Customer Reviews for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Shark® Steam Pocket Mop

With 4 Cleaning Pads
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
44 of 58(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Review 21 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Meriden, CT
Date:May 29, 2010

Quick and easy

"...this mop does a wonderful job! Easy to use and leaves the floors spotless. If someone wants to clean with a cleaner, I just soak the mop head in hot water with my Mr Clean ( Febreeze scent) cleaner, squeeze out the excess liquid, attach to mop and steam on the floors for a clean smell! Definitely worth the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte NC
Date:May 29, 2010

Love, Love, Love the Shark Steam Mop!!!

Pros: light weight, easy to use, adequate size water tank, long cord
"Ok, my friends swear by this product and the results it has provided them. So, I bite the bullet and purchased the Shark Steamer Mop and did my own test. I mopped my floors using the Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop pads (like I always do). Then I followed up with the Shark Steam Mop to see if it picked up any residual dirt. Let me say IT DID!!! I could not believe my eyes!!! the pad was filthy!!! I definitely recommend this product! I even bought the handheld Shark Steamer for cleaning and steaming my clothes."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, East Bay, Ca.
Date:June 10, 2010

Everyone needs one!!!

Pros: does a great job
"I bought this item yesterday at Costco. I have Pergo floors that are porous. They are a garden marble design and the porous areas always get dirty. Before purchasing this mop, I would have to scrub with a brush the porous areas to get the dirt out, because a sponge mop would not touch it. This steam mop takes care of this problem. Every home should have one of these. My floors came out immaculate!!! If you are in doubt try it you will love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:June 11, 2010

save your money

"Product leaves hardwood floors cloudy and streaked. We returned ours. You get a better shinear clean with a microfleece mop and water vinegar 5% mix."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, Oregon
Date:June 13, 2010

Better than old Shark

"I love the new shark steamer. The cord is longer, the water reservoir larger and the different heads all make for the best product ever for my use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA.
Date:June 22, 2010

Shark Steam Pocket Mop

Cons: can't buy the pad i would like seperately
"I've owned other Shark products including steam mops. This one is far better than what I realized. If I had to rate this mop I would give it a 5 out of 5."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:clackamas Or
Date:July 9, 2010

best purchase ever

Model Number: 469653
"I have only used it twice and i loved it my kidtchen floor was terrible and i was ashamed of how bad it was i used it and i could walk on it with bare feet i was dancing in my kitchen. I used it in my small bathroom and i had a stain on the floor in front of the throne and it is gone i was ammazed ive tried to get that stain up for yrs. and now its gone the only complaint is that the edges of the walls didnt quite work but im happy i dont have to get down on my knees and mop my floors i hate doing floors"
Review 28 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anthem, Arizoha
Date:July 10, 2010

Hmmmmm.....???

Pros: fun to use a lot easier than mop and bucket
Cons: does not clean the floors like advertised!
"After reading so many 5 * ratings, I was curious, so bought one. I vacuum daily, we never wear shoes in the house, yet when I steamed my tile floors, and went over them later with a damp white paper towel...and wore white socks, they were both dirty. Have used it about 10 times since, and afterwards, same thing! I do like using the Shark, it gives the illusion of cleaning the floors, the heads do get very dirty... and I use a clean one each time, even change the head before I'm finished. Have soft water and use reverse osmosis water to steam the floors, still have dirty white socks!! I just don't get it.... I don't want to go back to using a bucket and mop again... :( Long cord is great, its light, easy to use, water reservoir could have been larger (I have a LOT of tile flooring)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:July 11, 2010

Pretty darn good!

Pros: lightweight easy to use quick refills
Cons: nothing really performs as advertised
Model Number: S3501
"I bought this when my ever-so-awesome TR5 went on the fritz, and I needed to send it away to get it fixed. I thought I'd give this a try to use in the interim. I like it quite a bit. It's easy to use, has a good size water container for the size of the unit, heats up quickly, allows for quick refills (vs my TR5 which requires a minimum 30 min cool down before refilling). My floors were filthy when I first used it, and it didn't do a great job on the first or second pass. But on the third pass it was good. But like I said my floors were FILTHY! If it's used on a regular basis, it will keep your floors very clean. And because of the size of the unit and the ease of use, I will use it often because it's NOT a pain in the neck to pull out, fill & use, unlike my big unit. This unit has limitations, i.e. only good for floors, not showers, grills, etc, so my canister TR5 still has a home :) Overall, it's a very good unit and worth the hundred bucks. If you have a lot of tile like me (1500 sq ft) you'll want to get extra pockets to be able to change them when you are cleaning the whole house at once. I'm getting by with the one XL that came with the unit right now until my extra pockets arrive. I rinse it out throughout my cleaning and wring it tight, then go back to cleaning. It takes just a few minutes for the floors to dry after that process vs the almost instant dry when the pocket hasn't been rinsed out, but it still works good this way. A suggestion if you do have filthy floors to start with...dampen the pocket with vinegar before putting on the machine, and this will help loosen up the dirt so you don't have to go over it three times like I did at first!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2010

not good for hardwood

"I bought it because it is supposedly not as hot as other steamers, but it is still too hot, because the polyurethane of the hardwood was coming off. When the hardwood floor gets cloudy and streaky, that's because it is softening the topcoat.
It works very well on smooth tile, but not good on tiles, which have highs and lows. Since I have mainly hardwood floor, I returned it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 23, 2010

Works great on laminate!

"Bought this after reading some reviews and taking a chance in my mind. We were using some chemical cleaners with a microfiber mop/pad to clean the floors. We found that that left streaks and looked a bit oily.
We gave this a try a few times and it works great. It picks up dirt well and cleans up dirt stains quickly. Floor is left with a slight sheen of water that dries in seconds.
Good buy but make sure you get all the big debri off the floor first"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:August 28, 2010

worked for 13 months then died

Cons: add a con
Model Number: S3509
"Just out of warranty the Shark Steam mop died. I plugged it in and it would not turn on. Calling customer service was HORRIBLE. The call center was in India and I had to repeat every thing 3 times only to find out they would not fix the problem because it was one month out of warranty."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley, WA
Date:September 7, 2010

Love this cleaner....

"Debated for a long time whether or not I should bother to buy a steam cleaner for my hardwood floors. Decided to bite the bullet & try it and am so glad I did. I have 1700 sq feet of wood floors that used to take me hours to clean and dry. Now 30 minutes and they are done, cleaned and sanitized!!! Works wonders on deodorizing the carpets too...and I have two very hairy dogs!! Easy to use. Steam lasts a long time. It's a breeze to put together and pads are easy to clean. Love that I'm not throwing lots of stuff into the landfill or putting chemicals into the air of my home. Highly recommend getting this steamer."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:September 18, 2010

A mop and bucket would be less work

Pros: sanitizes
Cons: too much effort into pumping up the steam action
"I bought this with great hopes because it sanitizes - because it's steam, no chemicals, etc. It took 3 uses of HEAVY pumping, pushing and pulling to get my floors even remotely clean. I've got older linoleum flooring and it has those grooves in it and it just doesn't get in those grooves, short on getting on your hands` and knees with a scrub brush and a bucket of hot water and ammonia. You have to pump the mop handle to produce the steam and if your 50+ with the arthritic pain that come with getting older, all the pumping to produce the maximum amount of steaming action is hard on the body. Plus the mop heads produced a lot of drag on linoleum flooring, making it even more work. If you have new linoleum flooring I'm sure it will do a great job for them. I also have ceramic tile flooring in some places in it was excellent on that. But just the pumping action and the mop head drag was too much wear and on my joints. So back it went."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Shoreline, WA
Date:September 22, 2010

Will probably take it back

"I'm disappointed, and will probably take it back. It left my Pergo floors seriously streaked, looking worse than when I started."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:October 9, 2010

This Product Performs

Cons: my tiles are 20" go ahead and enlarge the head
Model Number: Shark Gold Steam Pocket Mop
"Ohsusannah, you need to get a new floor! I have ceramic tile throughout my main level & master bath. Regardless of the crazy flooring some people have…which they should just replace…this is an awesome product. I have a Hoover FloorMate which I hate. It’s heavy, cumbersome and annoyingly loud. I had a Monster EZ1 which I loved, but it died after about 3 months. It was refurbished and you will see a lot of refurbished ones on the net – which is why I went with this model. A lot of thought went into the whole design.
1. The low profile gets under and around almost anything, especially all edges
2. The flip-the-pad-over feature is geniusly efficient
3. The extra long cord is brilliant
4. It even attaches to the handle so as NOT get in your way or tangle
5. The pump action uses the natural mop action (back and forth) movement
6. It’s lightweight and glides smoothly
7. It’s silent so as not to disturb babies or someone sleeping
8. The 3 size heads are interchangeable with a push of a button
9. One head is 16” wide covering more space in less time (awesome)
10. I soaked the pad overnite in OxyClean and it’s white as new (floors were excessively dirty)
11. The Costco price is the best, and you will have gotten your money’s worth, even if it dies 1 mo out of warranty!
12. I think, by nature (or maybe design), small appliances don’t have a long motor life.
13. For me, this product performed as it was designed to do. I didn’t have dirty socks after using it either!
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 16, 2010

Happy with my purchase

Pros: sanitizes floors, kids want to use it so you will get help!!!, floors get really clean
Cons: not great on corners but still better than a mop, made me purchase other shark products:), washing the cleaning pads
Model Number: S3501CO
"I have wood, ceramic, marble, and granite flooring throughout my house. Works best on the tile flooring but still very well on all others. The floors get really clean but not as fast as I had hoped. With kids and dogs the floors do get dirty faster than I can keep up so I was hoping for something I could use daily. It is much better than using a mop and bucket!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:October 18, 2010

not clean enough

Model Number: S3501CO
"I read all the reviews for the Shark Steam Pocket Mop and really expected more. I found that this mop was difficult to use because of the "drag" even when I elongated the handle as suggested. Although my floors dried quickly, they were not as clean as I thought they should be. They were clean on the surface, but anything sticky or ground in was still on the floor even after numerous passes with the mop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunlakes Country Club, Banning, CA
Date:October 23, 2010

Very good purchase

Pros: gets hot fast.
Model Number: S3501co
"Bought this thing at Costco yesterday on a whim. We have 1200 sq. ft. of ceramic tile and it is my job to clean it. Have used 3 different style mops and wet swiffers. Did the floors this afternoon and this is the best method yet. So easy to use I may train my wife soon. Just kidding! She don't do windows or floors."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:November 4, 2010

Best You can purchase

"It is very good and convenient and light weight. But it does drag a bit. Hard to push along."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>