Customer Reviews for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge

Home Pulsed Light™ (HPL) Technology
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 of 25(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Review 1 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:September 13, 2010

LOVE IT!!

Model Number: Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System
"Was so excited to see it advertised. I have medium colored skin and dark hair. Had professional laser removal 7 years ago paying almost $1,000 for bikini and abdomen area. This is a bargain in comparison, plus you can do it in the privacy of your own home. So far, have done 3 treatments on legs, arms and underarms. Legs had the most coarse dark hair. Noticed slower growth from the first treatment and now only very small patches of hair are left. The best part is NO ingrown hairs. When you're using it, some areas will sting a bit more than in others. After you're done, it may still sting, but it goes away quickly. It really works! It truly is the best purchase ever!"
Review 2 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 16, 2010

Not worth it

"This item is expensive. I had done 5 treatments and the only change I saw was that hair was growing slowly, but not decreasing in amount at all.
I never used to shave, I used an epillation method, so that is probably why it didnt work. I didn't like having to shave in between treatments.
Anyway, It looks like it worked for most people, but unfortunately I didn't want to spend more time or money on this method. I like the epillation method better.
"
Review 3 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:August 14, 2010

Disappointed!

Pros: costco's excellent return policy
Cons: doesn't work for everyone
"I was very excited to receive this, because I absolutely HATE waxing. Unfortunately, it didn't work for me at all. I have strawberry blonde hair, and thought that it would be dark enough to allow the light to work, but it didn't. So it's back to the salon for me...."
Review 4 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:July 31, 2010

Defective machine

Cons: add a con
Model Number: 200355129
"I have a problem with my machine burning out the cartridges too quickly. Customer service has sent me two replacement cartridges but the problem is with the machine not with the cartridges. I now have had four cartridges burned out only after limited usage.
I have left two phone messages and two email messages and have not received a response from their customer service. Is this company still in business?
"
Review 5 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 28, 2010

Amazing- it really works

Pros: very little pain, easy to use, amazing results
"At first, I didn't think it was going to work. I thought this because i didnt feel pain like a regular laser. After the first time of use, i saw a difference. Missing spots of hair!! It really worked. I used it on my husband, and after the second use, the hair was 50% reduced if not more. I just wish i took before and after pics. I LOVE this product. I'm getting it for my brother also."
Review 6 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:miami, fl
Date:May 5, 2010

Easy and Effective

"Great results. Would recomend to anybody and easy to use. I saw results by the second session."
Review 7 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saratoga, Ca
Date:July 27, 2010

works but slow

Pros: great price if it works for you
"I have done 5 applications of the treatment to my underarms and bikini areas 4 of them on level 5, and my bikini area has show great results - I have hardly any hair left. However, my underarms harldy look like I have done anything. I am going to continue and hope it eventally will have an effect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 7, 2010

Definitely Worth A Try

Pros: shave much much less, no more stubble, great customer service, inexpensive
Cons: hard to treat 100% w/out overlap, doesn't feel great, many treatments required for fully smooth
"I waited until I finished the first four applications to review.
I am really pleased with the results. There is definitely still some hair but it is much less noticeable because it is sparse and more fine. Different areas appear to have responded better, but I will try again in a month.
As others have mentioned, it can be tricky to get every inch and not overlap and I did have a slight burn on the side of my knee (a little aloe vera was all it needed). It was uncomfortable at 5 but I could tolerate the heat and sting, especially with a cold compress handy for numbing beforehand or cooling afterwards.
On my 2nd time, the machine stopped working & gave an error message that wasn't in the instructions/online. Customer service at SensEpil was fantastic, and they replaced the defective cartridge w/out hassle. I haven't had a problem since."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pasco Washington
Date:June 25, 2010

Be careful

"I have been using the sensepil since the end of April. I have finally noticed the hair is growing a little slower and a bit finer in areas. I am not noticing a huge difference after 5 treatments. BE CAREFUL about doing it while you are tan. I thought if I was too tan it would sense it and it wouldn't let me do it. It did let me do it, so I thought it would be fine. I had progressed to the 4th level, and in some areas it didn't feel like I had gone up too many levels on the strength of the pulse. It did hurt on the back of my legs(my daughter does that area for me). A few days later I noticed I had dark brown marks that looked like hickeys all over my shins and calves on both legs. They were worse on the left leg. This is where my legs are the most tan. After a week, most of the marks were faded on my right leg, but are still very prominent on my left. I also have white scars on my left leg where the brown burn marks have worn off. I believe I have permanently damaged the pigment. The directions say to see a dermatologist if they are not faded after a few days. So, time will tell and I hope I do not end up with white scars all over my shin and calf from this. I would recommend starting this in the fall or winter, or do not get a tan at all if you are going do this. Hopefully in the long run, this works on my hair because I paid the price with these scars, and hope they are not permanent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lacey, WA
Date:June 22, 2010

Still on the fence

Pros: showing signs of improvement
Cons: i use 1+ cartridge per treatment and it is costly
"I've used this 3 times so far (it says you have to do the treatments 2 wks apart). So, I have noticed, that after 3 treatments, that the hair on my upper legs has lessened growth, quite a bit. Maybe because it was softer to begin with? However, my lower legs, bikini area and my armpits are still needing shaves in between treatments. It does seem to show a bit of improvement on my lower legs, but it's 'patchy'. Some areas show less growth, but others it seems have not been affected yet. I'm going to order more lamps to see if my next few treatments take me further. And if not, I will take it back! That's what is so great about Costco! I will repost after a few more treatments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 28, 2010

excellent product

"I've been using the older model and it's fantastic. The bulbs last a long time, you notice results immediately. Read the instructions and follow them. I was reluctant as it was expensive but I gave it a try and it really works. And comparing to the salon cost, it's actualy cheap."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010

I'm encouraged

"It's too soon to tell, but I am encouraged by the early results.
I have had lots of professional electrolysis and laser treatments and I can tell you this does not hurt like those do. may take a few more treatments, but at this price, I think that will be fine!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:July 10, 2010

appoved for face now

"I love this product, the only thing that disappointed me was the fact that you could not use it on your face.
A couple of weeks after I got the machine their customer service dept called me and said they finished their 2 yr study and it is now approved for the chin.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2010

This works, for a lot less than professional!!

"If you have the right skin and hair type, this product works as well as professional hair removal - I know, I've tried both. I have been THRILLED with my results and it has cost me WAY less than the professional estimate I got. The estimate for just my thighs was over $2500 but, with this machine, I've done my calves and thighs, my arms and my underarms and, 3 treatments in, I've had fabulous results and spent less than $800."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:June 5, 2010

So excited by this product!

"I swear I think I dreamed about this product when I was a teenager. I just wanted a magical "device" that would zap my hair away for good. I am not exaggerating when I say that I noticed results after my first use. I actually half-heartedly did my lower legs, not sure of what results I would experience, and within a couple weeks of shaving as usual, and letting my hair grow a little, a noticed many "bald" areas on my legs. I was pretty shocked! Now I have done all kinds of laser hair removal on my face, underarms and bikini and was not completely sold on a home-based system. But I am thoroughly impressed. I used it a second time, more thoroughly and included my arms as well. I noticed even more hair-free areas on my legs, and patchy "bald" spots on my arms. I have fair-to-olive skin and dark course hair. It's working remarkably well so far. I just did my 3rd treatment tonight! It's a fantastic product! I'm thrilled!! It works. Easy to use and minimal pain (just teeny, zings that are totally tolerable)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2010

It does seem to work

Pros: easy to use, effective, cost efficient compared to salons
"I've used 2 sessions. I intentionally did only one leg to compare results and hair indeed reduced.
I used it on bikini and underarms too, but didn't see results so far. I'd give it more time.
I did jump right to level 5, which is still much weaker compared to professional salons. I'm asian, fair complexion and black hair, I guess I am close to the ideal candidate for this machine.
Not a con but I did find that when using it, it was hard to keep track of the areas that's already been covered. You don't want overlapping areas since it might burn your skin, so it's impossible to get a full coverage."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster,PA
Date:April 27, 2010

It really works!!!!!!!

Pros: easy to use
"I got my Hair removal system two weeks ago~!!Love it so much!.I can clearly see less hair growing on my body!I only used it once..what a great result!! I'm going to wait 2 more weeks for my second treatment..~!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Antioch, CA
Date:April 20, 2010

Best hair removal for home use

Pros: it realy works
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Silk’n SensEpil
"Wife used it once so far and appears that the hair growth is about 50% less than before. Machine works perfectly"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Fl
Date:April 28, 2010

Not Great

"I really thought this was going to be great. Read the instructions. If you have blond, white or grey hair, this product is not for you and the DVR they include state that right away. My hair grew back faster than with a regular electric or standard shaver."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silk’n SensEpil™ Hair Removal System with Extra Lamp Cartridge
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:April 19, 2010

Freedom From Unwanted Hair!!!!!!!!!

"I have had the professional hair removal treatments that cost a fortune. Silk'n SensEpil allows me to touch up those areas and stop the growth of hair in other areas without having to spend thousands more. I can use this amazing hair removal system on all of my problem areas in the privacy of my own home. I have been using this product for a little over a year now and would highly recommend it to anyone who may be looking for an answer to hair removal in those areas where hair is not desired."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>