Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage

Black
Average Customer Rating:
3.609 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
15 of 23(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Jersey City, NJ
Date:January 16, 2012

very poor product

Cons: very very poor wheel quality breaks easily
"the wheels are awful they break every trip..replaced the product thrice and every next trip the wheels broke..finaly going to return the product fro refund..the 2 wheel design was far far better in terms of product quality..with 10-12 days per month of tarvelling 2 wheel design used to last 2 years these new ones dont even last 1 day..dont buy..
hopefully Costco sees the number of returns and replaces the product asap.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2011

Excellent Value & Reliability

Pros: value, durability, costco satisfaction guarantee
Cons: weight, tsa lock is cheap
Model Number: 575000
"This bag is intelligently designed with many features for durability. The bars of the roller handle have an oval shape that greatly improves tolerance of impact. After several trips it is still nearly as good as new and I don't worry about how the bag or my belongings will survive the airline luggage handling because the bag is solidly built. The downside of this is that the bag is heavier than ideal and is apparently geared for a 70-lb weight limit, thus making the expansion zipper superfluous for any trip involving a 50-lb limit. A matching bag with 75% of the volume capacity and a couple less inner pockets would be better suited to meeting the now nearly universal 50-lb weight limits. That said, although the bag is 3-5 lbs heavier than ideal, I would rather pack that much less than have to replace my bag every few trips. Bottom line: this bag is far superior to most of the competition and yet at a price that is markedly less than those of similar caliber."
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 11, 2011

pockets, sturdy, long lasting

Pros: warranty pockets
Cons: none
"I have bought 4 pieces of this brand for over 9 years, small changes over that time. Consistently has lasted international trips. I had to make one exchange for tear- easy no hassle at my local Costco. The3 exterior pockets are a great feature for using for storage of magazines and other handy items. I like the zippers that allow you to expand if over packing. Easily cleans with a damp cloth- they all look about the same in years-even though one was bought a year ago."
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:July 21, 2011

ripped on second use

Cons: rips
"I had a previous version of the Kirdland 27" which was great quality.
On my second trip some major seams began to open up."
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 19, 2011

good and could be improved

Pros: durable fabric, good zippers and spares
Cons: poor quality wheels, too heavy, strap for a second suitcase is easily lost
"This bag is in some ways a disappointment. I expect better on Kirtland Signature items.
The designs is basic with durable fabric and moldings, fairly scuff resistant.
The strap to attach a second suitcase is now held in place by only a snap, a near guarantee to lose it.
The bag is too heavy, using about a third of allowance.
Most annoyingly we have had two wheels disintegrate, of course, that does not happen at home but while traveling. Once we were close to a Costco and after trying to replace the wheel - we gave up and returned it.
"
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2011

Wheel rubber cover broke

"I like this bag. It is not too big and is good for traveling to more than one whether zones. However, after only a few trips the rubber on one wheel started to fracture and peel off. I will have to return it."
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas TX
Date:June 18, 2011

Last bag you'll ever buy

Pros: durable, looks good
"I travel most of the year. I own three of these bags and they fly with me around 16-20 segments a month fully loaded. They have held up better than my $400 Briggs and Riley bag. I highly recommend this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:June 11, 2011

Bag Ripped

Pros: size
Cons: bag ripped, pockets too small, heavy
Model Number: 575000
"Needed a bigger bag since I travel quite a bit. After reading the reviews I thought I would give this bag a shot. First off the pockets inside are too small to really hold anything, the mesh pocket on the inside is awkward to use, and the bag is actually to heavy. I'm a light packer and I had to re-pack twice due to being over the 50lb. weight limit. But most disturbing...the bag RIPPED on a corner seam after only 2 months of use. Very disappointed. Was looking at the Samsonite bag until a friend suggested I purchase this one. This bag is getting returned and I'm going to be re-examining the Samsonite. Very disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:May 7, 2011

Good quality but heavy

"I have a 21" Kirkland which has travelled more than a million miles and i am very happy with it ( 5Star rating). However the 27" empty weight is too heavy. I used it twice, both times it went over 50 lbs limit . when the same contents are packed in a different bag it weighed under 50 lbs. The handle too came off once. My suggestion for Costco will be come up with a lighter design with an improved handle mechanism"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:May 1, 2011

Handle Pulled Off

Cons: handles are not secured well.
Model Number: 575000
"I like the bag overall but, after a couple of trips the top handle pulled out from the plastic pin holding it in place. I was able to reattach the handle. This last trip United suceeded in pulling the handle off entirely.
I will be interested to see if Costco stands behind this product."
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olathe, KS
Date:April 15, 2011

Best Luggage

Pros: indestructible, lightweight
Cons: only comes in black
Model Number: 27"
"My luggage gets loaded on about 70 planes a year for about 5 years now.
I've had everything except Tumi, and this is the only brand that holds up. Every two years I buy new ones and give the old ones to relatives flying (they are still in great shape and will last them a decade, usually few if any scuff marks).
I've never had to retire a single Kirkland bag for damage or wear. Cheap luggage usually lasts about 5-10 flights. Mid-priced about 15-20. Even TravelPro would not last 1/2 as long as one of these bags.
It doesn't matter if you look at the 27" (my checked luggage) or the 22" rollaboard (also indestructible). These are the sturdiest, best made bags I've ever used."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2011

great bag

Pros: large capacity, rugged, overall design
Cons: suit bag design
"My spouse and I bought several of these for an overseas move, and they have served us well. We have loaded them with 50-70 lbs each trip back and forth home, and they have stood up to the rigors of international travel well. With the expansion zipper, we have been able to pack these very full. The overall design is simple, leaving little wasted space.
I agree with other reviewers that the suit bag design is lacking. It doesn't properly fold in half or thirds, and doesn't fill the space designed for it, leaving wasted space."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 30, 2011

Good product, but previous versions better

"I have owned the Kirkland Signature series of expandable luggage for quite a while, both the smaller 22" and two previous versions of this larger one.
This is a good product - decent quality, but it does have a few negatives too. Take a look at the key points:
1. The exterior material feels a little "cheaper" but it does seem to be a lighter, which is valuable when you're trying to pack as much as possible but stay under the airlines' 50lb weight limit.
2. The material does seem to take a beating pretty well - I've taken it on two transatlantic flights with multiple connections and it's still scuff-free.
3. It has a weird suit bag - the suit bag collapses in a way that you can't use the two handles together. Not sure who came up with that idea.
4. It doesn't come with a dirty laundry bag. That was one of my favorite things with the previous versions - a HUGE laundry bag.
5. The add-on luggage adapter is very useful. However, be careful as it comes off easily like the other reviewers have cited. This is an easy problem to solve - I just take it off when I am not using it.
6. The zipper expansion on this version is a better idea than the tightening straps in the old version of this bag.
7. It comes with a heavy duty TSA-approved travel lock.
8. I dislike the plastic handles on both the bottom of the bag and the top drag bar. The plastic handle on the bottom of the bag is shaped such that you have to carry it right-side up; the previous leather straps allowed you to carry the bag upside down or right side up.
Conclusion: The reason I bought this is because it's a great price compared to other bags on the market and it's covered by Costco's satisfaction guarantee, which is worth its weight in gold.
As long as you know what you're getting into and don't expect this to be a magical bag, then you will be happy with it especially at its price point."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara
Date:January 5, 2011

No extra bag strap

Pros: great construction, roomy, lot of pockets, no wasted space between the outside pockets
Cons: no strap to add another bag to the front
Model Number: 27"
"I had really liked this bag until preparing for an overseas trip through LAX. There is no top front strap with which to attach another bag to the front of the bag, to use while wheeling the long corridors of LAX. Now I'll have to wheel two bags along. NOT GOOD. Does anyone have a fix for this? I was going to use a strap from a carryon I wouldn't be using, but there is no place to attach it.
The construction of the bag is very good. The one thing I initially liked then came to dislike is the lack of a zipper to expand the bag. It has a weird system of two inside pulls with which to cinch it down. They have twice come undone when the bag was checked, and the bag was unintentionally expanded.
So I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless they don't use that method to wheel two bags at once. Some people put their carryon on top of the big bag, but that really adds to the weight on the handle.
"
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Date:October 16, 2010

Favorite Bag

Pros: very sturdy favorite among airline personnel
Cons: extra bag holder falls off when not in use
Model Number: 22 inch
"I like the Kirkland Signature Luggage. My only complaint is the clip for the extra bag, it falls off, if not in use. Also it is placed on the weakest part of the suitcase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:October 12, 2010

Finally a Great Piece of Luggage

Pros: large sturdy wheels are easy to turn., extra stuff like zipper pulls and tsa locks., roomy with two side pockets
Cons: connecting straps are easy to lose.
"This is the suitcase I've been looking for for years. I travel to a lot and typically carry between 50 and 70lbs in each suitcase. Not only do these cases hold up to the challenge, but their large wheels make pulling these cases EASY. You know what's better than carrying one of these suitcases? Carrying TWO!! I "daisy-chain" the one to the other using the included straps and they're actually lighter than if you pulled one. Very, very well made product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:September 8, 2010

Even better than suitcases costing 5X as much

Pros: superior in every way, great zipper handles stiching expansion
Cons: greatly need to expand the ks line as before, can't think of any cons
"I love suitcases and used to purchase T----suitcases until I found that Kirkland Signature pays more attention to detail, is better in many little ways .... and costs 1/5 the price! I currently have a large collection of Kirkland Signature luggage because they hold up so well, are easy to pack, are very strong, and the handles simply feel great. And if one ever has a problem, Costco's warrantee works very well and quickly to repair the product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Alabama
Date:July 17, 2010

Very Nice Bag

Pros: big wheels, sturdy zippers
Cons: lack of color selction, minimal matching collection items, internal handle system
Model Number: Model 805-27-001-vpm
"This was a replacement for an well used KS bag that I had worn one of the wheels off. I took the old one back to Costco and received my money back. I immediately walked back to the luggage section and picked up this gem.
Seems improved over the old model in form, fit and fashion. Its big wheels roll easier than the predecessor. I like the zipper based expansion than the old "automatic" drawstring system on the previous model. It has and handle on the underside of the luggage to help hoist it up onto hotel room luggage stands.
Lack of a color selection (black only), minimal matching collection items (only the 27" and the roll on [seen at store]) and the handle system is internal to the bag (an external system would give a little more room in the bag) are the only things keeping this from being a 5 star selection."
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LAX
Date:June 11, 2010

Airline Crew Favorite!

Pros: wheels, strong handle - good for tall people too!, clip for extra bag won't break.
Cons: clip for extra bag will fall off if not used!
"I am an airline pilot, and have been using the Kirkland Bag for years. This version is the best. The replaceable wheels are the greatest improvement to this product. The best part is ...WARRANTY FOR LIFE!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 27" Expandable Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010

Weak parts

Model Number: Model 805-27-001-vpm
"For the most part this is a very nice bag but a couple things really need to be replaced. The side handle is attached to the bag with 2 plastic parts on both ends and came apart twice while on vacation. The additional bag strap that hooks to the top of the bag falls off easily and was almost lost on the same trip. 1 star means "poor", 2 stars means "fair", I did not think parts coming off the bag deserved a "fair" rating, so it only gets 1 star from me. I would recommend this bag to a friend, but I would warn them about the these 2 weak points."
1 2 next>>