Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD

Rechargeable Cordless Tripleheader Razor
Average Customer Rating:
1.72 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
17
5 of 25(20%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:October 27, 2008

Best Purchase Ever

"I bought the Norelco arcitec 1060xd for my husband. In the past he has purchased his own electric razors and is never willing to spend the money for a nice one. He has had trouble with rashy, bumpy skin after shaving. With the arcitec his face is nice and smooth and no rashy, bumpy skin and there is no stubble. I would highly recommend this product."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:December 8, 2008

Best one for me compared to Braun

Pros: contours to face so no leftover hairs, attractive
Cons: poor trimmer
Model Number: 1060 XD
"I am going to submit a long review for those who are agonizing over the decision of what shaver to purchase. I have been an electric shaver user for over 20 years starting with a Remington microscreen, then moving to multiple Braun and Norelco shavers in the past. My most recent shaver was a Norelco Spectra 8894 model, I believe, which was the James Bond model. I recently purchased both the Norelco 1060 XD and the Braun Pulsonic 9595 with the cleaning unit for this review.
The Braun unit is a sturdy unit. It feels like a good quality power tool. When it shaves, one gets the feeling that it could mow though any beard. It vibrates while on and this was slighly irritating to me as it seemed louder while I was shaving, but the vibrations were dampened well by the sturdy body of the razor. There was nothing cheap feeling about the razor. The braun also gave a very close shave...giving me a slight razor burn with initial usage but something to which I felt my face would adapt. Although the mirror and my wife could not tell the difference between the braun and my old Norelco by both feel and appearance later in the day, I felt I got the closest shave with the Braun. However, I had trouble shaving my face and neck without moderate concentration as I had to pull the skin slightly taut to get an even shave. The Braun was ultimately the most powerful of all the razors and shaved the fastest despite the above. The cleaning unit was superb and the razor felt and smelled like a new razor everyday.
Now for the Norelco. the norelco is more of a finesse unit...not like a trusty powertool but more like an electric screwdriver. The unit just isn't as sturdy to hold. The 3 heads independently pivot though and mold to ones face. The blades don't seem as powerful but they cut my stubble down to smooth skin. I felt like I went over the areas a few more times with the Norelco as I didn't trust that the hair was cut. It however contoured to my neck like a vacuum cleaner and left no longer hairs like I would get with my Norelco Spectra or with the Braun, It took slightly longer to shave but because it molded to my face I didn't have to concentrate to shave...something I prefer in the early morning before my morning coffee. I chose the Norelco for the above reasons. I didn't get the unit with the cleaning unit so I cannot comment on that.
Something else I should comment on is that the hair trimmer on the Norelco unit is almost useless and it is too short to allow adequate vision to cut your sideburns. I have used my older Spectra for this...but this may be a consideration for those who would use the unit as their only shaver.
Finally, I dry shave (no pre shave of after shave) after a shower (Mfg. recommends shaving prior to washing)
So finally, in summary, I have to say that both the Braun pulsonic and Norelco Arcitec units are improvements over their predecessors and I believe they lead the pack. I don't believe one shaver can please everyone and one may just have to use Costco's generous return policy in the event one or the other shaver doesn't work out...but for all those wives or Mother's looking for a present for their love ones, I would say have no fear with either of these products...as they both represent best in class products and only a trial may point out which one is best for the individual."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jericho, NY
Date:November 5, 2008

Much Better Than Braun

"After using the Braun 360 for 2 years and always complaining of the poor shave, I bought the Norelco 1060XD and after the first shave I found it to be a great imrovement. The shave is extremely close and smooth. I've already used it for 16 days on the original charge. The only negative is the trimmer. It's virtually useless."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State - Home of COSTCO!
Date:December 5, 2008

Close shave

Pros: very close shave, long shaving time between charges
Cons: shaving surface too large, trimmer is awful
"After buying the top of the line Braun Pulsonic and being dissapointed I tried the Norelco. This is truly the closest shave I have had from an electric razor. The only problem I have is that the shaving surface is actually too large and the trimmer is virtually worthless. Otherwise, it is the best of the best!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Berkshires in Massachusetts
Date:May 15, 2010

Mikie Likes It

Pros: long lasting battery charge, large shaving head
Cons: very light weight plastic body 'creaks' when holdi
"I have had a Braun, Remington, and a Ronson. This is my second Norelco. It is very light and I was wondering if there really was an electric motor in it at all. The interesting thing is that it seems to shave my beard quickly and cleanly. It takes me about 1 1/2 minutes to finish mostly due to the larger shaving heads. The battery lasts a very long time on a charge and I love cleaning it with water under the faucet instead of buying expensive alcohol cleaning containers. As for the guys who took 20 minutes to shave, perhaps an broad axe or bowie knife would work better. :)"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palm Beach Gardens
Date:December 26, 2008

Looks great but functions poorly

Pros: attractive, ok shave
Cons: not sturdy; very delicate, chrome discolors, expensive, need to clean after every shave, useless beard trimmer
Model Number: 1060
"The product is very attractive and shaves like any other Norelco shaver. However, it is significantly less sturdy and the beard trimmer is useless. The beard trimmer is much better on the other more traditional Norelco shavers. The chrome easily discolored when my maid wiped it with some 409."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:January 23, 2009

Not worth the price

Model Number: Norelco Arcitec 1060XD
"My first Norelco shaver was a gift from my dad about 25 years ago. Norelco is known for its quality, reliability, workmanship and functionality.
I rated this model as fair compare to other Norelco shavers (I tried Bruan and Remington but found that Norelco is better than the others in my opinion).
This is the 3rd Norelco and I bought it cause it looked so cool (the other 2 is still working but the first one is over 20 years old and I can't get the replacement shaving heads for it anymore. The 2nd one is a rechargeable with Ni-cad batteries and the shave time is getting shorter and shorter). But after using it, I found out that functionality and practicality is more important than looks alone.
Here's the con: the shaving heads reservoir needs to be cleaned after every shave because it is very shallow. If you choose to rinse the shaving heads as it is displayed on the indicator, you will need to let it air dry because if you use tissue or towel, the lint will clog up the comb of the shaving heads as per the instructions. What's the point in the standing charging stand when I have to put the shaver on the side to let it air dry?
The pop up trimmer is only a little over 1/2 inch wide and protrudes 1/8 inch or 2 cm from the shaver. So if you have a large area of hair to trim or shave, it's not very convenient. And since the pop out trimmer only protrudes 1/8 inch from the shaver, the top side of the shaving heads keep getting in the way.
I misunderstood when the box has a picture of the so called "innovative charging pod". I thought this so call charging pod can charge the shaver and I can leave the charging cord at home but It's just a hard plastic case and the downside is I like to travel light and with the shaver in the hard case, its takes up most of the space in my toiletry bag.
With the older cordless Norelco, the charger/transformer is built into the shaver and you can just bring the a/c cord with you when traveling. On the new one, the transformer/charger is the wire which makes it bulkier and cannot be plug directly to the shaver. You either have to plug it in the charging stand or the charging pod and then put the shaver on the stand or in the pod. This is where I misunderstood cause I thought that the charging pod actually has built in rechargeable batteries to charge the shaver in case I have to extend my trips for a few extra days so I can leave the cord at home.
I thought products are suppose to improve as time progresses but I was wrong about this particular model. It actually become more of an inconvenient compare to the older models and definitely not worth half to twice as much as the other Norelco's 8XXX models with lithium rechargeable batteries.
I'll be shopping for the 8XXX series with their tried and true style shavers that's been so popular for over 20 years."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boulder,CO
Date:May 20, 2010

not as good as my old norelco 8885

Pros: light good battery life
Cons: no adjustment for sensitive skin poor neck shave
"after 3 months of use I have gone back to my previous norelco 8883 xl model because it shaves closer than the arcitec, does not require me to take a large plastic case to recharge on the road, has a better trimmer, and has an adjustable closeness setting. Some good ideas in the aricitec, like smaller size and weight but it doesn't work as well as my old Norelco. Good company, marginal product"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:January 29, 2009

Poor Design

"i have been using Norelco for long time and this particular design did not suit me well, i had cut my lip twice within the first week i bought it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:new jersey
Date:November 4, 2008

Very Disappointed

"I bought this shaver with high hopes. They were dashed. Bottom line: it doesn't shave well. It gives me the worst shave of any electric shaver I have ever owned in 25 years of shaving. There are other problems that could be discussed (charging, trimmer location, power button location, etc.) But, it doesn't give a clean shave. What else do you need to know?"
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2009

No rash but a poor shave

Pros: no bumps or rash
Cons: didn't shave in tough to reach spots, required cleaning mid-way through shave, thick stubble users beware!
Model Number: 1060XD
"I've always stayed away from electric shavers because even the best models, in the past, have given me bumps and a rash - even after continued use.
I was excited to try out the arcitec, but 20 minutes into the shave, I finally gave up.
Highlight - no rash or bumps. This was a positive considering it's the first shaver to fit into this category for my skin.
Downsides -
I shaved for 20 minutes with the arcitec and finally gave up when I still had stubble all over my neck that I had gone over and over and over. Also, this product requires a good amount of cleaning even during the shave (I had little hair particles all over the sink mid-way through the shave), the hair traps fill up really quickly for those of us w/ thick beards, and a bumpless/rashless shave is only a highlight if you've actually shaved all your beard.
Bottom line - if you have a thick beard and might not shave every day (or twice a day), this shaver is probably not for you. You won't have a rash, but you'll also spend some quality time going over and over that tricky neck hair. It's too expensive to shave this poorly.
I'm going to try Panasonic's Arc IV next, so hopefully that turns out much better. It has a stronger and faster motor, allows you to shave wet/dry, etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:January 8, 2009

Worst razor I've ever owned!!

Pros: looks pretty
Cons: terrible shave, poor trimmer, messy, no direct ac plug in
"This razor is terrible if you have a thick beard. I've always used Norelcos and thought this would be their best one...it is not. There is no stubble catcher so everything falls into the sink and counter. The beard trimmer is terrible. My main complaint though is that I get the poorest shave I have ever got from any electric razor. It seems to take twice as long as before. Also, if you accidentally let it run low, there is no direct AC plug in, you have to quick charge it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tarzana, CA
Date:January 12, 2009

Buy another Norelco

Pros: looks cool
Cons: horrible shaver
Model Number: 1060XD
"I have had many Norelcos through the years and have always been happy with them except for this one. I thought that this would be great being that it is their top of the line, however there are many design flaws with this model. 1. unlike other models there is a very small space for the shavings and once its full it starts interfering with shaving, you hear noises...2. Cleaning is not as easy.
3. There is no direct plug 4. The heads come off very easily and can be knocked off and lost. I recommend the other norelco models, have never had an issue. Though they came up with a new design and some cool option, this model missed the mark. Cool but not user freindly.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 28, 2009

Poor design

Model Number: Philips Norelco arcitec 1060XD Shaver
"Looks cool, but poor result. No close shave. Don't waste your money and time.
Try panasonic and love it
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Huntington, NY
Date:May 31, 2009

Poor performance from Norelco Arcitec 1090X

Pros: returnability
Cons: everything else
Model Number: 1090X
"I bought this product around New Year's after not using an electric razor for years. The mfg. says a two week adjustment period is necessary. I gave it that and the razor when bought took about 5 minutes to get an adequate shave. After a month, it took longer and performed more poorly. It took me about 10-15 minutes to get an adequate, I didn't say decent, shave Finally, given Costco's wonderful return policy, I brought it back to the store."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Aurora, CO
Date:April 21, 2010

Poorly designed does not cut whiskers

Model Number: 1060x
"The head do not cut whiskers, leaves spots of uncut whiskers on your face. The trimmer does not stick out far enough to work and the shaving heads get in the way. Obviously the engineers who designed this do not use it."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 15, 2010

Worst shaver ever

Pros: none
Cons: poor shave, inconvenient to use
Model Number: 1060X
"This shaver gives a poor shave even after multiple passes. My old Norelco gave a cleaner shave in 1/4 the time.
The shaver is inconvenient to use: it is easy to turn it off while in use due to the on/off switch location; it has to be charged in its charger stand (more junk to clutter up the sink and another piece of awkward stuff to pack when travelling). The trimmer is small and poorly located and can only be effectively used for straightening sideburns, unlike the old Norelco shavers that had a long, curved trimmer that popped out a sufficient distance so it could be used to trim nose hair and around the ears.
Norelco shavers used to be great products. My old one lasted 12 years and shaved better with 12 year-old heads than this model. I would not buy another Norelco shaver. It is amazing how a company can go from making great shavers to useless (and expensive) junk.
"
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:October 12, 2010

Works for a few weeks, will not cut thick whiskers

Pros: looks cool
Cons: works for a month, will not cut thick whiskers
"This shaver worked great out of the box, giving a reasonably close shave. Then as the weeks went by, I noticed my neck and chinline thicker whiskers growing longer and longer. This shaver will not cut course hair, period. And the trimmer is a joke.
Looks cool, cuts ok when new, long term, forget it.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:May 13, 2010

This shave suffer from designitis

Model Number: Arcitec
"The designer forgot the dictum for good design. It has to follow function. Try to use the trimmer under your nose, around your ears. The shaving head gets on the way. If the shaver misses a hair, that's it he will grow and grow. My old Norelco was a fantastic shaver. This one upsets me every time I use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor 1060XD
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 10, 2010

Not any better then older models

Pros: cleans up easily under running water.
Cons: you cannot replace individual blades, the trimmer is awkwardly placed..., carry case is too large
Model Number: Arcitec 1060X
"This is a slightly more comfortable shave then previous Norelco models. However, the shave is still not as close as it could be - compared to Remington and Braun.
Norelco customer service does not follow through."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>