Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage

Black
Average Customer Rating:
2.046 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
27
10 of 43(23%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2010
Model Number: Item # 515223
"This is a nice sturdy bag but as has been noted, it's bigger than the old design, a bad move. Also the strap for carrying a briefcase on the back keeps falling off every time I disconnect the briefcase. This is a big design flaw over the previous strap which clicked in securely. I'm considering returning it as defective."
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2010
"Will not fit overhead for most planes. The demensions are not accurate. Thanks Costco for making the return quick and painless"
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 10, 2010

Not as a cary-on

Pros: pockets, durability
Cons: wrong dimensions for carry-on travel
Model Number: Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on
"This is a great bag. The inside layout is good. Lots of pockets, etc. I used the previous model for over four years and I travel for business weekly. This model on the other hand, does not fit in the overhead. It is about an 1" to 1.5" too long to fit lengthwise in the overhead. It was returned after two short trips. Now I'm looking for a replacement."
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:December 28, 2010

Bad design

Pros: very well built, good price
Cons: does not meet carry on size limits, tote belt keeps falling off
Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry on
"First of all this is a very well made piece. The problem is with the design.
First it isn't 22" to comply with airlines carry on limits like it says. It is actually close to 24 inches due to the large legs on the bottom. You can't put this straight in on an airline overhead bin.
Second, the attachment belt for carrying another briefcase, etc. while rolling it is a very bad design. It clips into plastic on the top, and when there is no weight on on it - it simply falls off. I almost lost this several times.
It's too bad they didn't design this to be smaller and had a better clip for the carry belt. If it weren't for these two things - this would be an excellent piece of carry on luggage. Unfortunately, these two things are fatal flaws.
I ended up taking mine back."
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bigfork, MT
Date:January 10, 2011

Excellent overall

"If it is packed too full for the overhead it fits well under the seat. If this is packed too full for carry-on, and the very conevnient extension has been maximized, it deserves to be checked. Unextended, it is the maximum size made to be carried on and if packed right carry's on easily, rolls down the aisle, and stows fine. We have never had a rejection by an attendant.
High quality construction, very durable, great price, great zippers, lots of room, light, rolls exceptionally well, and with the angle and way it is designed it carry's a piggy back bag easily and still rolls perfect.
I personally think this is a great piece of carry-on luggage at a great price and my wife and I have travelled all over the world with two and its predecessor. We bought this one because the older style had been improved upon and still can use both. If a bag fits in the airport size form, as this does to the max, it can be carried on. In a small craft, such as an Alaska/Horizon jet/prop, it can be gate checked as you board "a la cart" to be picked up upon exiting the aircraft, as any thing over a purse size will not fit in a bin on a small craft."
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 20, 2011

It's a great bag!

Model Number: 515223
"I think it's a great bag. I've never had any problems with overhead fit. If it doesn't fit with the handle out reverse the bag and put the wheels out. It should fit. Plus, you can't beat the Costco warranty."
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northbrook, IL
Date:May 4, 2010

Just too big

Cons: too big for carry-on, bigger than advertised
"Overall construction looked fine, but after measuring this in the store I had to pass. Even though it's advertised as a 22" bag, the actual size is about 23 1/2". That will work in some aircraft as carry-on, but usually only sideways, and many European carriers will make you check it. Perhaps older models were smaller."
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:November 4, 2010

Not As Good As Old Design by Paragon

Cons: strong chemical smell
Model Number: Kirkland Signature 22" Carry-On Luggage
"I purchased subject 22" carry-on luggage earlier and then I found out the quality wasn't as good as the old Kirkland Signature luggage used to be made by Paragon. The plastic inside the bag had such strong and unknown chemical smells. I wasn't sure whether harzadous chemicals were used or not so I returned the subject luggage back to the Costco a few days later.
I also agreed that the luggage is too big to be used as a carry-on.
"
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 12, 2011

kirkland carry on(NOT)

Model Number: Kirkland Signature Carry on Luggage
"I am an International Flight Attendant and have used many Costco Suitcases on the job. I will tell you that the current version of the rollaboard unit is lacking the satisfaction of its previous models. The former clip/lock attachment for the add-a-bag strap was far superior to the current T-BAR attachment. It fell off the first time I used it, and the second time, LOST FOREVER, now rendering my suitcase almost useless as we all use the strap to carry our personal tote bags. I am HIGHLY DISAPOINTED, and found that Costco even has a link regarding this issue on the website that gives you a phone number to the manufacturer which I might add is DISCONNECTED. Am waiting now until the weekend is over to call Customer Service to try and resolve this very unsatisfactory sitation. Meanwhile I have to lug my tote manually and am very unhappy with my purchase. Thumbs down on this one!"
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:August 1, 2011

Not as good as previous model

Cons: black only color available, t-bar strap breakable, front shallow pocket is two deep., plastic not rubber coners.
"My family has owned a pair of the previous model of these and used them for over 100 plane flights and they are great. I just purchased another pair and am very disappointed for the following reasons:
• Only color available is black. When you are waiting for the suitcase in baggage claim, it is very hard to distinguish from the other suitcases.
• The handle is more flimsy. When I put it on the upright lock position, it seems to wiggle around and jostle some.
• The outside edges are plastic, not rubber. I am worried these will crack more.
• There are two sight variations available, but in neither of them do I like the front top outside compartment. it used to be to a nice shallow pocket which was great for holding things like ties, battery/phone chargers, boarding passes etc. It is now just a deep shallow pocket, which is hard to figure out what to do with.
• The front shallow compartments now pack down to being more rounded, the flat. This makes it hard to fit in with other suitcases in the car trunk.
I am returning them, until I can get a hold of the older models again."
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:roseville, ca
Date:December 17, 2010

Doesnt fit in overhead bins

Cons: too big
"I purchased it today and it doesn't fit on a Southwest 737 700 series (this is there plane with the most space). It may fit on an Airbus 320. But I don't suggest to buy it because it doesn't fit as a carry on on 737. I thought this was the redesigned bag as mentioned in recent reviews below but its still to big. I'm a pilot that commutes weekly its a beautiful well made bag and will last for a long time but not with me."
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

Great Bag!!

Pros: light small fits!
Model Number: 805-27-001-vpm
"This bag fit very well, straight in, in the overhead compartment of my flight, coming and going. I am seeing comments regarding not fitting in the overhead, when I experienced great results as a carry on bag. Light weight, easy to handle, and fit wonderfully in the overhead. The Kirkland Signature "Expandable Carry-On" Luggage is a great bag in my experience."
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 6, 2010

Very interesting

Pros: 75% off brand name, always fit in any normal overhead bin i've tried
"I am very intrigued. I currently own a 22" Kirkland Carry-On and love it. I own 3, the oldest is about 12 years old. Costco has always copied the best features of the $400 bags. I have NEVER had a problem with any of the 3 and they have ALWAYS fit in a standard overhead bin.
However, my "newest" bag is about 2 years old and I'm in the market for a new one. I guess it's possible they made the new big slightly bigger. I've been on Travelpro and Briggs & Riley and the Costco bag has all the same features of bags that are 4 times the price. I do notice however, that B&R's most popular carry-on is 21.5" x 8.5" x 14", where Costco's lists at 22" x 9" x 14". B&R does have a nice feature to have the handle outside the bag.
I'll buy the newest Costco version and comment again.
I wish Costco came and read these and added the webmaster's comments or responses. I'd like to also know when the NEXT version of the bag will be out."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 16, 2010

Great Product...

Pros: well built, great value
Cons: too big for some airlines
"We bought this as a carry on this winter. I was really impressed with the quality. I have used it on 2 flights now. On the first flight, the airline would not allow me to carry it on as they measured it and said it was too big...almost returned the suitcase at that point since I thought it was advertised as a carry on by Costco. On the return trip, we were able to carry it on...so I'm going to keep it and see what happens on the next trip. If I get blocked again from carrying it on, then it gets returned to Costco."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:March 7, 2010

Don't call it a carry-on

Pros: quality, materials, price
Cons: size
"This is my second Kirkland Signature 22” carry-on bag. Is the same quality and materials as other bags retailing over $400. The only problem is that it exceeds the carry-on size limitations for most domestic airlines."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:April 26, 2010

Disappointed

Cons: too big
Model Number: 515223
"I bought this before reading all the reviews. The current model, which I bought in a warehouse, is 24" tall, 14" wide, and 10" deep. That is significantly bigger than the dimensions listed for this item on the web site and on the item hangtag at 22x14x9. Since many airlines restrict carryon bags to 22x14x9, I cannot understand how Costco would sell a bag that exceeds these dimensions. Back it goes to the warehouse. How could the buyer and their boss make this mistake? It stands out because Costco is normally very good in merchandise selection, specification, and in ensuring quality control."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 22, 2010

Too big to carry onto any aircraft

Pros: high quality
Cons: too big to carry on any u.s. aircraft
"Although Costco claims that this carry on will fit, it won't.
It is larger than the size stated on Costco's web-site, and it does not comply with the carry on size requirements for any commercial airline in the U.S., including Alaska and American Airlines.
Costco appears to have excluded the outside pockets, handles, wheels, and stops on calculating its sizing. Unfortunately, the airlines won't.
It will fit in the overhead compartment of a 737 as long as you're not in the first 6 rows, and so if the airlines lets you carry it on, you should be able to stow it. But, if they ask you to test it in their sizing device, it will not fit, and you'll be required to check it.
Also, the extension handle on this unit is about 2 inches shorter than prior versions.
Prior versions of this bag from Costco did fit, and so its unfortunate that Costco chose to increase the size beyond what's permitted by the airlines.
The bag is a high quality bag, and you can't beat Costco's lifetime warranty. If you don't mind taking the risk that you'll have to check it, you can't go wrong. Otherwise, you should consider another brand, like Travelpro, which is sized to carry on."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:December 4, 2010

Redesigned bag, excellent value

Pros: durability, price, warranty
Cons: only black and red colors, pull handle wobbly
"The previous reviewer is correct that Costco recently changed the size of the bag. The height is now a tad over 22 inches which is more usable than the old height of 23.5. The T-strap connector was also redesigned to correct the issue with attachments falling off.
This bag is very similar to the Tumi Alpha 22" which retails for $595. There are a few cost cutting measures on this bag compared to the Tumi but for 1/6 the price and Costco's lifetime warranty / return policy, you can't beat it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, California
Date:June 17, 2011

Older is Better

"I have the older model and it's far superior to this model. Please re-stock the older model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ Carry-on Luggage
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 7, 2010

Very bad design

Pros: quality
Cons: it is not a carry on as advertised., plastic handles.
"I have bought many bags over the years from Costco and have always been happy with the quality. I travel every week and all the bags I and my wife have bought have fit into the overhead until this one. It is not the dimensions that are stated. It will not fit in the overhead. It also does not fit in the size units of any of the airlines. I have been challenged on every flight with this bag to check it in by the airline staff.
Good thing Costco has a good return program since this one is going back. It would be wise to go back to the original design. This one doesn't work."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>