Best automatic cleaner value ever

Pros: great value
Cons: none
"First if this will be your first automatic cleaner, you are very lucky this product is out. Second if you are expecting miracles from a robotic cleaner you may be disapointed. My first cleaner was an aquabot, I returned it after one day, it cost over a thousand dollars and it did a horrible job. My second cleaner was a Kreepy Krauly, it worked ok, but never liked the fact that all the junk went through the filter plugging it prematurely, it would also get hung up all the time. Third cleaner Kleen-Machine. I absolutly love it, it is simple, I am saving energy, and my pool sparkles like never before. I cycle it 2 to 3 times a day, and my pool is spotless. We had a horibble wind storm in Western Mass on Wed night, leaves covered the bottom of the pool, the Kleen Machine did the job. Time will tell as far as durability, and costomer service go, however because it came from Costco's no need to sweat it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 1, 2010

not bad for the money

Pros: easy to use, easy to clean, saves electricity
Cons: nowhere to buy replacement parts
"I got lucky and received one that worked. I use mine 3-4 times a week during the summer and fall. It does a decent job of picking up leaves and debris. However, it cannot go into corners, climb walls, etc,,, as advertized, but I never believed the print ad in the first place. The flimsy latches that hold the filter bag in place always come loose, so the bottom of the unit is all scratched up. Also, when lifting the unit out, some of the trapped debris do fall back into the pool with the water draining out.
All in all, a good basic vacuum that saves me money from running the pool pump just to do daily vacuum. I still have to vaccum the stairs and scrub the plaster once a week though."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 27, 2010

Works Well: See Tips Below

Model Number: Kleen-Machine by PoolTrends
"---
I've been using (KM) KLEEN MACHINE (PoolTrends). So far, after three days, I like it A LOT.
Some observations and suggestions:
(1) Make sure to shake ALL of the AIR OUT of the KM BEFORE you finally activate it. Proper performance of the KM depends on it. Otherwise, the KM will NOT sink and hug the bottom of the pool properly.
(2) Remove the bag via PULL side, then PUSH side. Reverse this on reinstall: PUSH side, then PULL side. Sown seams are on INSIDE of the bag; where the dirt will deposit itself. Try it yourself, on unpacking.
(3) After a two hour usage, it did an auto shutoff. In order to restart, I had to DISCONNECT the CORD from the power supply, then RECONNECT. I think this somehow RESETS the KM (like a PC REBOOT).
(4) The switch on the power supply clicks DOWN (toward ground) for ON, and UP for OFF. This is the reverse of say a house light switch.
(5) The power cord plug connector to the power supply is PLASTIC. So, if you dropped it from say four feet down onto cement pool deck, it might break.
(6) Position the power supply (cord connection) near the center of a longer side of the pool. Seems to help minimize problems with the twisting of the cord.
(7) For BIG LEAVES and lots of dirt, use a garden hose water pressure driven leaf vacuum product. Or use whatever other gizmo you like, NOT the KM. I say why STRESS the KM for no good reason. It is more designed for LIGHT dirt and leaves, and not so much HEAVY CRUD (my opinion).
Related to this issue, under a HEAVY DIRT situation, clean the bag SOONER, say after one hour or less. The bag gets COATED WITH DIRT, the MOTOR WORKS HARDER. Same logic as changing your house furnace/AC filter.
(7) The SUN is your ENEMY of anything built of plastic. Keep the KM in the SHADE when out of water.
(8) I say keep the KM out of the pool (chlorine eats stuff), especially if you are SHOCKING (high chlorine) the pool. Only have the KM in the pool when you are actively using it.
(9) The KM does NOT climb walls once it reaches a 90 degree verticle angle. So, the KM stops about 2 feet below the top of a wall (more or less).
Otherwise, the KM moves around the pool quite well. If the KM lasts for say 3 years, I'll be VERY pleased."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:so cal
Date:February 16, 2010

Actually works

Pros: costco!, effective sweeper, 50% cost of others
Cons: lasts a year or so like everything else
Model Number: Kleen-Machine
"Purchased this to replace the hyper-expensive iRobot pool bot that died after 15mos in service. From what I gather, pool bots only last about a year, maybe more with TLC, but a year is typical. This device is no different, it died after a year, but did a better job on the pool than iRobot. Easier to clean, lighter weight, faster, more thorough, and the costco return policy, what could be better?"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:AZ.
Date:May 31, 2010

Not that great

"This cleaner does a good job working its way around the pool but it did not pickup dirt as well as I would expected. The biggest problem with this cleaner is that when you take it out of the pool, it seems to drop 25% of the dirt back into the pool with the draining water. Also the unit runs for about 2 hrs. and then shuts off. I always had to turn off the switch and wait 5 min’s to run another cycle because it takes time for the power supply reset itself, even if it sat all night but the switch was not turned off. The major problem I see with these type cleaners is that if you do not go out to the pool to press the button to turn it on, your pool will not get vacuumed. I chose to return this unit and get one that hooks up to the filter because every day when the filter goes on, my pool gets vacuumed!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:May 25, 2010

I think I'm in love

Pros: fast, easy, really cleans, so simple my wife can use it
Cons: cord gets twisted u have to untwist
"My wife laughs and says that I have a new best friend: my Kleen Machine. After reading a few mixed reviews, I bit the bullet knowing that if the Kleen Machine didn't live up to its word, Costco would take it back. Now, I'm convinced that this thing is AWESOME!
Just 30 minutes into its 2 hour cycle and my pool was acceptably clean. After 2 hours, there was only one teeny leaf that I could find! This thing rocks! The motion path is semi-random, but it got the whole pool done, passing over some places more than once to get everything. Price at Costco is great. This thing will put many pool men out of business."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Va. Beach, VA
Date:July 25, 2009

Had My Doubts

Model Number: Kleen Machine
"I've been putting off getting a cleaner for years but I read the three reviews that were listed at the time and figured I'd give it a try, especially for the money.
The pool is a figure eight shape, about 30 K gallons.
Pulled it out of the box, plugged it in, dropped it in the pool, and waited. Watched it for while and thought it wasn't going to work after seeing it go over a spot and not pick up everything on the first sweep. After about 30 minutes I left and came back in two hours. I was surprised how well it did. I hunted for a while and only found a few tiny specs it missed but nothing anyone would ever notice.
Cleaning the unit took about three or four minutes, wiped it down, and that's it. Wish I would have bought it sooner! Now you can catch a nap while cleaning your pool !
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:June 11, 2009

Great Results

Pros: what it picks up never gets into the pool filter.
"It has been keeping the pool really clean. When I first got it, the pool hadn't been cleaned for quite some time. After running it twice all the leaves, pebbles and sand were gone. The bag even picked up a lot of the algae, although I also had to put chemicals in to get rid of all the algae.
I don't have a pool cage, so leaves can be a problem in the pool. Now I run the Kleen-Machine once or twice a week and the pool is really clean and inviting."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 27, 2010

Better than pressure pump cleaner

Pros: energy efficient
Cons: no website to buy spare parts
"I thought this is a way to go for in-ground pool cleaner. I've replaced my POlaris high pressure pump cleaner and I've saved lots of money on electric bill. I turned off the high pressure cleaner and just used the regular recirculating pump.
Cons: you'll need to reset to make a second pass (every 2 hrs). .but it works great.
no website available to buy parts
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:May 28, 2010

So glad I bought it!

Pros: it cleans dirt sand etc., saves you tons of time, can be used again and again
Cons: the bag is hard to get completely clean
Model Number: PTKM100
"I have been using this vacuum for a couple of weeks now and could not be happier.... it picks up dirt from the bottom of the pool and actually holds it in the bag instead of other vacuums that use the pump and just filters it through the pump and back out into the pool. Couple of things to know when you buy one, it says to let the water flow out as you lift it out of the pool, I have found that some of the small pieces it has picked up will go back in the pool when you do this so I hold the opening closed and let it pour out after it is out of the pool (fair warning you will probably get wet) but is it worth it not to have it fall back in."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:June 23, 2009

Great Pool Cleaner

"I was a little nervous about buying this product since I didn't see alot of reviews about it. I'm new at maintaining a pool so I wanted to get the best bang for my buck. After running the kleen machine for 2 hours you could tell that it picked up all the dirt and dead alge from the pool bottom. I have a pebble tech pool so I was impressed that it was able to clean it so good. By running it twice a week its saving me from getting a pool guy. Must have if your pool doesn't have a booster pump."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillo, Hawaii
Date:June 17, 2009

Pool cleaner

Pros: money saver
Model Number: Kleen_Machine Robotic Pool Cleaner Costco # 406079
"We have just completed the construction of our pool in Hawaii and were looking for a way to clean the pool, when Costco had the Kleen-Machine Robotic pool cleaner. For the price and what it would cost to have someone come in on a weekly basis it was worth the cost. When we received it, it was so simple to set up and it was fun just to watch it move around the pool. A plus factor is that is has a 2 hr cycle and then shuts off and it is easy to clean and ready for the next time,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:July 24, 2009

Kleen-Machine

"Like others here, we were worried about purchasing this item because of lack of reviews. We bought ours in early June and couldn't be more pleased with the unit, as well as the customer service that went along with it when we had an issue. Our transformer fell onto our pool deck and broke. We spoke directly the the General Manager of PoolTrends, and they shipped a new transformer to us, no charge, no questions asked."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2010

Doesn't Work

Cons: doesn't work
"I used this machine last summer and it never really worked properly for me.
I have an in ground pool and the center is sloped down slightly.
It doesn't climb walls as some others here claimed and it doesn't even climb the gentle slopes. It just stays at the deepest section and never cleans the rest of the pool.
I agree with another commenter: Costco should stop selling these machines."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brookfield, CT
Date:May 16, 2010

Great Price Performance

Pros: it's costco - need i say more . ships quickly too.
"Only had for a day so we'll see how well it works at end of season. Easy to clean, does good job may be a little under powered for my pool (think it around 40+ long. . Nonetheless very happy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

pretty dam good

"I was very nervous if this was going to work. But I figureed Costco would take it back if it did not. It is pretty good. I would not spend $900 on these, this one for high $400 is a good one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2010

GREAT VALUE

"I love my little red Kleen Machine! It works great! I read through all the reviews and decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:June 3, 2010

Much, much better than expected

Pros: easily used, easily cleaned, effective and thorough
Cons: the kids want to use it
"We just put in an in-ground and I spent much of my first week with the pool vacuuming and cleaning it of debris. Quickly tiring of this, I purchased the KM in order to forestall paying for a service. Well I was more than pleasantly surprised to find that it not only met but exceeded expectations. We've had the KM for about two weeks and we've been very happy with it. It does a very thorough job of cleaning the entire pool and it even climbs up the walls. I can see where there may be a problem if the cord gets tangled, but you can avoid this if you loop it into the pool correctly and don't just let it float around the pool all night after it is finished. Also, I found that the bag is easily cleaned if you run the hose through it when it is inside-out."
Review 19 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:June 2, 2010

Extremely satisfied

Pros: fantastic little machine
Cons: can't think of any drawbacks
"I've had a Polaris for almost 20 years and was very happy with the product. Good service, easy to replace parts etc. When if finally broke beyond repair I was ready to purchase another Polaris. Although it gave me years of good service, I was a little reluctant to spend over $500. Then I received the Costco email advertising the Kleen Machine..I figured I would give it a try. Well, it was a little like the hare and the turtle. Polaris jumps around the pool, climbing walls, steps etc. The Kleen Machine was very slow, went half way up the wall and couldn't climb the 3 steps. Now that I have used the KM for a week, I have completely changed my mind...the pool is much, much cleaner, yes it's slow but so what? It filters and cleans the pool of all size particles. In fact, I've had to shut my filter off because of a leak but I kept the KM running for 2 hours a day for the past week. Guess what? The water is crystal clear, chemicals are still in balance. This is a fantastic product. No way would I even consider returning or replacing it. It's easy to take in and out of the pool. I even used it to clean the attached spa. I am very happy with the Kleen Machine and money I'm saving by not having my pump motor running for hours at a time."
Review 20 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manchester, NJ
Date:June 2, 2010

Third time's the charm

Pros: light weight, easy to clean filter bag
Cons: doesn't climb walls
"I've been using the Kleen-Machine for about 2 weeks and, so far, it's been a pleasant surprise. I've had two other robot cleaners that each cost about 3 times more but didn't clean any better. My favorite things about this unit are it's light weight and the ease of cleaning the filter bag. The process of removing the bag, cleaning it and putting it back in the unit are easier with this unit than with my previous Aquabot products. The fact that it doesn't climb walls is not a problem for me since my pool walls never seem to need vacuuming. I don't know how long this item will last, but the problems with the previous robots were drive belts and this uses a beltless system."
1 2 3 next>>