Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

Black
Average Customer Rating:
2.046 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
27
10 of 43(23%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:August 1, 2011

Not as good as previous model

Cons: black only color available, t-bar strap breakable, front shallow pocket is two deep., plastic not rubber coners.
"My family has owned a pair of the previous model of these and used them for over 100 plane flights and they are great. I just purchased another pair and am very disappointed for the following reasons:
• Only color available is black. When you are waiting for the suitcase in baggage claim, it is very hard to distinguish from the other suitcases.
• The handle is more flimsy. When I put it on the upright lock position, it seems to wiggle around and jostle some.
• The outside edges are plastic, not rubber. I am worried these will crack more.
• There are two sight variations available, but in neither of them do I like the front top outside compartment. it used to be to a nice shallow pocket which was great for holding things like ties, battery/phone chargers, boarding passes etc. It is now just a deep shallow pocket, which is hard to figure out what to do with.
• The front shallow compartments now pack down to being more rounded, the flat. This makes it hard to fit in with other suitcases in the car trunk.
I am returning them, until I can get a hold of the older models again."
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011

Not up to Costco standards

"Similar to previous bags this size, but now with a flimsy T-Bar luggage strap that easily falls off and needs only the slightest impact to break. This bag certainly isn't up to Costco standards!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, California
Date:June 17, 2011

Older is Better

"I have the older model and it's far superior to this model. Please re-stock the older model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 12, 2011

kirkland carry on(NOT)

Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry on Luggage
"I am an International Flight Attendant and have used many Costco Suitcases on the job. I will tell you that the current version of the rollaboard unit is lacking the satisfaction of its previous models. The former clip/lock attachment for the add-a-bag strap was far superior to the current T-BAR attachment. It fell off the first time I used it, and the second time, LOST FOREVER, now rendering my suitcase almost useless as we all use the strap to carry our personal tote bags. I am HIGHLY DISAPOINTED, and found that Costco even has a link regarding this issue on the website that gives you a phone number to the manufacturer which I might add is DISCONNECTED. Am waiting now until the weekend is over to call Customer Service to try and resolve this very unsatisfactory sitation. Meanwhile I have to lug my tote manually and am very unhappy with my purchase. Thumbs down on this one!"
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2011

A major lapse in quality

"This redesigned kirkland signature carry-on really took a dive as far as quality is concerned. I owned 3 of the previous style of kirkland carry-ons, and their quality was vastly superior (they had a weak spot in their luggage strap though).
I am a professional traveler and give my suitecase quite a workout, and I am quite disappointed in the flaws I've found in the redesign. They include...
1. T-Bar strap that easily falls off and metal can break if a heavy load is put on it (approximately 20 pounds).
2. Zipper ripped off somehow when in the aircraft cargo pit.
3. Handle that eventually failed to retract fully, which makes it impossible to fit in an overhead.
I guess there is a reason these no longer come with a lifetime guarantee."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 31, 2011

Not a carry on!

"It seems made well but I could not fit this wheels out in the overhead. Flights are really packed these days so I don't want to waste space with my carry on and that's what this bag makes you do. I usually fly on 737-700s and the bag wouldn't fit so I dont know how they get away advertising it as a carry on. The luggage designers certainly didn't do their due diligence in designing this bag."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:March 27, 2011

T-bar strap falls off; Doesn't fit overhead

Pros: large wing straps for holding clothes securely.
Cons: t-bar strap falls off and is easily lost, doesn't fit overhead bin the short way on most ac
Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry-on
"I've used an older Kirkland carry-on for years and was very pleased. This bag was intended as a replacement. While the new bag has many positive features, it has two deal breakers for me as a frequent traveler:
1) It doesn't fit in the overhead bin in the short direction on any flight I've been on. (That's the window to aisle direction.) This includes Delta 737s, the USAir Shuttle (Airbus 319) and JetBlue A320s. On typically full flights, this significantly increases the risk it will have to be checked, delaying your departure from the airport. The old Kirkland carry-on fit just fine.
2) The t-bar snap-on strap doesn't stay securely attached when you don't have another bag attached. I use the strap to hold my laptop case and so take it on and off frequently for TSA inspection, loading in overhead, going up stairs, etc. When unloaded and attached to the carry-on, it frequently pops off. I've had it fall off going through the TSA x-ray machine and going in and out of the overhead bin (the long way ;-). Indeed, it was ultimately lost.
The old Kirkland carry-on had a secure snap buckle instead of the t-bar.
If you check bags anyway or don't use the attachment strap feature, it may be a good bag for you.
The large wing straps for holding clothes in the main compartment are better than the old bag's 1" straps.
Bag was purchased from a Boston area warehouse in February 2011."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

Bring Back the Old Model!

"I couldn't agree more with other reviewers here who, like me, had the older Kirkland carry-on bag. I recently went to Costco to replace the bag lost by an airline. It had seen hundreds of thousands of miles, and was still solid as a rock... Honestly, my girlfriend has all Tumi bags, and I always felt mine was not in any way inferior.
I was disappointed to find this bag on the shelf as the replacement, and am looking elsewhere.
I miss my old Kirkland bag. This one seems cheaply put together, and despite Costco's great policies in backing their products I can't see myself rolling this bag into any airport."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 8, 2011

Will NOT fit in overhead bin

"Nice enough bag, but the size is too large for the overhead bin, atleast on United, Continental and USAir. Internal organization is poorly conceived. Two pocket runs the length/ height of the bag, and they then protrude into the main packing area. Most well designed bags locate these internal pockets to the shorter dimension. External pockets are extremely flat, and the lining comes out everytime they are emptied. This is the most dissappointed Kirkland Signature product I've ever purchased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

not like the older model

"What happened to our Kirkland luggage? The former 22" Kirkland was the best bag I had ever used. The new model is not living up to the standards of my old 22" Kirkland bag. Please bring back the former quality that I depend on for my travels."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 25, 2011

NOT a carry on!!

"I thought this was great bag until my first trip. It will not fit in, wheels out, in an overhead bin due to length of feet. In addition the strap fell off about 5 times during my short trip despite "clicking" it in place. I eventually lost it somewhere at the SeaTac airport. Very poor design and I am returning it today"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 20, 2011

It's a great bag!

Model Number: 515223
"I think it's a great bag. I've never had any problems with overhead fit. If it doesn't fit with the handle out reverse the bag and put the wheels out. It should fit. Plus, you can't beat the Costco warranty."
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:January 20, 2011

Worst Costco carry on bag made yet!

Cons: read review
Model Number: 22" carryon bag
"I am a commercial pilot and have been using Costco's carryon bags for years. Out of all I have used, this one is the worst one EVER! The handle is made of cheap plastic, whereas the older models were made of rubber. The side "grab" handles had a leather wrap on the older bags, this bag has a plastic/rubber handle. The storage "pouches" inside were better on the older models, and the pull handle is about 4' shorter on this model, making it very difficult to pull without catching my heels! Plus, the "secureAttach" strap is easily removed, making it very possible to loose. Zippers are smaller so is harder to zip and unzip. Overall very disappointed in this bag (very satisfied with the older styles) and will be returning it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

Great Bag!!

Pros: light small fits!
Model Number: 805-27-001-vpm
"This bag fit very well, straight in, in the overhead compartment of my flight, coming and going. I am seeing comments regarding not fitting in the overhead, when I experienced great results as a carry on bag. Light weight, easy to handle, and fit wonderfully in the overhead. The Kirkland Signature "Expandable Carry-On" Luggage is a great bag in my experience."
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bigfork, MT
Date:January 10, 2011

Excellent overall

"If it is packed too full for the overhead it fits well under the seat. If this is packed too full for carry-on, and the very conevnient extension has been maximized, it deserves to be checked. Unextended, it is the maximum size made to be carried on and if packed right carry's on easily, rolls down the aisle, and stows fine. We have never had a rejection by an attendant.
High quality construction, very durable, great price, great zippers, lots of room, light, rolls exceptionally well, and with the angle and way it is designed it carry's a piggy back bag easily and still rolls perfect.
I personally think this is a great piece of carry-on luggage at a great price and my wife and I have travelled all over the world with two and its predecessor. We bought this one because the older style had been improved upon and still can use both. If a bag fits in the airport size form, as this does to the max, it can be carried on. In a small craft, such as an Alaska/Horizon jet/prop, it can be gate checked as you board "a la cart" to be picked up upon exiting the aircraft, as any thing over a purse size will not fit in a bin on a small craft."
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:January 9, 2011

Sturdy Product But, Too Tall

Pros: sturdy, good material, light
Cons: too tall
"This bag will not fit lengthwise (aisle to window) in all airline overhead bins. Costco, please redesign your bag! I'll purchase two when you do."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, D.C.
Date:January 5, 2011

Kirkland Signature Carry-on - it's not

Pros: well made
Cons: doesn't fit in overhead, relatively heavy
"As much as I want to like this bag, it's oversized nature is a non-starter. The bag simply doesn't fit lengthwise in the overheads of many common commercial airline equipment including the ubiquitous 737. Although the bag is well made and quite rugged, one simply can't get beyond the overhead issue. Skip this bag until Costco re-tools it to fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:December 28, 2010

Bad design

Pros: very well built, good price
Cons: does not meet carry on size limits, tote belt keeps falling off
Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry on
"First of all this is a very well made piece. The problem is with the design.
First it isn't 22" to comply with airlines carry on limits like it says. It is actually close to 24 inches due to the large legs on the bottom. You can't put this straight in on an airline overhead bin.
Second, the attachment belt for carrying another briefcase, etc. while rolling it is a very bad design. It clips into plastic on the top, and when there is no weight on on it - it simply falls off. I almost lost this several times.
It's too bad they didn't design this to be smaller and had a better clip for the carry belt. If it weren't for these two things - this would be an excellent piece of carry on luggage. Unfortunately, these two things are fatal flaws.
I ended up taking mine back."
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:roseville, ca
Date:December 17, 2010

Doesnt fit in overhead bins

Cons: too big
"I purchased it today and it doesn't fit on a Southwest 737 700 series (this is there plane with the most space). It may fit on an Airbus 320. But I don't suggest to buy it because it doesn't fit as a carry on on 737. I thought this was the redesigned bag as mentioned in recent reviews below but its still to big. I'm a pilot that commutes weekly its a beautiful well made bag and will last for a long time but not with me."
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 10, 2010

Not as a cary-on

Pros: pockets, durability
Cons: wrong dimensions for carry-on travel
Model Number: Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on
"This is a great bag. The inside layout is good. Lots of pockets, etc. I used the previous model for over four years and I travel for business weekly. This model on the other hand, does not fit in the overhead. It is about an 1" to 1.5" too long to fit lengthwise in the overhead. It was returned after two short trips. Now I'm looking for a replacement."
1 2 3 next>>