Customer Reviews for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale

7 Fitness Indicators
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Review 1 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:April 3, 2011

Unique Insight to help keeping fit

Model Number: Omron Full Body Senor 514-C
"My model arrived 2+ weeks ago, since then I am tracking weekly measure (so far 3 readings). Not only the reading is accurate (compared to what my personal trainer showed me), it gives me unquie insight of the impact of my exercise program. During the last year or so I have been steadily losing weight with exercise but recently my weight does not seem to change. Omron shows from each reading that while my weight is constant, my body muscle % is increasing (so is BMI), while body fat % decreasing week by week. This is very encouraging data to comfirm all the hardwork and sweating is making positive change. The resting metabolism reading also gives me an idea on how to plan for daily calorie intake.
I have also been inviting friends to come and take a measure. So far everyone is very impressed.
This sensor is way more than a scale, so I would say it is worth every penny and I am glad I rewarded myself with this investment."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2011

Design problem

Pros: quality of construction accuracy, time to read and record readings
Cons: inaccurate weight reading when holding hand held, no sensor to detect removal of hand held unit
Model Number: HBF-514
"I have owned this scale for about 2 months and I am very happy with it. The features and construction are great, however, this product has a design flaw. The scale does not compensate for the weight of the hand held unit. There is no sensor to help the machine know when the user is holding the hand held unit so you will get different weights if you weigh yourself holding the hand held unit or not. I called Omnron and they dismissed my issue by saying that 'no one has complained about this before' and offered no solutions. I was able to overcome the problem by hanging the hand held unit from a hook on the wall, starting the scale, weighing myself and subsequently picking up the hand held as soon as the scale locks the weight reading and begins calculating the other factors (bmi, fat, etc). I almost returned the scale for this reason, but I decided to keep it after I found this work around."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 2, 2010

Great bargain

"For what it does, this is the best deal I found anywhere (and I pride myself on being kind of a nut when researching a purchase). I have found that the monitor/scale is accurate and gives consistent results. I didn't give it a 5 because it is a little difficult to figure out at first, but I highly recommend this product."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:July 11, 2010

Best Personal Scale I ever used!

Pros: gives so much information, is very accurate
Model Number: Omron Full Body Sensor
"I love this scale. It can be used as a regular scale and is very accurate with no need to lift the handle out of the unit. But when you want to assess your total body, you lift the handle and stand with arms out and it simply tells you so much data about your fat and muscle and overall health. I admit, I needed to read the instructions the first time but after that it is easy to operate."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ogden, Utah
Date:July 9, 2011

Health Monitor Addition

Pros: log sheet included, nice gift for someone you love
Cons: takes time to set up, must be on a hard and level service
Model Number: HBF-514
"While a scale will display body weight, this scale displays BMI, body fat %, skeletal muscle% resting metabolism, body age (that old), and visceral fat level. The information can motivate one to skip a 2nd serving and to add a little more exercise. The instruction book is well written and illustrated."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

Wish Costco would do a Consumers Rpt on items

"I'm going to say this unit is good because it produced numbers in the ball park of my previous unit from MSS (Tanita like) which also had some resistance measurements.
The scale actually weighed a half pound more than what my previous scale showed. I actually tend to believe this Omron. I also find it to be much more consistant and able to quickly determine the weight even if put on a somewhat imperfect floor.
I do believe some of the numbers provided could be calculated yourself and all you need is a scale and your height (like the BMI). The scale providing it somehow makes it seem like it was a special measurement that helped arrive at it for you .
BUT there are fat measurements which appear to be reasonable and much more complete than my previous unit given the cross body technique using the contact of the hands AND the feet.
I think young or very fit people may not find the unit giving results that are reasonable.
But then Omron says that.
All in all I think it was a good buy...but boy wouldn't it be nice to know that Costco actually tested or benchmarked the stuff that their buyers find and put on the shelf for the customer. I'd like to know for sure that Costco checked stuff out and stood behind it's validity and quality. Sure the return policy is "standing behind" but that's not the same.
Kinda like REI use to do (or still does to some degree)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:wa state
Date:September 15, 2010

Very consistent

Model Number: HBF 514C
"I like this scale because it is very consistent in tracking weight. if you get on and back off right away you get the same reading.
as far as the rest of the features its nice to have an idea of where my body is at as far as bmi, visceral fat, muscle ,ect. I dont think it would be as accurate as getting checked out by a professional, but it is a pretty good gauge to reference between visits to a more accurate source like a gym or heath care provider. i have been loosing weight and this scale encourages me to keep going,esp. when it shows the fat levels decreasing but not muscle.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:November 13, 2010

Motivational

"We've had this scale for about 6 months. Especially if you use the paper tracking sheets, it is motivational to see ALL your numbers going down (weight, BMI, body fat, age), and muscle percentage going up. This is a great deal more useful than just trying to track weight."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:July 25, 2011

i think it ACTUALLY works

Pros: history feature is helpful, tracks four people, feels well built
Cons: none that i can think of
Model Number: HBF-514
"did a bit of research on this kind of thing. there are alot of so-called "analytical" scales out there. i've tried a few and compared them to the results of a couple immersion tests a local gym offered. this OMRON model performed the best, seemingly most accurate and consistent results.
the weight scale, compared to a beam type at the doctors office was 0.1 off, close enough for me.
relatively easy to set-up, the instruction manual explains weight loss, muscle mass etc.,nicely."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:April 27, 2011

Accurate

"I have enjoyed the accuracy of the scale. I have been using the provided chart to track progress and it is very insightful. I am going to have body fat measured in a Bod Pod next month and will be able to compare accuracy at that time. My wife and I are both 45 and in similar shape. However, it puts her age at 34 and mine at 75. I am not sure what this measurement is indicatiing, but only one of us likes this feature. All others seem good though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, Utah
Date:December 18, 2010

Great Features

"This was purchased as a Christmas gift and thus has not been used yet. However, it is replacing its predecessor which died after only 14 months' use. It does seem to be quite accurate in it's fat measurements and has several nice features. Easy to use and is great for the average concerned weight & health conscious person. Since Good Ol' Costco took the other one back, I am giving it another try."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2011

Omron Full Body Sensor ... Scale

Pros: very accurate very stable very well built.
Cons: none.
"Most accurate scale I've ever used. Accurate to 0.2 lbs and results are repeatable. Can be used as a regular scale or full body monitor. A little pricey for a regular scale, but well worth the investment if keeping track of % visceral fat is important to you. Uses regular AA batteries."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 11, 2011

Better than I expected

Pros: easy to use, cheap for the value, build solid
"This scale is amazing, it tells you everything as advertised and it's easy to use. It's important to read the manual, once you have it setup you can get all of your readings in about 20 seconds. My wife and I love this thing, and our neighbors even come over to use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:May 10, 2011

Easy to Use

Pros: takes the place of our regular scale
"Easy to use and reads very close to the one used by my personal trainer. I like the multiple user memory, for everyone in the family."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calexico, CA
Date:December 7, 2010

Very good product

Pros: light
Model Number: Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
"I sincerely recommend this product. Weight is very light, I can place it everywhere. Very easy menu and good instructions to follow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:January 26, 2011

Satisfied Shopper

Model Number: HBF-514
"Very easy to operate and read. Gives fairly consistent readings. Not too big so it doesn't take up too much bathroom floor space."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Ut
Date:December 2, 2010

Great scale

"Love this body sensor. Seems to be very accurate. But don't try to use it on carpet, it does not work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:December 22, 2010

Great Scale

Pros: ease of use accuracy multiple indicators
Cons: perhaps limited range if you are too thin(?)
"My wife and I have been using this Omron Body Sensor for about 4 months now. This is an excellent product for tracking not just your weight, but also your body composition. Use it first thing in the morning before you eat or drink for most accurate results. If you start exercising, you may see that your weight may initially go up, but you will also see that your body fat decreases and your muscle percentage increases. This has been motivating to track progress of each of the values. I record them weekly in a spreadsheet and I can see the slow and steady progress.
Our 15 year old son is very thin, and the indicators do not work for him, because he is out of range for the values."
Review 19 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:November 28, 2011

Good body composition monitor needs more

Pros: handheld monitor, visceral fat, body mass index body fat skeletal muscle reading
Cons: no method to transfer to pc tracking solftware, no body water percentage, body age reading not helpful for me
Model Number: HBF-513 Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
"Bought this to replace cheaper brand that I found at the warehouse store. Both returned similar readings. This Omron model also estimates the deadly visceral body fat. I like the handheld monitor because it makes it easy to read. I would appreciate a method to transfer the readings to a computer tracking program. I would also like to see the water percentage. This Omron monitor's features are better that all others that I could find available in the USA."
Review 20 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 8, 2011

Worth the money

"At first I was getting a reading 70 pounds lighter than I actually am but I figured out that it was a user error. I was using it on my carpet and you have to have it on a hard floor as the instruction manual says. This thing is easy to figure out and gives you all kinds of help full information. It then stores it for you as well so you can monitor how you are doing. Would recommend it to anyone that want to track how fit they are."
1 2 next>>