Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

Black
Average Customer Rating:
2.046 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
27
10 of 43(23%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Review 21 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:April 27, 2010

Terrible move.....

Pros: very well made bag.
Cons: too big to be a carry on
"The old Costco 22" bags were true carry on size. These new bags MAY fit in the overhead bins but you have to get them on the plane first. On a recent trip we were planning on using these new bags as carry on bags and NOT checking luggage to save time and money.
We ended up being forced to check both bags on both legs of the trip. This cost us an additional $100. Hawaiian Air is very good at spotting over-sized carry on bags in my very recent experience.
If you are going to check a bag why not just go with the larger size?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 8, 2011

Will NOT fit in overhead bin

"Nice enough bag, but the size is too large for the overhead bin, atleast on United, Continental and USAir. Internal organization is poorly conceived. Two pocket runs the length/ height of the bag, and they then protrude into the main packing area. Most well designed bags locate these internal pockets to the shorter dimension. External pockets are extremely flat, and the lining comes out everytime they are emptied. This is the most dissappointed Kirkland Signature product I've ever purchased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 23, 2010

DOES NOT FIT

"This is a nice suitcase if you wish to check it when flying.
I too am a Flight Attendant, for a major carrier.
I bought the suit case, took it on my trip. Out of 6 different planes - including the Boeing 737-300,500,700,800,900 and the Airbus A300 - it would ONLY fit lengthwise into the Boeing 737-900 bins.
FORGET the previous PILOT review, this bag does NOT fit -- you have to place it sideways to make it work.
I love Costco for handling my return $ with NO issues."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010

Great value/product

Pros: durable materials and handsome design
Cons: none
"None of my previous travel bags even come close to the value and features of my new Kirkland 22" rolling suitcase. Having recently traveled with this bag, it passed all tests with flying colors; from easy rolling and great packing, to meeting my airline carryon requirements. It fits the overhead compartments perfectly. For the traveling professional or professional traveler, the case is a winner!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 31, 2011

Not a carry on!

"It seems made well but I could not fit this wheels out in the overhead. Flights are really packed these days so I don't want to waste space with my carry on and that's what this bag makes you do. I usually fly on 737-700s and the bag wouldn't fit so I dont know how they get away advertising it as a carry on. The luggage designers certainly didn't do their due diligence in designing this bag."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 7, 2010

Very bad design

Pros: quality
Cons: it is not a carry on as advertised., plastic handles.
"I have bought many bags over the years from Costco and have always been happy with the quality. I travel every week and all the bags I and my wife have bought have fit into the overhead until this one. It is not the dimensions that are stated. It will not fit in the overhead. It also does not fit in the size units of any of the airlines. I have been challenged on every flight with this bag to check it in by the airline staff.
Good thing Costco has a good return program since this one is going back. It would be wise to go back to the original design. This one doesn't work."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, D.C.
Date:January 5, 2011

Kirkland Signature Carry-on - it's not

Pros: well made
Cons: doesn't fit in overhead, relatively heavy
"As much as I want to like this bag, it's oversized nature is a non-starter. The bag simply doesn't fit lengthwise in the overheads of many common commercial airline equipment including the ubiquitous 737. Although the bag is well made and quite rugged, one simply can't get beyond the overhead issue. Skip this bag until Costco re-tools it to fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011

Not up to Costco standards

"Similar to previous bags this size, but now with a flimsy T-Bar luggage strap that easily falls off and needs only the slightest impact to break. This bag certainly isn't up to Costco standards!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:January 9, 2011

Sturdy Product But, Too Tall

Pros: sturdy, good material, light
Cons: too tall
"This bag will not fit lengthwise (aisle to window) in all airline overhead bins. Costco, please redesign your bag! I'll purchase two when you do."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:December 28, 2010

Bad design

Pros: very well built, good price
Cons: does not meet carry on size limits, tote belt keeps falling off
Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry on
"First of all this is a very well made piece. The problem is with the design.
First it isn't 22" to comply with airlines carry on limits like it says. It is actually close to 24 inches due to the large legs on the bottom. You can't put this straight in on an airline overhead bin.
Second, the attachment belt for carrying another briefcase, etc. while rolling it is a very bad design. It clips into plastic on the top, and when there is no weight on on it - it simply falls off. I almost lost this several times.
It's too bad they didn't design this to be smaller and had a better clip for the carry belt. If it weren't for these two things - this would be an excellent piece of carry on luggage. Unfortunately, these two things are fatal flaws.
I ended up taking mine back."
Review 31 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:April 26, 2010

Disappointed

Cons: too big
Model Number: 515223
"I bought this before reading all the reviews. The current model, which I bought in a warehouse, is 24" tall, 14" wide, and 10" deep. That is significantly bigger than the dimensions listed for this item on the web site and on the item hangtag at 22x14x9. Since many airlines restrict carryon bags to 22x14x9, I cannot understand how Costco would sell a bag that exceeds these dimensions. Back it goes to the warehouse. How could the buyer and their boss make this mistake? It stands out because Costco is normally very good in merchandise selection, specification, and in ensuring quality control."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:December 4, 2010

Redesigned bag, excellent value

Pros: durability, price, warranty
Cons: only black and red colors, pull handle wobbly
"The previous reviewer is correct that Costco recently changed the size of the bag. The height is now a tad over 22 inches which is more usable than the old height of 23.5. The T-strap connector was also redesigned to correct the issue with attachments falling off.
This bag is very similar to the Tumi Alpha 22" which retails for $595. There are a few cost cutting measures on this bag compared to the Tumi but for 1/6 the price and Costco's lifetime warranty / return policy, you can't beat it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:March 7, 2010

Don't call it a carry-on

Pros: quality, materials, price
Cons: size
"This is my second Kirkland Signature 22” carry-on bag. Is the same quality and materials as other bags retailing over $400. The only problem is that it exceeds the carry-on size limitations for most domestic airlines."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 16, 2010

Great Product...

Pros: well built, great value
Cons: too big for some airlines
"We bought this as a carry on this winter. I was really impressed with the quality. I have used it on 2 flights now. On the first flight, the airline would not allow me to carry it on as they measured it and said it was too big...almost returned the suitcase at that point since I thought it was advertised as a carry on by Costco. On the return trip, we were able to carry it on...so I'm going to keep it and see what happens on the next trip. If I get blocked again from carrying it on, then it gets returned to Costco."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, California
Date:June 17, 2011

Older is Better

"I have the older model and it's far superior to this model. Please re-stock the older model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:November 4, 2010

Not As Good As Old Design by Paragon

Cons: strong chemical smell
Model Number: Kirkland Signature 22" Carry-On Luggage
"I purchased subject 22" carry-on luggage earlier and then I found out the quality wasn't as good as the old Kirkland Signature luggage used to be made by Paragon. The plastic inside the bag had such strong and unknown chemical smells. I wasn't sure whether harzadous chemicals were used or not so I returned the subject luggage back to the Costco a few days later.
I also agreed that the luggage is too big to be used as a carry-on.
"
Review 37 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:roseville, ca
Date:December 17, 2010

Doesnt fit in overhead bins

Cons: too big
"I purchased it today and it doesn't fit on a Southwest 737 700 series (this is there plane with the most space). It may fit on an Airbus 320. But I don't suggest to buy it because it doesn't fit as a carry on on 737. I thought this was the redesigned bag as mentioned in recent reviews below but its still to big. I'm a pilot that commutes weekly its a beautiful well made bag and will last for a long time but not with me."
Review 38 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

Great Bag!!

Pros: light small fits!
Model Number: 805-27-001-vpm
"This bag fit very well, straight in, in the overhead compartment of my flight, coming and going. I am seeing comments regarding not fitting in the overhead, when I experienced great results as a carry on bag. Light weight, easy to handle, and fit wonderfully in the overhead. The Kirkland Signature "Expandable Carry-On" Luggage is a great bag in my experience."
Review 39 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 10, 2010

Not as a cary-on

Pros: pockets, durability
Cons: wrong dimensions for carry-on travel
Model Number: Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on
"This is a great bag. The inside layout is good. Lots of pockets, etc. I used the previous model for over four years and I travel for business weekly. This model on the other hand, does not fit in the overhead. It is about an 1" to 1.5" too long to fit lengthwise in the overhead. It was returned after two short trips. Now I'm looking for a replacement."
Review 40 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2010
Model Number: Item # 515223
"This is a nice sturdy bag but as has been noted, it's bigger than the old design, a bad move. Also the strap for carrying a briefcase on the back keeps falling off every time I disconnect the briefcase. This is a big design flaw over the previous strap which clicked in securely. I'm considering returning it as defective."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>