Customer Reviews for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 HDMI Input PC Input
Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 170
(out of 170 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (170 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
48
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
16
126 of 161(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Review 1 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:October 14, 2010

Good little TV

Pros: great tuner, excellent video software and features, good picture, clear sound
Cons: viewing angle is not great but ok for bedroom
"I bought this TV at Costco to replace a 32" Vizio that I returned due to poor performance. I bought this Samsung to use with a direct cable feed (no cable box), and the Samsung's tuner is great. It found all of stations (digital and analog) and, after adjusting the TV's video settings, it tunes them all clearly. It also changes stations very quickly compared to the Vizio. Also, the Samsung has a nice feature where you can edit the analog channel names so that you can easily identify the channels as you are channel surfing or looking at your on-screen channel list. (The TV is unable to automatically identify analog station names and will initially name them all "Cable." The Vizio has the same issue but won't let you edit the channel names yourself.) The Samsung's sound volume off of my direct cable feed is very strong. Maybe there are issues with volume (as some reviewers seem to have reported) if you are using a cable box or your audio signal is not strong."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phx. Az
Date:February 8, 2010

Good Set/Bad Posts

Pros: nice picture. lots of features.
Cons: not yet
Model Number: P277OHD
"Good Set/Bad Posts
Once attached the stand cannot be removed
Great picture, terrible sound
This is in response to the 2 aforementioned inaccurate posts.
Re Stand:
The acrylic base can indeed be removed by simply pulling it straight out (90 degree angle). I called Samsung also regarding this issue after seeing that post and they told me how to remove it also, no 3 hour wait. I also went to my Costco and the sales people worked on the base and it was removed. The directions for attachment are on a separate sheet enclosed in the TV box.
Re Sound:
I also was initially disappointed with the volume. Tried my DVD player and the sound was nice and loud. I then read my Cox cable guide regarding sound and the guide said to check the volume on the cable box. The volume was set to 18 and it goes up to 30. I set the volume on the cable box to 30 and the volume is just fine. Check your connected devices for volume control.
I would give it 5 stars but I have only had it set up for 2 days.
Time will tell.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, Ca
Date:March 7, 2010

Poor Quality & Worse customer service

Pros: good picture when it works, links well with other devices
Cons: quality, customer service, repair service, sound quality
Model Number: P2770HD 27
"I bought a Samsung because I liked a previouse model we purchased last year. However, I will never buy another Samsung based on the customer service I received after purchasing this TV. TV produced a black & white picture when using HDMI & Component connections. Also had ingress lines across the picture. Samsung support told me this wasn't a problem, but finally agreed to repair. I received the TV back from repair, but it still had the same problem, along with a scratched faceplate from shipping. Samsung customer service was awful throughout this process. When they finally agreed to replace the TV, that process was a nightmare as well. They also replaced the new TV that had never worked with a refurbished unit. 8 weeks and 3 sets later I now have a working TV. I accept that sometmes electronics don't work, but I don't accept that their repair facility sent it back in worse condition and that their customer service process is awful."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:February 4, 2010

Once attached the stand cannot be removed

Pros: appearance, image quality, easy to use remote
Cons: base will not come off once installed, samsung support
"I purchased the slightly smaller version of this TV which has the same clear stem base. Nice TV, no problems with the sound or image, but I ended up returning it and replacing it with a Vizio. Once you have attached the stand on this TV it WILL NOT come off and that isn't mentioned anywhere in the literature. I purchased this TV during a renovation, intending to wall mount it after the project was finished. In the meantime I attached the base. When it came time to wall mount the TV I discovered that the stand cannot be removed. I spent 3 hours with support at Samsung and kept getting cut off, handed off and stonewalled until one honest tier 2 tech finally confessed that they had no idea how to help me. The repair manuals and installation guides (both online and the ones that came with the TV) illustrate a different design. Costco was wonderful, allowing me to return the TV a few days past the 90 day exchange period because the TV guy confessed that he had tried to remove the base and hadn't had any luck either. After the runaround I got from Samsung support I will never purchase another Samsung product."
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2010

Good product, no problems yet

"There's quite a mixture of comments on this product, so I was skeptical, but proceeded to buy it knowing Costco's great return policy would allow me to "try it out" and see if it was any good.
That being said, I've had it in use for over 2 weeks now and can't complain. The picture quality is great, it was extremely easy to set up and use, and it looks fantastic.
My biggest concern, based on other reviews, was that the sound quality would be poor and volume low. I haven't experienced either issue. Granted, it's in my master bedroom, so I don't need the volume very high typically. But I never need it above even 30 out of 100, thus I think there's a lot of room for it to get louder (perhaps that would degrade sound quality at higher volume...? Don't know, haven't yet tried it).
For the price, I couldn't even find another 1080p monitor in this size. Every "real" TV (this is technically a monitor with a tuner, I believe) is 720p only, while many HD channels are broadcast in 1080i. Good luck finding that anywhere else!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plymouth, Michigan
Date:March 30, 2010

Very good product

Pros: great screen size, excellent price point for 27" monitor
Cons: no picture in picture
Model Number: Samsung P2770HD
"I bought this unit to replace an LCD tv/monitor I had for several years, and am quite pleased. I am not sure what the problems are the others are having, but the base does come off once it is installed, and the monitor does tilt 20 degrees. Remember this is a monitor with a TV tuner, not a TV primarily, as it lacks some obvious features for that use. Having said that, it is 1080p and has the useful remote for changin to 3:3 or 19:9 as needed for movies and shows. I am adding a second identical unit for a dual monitor system in a month or so. My only complaint is that it doesn't have picture in picture, and the audio is just ok - I would suggest external speakers anyway. Since I use it on my desk, I did have to build a 6 inch riser platform for it to get it to eye level. It is wide enough to get two full pages, either web pages or office documents on the screen simultaneously. The screen real estate is exceptional for displaying large spreadsheets or technical analysis/stock charting programs or design graphics. Mousing is different with the larger screen, so remember to adjust your mouse tracking speed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2010

Excellent picture, good sound

"I believe this product has gotten some bum reviews. I bought the TV in spite of the reviews and I'm glad I did. The picture is excellent. The default sound quality IS tinny, but this was easily fixed. I changed the Sound Mode from Standard to Movie, which increased the bass and decreased the treble. This improved the sound quality tremendously. I also turned on SRS TruSoundHD and this improved the fullness of the sound even using the TV's built-in speakers.
Another reviewer criticized the text quality when the set is used as a monitor connected with the HDMI cable. Though I am using the set as a TV, I experimented with it connected to my PC via the HDMI cable and found the picture, including text, very sharp."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:March 7, 2010

Lousy Monitor, Great TV

Pros: hdtv picture is good
Cons: pc monitor mode is useless for reading text 1080p
Model Number: 2770HD
"Caveat Emptor:
I am an electrical engineer, and I purchased this TV based on the favorable reviews of this TV as a monitor. I have a Dell laptop with an HDMI connector, and a high res video card, and though I could connect and display a picture at 1080p (1920x1080 resolution), the resolution was not crisp, and there were noticable artifacts with text not being smooth and other image distortion.
I'm surprised that the electronics on this Samsung 27" TV are not as good as my Samsung 24" Syncmaster 240HD I purchased two years ago, because that TV is working beautifully with 1920x1080p monitor resolution on the same laptop both for TV and monitor mode. This is not a driver issue, because my laptop also works with another Samsung HD monitor at work.
I was in the Costco store here in Palo Alto, and I tried the 23" and 27" Samsung HDTVs (2770HD and 2370HD) with my laptop's HDMI connection, and the picture was terrible for text.
I ended up buying the Samsung 27" Monitor, without the HDTV circuitry, because of this issue, though it was frustrating buying a monitor that had only a single HDMI, and no remote.
That being said, if you are happy with using this Samsung HDTV with your Xbox, or Cable TV, this TV has a good picture. But for a monitor, this TV sucks big time."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:July 18, 2010

Excellent Monitor and HDTV

Model Number: 2770HD
"After researching alternatives, I purchased the P2770HD at the local Costco store, to replace dual four-year old HP 19" LCD (4 x 3 aspect ratio) monitors running at 1280 X 1024 resolution.
I calculated that 27" (at 1080P) was the maximum screen size that would retain the resolution quality of my previous monitors.
I'm exceptionally pleased with this unit. The size is just right for displaying two full-size windows simultaneously, side-by-side. Graphics and text are sharp and colors are great.
I was a bit apprehensive about some of the negative review comments. However, I think that negative comments (that are mixed with many positive comments), are often a result of an individual user's incorrect set-up or other factors relating to his/her unique situation.
So I moved ahead because of the many highly positive reviews and my confidence in Samsung based on previous experience. I' glad I did.
Noting the comments about adverse effects from using HDMI connection for monitor use, I used a DVI cable. The resulting images could not be better.
My use is almost entirely as a monitor, but I concluded that the flexibility of having a hybrid unit such as this was well worth the small additional cost.
The TV function is as good as the monitor function. I can receive the local network channels in HD, without another cable box that would be required for HD reception of all other channels.
I also have a TV tuner card (standard definition) in my PC that enables me to have a small window open with, e.g., CNN playing in the corner of the screen, while in PC mode. Using the same graphics card as previously, and even in standard def, the picture is superior to what it was on my previous monitors.
The sound from the integrated, invisible speakers is just fine for both PC and TV use in my home office. There's even an equalizer function built into the monitor. I'd long been using external desktop speakers and a subwoofer with the PC. I'm happy to now be able to remove that clutter from my desk. (I didn't expect the sound to be similar to that from the multi-speaker surround system in another room, and it doesn't need to be.)
So, if you're considering this unit but are concerned about some of the negative comments, give the positive reviews more weight. You'll be glad you did."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Taylorsville, CA
Date:March 15, 2010

What a Difference!

"The first reviews weren't great, but the price was right and it was small enough to fit in my cabinet. After a friend hooked it up, I was disappointed with the picture, and we found that the sound was not loud enough at the highest setting. I was ready to return it, but called my DISH network local repair person. He told me that my set was not compatible with the dish antenna that I had, and that I needed a new receiver as well in order to receive HD. Today He made the changes and WOW! The picture is wonderfully sharp, the volume is fine and I am totally satisfied. (No charge from DISH)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:March 5, 2010

Incredible TV for the price!

Pros: clarity, price, samsung quality
Cons: stand is only so-so
Model Number: Samsung P2770HD
"After reading some of the reviews, I had to give my own take. This TV/Monitor is an increcible deal for what it was intended. Key word intended! Samsung actually classifies this as a monitor with TV tuner, not a television. However, I use this as a TV in the bedroom. Please refer to Samsung's site under monitors before deciding whether this will work for your needs.
Important notes:
1 - Sound. While this unit has speakers loud enough for a smallish room under normal conditions, it does not have the same speakers that come with full fledged TVs. For me it works great in a bedroom environment where it's relatively quiet. I would NOT recommend this for a livingroom, garage, or high traffic area with lots of distracting noises.
2 - Stand. Yes, the stand IS removable. I figured it out by myself with a little bit of playing with it. The stand is NOT the same heavy-duty stand that came with my Samsung 46" LED TV. It does hold the monitor steady as long as it sits on a sturdy level surface. I chose to wall-mount this TV so the stand was stored away. This brings me to the next point
3 - Wall Mounting. As with most TV's and monitors this size, it uses a standard VESA 100x100 mount. Samsung does such a great job making everything flat that my particular mount that was 100x100 AND 200x200 compatible actually blocked the HDMI port on the TV. I'm sure if the mount was smaller only supporting 100x100 it would not be an issue. The 200x200 compatible mount is obviously bigger than the area the TV allows for the 100x100 mount. If you choose to mount this TV and you get a bigger mount, the use of spacers with longer screws will give you enough clearance for the HDMI cable. All other ports are accessible without the spacers.
I have been VERY happy with this TV as the picture is great and the sound is acceptable for the bedroom. It's also 1080p so you get a true high-def picture. I cannot imaging buying another TV at this price-point and getting anything near as good as this Samsung."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Holden Beach, NC
Date:July 22, 2010

Excellent Television in many ways

Pros: excellent picture;, many available connnections
Cons: 'ok' sound quality
Model Number: 2770HD (and 2370HD)
"About 4 months ago I purchased the 2370HD (23") to replace my older 21" LCD monitor. I put it in the kitchen temporarily and after several days my wife refused to let me remove it, so there it still sits. I then purchased the 2770HD for my home office which I am also very pleased with. I had read extensive reviews and thankfully listened to those who pointed out the proper 'tuning' for maximum viewing and listening, Many reviewers are obviously unaware or don't know how to do this. Many complained about the inability to remove the base after install AND that it does not tilt. This is totally incorrect. BOTH the 23" and the 27" installed bases are easily removed and both tilt, IF you know how. I expected mediocre sound, like TVs have ALWAYS had, although both can be notably improved with proper tuning and some reviewers have explained how. I always add my own quality speakers. While our 58" Samsung Plasma (a magnifcent television) had reasonably good sound, I already planned to add a home theatre system. All 3 of these TVs are excellent, especially for the money and the versatility, even of the smallest. Now if I could get back around to buying the original LCD monitor replacement."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:C-bus, OH
Date:July 17, 2010

Not bad at all, don't overlook this one

Pros: seems to be a good product
Cons: explore the menu choices
"I always take reviews with a grain of salt. In spite of the reviews here to the contrary, I found this TV to be a good value. I primarily wanted at 1080p set in this picture size range. That limits the field quite a bit.
The set is super easy to set up, has a great picture and the sound is not a problem for a smaller room like a bedroom. The sound and picture details are customizable, it just takes some tweaking to find what works best for each customer.
There is a faint humming sound but unlike some of the criticisms in the reviews, it's not unbearable. It's noticeable only when you are fairly close to the TV and when the volume is low. Nearly any electronic product with a transformer will hum. In a typical room you'd not be close enough to notice.
I don't need or use it as a PC monitor so that wasn't a criteria for my purchase, it just happened to fit the rest of my needs. Hooking up an HDMI product is a snap. So far it's a nice set for a bedroom. I wish there were more choices with 32" and under TVs with 1080p resolution. Most professional reviews say there's not that great a difference between 720p and 1080p pictures anyway.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PHX. AZ.
Date:February 14, 2010

Great TV and helpful hints

Pros: great features easy to use. great picture quality
Cons: none yet.
Model Number: P277OHD
"Re: Samsung 27" TV
Once attached the stand cannot be removed. Stand doesn't tilt.
Great picture, terrible sound
This is in response to previous posts.
Re Stand:
The acrylic base can indeed be removed by unscrewing the screw on the base and simply pulling it straight out (90 degree angle from TV) It can be a 2 person job. I called Samsung also regarding this issue after seeing that post and they told me how to remove it also, no 3 hour wait. I also went to my Costco and the sales people worked on the base and it was removed. The directions for attachment are on a separate sheet enclosed in the TV box.
Re Sound:
I also was initially disappointed with the volume. Tried my DVD player and the sound was nice and loud. I then read my Samsung guide regarding sound and the guide said to check the volume on the cable box. The volume was set to 18 and it goes up to 30. I set the volume on the cable box to 30 and the volume increased. Also if you have a cable remote (I am addressing the Phx. Az. area COX) there is a way to boost the volume even more. I hit the settings button on my remote 2x, went to Audio Range and set it to Narrow. This can be specific to your local cable company so call them for advice. Check your volume settings on any connected devices.
Also the base does tilt up and down.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 5, 2010

Great picture, terrible sound

Pros: beautiful picure sleek look
Cons: sound is terrible
Model Number: LS27
"Beautiful television. The outward appearance is beautiful, the picture is great. The sound is terrible. Volume at 100, (full blast) and it isn't even loud. In a perfectly quiet house, 85 on the volume is okay, any other nosie and it is too quiet. Ran the sound test, it is extremely loud, but the television sound is not as loud as the sound test."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010

Great TV for the Price

Pros: price
"I have no complaints, the TV design looks good for a bedroom. The TV screen is 27 inch and has a small outer frame - so it is small and blends in well. The TV sound is good for a 27" set, the TV picture is crisp, clear, with good color. I am satisfied and considering buying another for my kids room."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami
Date:August 24, 2010

Clear as day

Pros: add a pro
"I bought this TV for my wife in the bedroom and it was one great buy, there are some concerns about the audio, but what I found out was it all had to do with the service you have. I had the TV hooked up to the building cable until Direct TV can come and hook me up, and during that time on cable I had a so and so picture and was not happy with horrible audio with little volume. Then Direct TV set me up with HDMI and WOW! what a difference, I now have a super clear pic and great audio volume. Nothing wrong the TV it just requires modern amenities."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodinville, WA
Date:July 25, 2010

good picture; poor audio

Pros: picture quality
Cons: audio quality, barely but detectable electronic "noise" when on
Model Number: P2770HD
"This is one of the best deals you can find for 1080p in a small package. The picture is beautiful and easy to setup. The viewing angle is typical of other sets in this size and technology. However, the audio sounds like it is coming from a tin can, literally. Changing audio settings doesn't make an improvement. So be sure to supplement this purchase with a quality audio system. Also, I can detect, though slightly, the electronic "noise" that this TV outputs when in quiet environments, but it doesn't bother me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 15, 2010

Makes a great computer monitor via the DVI port.

Model Number: P2770HD
"Bought this as a computer monitor a month ago, and to watch BluRay movies on the PC. GREAT HD movie rendering, and awesome display for computing.
Word of caution: If you use this as a PC monitor, do not use the HDMI port connection. Text rendering via HDMI is terrible from my ATI Radeon 9550. I switched to the DVI port and text is sharp and graphics are great. The BluRay movies play just fine as well via the DVI port. A definite winner!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 27" 1080p LCD HDTV Free Shipping
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Buy Another Brand

Pros: size
Cons: sound
Model Number: P2770HD
"This is my first ever review for a Costco Product and the reason for me to write one now is to try to prevent everyone browsing this monitor to not buy it!!!
I had high hopes in purchasing this monitor because of its quality of picture and size, but the sound sucks. Whenever you turn off the monitor and turn it back on again, the sound in any media, doesn't work. You have to restart the media for it to work again and sometimes reboot the entire computer for it to work again! I have to do this every single time. I try contacting Samsung support and they had no idea how to fix it. Luckily I purchased this from Costco and returned it!"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>