Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

Black
Average Customer Rating:
2.046 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
27
10 of 43(23%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Review 21 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:December 4, 2010

Redesigned bag, excellent value

Pros: durability, price, warranty
Cons: only black and red colors, pull handle wobbly
"The previous reviewer is correct that Costco recently changed the size of the bag. The height is now a tad over 22 inches which is more usable than the old height of 23.5. The T-strap connector was also redesigned to correct the issue with attachments falling off.
This bag is very similar to the Tumi Alpha 22" which retails for $595. There are a few cost cutting measures on this bag compared to the Tumi but for 1/6 the price and Costco's lifetime warranty / return policy, you can't beat it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern UT
Date:November 28, 2010

Great bag BUT,

Pros: great construction, easy to disasemble
Cons: to big to be a carry -on bag
"Overall construction is very sturdy and light weight, Lots of thought went into the design details Except the Size. I bought this bag because it was listed as "carry On". Was flying Allegiant Air and they are sticklers about dimensions. My handyman spouse was dropping me off and used some tools to remove the wheels, and support feet. Luckily it was packed light and did fit into the measuring device at the check in. The Agent was impressed though. Threw the wheels back on to walk through the airport and removed for Flight (it wouldn't fit int the overhead with the wheels) To much of a hassle so will have to CHECK this bag anytime I use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 23, 2010

Appears to be the proper size now...

"I previously wrote a review explaining how this bag was sized too big to qualify as a carry on on commercial airplanes.
It appears that Costco has made some changes to this bag, and it is now sized consistently with my Travelpro 22" bag. It is still a tad over 22", but so is the Travelpro 22" bag that I've been using for over a year.
It is unfortunate that Costco chose not to introduce a new item number when it made the changes. The newer version appears to have solved the main problem that is mentioned in the older reviews, including mine. Yet, because the item number hasn't changed, the old reviews still show up.
This bag is essentially a carbon copy of the Tumi Alpha 22" carry on. It's a sturdy bag and is backed by Costco's lifetime warranty. Since it now appears to fit within the airline sizers, I highly recommend the bag.
In some ways, I like it even better than my more expensive Travelpro Crew 7. For one thing, it is definitely sturdier. For another, I like that the attachment strap is a speed strap style (you can snap together a closed loop) instead of a j-hook style (which is what my travelpro uses). I'm not so sure I like the T-bar attachment where the strap attaches to the 22" Kirkland (and I've read one review that says it comes loose too easily), but I noticed that Tumi uses the same type of mechanism. I'll have to see how it works in practice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:November 4, 2010

Not As Good As Old Design by Paragon

Cons: strong chemical smell
Model Number: Kirkland Signature 22" Carry-On Luggage
"I purchased subject 22" carry-on luggage earlier and then I found out the quality wasn't as good as the old Kirkland Signature luggage used to be made by Paragon. The plastic inside the bag had such strong and unknown chemical smells. I wasn't sure whether harzadous chemicals were used or not so I returned the subject luggage back to the Costco a few days later.
I also agreed that the luggage is too big to be used as a carry-on.
"
Review 25 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010

From an airline pilot

Cons: extremely unreliable
"I have been a customer of Kirkland since 2007. Don't get the new and only design on the shelf right now. The strap that you can use to secure a tote bag to your rollar bag is designed poorly. Thre is a T type bar that straps to the top of your bag that never fits securely. It will fall off the rollar bag without even touching it or having anything secure to it. You'll walk on smooth ground without running into anything and it will still fall off. I've taken the older ones back in a span of 1.5 years mostly from wheels grabbing but the strap was great. This model I have taken back twice in a span of a month because of the strap. You get your money back on it but when you are in the middle of a trip and realize the strap is missing then you are miserable because thats when you need it the most. So having said that, even though it is under unlimited warranty it is completely worthless and unrelaible."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2010
Model Number: Item # 515223
"This is a nice sturdy bag but as has been noted, it's bigger than the old design, a bad move. Also the strap for carrying a briefcase on the back keeps falling off every time I disconnect the briefcase. This is a big design flaw over the previous strap which clicked in securely. I'm considering returning it as defective."
Review 27 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2010
"Will not fit overhead for most planes. The demensions are not accurate. Thanks Costco for making the return quick and painless"
Review 28 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northbrook, IL
Date:May 4, 2010

Just too big

Cons: too big for carry-on, bigger than advertised
"Overall construction looked fine, but after measuring this in the store I had to pass. Even though it's advertised as a 22" bag, the actual size is about 23 1/2". That will work in some aircraft as carry-on, but usually only sideways, and many European carriers will make you check it. Perhaps older models were smaller."
Review 29 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:April 27, 2010

Terrible move.....

Pros: very well made bag.
Cons: too big to be a carry on
"The old Costco 22" bags were true carry on size. These new bags MAY fit in the overhead bins but you have to get them on the plane first. On a recent trip we were planning on using these new bags as carry on bags and NOT checking luggage to save time and money.
We ended up being forced to check both bags on both legs of the trip. This cost us an additional $100. Hawaiian Air is very good at spotting over-sized carry on bags in my very recent experience.
If you are going to check a bag why not just go with the larger size?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:April 26, 2010

Disappointed

Cons: too big
Model Number: 515223
"I bought this before reading all the reviews. The current model, which I bought in a warehouse, is 24" tall, 14" wide, and 10" deep. That is significantly bigger than the dimensions listed for this item on the web site and on the item hangtag at 22x14x9. Since many airlines restrict carryon bags to 22x14x9, I cannot understand how Costco would sell a bag that exceeds these dimensions. Back it goes to the warehouse. How could the buyer and their boss make this mistake? It stands out because Costco is normally very good in merchandise selection, specification, and in ensuring quality control."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 23, 2010

DOES NOT FIT

"This is a nice suitcase if you wish to check it when flying.
I too am a Flight Attendant, for a major carrier.
I bought the suit case, took it on my trip. Out of 6 different planes - including the Boeing 737-300,500,700,800,900 and the Airbus A300 - it would ONLY fit lengthwise into the Boeing 737-900 bins.
FORGET the previous PILOT review, this bag does NOT fit -- you have to place it sideways to make it work.
I love Costco for handling my return $ with NO issues."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2010

Fantastic build quality and materials, but...

Pros: fit and finish
Cons: size makes it impossible to store in overhead bins
"I have to echo the previous comments about the size of this bag when used as an airline carry-on. First, the bag is superb in quality and build. The attention to detail combined with the fit and finish rivals Tumi and Briggs and Stratton. However, the bag is slightly too tall and thick to fit in many airline's overhead bins.
I fly for a living, and this is a deal breaker for me. In the last week I have tried storing this bag in overheads on Alaska 737's, and Continental 737's and 757's with the same disappointing result every time. Wheels in, wheels out, upside down and backwards, it doesn't matter as this bag is about 1" too tall and 3/4" too thick to fit even when lightly packed.
Kirkland, please shave a little off this bag and I'll never go to another brand again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:April 10, 2010

Wonderful Suitcase....but....

"I work as a flight attendant and have thoroughly enjoyed Kirkland's suitcases throughout the years. This newer version is much more expandable than in the past. I can fit many more items into this bag than with other versions. However, as most people have stated, the bag does not fit into most narrow-body aircraft overhead bins that I have flown. It does fit very well into the 747 and A330 bins. The only issue I have is with the strap. The newly designed strap tends to fall off quite often when a tote bag is not attached to the suitcase. That seems to be the only inconvenience for me. Otherwise, the bag is awesome. Many other flight attendants seem to be buying this bag left and right. I'm buying another one for a friend as we speak."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 6, 2010

Very interesting

Pros: 75% off brand name, always fit in any normal overhead bin i've tried
"I am very intrigued. I currently own a 22" Kirkland Carry-On and love it. I own 3, the oldest is about 12 years old. Costco has always copied the best features of the $400 bags. I have NEVER had a problem with any of the 3 and they have ALWAYS fit in a standard overhead bin.
However, my "newest" bag is about 2 years old and I'm in the market for a new one. I guess it's possible they made the new big slightly bigger. I've been on Travelpro and Briggs & Riley and the Costco bag has all the same features of bags that are 4 times the price. I do notice however, that B&R's most popular carry-on is 21.5" x 8.5" x 14", where Costco's lists at 22" x 9" x 14". B&R does have a nice feature to have the handle outside the bag.
I'll buy the newest Costco version and comment again.
I wish Costco came and read these and added the webmaster's comments or responses. I'd like to also know when the NEXT version of the bag will be out."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:April 6, 2010

Not Carry On

"As other folks have stated, this is not a carry on. It only fits in sideways and will not stow in overhead bins on a 757 wheels in first or handle in first.
Granted you can risk it and try to sneak it on board and hope you are early enough to stuff it in sideways, but there is the added stress of being told you have to check your 'carry on,' and also you are stealing space from others with correct sized carry on bags.
It just isn't worth the headache, but if airlines try to start charging for carry on bags as well as some companies are doing this may become a moot point, since check in bags and carry on will both incur charges.
I also returned this bag to Costco.
Even without the too big problem I dislike that it only has two wheels. The Samsonite 3 luggage set Costco used to carry had 4 sets of two wheels, allowing you to push the luggage flat along the floor or drag it behind you, which is a major upgrade and very helpful for heavier bags."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2010

Missed the mark

Pros: quality
Cons: can't fit in the overhead bins
"This is the third time I purchased a Kirkland signature rollaboard. I love these bags for the price and quality. However, this latest edition missed the mark. I can't get it to fit in the overhead bins, wheels in or out. I don't want to be a bin hog by setting it sideway. So, this one is going back to the store."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 24, 2010

Well made like previous but TOO BIG FOR CARRY ON

Pros: well made
Cons: too large for carry on!
"We recently purchased an additional 22" piece of luggage from our local Costo because the previous ones were so excellent -- great design, durable, etc.
Unfortunately we found out the hard way today that the new 2010 design is too big to fit as a carry-on on United Airlines. My wife recently couldn't fit hers in wheels-first on either their new 767 or one of their 757 planes. She had to turn it sideways which was very inefficient and expects she will run into problems on future full flights and be forced to gate-check this.
Fortunately Costco will let us return this bag ... but it's too bad because it seems like it's very well made -- just a little too big.
Costco if you're listening please redesign this bag!!
Costco does list the dimesions as the same as previous designs so I don't quite know if it's a problem with the shape or something else, but if you're listening Costco,
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 22, 2010

Too big to carry onto any aircraft

Pros: high quality
Cons: too big to carry on any u.s. aircraft
"Although Costco claims that this carry on will fit, it won't.
It is larger than the size stated on Costco's web-site, and it does not comply with the carry on size requirements for any commercial airline in the U.S., including Alaska and American Airlines.
Costco appears to have excluded the outside pockets, handles, wheels, and stops on calculating its sizing. Unfortunately, the airlines won't.
It will fit in the overhead compartment of a 737 as long as you're not in the first 6 rows, and so if the airlines lets you carry it on, you should be able to stow it. But, if they ask you to test it in their sizing device, it will not fit, and you'll be required to check it.
Also, the extension handle on this unit is about 2 inches shorter than prior versions.
Prior versions of this bag from Costco did fit, and so its unfortunate that Costco chose to increase the size beyond what's permitted by the airlines.
The bag is a high quality bag, and you can't beat Costco's lifetime warranty. If you don't mind taking the risk that you'll have to check it, you can't go wrong. Otherwise, you should consider another brand, like Travelpro, which is sized to carry on."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 16, 2010

Great Product...

Pros: well built, great value
Cons: too big for some airlines
"We bought this as a carry on this winter. I was really impressed with the quality. I have used it on 2 flights now. On the first flight, the airline would not allow me to carry it on as they measured it and said it was too big...almost returned the suitcase at that point since I thought it was advertised as a carry on by Costco. On the return trip, we were able to carry it on...so I'm going to keep it and see what happens on the next trip. If I get blocked again from carrying it on, then it gets returned to Costco."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:March 13, 2010

Great Bag

Pros: great bag, great price, costco's return policy
Cons: tote
"Listen, I am a pilot and I know luggage. This is a great high quality bag. Don't listen to other reviews. IT DOES FIT in the overhead bins. It is the standard 22x14x9. It won't fit in those small regional jets, but no bag will. That's why you gate check it and pick it up at your destination. If you expand the bag for an extra long trip then it is not a legal carry-on and you may have to put it under the plane. The great part is that it gives you that option of expanding to a larger bag to get that extra couple inches instead of having two bags, one for the every week business trip, and one for that week long vacation. Regardless of how you may feel about the look or how it feels, it will last (if it doesn't, return it). For your average business man or pilot that needs a bag every week for a 4 or 5 day trip it is a solid well built bag.
To other pilots looking for a bag, the only aircraft that I have come across that it doesn't fit in the overhead are the CRJs. It's about a 1/4" too thick. Also the tote that you attach your flight kit to works great, however, do not unbuckle the strap from your flight kit, detach it from your rollerboard and leave it buckled to your flight kit. If you leave it on the rollerboard with nothing attached, there is a chance it will come off and you will lose it. It works great, probably better design over the travel pro because the buckle won't wear out. You just have to leave the strap attached to your flight kit so that you don't lose it. It is not the same design as Luggage Works and Travel Pro. When you get it, you will know what I mean."
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>