Customer Reviews for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner

Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner

Kem-Tek Super Shock Quick is a patented blend of ingredients that can be added directly into pool water without pre-dissolving. Chloramines are formed when nitrogen containing organic compounds such as suntan oils, cosmetics, perspiration, leaves, grass etc., are combined with the chlorine residue in your pool water. The resulting chloramines provide no sanitizing function and can actually cause strong chlorine odor, cloudy water and eye irritation.  Kem-Tek Super Shock Quick destroys swimmer waste and other impurities that cause cloudy water. It dissolves faster than ordinary shock products without leaving residue.  It does not increase the pH of the pool water or contain calcium that causes scale build-up Case contains (28) 13.5-ounce bags Each 13.5 oz. bag treats 20,000 gallons of water* Patented technology Controls algae and bacteria* Dissolves instantly Swimming pool water disinfectant Add directly into pool, No pre-dissolving pH Balanced Reduces other chemical needs Works immediately / Swim in 15 minutes after use* Restores crystal clarity to pool water *When used as directed on product label It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.618 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
7
23 of 34(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:October 27, 2011

I experienced the same problems

"Please head the words of PoolGuy, dmanf, and Phillmille. I wish I had read theeir reviews before my first purchase months ago. It would have saved me lots of headaches and money.
Fortunately, I was getting ready to reorder more shock when I saw these comments. First, like PhilMille we have had our pool 19 years and never had problems. This year I bought this product due for the value. Bad move! After having the water tested, I was told, like PhilMille, to double the shock dose which I did. No improvement, so I was told to do it again. Chlorine level stayed low, but the Cyanuric Acid did just as Poolguy warned and skyrocketed to over 300 and PH dropped low. After lots of money spent on Soda Ash to fix the PH, the Cyanuric acid remained high to the point I had to drain the pool for the first time ever. Now I refilled the pool, but after adding the shock the chlorine level still remains low. I need shock to bring the level up, but nearly made the mistake of adding this chemical, Trichloro-s-triazinetrione, back into my pool. Thanks guys. I could have had the same problems all over again. So warning to all, My water was always sparkling clear and low maintenance until this product.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2011

Trichlor = terrible pool shock

Pros: none
Cons: terrible pool shock
"This product is made of Trichloro-s-triazinetrione. Trichlor is a buffered chlorine (cyanuric acid) and is the same as most chlorine pucks. This is desirable for chlorine pucks because the buffer slows down the chlorine utilization and keeps it in the water longer (chlorine itself is a gas at room temp). HOWEVER, this is terrible for a shock treatment because the point is to rapidly increase chlorine levels in the pool (and, afterwards, let it gas off quickly). In addition, many pools have issues with too much cyanuric acid (which will, in effect, keep chlorine bound up), and this product will just make that worse!"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:July 7, 2012

Not as advertised

Cons: not as advertised
Model Number: Item #049
"Package contains 13.5 oz and claims to treat 20,000 gal (large, bold type). First paragraph on back reads 15,000-20,000.
Last paragraph of fine print recommends
2 lbs for 20,000 gal for superchlorination
every 10-14 days in the summer. I can tell
you that 2 lbs last only about 5-6 days with
pH control and algeacide. 13.5 oz may be
fine in the winter, but who needs it then? The company should delete the mis-
leading advertising and package the
product in 16 oz/10,000 gal like all the
other suppliers. It is actually more
expensive than competing brands.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Date:May 30, 2011

Ok, better products on the market

"I find this shock, even though it's labeled a superconcentrated bag (13.5oz vs 16oz of other shocks) can treat up to 20,000 gallons insufficient. I have a 20,000 gallon salt water pool and added two bags at a cost of $2.86/bag and it only raised my chlorine level 1ppm. It has a very strong chlorine odor, but other all-in one shocks that I have used seem to raise the chlorine level higher without the strong odor at a similar cost. I would not expect that one bag of this chlorine to be sufficient. It is interesting that it states 2.25 oz of this shock in 10,000 gallons will raise the chlorine level 1ppm. It did not do that in my pool."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nesconset, NY
Date:September 2, 2011

WORST PRODUCT

Pros: none
Cons: waste of money
"THIS STUFF IS GARBAGE. It is the worst shock I ever used. I maintained my pool for over 30 years and NEVER used any product that was as bad as this. Even tripling the dosage did not improve the pool. Visible Algae growth would not be removed. I WOULD NEVER buy this product again or any other product from KEM TECH. My pool has always been pristine, this year, I'm closing it early. Next year, I'll go back to a NAME brand."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:October 19, 2010

Super Concentrated

"I think the reason we're seeing reviews stating this product has more of an odor is because it's a more concentrated package. It's contents are meant to treat a bigger pool (20,000 gallons) than last year's shock. I like everything about this brand except for the "floating" aspect of the shock. I'd rather it sink down so I can target specific algae areas but it works well as is."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 4, 2011

Finally! A product that performs as it claims

"This stuff was amazing. I have been fighting cloudy water and clinging algae for months - since the beginning of summer. One packet of this stuff, and a half hour later, the algae fell off the walls and my pool turned crystal clear. Two weeks later, it is still clear! No smell, no residual, no fuss, no wait to swim. I will be stocking this from now on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011

Trichloro-s-triazinetrione

"Pool guy is 100% correct. Check wikipedia for this stuff. You're asking for a headache using this stuff unless you want to drain your pool periodically."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2010

Chlorine smell is unbearable

Cons: chlorine stench
"Does not seem to be that powerful in cleaning the pool, despite the unbearable chlorine stench when applying Kem-Tek Super Shock. You have to gasp for air and cannot sit by the pool during application.The pool shock offered by Costco last year, Aqua Chem's 4-in-1 pool shock cleaned better and had no odor. Bring it back, Costco!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:FT Worth TX
Date:October 26, 2013

Not a pool shock

Pros: only useful for newly filled pools
Cons: ruins fc in a normal pool
"Misleading package. While this product may shock your pool it will blast your CYA and will be extremely hard to lower again. This package contains TRICHLOR not Cal Hypo. Be aware."
Review 11 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:April 30, 2012

Needs Cool and dry place

Cons: storage requirements
"So I need to keep my chlorine in the house. It must be kept dry and cool. Keeping chlorine in the house can create environmental problems.
I just left it outside in box with other chemicals and hope for the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northwest WA
Date:August 14, 2013

Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: none
Cons: nasty green cloudy pool
"I bought this product thinking Costco sells only the best, well.....had nothing but trouble since using. Opened pool no problem using product left over from last year. Right after I started using this product started having nothing but problems. Ended up returning the product to Costco, went to pool store got the better product, also I had to replace my cartridge (due to it getting ruined from using the Costco product) now my pool is back to blue and can swim again. DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT, IT IS NOT WORTH IT."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:December 15, 2010

Best Shock Treatment

Pros: best, fast working
Cons: none
"We have reorder Kem-Tek Super Shock Quick. Was glad Costco was still carrying the Kem-Tek Chlorine Tablets and the Super Shock Quick. Will continue to purchase as long as Costco continues to carry it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:May 19, 2012

Precise!!!

"These bags do precisely as intended. Gives my pool a weekly "kick", then the tabs do the rest. Keeps it super clear and balanced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles area
Date:March 18, 2011

Seems to work well

"I have only had this product for two weeks, but it seems to work as advertised. The real test will come when the weather turns hot."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoeniz, AZ
Date:May 23, 2012

Great Pool Shock

"This Shock works very well and this is the cheapest price I have found. Super fast shipping too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010

AWESOME!!!!

Pros: very fast disolving and ready to swim
Cons: very concentrated dangerous to kids
"GREEN TO BLUE IN 24 hours with TWO Pouches of kem tek."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:September 1, 2013

exellent

Pros: disolves and works fast
Cons: strong smell in storage place (garage)
"It works better than any other products I have used through the years. It leaves water Cristal clear and sanitizes it with the high count of chlorine for numbers of days. 1 pack is enough for my pool of
20 000 gal
"
Review 19 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 7, 2011

Effective and Good Support

Pros: storage pouches, effectiveness, price, tech support helpful
"Decided to try this product in lieu of Leslie's overpriced products. Couldn't be happier. Convenient pouches with perfect dose for my 20k pool. Live in TX, about to shatter 43 days over 100 degrees, so have to add 2x week, but all levels (chlorine, PH, stabilizer, etc) all remain in perfect zone! Some algae started growing while we went on vacation. Called their tech support and he walked me through the proper amounts to add and frequency. I also had purchased their algaecide. When I combined with the shock was a 1-2 punch that knocked it out in 48hrs. Will definitely buy again. And yes, it smells strong, but that's because it works!"
Review 20 for Kem-Tek™ Super Shock Quick Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hazel Green, AL
Date:May 12, 2011

Poor Product!

"This product is terrible! First of all, the overwhelming chlorine smell makes it so that you cannot even sit near the pool area. Also, we have used twice as much shock in the pool to clean it up after the winter than we did with the product Costco sold last year (Aqua-Chem 4 in 1). Another thing, when it kills the algae, all of this white foam is floating around on the top and it looks disgusting. I'm not buying this product again."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>