Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

Black
Average Customer Rating:
2.046 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
27
10 of 43(23%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:April 6, 2010

Not Carry On

"As other folks have stated, this is not a carry on. It only fits in sideways and will not stow in overhead bins on a 757 wheels in first or handle in first.
Granted you can risk it and try to sneak it on board and hope you are early enough to stuff it in sideways, but there is the added stress of being told you have to check your 'carry on,' and also you are stealing space from others with correct sized carry on bags.
It just isn't worth the headache, but if airlines try to start charging for carry on bags as well as some companies are doing this may become a moot point, since check in bags and carry on will both incur charges.
I also returned this bag to Costco.
Even without the too big problem I dislike that it only has two wheels. The Samsonite 3 luggage set Costco used to carry had 4 sets of two wheels, allowing you to push the luggage flat along the floor or drag it behind you, which is a major upgrade and very helpful for heavier bags."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010

From an airline pilot

Cons: extremely unreliable
"I have been a customer of Kirkland since 2007. Don't get the new and only design on the shelf right now. The strap that you can use to secure a tote bag to your rollar bag is designed poorly. Thre is a T type bar that straps to the top of your bag that never fits securely. It will fall off the rollar bag without even touching it or having anything secure to it. You'll walk on smooth ground without running into anything and it will still fall off. I've taken the older ones back in a span of 1.5 years mostly from wheels grabbing but the strap was great. This model I have taken back twice in a span of a month because of the strap. You get your money back on it but when you are in the middle of a trip and realize the strap is missing then you are miserable because thats when you need it the most. So having said that, even though it is under unlimited warranty it is completely worthless and unrelaible."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 24, 2010

Well made like previous but TOO BIG FOR CARRY ON

Pros: well made
Cons: too large for carry on!
"We recently purchased an additional 22" piece of luggage from our local Costo because the previous ones were so excellent -- great design, durable, etc.
Unfortunately we found out the hard way today that the new 2010 design is too big to fit as a carry-on on United Airlines. My wife recently couldn't fit hers in wheels-first on either their new 767 or one of their 757 planes. She had to turn it sideways which was very inefficient and expects she will run into problems on future full flights and be forced to gate-check this.
Fortunately Costco will let us return this bag ... but it's too bad because it seems like it's very well made -- just a little too big.
Costco if you're listening please redesign this bag!!
Costco does list the dimesions as the same as previous designs so I don't quite know if it's a problem with the shape or something else, but if you're listening Costco,
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:January 20, 2011

Worst Costco carry on bag made yet!

Cons: read review
Model Number: 22" carryon bag
"I am a commercial pilot and have been using Costco's carryon bags for years. Out of all I have used, this one is the worst one EVER! The handle is made of cheap plastic, whereas the older models were made of rubber. The side "grab" handles had a leather wrap on the older bags, this bag has a plastic/rubber handle. The storage "pouches" inside were better on the older models, and the pull handle is about 4' shorter on this model, making it very difficult to pull without catching my heels! Plus, the "secureAttach" strap is easily removed, making it very possible to loose. Zippers are smaller so is harder to zip and unzip. Overall very disappointed in this bag (very satisfied with the older styles) and will be returning it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2011

A major lapse in quality

"This redesigned kirkland signature carry-on really took a dive as far as quality is concerned. I owned 3 of the previous style of kirkland carry-ons, and their quality was vastly superior (they had a weak spot in their luggage strap though).
I am a professional traveler and give my suitecase quite a workout, and I am quite disappointed in the flaws I've found in the redesign. They include...
1. T-Bar strap that easily falls off and metal can break if a heavy load is put on it (approximately 20 pounds).
2. Zipper ripped off somehow when in the aircraft cargo pit.
3. Handle that eventually failed to retract fully, which makes it impossible to fit in an overhead.
I guess there is a reason these no longer come with a lifetime guarantee."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:April 10, 2010

Wonderful Suitcase....but....

"I work as a flight attendant and have thoroughly enjoyed Kirkland's suitcases throughout the years. This newer version is much more expandable than in the past. I can fit many more items into this bag than with other versions. However, as most people have stated, the bag does not fit into most narrow-body aircraft overhead bins that I have flown. It does fit very well into the 747 and A330 bins. The only issue I have is with the strap. The newly designed strap tends to fall off quite often when a tote bag is not attached to the suitcase. That seems to be the only inconvenience for me. Otherwise, the bag is awesome. Many other flight attendants seem to be buying this bag left and right. I'm buying another one for a friend as we speak."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2010

Missed the mark

Pros: quality
Cons: can't fit in the overhead bins
"This is the third time I purchased a Kirkland signature rollaboard. I love these bags for the price and quality. However, this latest edition missed the mark. I can't get it to fit in the overhead bins, wheels in or out. I don't want to be a bin hog by setting it sideway. So, this one is going back to the store."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:March 13, 2010

Great Bag

Pros: great bag, great price, costco's return policy
Cons: tote
"Listen, I am a pilot and I know luggage. This is a great high quality bag. Don't listen to other reviews. IT DOES FIT in the overhead bins. It is the standard 22x14x9. It won't fit in those small regional jets, but no bag will. That's why you gate check it and pick it up at your destination. If you expand the bag for an extra long trip then it is not a legal carry-on and you may have to put it under the plane. The great part is that it gives you that option of expanding to a larger bag to get that extra couple inches instead of having two bags, one for the every week business trip, and one for that week long vacation. Regardless of how you may feel about the look or how it feels, it will last (if it doesn't, return it). For your average business man or pilot that needs a bag every week for a 4 or 5 day trip it is a solid well built bag.
To other pilots looking for a bag, the only aircraft that I have come across that it doesn't fit in the overhead are the CRJs. It's about a 1/4" too thick. Also the tote that you attach your flight kit to works great, however, do not unbuckle the strap from your flight kit, detach it from your rollerboard and leave it buckled to your flight kit. If you leave it on the rollerboard with nothing attached, there is a chance it will come off and you will lose it. It works great, probably better design over the travel pro because the buckle won't wear out. You just have to leave the strap attached to your flight kit so that you don't lose it. It is not the same design as Luggage Works and Travel Pro. When you get it, you will know what I mean."
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

Bring Back the Old Model!

"I couldn't agree more with other reviewers here who, like me, had the older Kirkland carry-on bag. I recently went to Costco to replace the bag lost by an airline. It had seen hundreds of thousands of miles, and was still solid as a rock... Honestly, my girlfriend has all Tumi bags, and I always felt mine was not in any way inferior.
I was disappointed to find this bag on the shelf as the replacement, and am looking elsewhere.
I miss my old Kirkland bag. This one seems cheaply put together, and despite Costco's great policies in backing their products I can't see myself rolling this bag into any airport."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 6, 2010

Very interesting

Pros: 75% off brand name, always fit in any normal overhead bin i've tried
"I am very intrigued. I currently own a 22" Kirkland Carry-On and love it. I own 3, the oldest is about 12 years old. Costco has always copied the best features of the $400 bags. I have NEVER had a problem with any of the 3 and they have ALWAYS fit in a standard overhead bin.
However, my "newest" bag is about 2 years old and I'm in the market for a new one. I guess it's possible they made the new big slightly bigger. I've been on Travelpro and Briggs & Riley and the Costco bag has all the same features of bags that are 4 times the price. I do notice however, that B&R's most popular carry-on is 21.5" x 8.5" x 14", where Costco's lists at 22" x 9" x 14". B&R does have a nice feature to have the handle outside the bag.
I'll buy the newest Costco version and comment again.
I wish Costco came and read these and added the webmaster's comments or responses. I'd like to also know when the NEXT version of the bag will be out."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:August 1, 2011

Not as good as previous model

Cons: black only color available, t-bar strap breakable, front shallow pocket is two deep., plastic not rubber coners.
"My family has owned a pair of the previous model of these and used them for over 100 plane flights and they are great. I just purchased another pair and am very disappointed for the following reasons:
• Only color available is black. When you are waiting for the suitcase in baggage claim, it is very hard to distinguish from the other suitcases.
• The handle is more flimsy. When I put it on the upright lock position, it seems to wiggle around and jostle some.
• The outside edges are plastic, not rubber. I am worried these will crack more.
• There are two sight variations available, but in neither of them do I like the front top outside compartment. it used to be to a nice shallow pocket which was great for holding things like ties, battery/phone chargers, boarding passes etc. It is now just a deep shallow pocket, which is hard to figure out what to do with.
• The front shallow compartments now pack down to being more rounded, the flat. This makes it hard to fit in with other suitcases in the car trunk.
I am returning them, until I can get a hold of the older models again."
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2010

Fantastic build quality and materials, but...

Pros: fit and finish
Cons: size makes it impossible to store in overhead bins
"I have to echo the previous comments about the size of this bag when used as an airline carry-on. First, the bag is superb in quality and build. The attention to detail combined with the fit and finish rivals Tumi and Briggs and Stratton. However, the bag is slightly too tall and thick to fit in many airline's overhead bins.
I fly for a living, and this is a deal breaker for me. In the last week I have tried storing this bag in overheads on Alaska 737's, and Continental 737's and 757's with the same disappointing result every time. Wheels in, wheels out, upside down and backwards, it doesn't matter as this bag is about 1" too tall and 3/4" too thick to fit even when lightly packed.
Kirkland, please shave a little off this bag and I'll never go to another brand again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 25, 2011

NOT a carry on!!

"I thought this was great bag until my first trip. It will not fit in, wheels out, in an overhead bin due to length of feet. In addition the strap fell off about 5 times during my short trip despite "clicking" it in place. I eventually lost it somewhere at the SeaTac airport. Very poor design and I am returning it today"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 12, 2011

kirkland carry on(NOT)

Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry on Luggage
"I am an International Flight Attendant and have used many Costco Suitcases on the job. I will tell you that the current version of the rollaboard unit is lacking the satisfaction of its previous models. The former clip/lock attachment for the add-a-bag strap was far superior to the current T-BAR attachment. It fell off the first time I used it, and the second time, LOST FOREVER, now rendering my suitcase almost useless as we all use the strap to carry our personal tote bags. I am HIGHLY DISAPOINTED, and found that Costco even has a link regarding this issue on the website that gives you a phone number to the manufacturer which I might add is DISCONNECTED. Am waiting now until the weekend is over to call Customer Service to try and resolve this very unsatisfactory sitation. Meanwhile I have to lug my tote manually and am very unhappy with my purchase. Thumbs down on this one!"
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 22, 2010

Too big to carry onto any aircraft

Pros: high quality
Cons: too big to carry on any u.s. aircraft
"Although Costco claims that this carry on will fit, it won't.
It is larger than the size stated on Costco's web-site, and it does not comply with the carry on size requirements for any commercial airline in the U.S., including Alaska and American Airlines.
Costco appears to have excluded the outside pockets, handles, wheels, and stops on calculating its sizing. Unfortunately, the airlines won't.
It will fit in the overhead compartment of a 737 as long as you're not in the first 6 rows, and so if the airlines lets you carry it on, you should be able to stow it. But, if they ask you to test it in their sizing device, it will not fit, and you'll be required to check it.
Also, the extension handle on this unit is about 2 inches shorter than prior versions.
Prior versions of this bag from Costco did fit, and so its unfortunate that Costco chose to increase the size beyond what's permitted by the airlines.
The bag is a high quality bag, and you can't beat Costco's lifetime warranty. If you don't mind taking the risk that you'll have to check it, you can't go wrong. Otherwise, you should consider another brand, like Travelpro, which is sized to carry on."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

not like the older model

"What happened to our Kirkland luggage? The former 22" Kirkland was the best bag I had ever used. The new model is not living up to the standards of my old 22" Kirkland bag. Please bring back the former quality that I depend on for my travels."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern UT
Date:November 28, 2010

Great bag BUT,

Pros: great construction, easy to disasemble
Cons: to big to be a carry -on bag
"Overall construction is very sturdy and light weight, Lots of thought went into the design details Except the Size. I bought this bag because it was listed as "carry On". Was flying Allegiant Air and they are sticklers about dimensions. My handyman spouse was dropping me off and used some tools to remove the wheels, and support feet. Luckily it was packed light and did fit into the measuring device at the check in. The Agent was impressed though. Threw the wheels back on to walk through the airport and removed for Flight (it wouldn't fit int the overhead with the wheels) To much of a hassle so will have to CHECK this bag anytime I use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 23, 2010

Appears to be the proper size now...

"I previously wrote a review explaining how this bag was sized too big to qualify as a carry on on commercial airplanes.
It appears that Costco has made some changes to this bag, and it is now sized consistently with my Travelpro 22" bag. It is still a tad over 22", but so is the Travelpro 22" bag that I've been using for over a year.
It is unfortunate that Costco chose not to introduce a new item number when it made the changes. The newer version appears to have solved the main problem that is mentioned in the older reviews, including mine. Yet, because the item number hasn't changed, the old reviews still show up.
This bag is essentially a carbon copy of the Tumi Alpha 22" carry on. It's a sturdy bag and is backed by Costco's lifetime warranty. Since it now appears to fit within the airline sizers, I highly recommend the bag.
In some ways, I like it even better than my more expensive Travelpro Crew 7. For one thing, it is definitely sturdier. For another, I like that the attachment strap is a speed strap style (you can snap together a closed loop) instead of a j-hook style (which is what my travelpro uses). I'm not so sure I like the T-bar attachment where the strap attaches to the 22" Kirkland (and I've read one review that says it comes loose too easily), but I noticed that Tumi uses the same type of mechanism. I'll have to see how it works in practice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:March 27, 2011

T-bar strap falls off; Doesn't fit overhead

Pros: large wing straps for holding clothes securely.
Cons: t-bar strap falls off and is easily lost, doesn't fit overhead bin the short way on most ac
Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry-on
"I've used an older Kirkland carry-on for years and was very pleased. This bag was intended as a replacement. While the new bag has many positive features, it has two deal breakers for me as a frequent traveler:
1) It doesn't fit in the overhead bin in the short direction on any flight I've been on. (That's the window to aisle direction.) This includes Delta 737s, the USAir Shuttle (Airbus 319) and JetBlue A320s. On typically full flights, this significantly increases the risk it will have to be checked, delaying your departure from the airport. The old Kirkland carry-on fit just fine.
2) The t-bar snap-on strap doesn't stay securely attached when you don't have another bag attached. I use the strap to hold my laptop case and so take it on and off frequently for TSA inspection, loading in overhead, going up stairs, etc. When unloaded and attached to the carry-on, it frequently pops off. I've had it fall off going through the TSA x-ray machine and going in and out of the overhead bin (the long way ;-). Indeed, it was ultimately lost.
The old Kirkland carry-on had a secure snap buckle instead of the t-bar.
If you check bags anyway or don't use the attachment strap feature, it may be a good bag for you.
The large wing straps for holding clothes in the main compartment are better than the old bag's 1" straps.
Bag was purchased from a Boston area warehouse in February 2011."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bigfork, MT
Date:January 10, 2011

Excellent overall

"If it is packed too full for the overhead it fits well under the seat. If this is packed too full for carry-on, and the very conevnient extension has been maximized, it deserves to be checked. Unextended, it is the maximum size made to be carried on and if packed right carry's on easily, rolls down the aisle, and stows fine. We have never had a rejection by an attendant.
High quality construction, very durable, great price, great zippers, lots of room, light, rolls exceptionally well, and with the angle and way it is designed it carry's a piggy back bag easily and still rolls perfect.
I personally think this is a great piece of carry-on luggage at a great price and my wife and I have travelled all over the world with two and its predecessor. We bought this one because the older style had been improved upon and still can use both. If a bag fits in the airport size form, as this does to the max, it can be carried on. In a small craft, such as an Alaska/Horizon jet/prop, it can be gate checked as you board "a la cart" to be picked up upon exiting the aircraft, as any thing over a purse size will not fit in a bin on a small craft."
1 2 3 next>>