Customer Reviews for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner

Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner

Kem-Tek Super Shock Quick is a patented blend of ingredients that can be added directly into pool water without pre-dissolving. Chloramines are formed when nitrogen containing organic compounds such as suntan oils, cosmetics, perspiration, leaves, grass etc., are combined with the chlorine residue in your pool water. The resulting chloramines provide no sanitizing function and can actually cause strong chlorine odor, cloudy water and eye irritation.  Kem-Tek Super Shock Quick destroys swimmer waste and other impurities that cause cloudy water. It dissolves faster than ordinary shock products without leaving residue.  It does not increase the pH of the pool water or contain calcium that causes scale build-up Case contains (28) 13.5-ounce bags Each 13.5 oz. bag treats 20,000 gallons of water* Patented technology Controls algae and bacteria* Dissolves instantly Swimming pool water disinfectant Add directly into pool, No pre-dissolving pH Balanced Reduces other chemical needs Works immediately / Swim in 15 minutes after use* Restores crystal clarity to pool water *When used as directed on product label It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
25 of 34(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orangevale,CA
Date:September 24, 2014

good find

Pros: works great and fast.
Cons: avoid using on a windy day.
Model Number: Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
"When I first saw these little packets I said oh no, i'm going to have to use 3 or 4 of these to get the desired result. But no 1 packet did the trick really strong stuff. I will order the Kem-Tec shock from now on. My pool is close to 30,000 gallons."
Review 2 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 2, 2014

Great Product - Best Price

Pros: great price, quality product
Cons: ups delivery took longer than stated
"Costco provided the absolute best price on the web for this product.
Gets pool swimmable without having to wait a day like many other products
"
Review 3 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:September 1, 2013

exellent

Pros: disolves and works fast
Cons: strong smell in storage place (garage)
"It works better than any other products I have used through the years. It leaves water Cristal clear and sanitizes it with the high count of chlorine for numbers of days. 1 pack is enough for my pool of
20 000 gal
"
Review 4 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northwest WA
Date:August 14, 2013

Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: none
Cons: nasty green cloudy pool
"I bought this product thinking Costco sells only the best, well.....had nothing but trouble since using. Opened pool no problem using product left over from last year. Right after I started using this product started having nothing but problems. Ended up returning the product to Costco, went to pool store got the better product, also I had to replace my cartridge (due to it getting ruined from using the Costco product) now my pool is back to blue and can swim again. DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT, IT IS NOT WORTH IT."
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:marlboro, nj
Date:September 2, 2012

excellent

"I used to use liquid shock, but Kem-Tek not worse & twice chipper."
Review 6 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 15, 2012

Great Product

Pros: dissolve fast and keep the water clean and clear
Cons: we can't swim the same day that we use the product, it burns our eyes if we do
"I've been using this product for my inground pool for over a year. I have never had problems with my pool since then. The the water is nice and clear. If you follow the instruction, you won't have algae problem.
Good value!!!
"
Review 7 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:July 7, 2012

Not as advertised

Cons: not as advertised
Model Number: Item #049
"Package contains 13.5 oz and claims to treat 20,000 gal (large, bold type). First paragraph on back reads 15,000-20,000.
Last paragraph of fine print recommends
2 lbs for 20,000 gal for superchlorination
every 10-14 days in the summer. I can tell
you that 2 lbs last only about 5-6 days with
pH control and algeacide. 13.5 oz may be
fine in the winter, but who needs it then? The company should delete the mis-
leading advertising and package the
product in 16 oz/10,000 gal like all the
other suppliers. It is actually more
expensive than competing brands.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoeniz, AZ
Date:May 23, 2012

Great Pool Shock

"This Shock works very well and this is the cheapest price I have found. Super fast shipping too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:May 19, 2012

Precise!!!

"These bags do precisely as intended. Gives my pool a weekly "kick", then the tabs do the rest. Keeps it super clear and balanced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastvale, CA
Date:May 8, 2012

Super Shock par excellence

Pros: perfect quantity per use
Cons: none
Model Number: Kem-Tek
"Cleans the pool strong and maintains perfect chemical balance. No mess. Perfect for self controlled pool maintenance."
Review 11 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:April 30, 2012

Needs Cool and dry place

Cons: storage requirements
"So I need to keep my chlorine in the house. It must be kept dry and cool. Keeping chlorine in the house can create environmental problems.
I just left it outside in box with other chemicals and hope for the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 4, 2011

Finally! A product that performs as it claims

"This stuff was amazing. I have been fighting cloudy water and clinging algae for months - since the beginning of summer. One packet of this stuff, and a half hour later, the algae fell off the walls and my pool turned crystal clear. Two weeks later, it is still clear! No smell, no residual, no fuss, no wait to swim. I will be stocking this from now on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:October 27, 2011

I experienced the same problems

"Please head the words of PoolGuy, dmanf, and Phillmille. I wish I had read theeir reviews before my first purchase months ago. It would have saved me lots of headaches and money.
Fortunately, I was getting ready to reorder more shock when I saw these comments. First, like PhilMille we have had our pool 19 years and never had problems. This year I bought this product due for the value. Bad move! After having the water tested, I was told, like PhilMille, to double the shock dose which I did. No improvement, so I was told to do it again. Chlorine level stayed low, but the Cyanuric Acid did just as Poolguy warned and skyrocketed to over 300 and PH dropped low. After lots of money spent on Soda Ash to fix the PH, the Cyanuric acid remained high to the point I had to drain the pool for the first time ever. Now I refilled the pool, but after adding the shock the chlorine level still remains low. I need shock to bring the level up, but nearly made the mistake of adding this chemical, Trichloro-s-triazinetrione, back into my pool. Thanks guys. I could have had the same problems all over again. So warning to all, My water was always sparkling clear and low maintenance until this product.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino, CA
Date:October 11, 2011

easy way to keep algae out

"This is the first year in 3 that we have not had algae in our pool during the summer. Purchased Costco's bucket of chlorine tablets & this shock product early in the year. I used them almost every week (did skip some since we had a cooler summer). It saved me from buying liquid chlorine & you can't beat Costco's prices. By the way...I am only halfway thru them so I probably will have enough to last through Spring 2012."
Review 15 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nesconset, NY
Date:September 2, 2011

WORST PRODUCT

Pros: none
Cons: waste of money
"THIS STUFF IS GARBAGE. It is the worst shock I ever used. I maintained my pool for over 30 years and NEVER used any product that was as bad as this. Even tripling the dosage did not improve the pool. Visible Algae growth would not be removed. I WOULD NEVER buy this product again or any other product from KEM TECH. My pool has always been pristine, this year, I'm closing it early. Next year, I'll go back to a NAME brand."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TN
Date:August 30, 2011

Good value

Pros: works well
Cons: strong smell
"Did what it was supposed to. About to place my next order."
Review 17 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 19, 2011

Excellent Product

"Works very well and is much cheaper than buying other places."
Review 18 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:middletown, maryland
Date:August 12, 2011

good value for the money

Pros: good pool shock, reasonably priced
Cons: does not prevent algea or stains
"I have used it for about a month now. Its a good value for the money as a regular pool shock. It does not help with algea or stain prevention. I still have to use the algeacide and stainaway for that. It does have the strong chlorine odor, but that dissipates quickly. I recommend using it at the end of the day, with the pump running all night for it to be swimable in the morning."
Review 19 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 7, 2011

Effective and Good Support

Pros: storage pouches, effectiveness, price, tech support helpful
"Decided to try this product in lieu of Leslie's overpriced products. Couldn't be happier. Convenient pouches with perfect dose for my 20k pool. Live in TX, about to shatter 43 days over 100 degrees, so have to add 2x week, but all levels (chlorine, PH, stabilizer, etc) all remain in perfect zone! Some algae started growing while we went on vacation. Called their tech support and he walked me through the proper amounts to add and frequency. I also had purchased their algaecide. When I combined with the shock was a 1-2 punch that knocked it out in 48hrs. Will definitely buy again. And yes, it smells strong, but that's because it works!"
Review 20 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Date:July 29, 2011

AMAZING!

Pros: price, effectiveness, easy of storage vs jugs, half years worth in one box!
Cons: smell
"I use to use one jug (2.5gal) of chlorine a week and barely make 5-6 days before algae. Now with Kem-Tek one bag every week 7-8 days and i have yet to see any algae at all or green growth this is half the price of a jug and more affective cant beat it! Recommend to anyone where in South Florida cause the pools in the summer here eat chlorine but not this stuff."
1 2 next>>