Customer Reviews for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner

Automatic Shutoff, Machine-Washable Filter Bag, Recommended for All Pools Up to 20’ x 40’
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
35 of 42(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010

Best Pool Accessory

"I wish I would have found this cleaner earlier. It's so much easier to use and more convenient than my previous cleaner, one powered by the pool pump.
** Plug and Play. Very easy setup
** Unexpected bonus of picking up fine particles such as loose algae.
** Easy maintenance. Just dump out the stuff that gets collected and rinse
Bottom line: It doesn't get any easier than flipping a switch, going inside, coming back two hours later to a clean pool."
Review 2 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 4, 2010

Great Product

Pros: simple to use, doesn't use pool pump, easy to clean
Cons: doesn't go all the way up pool sides
Model Number: KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
"This product is great! I specifically like it because I don't have to run the pump to run the cleaner. It also saves filling my filter cartridge up with dirt from the pool bottom. The 2-hour cycle is generally enough to clean my entire pool bottom. If not, it is easy enough to cycle the thing off and on at the switch and have it clean for another cycle. The debris bag is easy to access and easy to clean. I would definitely recommend this product!"
Review 3 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lathrop, California
Date:June 4, 2010

Awesome pool cleaner

Pros: self powered doesn't take away from pool filtrati, has it's own filter bag that catch fine particles, easy to clean and maintain, powerful
"This self powered pool cleaner is great. Keeps the sand and small particles of dirt off my pool floor. This is the cleanest my pool has been in 3 years. I run it once a day for the two hour cycle and it does a great job. I live in an area in California where the yard is very sandy. I used to have little piles of sand in the pool even equipped with an A and A in floor cleaning system. Now that I have the Kleen Machine, it has remained spotless."
Review 4 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:June 4, 2010

Great Product!!!

Model Number: KLEEN-MACHINE Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
"I've used this little robot cleaner daily on my 15' X 30' above ground pool since I bought it two weeks ago, and it works great!! It picks up 95% to 100% of the dirt in my pool, only having problems on the pool bottom on the side of the pool steps. It even climbs part way up the wall. The dirt has NEVER poured back into the pool as one reviewer wrote. The collection bag is easy to remove and clean. Now I have time to enjoy my pool."
Review 5 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:west hills, ca
Date:June 3, 2010

Question -- leaving in pool after cleaning

Pros: good cleaner
Cons: have to remove from pool after use
Model Number: ptkm100
"I contacted customer service for the cleaner and they advsied me not to leave the unit in the pool after cleaning. Seems to be a real pain to have to take it out every day and then put in again the next day as I need to clean the pool daily. How do the owners treat the cleaner take it out or leave in pool. I replaced my in pool cleaner with this one, but may return"
Review 6 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:June 3, 2010

Much, much better than expected

Pros: easily used, easily cleaned, effective and thorough
Cons: the kids want to use it
"We just put in an in-ground and I spent much of my first week with the pool vacuuming and cleaning it of debris. Quickly tiring of this, I purchased the KM in order to forestall paying for a service. Well I was more than pleasantly surprised to find that it not only met but exceeded expectations. We've had the KM for about two weeks and we've been very happy with it. It does a very thorough job of cleaning the entire pool and it even climbs up the walls. I can see where there may be a problem if the cord gets tangled, but you can avoid this if you loop it into the pool correctly and don't just let it float around the pool all night after it is finished. Also, I found that the bag is easily cleaned if you run the hose through it when it is inside-out."
Review 7 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:June 3, 2010

Thrilled with purchase

"This little machine has been working great since purchase a few weeks ago - even picks up the fine dirt - huge time saver!"
Review 8 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, Tn
Date:June 2, 2010

REALLY WORKS

Pros: inexpensive in comparison to other robotic cleaner, does a great job!
Cons: you have to take it out and clean it and store it., a cabana boy would be cuter.
"My expectations were not that great, but I was looking forward to the arrival of the Kleen Machine. WOW! First cleaning was phenominal! The machine does gravitate towards the deeper end, but with some coaxing, does spend some time in the shallow end. Not as cute as a cabana boy, but sure is a lot cheaper! We could not be happier!!!"
Review 9 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:June 2, 2010
"I have used the product for over a wk. straight and it cleans the floor of the pool great. Does not really climb the walls or the steps. All in all good product for the price."
Review 10 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:June 2, 2010

Extremely satisfied

Pros: fantastic little machine
Cons: can't think of any drawbacks
"I've had a Polaris for almost 20 years and was very happy with the product. Good service, easy to replace parts etc. When if finally broke beyond repair I was ready to purchase another Polaris. Although it gave me years of good service, I was a little reluctant to spend over $500. Then I received the Costco email advertising the Kleen Machine..I figured I would give it a try. Well, it was a little like the hare and the turtle. Polaris jumps around the pool, climbing walls, steps etc. The Kleen Machine was very slow, went half way up the wall and couldn't climb the 3 steps. Now that I have used the KM for a week, I have completely changed my mind...the pool is much, much cleaner, yes it's slow but so what? It filters and cleans the pool of all size particles. In fact, I've had to shut my filter off because of a leak but I kept the KM running for 2 hours a day for the past week. Guess what? The water is crystal clear, chemicals are still in balance. This is a fantastic product. No way would I even consider returning or replacing it. It's easy to take in and out of the pool. I even used it to clean the attached spa. I am very happy with the Kleen Machine and money I'm saving by not having my pump motor running for hours at a time."
Review 11 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LAs Vegas, NV
Date:June 2, 2010

great product

"The product is great. It really cleans my pool in 2 hours. I think the only regret that I have is the fact that I have to take it out after every cleaning and put it away. I was spoiled with my other cleaner only because I could keep it in the pool. I certainly would recommend this product to everyone."
Review 12 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manchester, NJ
Date:June 2, 2010

Third time's the charm

Pros: light weight, easy to clean filter bag
Cons: doesn't climb walls
"I've been using the Kleen-Machine for about 2 weeks and, so far, it's been a pleasant surprise. I've had two other robot cleaners that each cost about 3 times more but didn't clean any better. My favorite things about this unit are it's light weight and the ease of cleaning the filter bag. The process of removing the bag, cleaning it and putting it back in the unit are easier with this unit than with my previous Aquabot products. The fact that it doesn't climb walls is not a problem for me since my pool walls never seem to need vacuuming. I don't know how long this item will last, but the problems with the previous robots were drive belts and this uses a beltless system."
Review 13 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:STATEN ISLAND,NY
Date:June 2, 2010

FABULOUS

"HAD FAR MORE EXPENSIVE POOL ROBOTS THAT NEVER CLEANED MY 18X36 INGROUND THIS GOOD!"
Review 14 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:AZ.
Date:May 31, 2010

Not that great

"This cleaner does a good job working its way around the pool but it did not pickup dirt as well as I would expected. The biggest problem with this cleaner is that when you take it out of the pool, it seems to drop 25% of the dirt back into the pool with the draining water. Also the unit runs for about 2 hrs. and then shuts off. I always had to turn off the switch and wait 5 min’s to run another cycle because it takes time for the power supply reset itself, even if it sat all night but the switch was not turned off. The major problem I see with these type cleaners is that if you do not go out to the pool to press the button to turn it on, your pool will not get vacuumed. I chose to return this unit and get one that hooks up to the filter because every day when the filter goes on, my pool gets vacuumed!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2010

Best automatic cleaner value ever

Pros: great value
Cons: none
"First if this will be your first automatic cleaner, you are very lucky this product is out. Second if you are expecting miracles from a robotic cleaner you may be disapointed. My first cleaner was an aquabot, I returned it after one day, it cost over a thousand dollars and it did a horrible job. My second cleaner was a Kreepy Krauly, it worked ok, but never liked the fact that all the junk went through the filter plugging it prematurely, it would also get hung up all the time. Third cleaner Kleen-Machine. I absolutly love it, it is simple, I am saving energy, and my pool sparkles like never before. I cycle it 2 to 3 times a day, and my pool is spotless. We had a horibble wind storm in Western Mass on Wed night, leaves covered the bottom of the pool, the Kleen Machine did the job. Time will tell as far as durability, and costomer service go, however because it came from Costco's no need to sweat it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:May 28, 2010

So glad I bought it!

Pros: it cleans dirt sand etc., saves you tons of time, can be used again and again
Cons: the bag is hard to get completely clean
Model Number: PTKM100
"I have been using this vacuum for a couple of weeks now and could not be happier.... it picks up dirt from the bottom of the pool and actually holds it in the bag instead of other vacuums that use the pump and just filters it through the pump and back out into the pool. Couple of things to know when you buy one, it says to let the water flow out as you lift it out of the pool, I have found that some of the small pieces it has picked up will go back in the pool when you do this so I hold the opening closed and let it pour out after it is out of the pool (fair warning you will probably get wet) but is it worth it not to have it fall back in."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:May 28, 2010

Great Little Cleaner

"This little trooper does a GREAT job on our inground 26'x14' pool. It takes about 1 hour to clean the entire pool. We have a rayvac that we use on a daily basis, but we use the Kleen Machine once or twice a week to pick up everything left behind. It even picks up the very fine dirt that sometimes collects in the corner on the steps. It's easy to use, easy to clean, does a really good job ... great value!"
Review 18 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 27, 2010

Works Well: See Tips Below

Model Number: Kleen-Machine by PoolTrends
"---
I've been using (KM) KLEEN MACHINE (PoolTrends). So far, after three days, I like it A LOT.
Some observations and suggestions:
(1) Make sure to shake ALL of the AIR OUT of the KM BEFORE you finally activate it. Proper performance of the KM depends on it. Otherwise, the KM will NOT sink and hug the bottom of the pool properly.
(2) Remove the bag via PULL side, then PUSH side. Reverse this on reinstall: PUSH side, then PULL side. Sown seams are on INSIDE of the bag; where the dirt will deposit itself. Try it yourself, on unpacking.
(3) After a two hour usage, it did an auto shutoff. In order to restart, I had to DISCONNECT the CORD from the power supply, then RECONNECT. I think this somehow RESETS the KM (like a PC REBOOT).
(4) The switch on the power supply clicks DOWN (toward ground) for ON, and UP for OFF. This is the reverse of say a house light switch.
(5) The power cord plug connector to the power supply is PLASTIC. So, if you dropped it from say four feet down onto cement pool deck, it might break.
(6) Position the power supply (cord connection) near the center of a longer side of the pool. Seems to help minimize problems with the twisting of the cord.
(7) For BIG LEAVES and lots of dirt, use a garden hose water pressure driven leaf vacuum product. Or use whatever other gizmo you like, NOT the KM. I say why STRESS the KM for no good reason. It is more designed for LIGHT dirt and leaves, and not so much HEAVY CRUD (my opinion).
Related to this issue, under a HEAVY DIRT situation, clean the bag SOONER, say after one hour or less. The bag gets COATED WITH DIRT, the MOTOR WORKS HARDER. Same logic as changing your house furnace/AC filter.
(7) The SUN is your ENEMY of anything built of plastic. Keep the KM in the SHADE when out of water.
(8) I say keep the KM out of the pool (chlorine eats stuff), especially if you are SHOCKING (high chlorine) the pool. Only have the KM in the pool when you are actively using it.
(9) The KM does NOT climb walls once it reaches a 90 degree verticle angle. So, the KM stops about 2 feet below the top of a wall (more or less).
Otherwise, the KM moves around the pool quite well. If the KM lasts for say 3 years, I'll be VERY pleased."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:May 26, 2010

Great Purchase

Pros: simple to use
"Had the pool since 1976. Used a pool sweep for many years. This product is extremely efficient and simple. Works extremely well and bypasses the pool filter system, which is convenient. I would recommend it to anybody."
Review 20 for $349.99 after $100 OFF KLEEN-MACHINE® Universal Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Union City, CA
Date:May 26, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised

"This little guy does a really good job. I have used it 5 times and it hasn't tangled not once. It tries to make it up the sides but does not quite make it. I really wasn't expecting it to at this price. So far I think it is a great bargain for not working off a filter or booster pump. Super easy to use."
1 2 3 next>>