Customer Reviews for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Shark® Steam Pocket Mop

With 4 Cleaning Pads
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
44 of 58(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Review 1 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:April 12, 2011

Not impressed

"I was very happy when I bought it. It is ok if your floors are not too dirty. I have 2 kids and 2 dogs, and it took a long time to clean also you need a lot of pads to replace the dirty ones. The last time I used it the steam was not working propery and the water tank almost exploded , it broke on the side of the water container where you can see the water level."
Review 2 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 12, 2010

Poorly Made; Terrible Service; Waste of Money

Cons: doesn't clean well.
Model Number: S3501
"Product didn't last 10 months. One day steam started spewing out the sides of the water container. I contacted customer service and after 2 frustrating conversations, it was confirmed that I fell under the warranty period. I was going to send it in for repair but I was told that I was responsible for paying for shipping TO and FROM the repair facility. Don't buy this!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:November 23, 2010

Not effective at cleaning

Pros: easy to use, small, quiet, leaves floors dry
Cons: does not clean floors, breaks easily
"In order to properly clean a hard floor, you need to either blast it, or else lay down liquid, scrub it, and then pick it back up. This Shark mop sprays steam on the inside of its cloth head, so it is more like taking a single piece of cloth, getting it slightly damp with hot water, and rubbing it all over your floor. The cloth will be dirty, but it will only have picked up about 2% of the dirt on your floor and now you have to clean and dry the cloth before you can do any more cleaning. We bought one of these and used it a few times, then it fell down when we opened the closet and broke. We took it back to Costco and they were great, we got a new one but it did not clean any better than the first. As a test we carefully cleaned our kitchen with the Shark. Then we cleaned the whole room over again with a Hoover Floormate. The water was coming out of the Floormate was filthy! The Shark simply cannot effectively clean a floor."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Shoreline, WA
Date:September 22, 2010

Will probably take it back

"I'm disappointed, and will probably take it back. It left my Pergo floors seriously streaked, looking worse than when I started."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:August 28, 2010

worked for 13 months then died

Cons: add a con
Model Number: S3509
"Just out of warranty the Shark Steam mop died. I plugged it in and it would not turn on. Calling customer service was HORRIBLE. The call center was in India and I had to repeat every thing 3 times only to find out they would not fix the problem because it was one month out of warranty."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:June 11, 2010

save your money

"Product leaves hardwood floors cloudy and streaked. We returned ours. You get a better shinear clean with a microfleece mop and water vinegar 5% mix."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:April 27, 2010

Shark of a Price....

"The mop is small and takes all day to clean a small apartment. A waste of time, energy, and money. The pads have to be machine washed without bleach so the stains don't come off. Overpriced indeed!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2010

Not a Great Buy

Pros: has a long cord and large tank
Model Number: XL
"I read so many positive reviews on the steamer I decided I should get one. We have wood floors and travertine tile. We are getting ready to have some grout and tile work done. I asked the technician what he thought of the steamer for the travertine. He said absolutely not to use it because the travertine is a natural stone and has a number of inconsistencies in it. I decided to go ahead and try it on the wood and travertine. It streaked the floors and I was uncomfortable using it on the wood floors. I returned it to Costco."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis
Date:February 18, 2011

Great When It Worked.

Pros: easy to use, light weight, quick mopping
Cons: broke after a year (and less than 10 uses)!
"It was great while it lasted - which was about 12 mos. and 6-7 uses. Last week, I got it out to use it, filled the water reservoir, plugged it in, and pumped it to start mopping. I wasn't getting any steam so I pumped some more and, suddenly, I heard a loud "POP!" and water began spewing out of the base (where you plug in the mop head). From that point on, it leaked from that same place, but no water or steam made it to the mop head. Apparently this is a common problem - I wish I'd known before buying it! I'm hoping Costco's great return policy will save me on this purchase!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:October 18, 2010

not clean enough

Model Number: S3501CO
"I read all the reviews for the Shark Steam Pocket Mop and really expected more. I found that this mop was difficult to use because of the "drag" even when I elongated the handle as suggested. Although my floors dried quickly, they were not as clean as I thought they should be. They were clean on the surface, but anything sticky or ground in was still on the floor even after numerous passes with the mop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:September 18, 2010

A mop and bucket would be less work

Pros: sanitizes
Cons: too much effort into pumping up the steam action
"I bought this with great hopes because it sanitizes - because it's steam, no chemicals, etc. It took 3 uses of HEAVY pumping, pushing and pulling to get my floors even remotely clean. I've got older linoleum flooring and it has those grooves in it and it just doesn't get in those grooves, short on getting on your hands` and knees with a scrub brush and a bucket of hot water and ammonia. You have to pump the mop handle to produce the steam and if your 50+ with the arthritic pain that come with getting older, all the pumping to produce the maximum amount of steaming action is hard on the body. Plus the mop heads produced a lot of drag on linoleum flooring, making it even more work. If you have new linoleum flooring I'm sure it will do a great job for them. I also have ceramic tile flooring in some places in it was excellent on that. But just the pumping action and the mop head drag was too much wear and on my joints. So back it went."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anthem, Arizoha
Date:July 10, 2010

Hmmmmm.....???

Pros: fun to use a lot easier than mop and bucket
Cons: does not clean the floors like advertised!
"After reading so many 5 * ratings, I was curious, so bought one. I vacuum daily, we never wear shoes in the house, yet when I steamed my tile floors, and went over them later with a damp white paper towel...and wore white socks, they were both dirty. Have used it about 10 times since, and afterwards, same thing! I do like using the Shark, it gives the illusion of cleaning the floors, the heads do get very dirty... and I use a clean one each time, even change the head before I'm finished. Have soft water and use reverse osmosis water to steam the floors, still have dirty white socks!! I just don't get it.... I don't want to go back to using a bucket and mop again... :( Long cord is great, its light, easy to use, water reservoir could have been larger (I have a LOT of tile flooring)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:TN
Date:March 1, 2011

Not worth it

Pros: cheap, easy to use, okay if you're not super particular about cleanlin
Cons: cheaply built, near the same amount of effort as hand scrubbing
"I have used this 3 times now but I found that it takes just as long as it would to hand scrub my floors, and nearly the same amount of effort. Its a little more grandiose than a swiffer. And unfortunately the steam doesnt clean right up against the walls. So I am returning it and may try something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 11, 2010

Attachment blew off

"I bought this over a year ago (or it seems) and the other day when I plugged it in, I left it in a standing position and walked away to move my chairs. Next thing i hear is the attachement blew off and steam was shooting away. I immediately unplugged it and a puddle of water was left on the floor. Not sure if leaving it in an upright position while it warms up was what caused it bec. I usually am holding the mop once I plug it in. So I tried it again but I laid it on the floor lengthwise and a few minutes later it shot off again. So after cleaning up the puddle, I go in and changed the head of the mop to the bigger size. Im holding the mop now and plugged it in...and now it doesnt work. I tried pumping it...nothing...So, either it is defective or its durabilty doesnt last long. I wanted my husband to ask Cust. service to see if they would take it back but I know its more than 90 days. I havent called Shark yet since this happened right after Thanksgiving and now im bustling through Christmas. This happened 5 days ago. Not sure if this has happened to anyone else. I used this mop 1 -2 x week when I clean. I do love the product but this incident caught me by surprise. I would/will go buy another one if they wont replace it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2010

not good for hardwood

"I bought it because it is supposedly not as hot as other steamers, but it is still too hot, because the polyurethane of the hardwood was coming off. When the hardwood floor gets cloudy and streaky, that's because it is softening the topcoat.
It works very well on smooth tile, but not good on tiles, which have highs and lows. Since I have mainly hardwood floor, I returned it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas
Date:April 14, 2011

Nice mop

Pros: fun, easy
Cons: can't rest it against the counter, one mop head not enough for large floor
"This is my first steam mop. I didn't want it at first, but my husband thought we should get it. My conclusion is it's still something I could live without, but it does make mopping more fun!! If mopping is more fun and a little easier, then I clean it more often! It's nice to not have to bother with a bucket. I would have rather had two of the x-large heads and covers, than have the little triangle and the smaller rectangle head. The duster one is nice for my bedroom hardwood floor. My floor mopping area is large. After dirtying both sides, I let it cool, and then rinse it out. Put it back on and finish mopping.
One significant drawback is that I'm not comfortable just leaving the mop propped up against the counter if I have to do something in the middle of mopping. I'm afraid it might mess up my floor - leaving it in one place for too long. So I end up laying it across my counter with the head hanging over the sink. It's entirely possible that no damage would be done to my floor, since while it's resting against the counter, there is no pumping happening to release the steam. I just don't feel comfortable.
How well it cleans-
Does a pretty good job. For dried food stuck to the floor, you either go over it many times to soften and remove it, or you can go over a couple times then scrape it with a fingernail. Like I said earlier, you may need to either switch to another head and cover part way through, or take the dirty one off and rinse it out. You don't want to be just wiping the same dirt over your entire floor. It probably would be streaky and not-clean if you just use one mop head/cover over a large area. One mop head for a smaller area might be just fine.
"
Review 17 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Quincy, WA
Date:February 7, 2011

I like it - Not as easy as advertisements suggest

Model Number: S3501C0
"I purchased this shark steam mop several weeks back and have used it once. It does work decently and maneuvers around the toilet nicely. I wished it put our more steam than it does but still like it better than pulling out the mop and bucket. Much more convenient. It took many more passes to do the bathroom floor than the infomercials suggest (on the first time cleaning). But it looks like future cleanings will be better as long as you keep up on it. It does not remove built up grime from the edge surfaces and so you will have to do those the old fashioned way the first time. Again if you keep up on it I doubt you will have to be on your knees again.
Also be careful and don't put too much weight behind the handle because it feel like you could break it if you do. There is no need to put that kind of pressure on it.
For me I am glad I purchased it."
Review 18 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2011

Shark Steam Pocket Mop

"I love this mop. Its easy to use and does a great job on ceramic and wood floors. I like the fact that it is environmentally safe by not adding chemicals to my floor which could harm pets."
Review 19 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Capo Beach CA
Date:November 8, 2010

Not for me but a good product

Pros: great accessories
Cons: left my floors dull
"I bought this to replace using the Swiffer on my Travertine floors. We have the sealed shiny type like the lobby of a hotel. The steaming made it look dull. It was pretty obvious, soon after. I don't know if it's the water, the product or my type of floors. I'm going back to the Swiffer and yes they both leave streaks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:November 6, 2010

**Good**But Not Exactly What I Expected;(

Pros: easy to assemble, did not damage slatewood or tumble stone floor, no chemical oder or residue
Cons: takes a lot of energy to work it pumping action, steam works best in middle of mop, wish it cleaned grout better
Model Number: S3501CO
"I tried the Shark Steamer on my large foyer that has SLATE and TUMBLE STONE tiles. The slate did not bleed. I went over it twice. It took 4 tanks of distilled water. But it was easy to fill. But, you have to pump to create steam so it is quite a workout. But this can be done as you mop, sort of a erkie jerkie motion as you do a quick pump and then mop and pump and mop again. That is the only way to get the steam going. Floor dries quickly so no residual mess. Also tried on HARDWOOD floors, no damage, no streaks worked fine. But I probably would use my hardwood floor cleaner to protect the floor once in a while because I would think that the steam would dry out the wood too much. The grout areas came out pretty good but I was expecting that they would be like new condition. But I was completely surprised that it did not make the natural slate stone bleed as other products have. So I guess I would recommend because I don't think it is sanitary to have water and vinegar/chemical residue left still drying on your floor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>