Customer Reviews for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale

7 Fitness Indicators
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Review 1 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, az
Date:December 28, 2011

Doesn't take up storage space, accurate

Pros: lightweight easily stored, accurate and lots of information
Cons: have to transfer the results manually to track, need to read instructions properly
"I bought this on impulse, but I see that it will motivate me to lose weight more than just weighing myself. I know at a glance that my BMI, fat percentage eg is high so I'm motivated to bring them all closer to normal."
Review 2 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert AZ
Date:December 12, 2011

Excellent value

Pros: easy to read and operate
"I purchased this after having been monitored on a friends similar product that cost her over $350.00. In order to view the calculations you she would have to bend down to read them on the scale. I love that the hand held device displays the information so I am not having to get on my knees to see the calculations, and it is very easy to set up and use."
Review 3 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 8, 2011

Neato!

Pros: takes only a minute to use
"I have only used the monitor about 2 weeks but find it pretty interesting and easy to use. I am having fun with it, seeing what effects different foods, exercise or times of day have on my body."
Review 4 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:November 28, 2011

Good body composition monitor needs more

Pros: handheld monitor, visceral fat, body mass index body fat skeletal muscle reading
Cons: no method to transfer to pc tracking solftware, no body water percentage, body age reading not helpful for me
Model Number: HBF-513 Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
"Bought this to replace cheaper brand that I found at the warehouse store. Both returned similar readings. This Omron model also estimates the deadly visceral body fat. I like the handheld monitor because it makes it easy to read. I would appreciate a method to transfer the readings to a computer tracking program. I would also like to see the water percentage. This Omron monitor's features are better that all others that I could find available in the USA."
Review 5 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2011

Design problem

Pros: quality of construction accuracy, time to read and record readings
Cons: inaccurate weight reading when holding hand held, no sensor to detect removal of hand held unit
Model Number: HBF-514
"I have owned this scale for about 2 months and I am very happy with it. The features and construction are great, however, this product has a design flaw. The scale does not compensate for the weight of the hand held unit. There is no sensor to help the machine know when the user is holding the hand held unit so you will get different weights if you weigh yourself holding the hand held unit or not. I called Omnron and they dismissed my issue by saying that 'no one has complained about this before' and offered no solutions. I was able to overcome the problem by hanging the hand held unit from a hook on the wall, starting the scale, weighing myself and subsequently picking up the hand held as soon as the scale locks the weight reading and begins calculating the other factors (bmi, fat, etc). I almost returned the scale for this reason, but I decided to keep it after I found this work around."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:July 25, 2011

i think it ACTUALLY works

Pros: history feature is helpful, tracks four people, feels well built
Cons: none that i can think of
Model Number: HBF-514
"did a bit of research on this kind of thing. there are alot of so-called "analytical" scales out there. i've tried a few and compared them to the results of a couple immersion tests a local gym offered. this OMRON model performed the best, seemingly most accurate and consistent results.
the weight scale, compared to a beam type at the doctors office was 0.1 off, close enough for me.
relatively easy to set-up, the instruction manual explains weight loss, muscle mass etc.,nicely."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 11, 2011

Better than I expected

Pros: easy to use, cheap for the value, build solid
"This scale is amazing, it tells you everything as advertised and it's easy to use. It's important to read the manual, once you have it setup you can get all of your readings in about 20 seconds. My wife and I love this thing, and our neighbors even come over to use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ogden, Utah
Date:July 9, 2011

Health Monitor Addition

Pros: log sheet included, nice gift for someone you love
Cons: takes time to set up, must be on a hard and level service
Model Number: HBF-514
"While a scale will display body weight, this scale displays BMI, body fat %, skeletal muscle% resting metabolism, body age (that old), and visceral fat level. The information can motivate one to skip a 2nd serving and to add a little more exercise. The instruction book is well written and illustrated."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:May 10, 2011

Easy to Use

Pros: takes the place of our regular scale
"Easy to use and reads very close to the one used by my personal trainer. I like the multiple user memory, for everyone in the family."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Agneles
Date:May 10, 2011
"very accurate and good history to judge progress.
easy to use and Omron customer service was available immediately and helpful is walking me through some of the programs.
"
Review 11 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:April 27, 2011

Accurate

"I have enjoyed the accuracy of the scale. I have been using the provided chart to track progress and it is very insightful. I am going to have body fat measured in a Bod Pod next month and will be able to compare accuracy at that time. My wife and I are both 45 and in similar shape. However, it puts her age at 34 and mine at 75. I am not sure what this measurement is indicatiing, but only one of us likes this feature. All others seem good though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2011

very good scale

Model Number: Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
"very easy to use and reproducable readings,
interesting to monitor the various fat and body reading. well built product
"
Review 13 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:April 13, 2011

Works Well

"This scale is easy to use and I like the idea of the increased accuracy with the hand sensors. I would like to know more about the "body age" readout."
Review 14 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:April 3, 2011

Unique Insight to help keeping fit

Model Number: Omron Full Body Senor 514-C
"My model arrived 2+ weeks ago, since then I am tracking weekly measure (so far 3 readings). Not only the reading is accurate (compared to what my personal trainer showed me), it gives me unquie insight of the impact of my exercise program. During the last year or so I have been steadily losing weight with exercise but recently my weight does not seem to change. Omron shows from each reading that while my weight is constant, my body muscle % is increasing (so is BMI), while body fat % decreasing week by week. This is very encouraging data to comfirm all the hardwork and sweating is making positive change. The resting metabolism reading also gives me an idea on how to plan for daily calorie intake.
I have also been inviting friends to come and take a measure. So far everyone is very impressed.
This sensor is way more than a scale, so I would say it is worth every penny and I am glad I rewarded myself with this investment."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2011

Omron Full Body Sensor ... Scale

Pros: very accurate very stable very well built.
Cons: none.
"Most accurate scale I've ever used. Accurate to 0.2 lbs and results are repeatable. Can be used as a regular scale or full body monitor. A little pricey for a regular scale, but well worth the investment if keeping track of % visceral fat is important to you. Uses regular AA batteries."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 8, 2011

Worth the money

"At first I was getting a reading 70 pounds lighter than I actually am but I figured out that it was a user error. I was using it on my carpet and you have to have it on a hard floor as the instruction manual says. This thing is easy to figure out and gives you all kinds of help full information. It then stores it for you as well so you can monitor how you are doing. Would recommend it to anyone that want to track how fit they are."
Review 17 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

Omron Scale

"Great purchase. Shows more then weight alone, find out whats happening inside also. Get healthy, not skinny is our new motto."
Review 18 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:January 26, 2011

Satisfied Shopper

Model Number: HBF-514
"Very easy to operate and read. Gives fairly consistent readings. Not too big so it doesn't take up too much bathroom floor space."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:January 20, 2011

I'm losing weight

Pros: it keeps a history so progress is easy to track.
Cons: the first use is a little confusing.
"I don't know how it figures out all the things it does, but it does. Once it's set up it's very easy to use and small enough that it stores away easily. All you do is power it on, press your setting number and let it start calculating. When it's done you can compare your previous readings."
Review 20 for Omron® Full Body Sensor Body Composition Monitor and Scale
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

Wish Costco would do a Consumers Rpt on items

"I'm going to say this unit is good because it produced numbers in the ball park of my previous unit from MSS (Tanita like) which also had some resistance measurements.
The scale actually weighed a half pound more than what my previous scale showed. I actually tend to believe this Omron. I also find it to be much more consistant and able to quickly determine the weight even if put on a somewhat imperfect floor.
I do believe some of the numbers provided could be calculated yourself and all you need is a scale and your height (like the BMI). The scale providing it somehow makes it seem like it was a special measurement that helped arrive at it for you .
BUT there are fat measurements which appear to be reasonable and much more complete than my previous unit given the cross body technique using the contact of the hands AND the feet.
I think young or very fit people may not find the unit giving results that are reasonable.
But then Omron says that.
All in all I think it was a good buy...but boy wouldn't it be nice to know that Costco actually tested or benchmarked the stuff that their buyers find and put on the shelf for the customer. I'd like to know for sure that Costco checked stuff out and stood behind it's validity and quality. Sure the return policy is "standing behind" but that's not the same.
Kinda like REI use to do (or still does to some degree)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>