Customer Reviews for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Shark® Steam Pocket Mop

With 4 Cleaning Pads
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
44 of 58(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Review 1 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:November 23, 2010

Not effective at cleaning

Pros: easy to use, small, quiet, leaves floors dry
Cons: does not clean floors, breaks easily
"In order to properly clean a hard floor, you need to either blast it, or else lay down liquid, scrub it, and then pick it back up. This Shark mop sprays steam on the inside of its cloth head, so it is more like taking a single piece of cloth, getting it slightly damp with hot water, and rubbing it all over your floor. The cloth will be dirty, but it will only have picked up about 2% of the dirt on your floor and now you have to clean and dry the cloth before you can do any more cleaning. We bought one of these and used it a few times, then it fell down when we opened the closet and broke. We took it back to Costco and they were great, we got a new one but it did not clean any better than the first. As a test we carefully cleaned our kitchen with the Shark. Then we cleaned the whole room over again with a Hoover Floormate. The water was coming out of the Floormate was filthy! The Shark simply cannot effectively clean a floor."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:September 18, 2010

A mop and bucket would be less work

Pros: sanitizes
Cons: too much effort into pumping up the steam action
"I bought this with great hopes because it sanitizes - because it's steam, no chemicals, etc. It took 3 uses of HEAVY pumping, pushing and pulling to get my floors even remotely clean. I've got older linoleum flooring and it has those grooves in it and it just doesn't get in those grooves, short on getting on your hands` and knees with a scrub brush and a bucket of hot water and ammonia. You have to pump the mop handle to produce the steam and if your 50+ with the arthritic pain that come with getting older, all the pumping to produce the maximum amount of steaming action is hard on the body. Plus the mop heads produced a lot of drag on linoleum flooring, making it even more work. If you have new linoleum flooring I'm sure it will do a great job for them. I also have ceramic tile flooring in some places in it was excellent on that. But just the pumping action and the mop head drag was too much wear and on my joints. So back it went."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:November 6, 2010

**Good**But Not Exactly What I Expected;(

Pros: easy to assemble, did not damage slatewood or tumble stone floor, no chemical oder or residue
Cons: takes a lot of energy to work it pumping action, steam works best in middle of mop, wish it cleaned grout better
Model Number: S3501CO
"I tried the Shark Steamer on my large foyer that has SLATE and TUMBLE STONE tiles. The slate did not bleed. I went over it twice. It took 4 tanks of distilled water. But it was easy to fill. But, you have to pump to create steam so it is quite a workout. But this can be done as you mop, sort of a erkie jerkie motion as you do a quick pump and then mop and pump and mop again. That is the only way to get the steam going. Floor dries quickly so no residual mess. Also tried on HARDWOOD floors, no damage, no streaks worked fine. But I probably would use my hardwood floor cleaner to protect the floor once in a while because I would think that the steam would dry out the wood too much. The grout areas came out pretty good but I was expecting that they would be like new condition. But I was completely surprised that it did not make the natural slate stone bleed as other products have. So I guess I would recommend because I don't think it is sanitary to have water and vinegar/chemical residue left still drying on your floor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:February 16, 2010

Highly recommended

Pros: several mop head shapes/sizes, double-sided cloth pads, no chemicals, washable pads
Cons: sometimes leaves streaks on floor
"This is the second steam mop I've owned, and I am very pleased with it. It is easy to fill with the included cup. The variety of mop heads are ideal for a variety of uses. I usually use the largest one. With a full tank of water, I can do several rooms. I love the two-sided cloth pads (why didn't someone think of this before?). When one side is dirty, I just flip it over. I can do my whole downstairs (Pergo). Then I toss the pad in the wash. The smaller triangular mop head is great for my small bathroom. I'm very happy with this product! Sometimes it does leave some streaks on the floor; I have very hard water. I am planning to buy some distilled water to use for next time."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:October 9, 2010

This Product Performs

Cons: my tiles are 20" go ahead and enlarge the head
Model Number: Shark Gold Steam Pocket Mop
"Ohsusannah, you need to get a new floor! I have ceramic tile throughout my main level & master bath. Regardless of the crazy flooring some people have…which they should just replace…this is an awesome product. I have a Hoover FloorMate which I hate. It’s heavy, cumbersome and annoyingly loud. I had a Monster EZ1 which I loved, but it died after about 3 months. It was refurbished and you will see a lot of refurbished ones on the net – which is why I went with this model. A lot of thought went into the whole design.
1. The low profile gets under and around almost anything, especially all edges
2. The flip-the-pad-over feature is geniusly efficient
3. The extra long cord is brilliant
4. It even attaches to the handle so as NOT get in your way or tangle
5. The pump action uses the natural mop action (back and forth) movement
6. It’s lightweight and glides smoothly
7. It’s silent so as not to disturb babies or someone sleeping
8. The 3 size heads are interchangeable with a push of a button
9. One head is 16” wide covering more space in less time (awesome)
10. I soaked the pad overnite in OxyClean and it’s white as new (floors were excessively dirty)
11. The Costco price is the best, and you will have gotten your money’s worth, even if it dies 1 mo out of warranty!
12. I think, by nature (or maybe design), small appliances don’t have a long motor life.
13. For me, this product performed as it was designed to do. I didn’t have dirty socks after using it either!
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley, WA
Date:September 7, 2010

Love this cleaner....

"Debated for a long time whether or not I should bother to buy a steam cleaner for my hardwood floors. Decided to bite the bullet & try it and am so glad I did. I have 1700 sq feet of wood floors that used to take me hours to clean and dry. Now 30 minutes and they are done, cleaned and sanitized!!! Works wonders on deodorizing the carpets too...and I have two very hairy dogs!! Easy to use. Steam lasts a long time. It's a breeze to put together and pads are easy to clean. Love that I'm not throwing lots of stuff into the landfill or putting chemicals into the air of my home. Highly recommend getting this steamer."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:July 11, 2010

Pretty darn good!

Pros: lightweight easy to use quick refills
Cons: nothing really performs as advertised
Model Number: S3501
"I bought this when my ever-so-awesome TR5 went on the fritz, and I needed to send it away to get it fixed. I thought I'd give this a try to use in the interim. I like it quite a bit. It's easy to use, has a good size water container for the size of the unit, heats up quickly, allows for quick refills (vs my TR5 which requires a minimum 30 min cool down before refilling). My floors were filthy when I first used it, and it didn't do a great job on the first or second pass. But on the third pass it was good. But like I said my floors were FILTHY! If it's used on a regular basis, it will keep your floors very clean. And because of the size of the unit and the ease of use, I will use it often because it's NOT a pain in the neck to pull out, fill & use, unlike my big unit. This unit has limitations, i.e. only good for floors, not showers, grills, etc, so my canister TR5 still has a home :) Overall, it's a very good unit and worth the hundred bucks. If you have a lot of tile like me (1500 sq ft) you'll want to get extra pockets to be able to change them when you are cleaning the whole house at once. I'm getting by with the one XL that came with the unit right now until my extra pockets arrive. I rinse it out throughout my cleaning and wring it tight, then go back to cleaning. It takes just a few minutes for the floors to dry after that process vs the almost instant dry when the pocket hasn't been rinsed out, but it still works good this way. A suggestion if you do have filthy floors to start with...dampen the pocket with vinegar before putting on the machine, and this will help loosen up the dirt so you don't have to go over it three times like I did at first!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nevada
Date:March 24, 2011

New "gadget" that helps me ditch the bucket

Pros: i like that it uses plain water-nature's cleaner., nice long cord - reaches everywhere., no chemicals, no additional specialty products to buy
"I am not easily impressed by new gadgets but this one has earned my approval. We moved into a two-story house 3 years ago and live on the upper floor with about 1000 sf of hardwood and tile floors. I have tried several other "new" products - Swiffer, etc. and gone back to the tried & true but hated mop & bucket. I find the Shark saves me dragging that bucket up and down the stairs to empty and refill every week. I am getting to an age where that is a back-breaking chore. You still have to sweep well and carry a scrubby to loosen tough sticky spots, but I find that using both sides of the three mop-head covers I can usually get the whole floor pretty clean every week. I will still want to use a mop & bucket or do a thorough scrubbing every few months - a spring & fall-cleaning type thing to get the build-up in corners, but for basic weekly cleaning without that bucket, I find the Shark is a really great help. I read other reviews of product breakage,so we will see how durable it is - I have only had it a few months, but so far, no problems."
Review 9 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:August 28, 2010

worked for 13 months then died

Cons: add a con
Model Number: S3509
"Just out of warranty the Shark Steam mop died. I plugged it in and it would not turn on. Calling customer service was HORRIBLE. The call center was in India and I had to repeat every thing 3 times only to find out they would not fix the problem because it was one month out of warranty."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte NC
Date:May 29, 2010

Love, Love, Love the Shark Steam Mop!!!

Pros: light weight, easy to use, adequate size water tank, long cord
"Ok, my friends swear by this product and the results it has provided them. So, I bite the bullet and purchased the Shark Steamer Mop and did my own test. I mopped my floors using the Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop pads (like I always do). Then I followed up with the Shark Steam Mop to see if it picked up any residual dirt. Let me say IT DID!!! I could not believe my eyes!!! the pad was filthy!!! I definitely recommend this product! I even bought the handheld Shark Steamer for cleaning and steaming my clothes."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wheaton, Il
Date:March 25, 2010

Fun to Use

Pros: light and easy to use, added attachments for different jobs, makes mopping more fun
Cons: none
"I have a Bissell Steam Mop and was quite pleased with it except that it had a sort cord and left so much water on the floor that I had to follow up with a towel to dry.
I researched the Shark Steam Pocket Mop and decided to give it a try. I love it!! It's very light and, actually, is fun to use. I love the long cord and can clean several rooms without unplugging it. It leaves no water to follow up with a towel. The double sided pad makes me feel like my floors are getting a better cleaning. Just for fun, after cleaning with the Shark Mop, I followed with my Bissell to see if there would be anything missed by the Shark. The pad on the Bissell was not soiled at all. I love my Shark Steam Mop.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:October 18, 2010

not clean enough

Model Number: S3501CO
"I read all the reviews for the Shark Steam Pocket Mop and really expected more. I found that this mop was difficult to use because of the "drag" even when I elongated the handle as suggested. Although my floors dried quickly, they were not as clean as I thought they should be. They were clean on the surface, but anything sticky or ground in was still on the floor even after numerous passes with the mop."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Washington
Date:January 6, 2011

LOVE it!

Model Number: Item # 469653
"I had a smaller Shark steamer that recently gave up the ghost. I'd procrastinated buying a new one & instead, went back to wet mopping. Yech!
I bought the new Shark Steam Pocket earlier this week & just finished cleaning the floors. WOW! The "new" model puts out so much more steam & steadily. It also didn't "spit" like the older model, which I loved, too. The new one is so much better. My sealed hardwood floors look fantastic.
I love the new longer cord as well. I didn't have to stop & plug into a different outlet as I was cleaning.
Although I haven't tried them yet, I appreciate that it has different sized attachements. I know they will come in very handy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:June 11, 2010

save your money

"Product leaves hardwood floors cloudy and streaked. We returned ours. You get a better shinear clean with a microfleece mop and water vinegar 5% mix."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Anthem, Arizoha
Date:July 10, 2010

Hmmmmm.....???

Pros: fun to use a lot easier than mop and bucket
Cons: does not clean the floors like advertised!
"After reading so many 5 * ratings, I was curious, so bought one. I vacuum daily, we never wear shoes in the house, yet when I steamed my tile floors, and went over them later with a damp white paper towel...and wore white socks, they were both dirty. Have used it about 10 times since, and afterwards, same thing! I do like using the Shark, it gives the illusion of cleaning the floors, the heads do get very dirty... and I use a clean one each time, even change the head before I'm finished. Have soft water and use reverse osmosis water to steam the floors, still have dirty white socks!! I just don't get it.... I don't want to go back to using a bucket and mop again... :( Long cord is great, its light, easy to use, water reservoir could have been larger (I have a LOT of tile flooring)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 14, 2010

Mop & Go!

Pros: the price is right and the freebies are great!!, it cleans like a magic eraser!, it's lightweight and easy to use!!, no harsh chemicals!, washable mop heads!!
Cons: i can't think of anything bad about this mop!
"We have crevices in our floor tile that make it harder than most to clean. This Shark is just that a SHARK and it's steam seeks out all the grime and dirt. It was fascinating to see our floors clean (they actually felt cleaner to walk upon) and the mop is a breeze to use. Setup to use in less than 10. We Love it sorry I didn't buy it a year ago. We have dogs and the floors get so dirty, now we have a quick, easy and sanitary way to clean without chemicals. The mop comes with so many mop heads and sizes...it's a wonderful product!!! Buy it you'll love it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 11, 2010

Attachment blew off

"I bought this over a year ago (or it seems) and the other day when I plugged it in, I left it in a standing position and walked away to move my chairs. Next thing i hear is the attachement blew off and steam was shooting away. I immediately unplugged it and a puddle of water was left on the floor. Not sure if leaving it in an upright position while it warms up was what caused it bec. I usually am holding the mop once I plug it in. So I tried it again but I laid it on the floor lengthwise and a few minutes later it shot off again. So after cleaning up the puddle, I go in and changed the head of the mop to the bigger size. Im holding the mop now and plugged it in...and now it doesnt work. I tried pumping it...nothing...So, either it is defective or its durabilty doesnt last long. I wanted my husband to ask Cust. service to see if they would take it back but I know its more than 90 days. I havent called Shark yet since this happened right after Thanksgiving and now im bustling through Christmas. This happened 5 days ago. Not sure if this has happened to anyone else. I used this mop 1 -2 x week when I clean. I do love the product but this incident caught me by surprise. I would/will go buy another one if they wont replace it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 25, 2010

Great purchase

Pros: no chemicals, easy and fast to use
Cons: leaves edges dirty
"I love love love this mop. It makes quick work of a large kitchen, two bathrooms and the laundry room. Linoleum and ceramic tile.
The one downfall I find is that it does not clean close enough to the edges. It leaves a couple inch wide strip around the room. I end up spraying the outside edges of the room and around cabinets with a natural cleaner then scrubbing it all with rags.
With two large dogs and a toddler, I love that I can lift it and use it to clean cabinet fronts, the walls, the door, the dishwasher front, etc.
For tough spots on the floor I leave it in place and pump the handle a few times to work up the steam, melts most things right up. Would recommend extra pads for large rooms if you have indoor/outdoor pets and don't mop daily :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 12, 2010

Poorly Made; Terrible Service; Waste of Money

Cons: doesn't clean well.
Model Number: S3501
"Product didn't last 10 months. One day steam started spewing out the sides of the water container. I contacted customer service and after 2 frustrating conversations, it was confirmed that I fell under the warranty period. I was going to send it in for repair but I was told that I was responsible for paying for shipping TO and FROM the repair facility. Don't buy this!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shark® Steam Pocket Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 16, 2010

Happy with my purchase

Pros: sanitizes floors, kids want to use it so you will get help!!!, floors get really clean
Cons: not great on corners but still better than a mop, made me purchase other shark products:), washing the cleaning pads
Model Number: S3501CO
"I have wood, ceramic, marble, and granite flooring throughout my house. Works best on the tile flooring but still very well on all others. The floors get really clean but not as fast as I had hoped. With kids and dogs the floors do get dirty faster than I can keep up so I was hoping for something I could use daily. It is much better than using a mop and bucket!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>