Customer Reviews for Solar Power Attic Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Power Attic Fan

Ventilates up to 1350 Square Feet
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
35 of 42(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Power Attic Fan
Review 1 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:September 6, 2010

These Fans WORK!!

Pros: free energy!, can't hear a thing!
"I read online reviews and had mixed expectations of this fan. Having had it installed now for about 7 weeks, I can say that it has made a HUGE difference in the temperature inside my house. My air conditioner isn't powerful enough to keep my house cool in the summer when temperatures get too hot. Once late afternoon rolled around, the air conditioner would run all day and night without bringing the temperature to a tolerable level. Last year I put in a whole house fan to suck the hot air into the attic when the air is cooler outside than in. This year, I installed two of these on my 2000 SQFT ranch house. I used the installer recommended by the company, who was excellent. He installed them to bypass the sensor, so if the sun in shining, the fans are running. I can't tell you what a delight it is to come home from work and walki into a cool house. And, it's cooling my house for free!! Excellent product! Highly recommend the product and the company (based only on my call for a reference for installation)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 19, 2010

Awesome solar attic fan !!!

Model Number: 1010TR Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
"It is very hot in my attic during the summer, and the air conditioner runs continuously thoughout the day and night. After my husband installed 2 solar attic fans, we immediately saw the big difference. The air conditioner runs alot less often now, and the cycle it runs is shorter, too. I think the air conditioner running time is cut down by 70%, now it only runs 30%. My husband is very picky about buying things, but he is very pleased to have purchased these 2 solar attic fans. We really appreciate what these attic fans do for our house. They do save us alot of money with electricity bill. The solar panel works very well ( we installed it facing the south), it makes the fan runs from early morning until 6:30pm, even on cloudy days. However, houses with high trees around the house, we think if the shades block the solar panel, then the fan would not run.
We love what this solar attic fan does for our home. We'd recommend this product 100%.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:April 8, 2010

Excellent Value

Pros: if it works as advertised it should pay for itself
Model Number: Item 469998
"My office had 2 attic fans that were 20 years old and rusted and non functional. Luckily the hole in the roof was the same size as the new solar fans and it was a snap for the roofer guy to place the new one in place of the old one, drill the screws in and cover with shingles and cement it to prevent leakage. The next few months of hot Carolina summer will show if they do indeed reduce the electricity bills compared to last year.
I will have 3-4 installed in my new home that is in the planning stage. Better to be conservative and install more rather than less given its price and the value.
A tip: try and get it directly from the store rather than shipping it to your place if it is possible. It is not heavy, comes assembled and is $30 cheaper to buy in store"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 19, 2010

Great Buy!

Model Number: 1010TR Solar Powered Attic Ventilators
"Living in South Texas with triple degree heat in a new neighborhood with no adult trees to provide shade, I purchased three 1010TR Solar Powered Attic Ventilators for my modest 1700sqft home with a high peak attic. It works. You must read the instructions carefully. Installation was simple, cutting a new hole took longer than installation. I recommend the youtube video as reference. What’s key here, is to make sure you have the right number of fans considering your attic peak, home square footage and that you’ve covered some general ventilating areas. Read the instructions carefully, and if you’re still unsure, use the toll free number to get consultation on the number of fans best for your home. The change in the interior of my home was dramatic, most significant was the humidity. Most of my home is air conditioned so I didn’t think I would tell the difference that quickly, but the Garage temperature was always in the low 80’s in 100 degree weather. Most amazing, was the drop in my utility bill, nearly 20%, that’s dramatic!"
Review 5 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:June 6, 2010

Worth the Effort

Pros: easy quiet solar powered
Cons: getting up on 2 story roof!
Model Number: 1010TR
"This was a great investment. My ridge vent was just not adequate and I worried that my shingles might wear too fast. First saw this in the store last year. Expected a 4-6 hour job but I decided to remove the Solar Panel from the unit and locate it in an inconspicuos area of the roof about 15 feet away - so spent all day. It was easy but had to dismantle everything, re-seal the shroud and locate the solar panel. Also had to tuck the wires under shingles and re-wire it. Had to cover up the ridge vent from inside the attic too. The whole thing is relatively light but wrangling it up onto the second story roof and placing it was a bit anxious. Install of the fan was pretty simple with instructions. Cutting a hole in the roof was fun. It works great, is absolutely silent and has a great warranty. Love not paying to run it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 5, 2010

Very Solid Product

Pros: easy installation, quiet operation
Cons: wish it continued throughout the night
"This attic fan was extremely easy to install. If you have any ability to be handy around the home, you likely can install this product.
The operation is very quiet. I live in the Atlanta area and as you can imagine, heat & humidity plays the role of the villain. This fan does a great job of removing heat from the upper level of the home.
My "con" noted is because when the fan stops operating, I can feel the heat rise upstairs, but it's so quiet and works so well that this only happens around 11 pm. The fan does stay on for some time after the sun sets, but certainly does not run too long.
Overall it's a great product. My house is just on the cusp of whether or not we use one or two. I think I will opt for two considering the product should definitely pay for itself."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 14, 2010

Needs direct sunlight to run

Pros: simple install (though not necessarily easy!)
Cons: direct sunlight to run
"Great idea, and when it is running, it does its job. Unfortunately, if the sun is not shining directly on it, the fan won't run. If it came with or could have a chargeable battery with it, this would be an awesome product.
Install wasn't too bad, but we had to purchase an electronic saw to get through the roof.
So quiet that we don't know when it is running.
Helps us out in the morning, but the afternoon sun will still get us every time (trees block the solar panel from getting direct sunlight).
Will work wonders for many, but make sure that it will fit your sun-exposure before thinking that this will be at its best."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Talent, Oregon
Date:June 15, 2010

Very Pleased

Model Number: 1010TR
"Better than I would have Imagined. Installed last week and when I pulled down the ladder from the attic I didn't feel that blast of hot air from the attic. To my delight it was not at all hot. I wouldn't have believed it could make that much of a difference. Don't hesitate to install one yourself."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:L.A. CA
Date:April 21, 2010

Good Investment for your house

Cons: lacking rechargeable battery
Model Number: 469998
"Had it since last summer. Works well, and very quiet. Can definitely notice that upstairs rooms are lot cooler. Now that I have two high static vents near pitch of the roof closed, rooms get hot once the unit stops working after sun goes down. I wish it came with the rechargeable battery, so that it continues to work after sun goes down."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:July 22, 2010

Good but not great

"This fan is easy to install, well built, and quiet. It also seems to work well in the middle of the day when it's the hottest (and brightest).
The biggest limitation of the fan is that it needs a significant amount of sunlight to work at all. That means it's off all morning and from mid-afternoon on, even though the attic hasn't cooled down yet. I've tweaked with the angle and will continue to do so, but I don't believe it will get much better.
The instructions recommend changing the angle throughout the year, but it's a dangerous hassle getting on and off the two-story roof each time to do it. I expect that even with an optimal configuration it will be useless in the winter months when the days are much shorter."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern VA, lots of heat when Congress is meeting
Date:April 7, 2010

Gotta Love This One

Pros: no wiring needed roofer or home owner can insall, great responce to global warming, operates in what sounds like total silence, will pay for itself but not in one year
Cons: turns off when in the shade.
Model Number: Item # 469998
"I have had this product for over a year now. I see wild claims, I don't think you will save enouph in one year to pay for this product. That being said, it has been a great product, you will feel a difference in the comfort of your home in the summer. You can tell the home is easier to cool, I am under many shade trees so my fan speed is effected, but when the sun is not beeting down on my roof the attic is not heating up. The great thing to do is to install this when you get a new roof, my roofer installed it for free (I love working out deals). Do have the roofer install vents low on the roof so cooler air can feed in low and move up taking all the heat with the air (great heat exchange), don't also put in a peak vent since that will pull in fresh air from the top to vent out so very little heat moves outside. I did four (what I call turtle vents to let air in so it can be pulled up high on the roof to get the heat out a few are good, to many are not so good. Even when the fan is not working, the hole is there to let hot air out without the fan working.
One thing that would have been great would be to have a battery pack to let it run for about two or three hours (or more) after the sun does not shine on the solar pannel, this would pump out a lot more heat while new heat is not building up due to direct sun light hitting the roof."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland TN
Date:June 19, 2010

Solar Power Attic fan

Pros: solar powered no wires!
"I hired a contractor to install it. I already feel the difference in my bonus room. I now plan to suck the hot air out of my garage to make it even cooler upstairs. This is not a substitute for good insulation. I need to improve that too. So far so good!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Bay San Francisco, Ca.
Date:March 27, 2010

Cool down

Model Number: 1010TR
"One of the best home improvements I have done to my house. This product cooled down my interior a good 10 degrees. I believe the money I spent willbe paid back within the first year of use just in my cooling bills not to mention in the winter its going to pull moisture out ouf my attic which will prolong the life of my roof. Iwill be installing this product in any house that I live in."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 17, 2010

Needs improvement

Pros: tax credit
Cons: no solar power storage
"My attic is cooler but I can't tell you that I've noticed a big difference in my A/C costs. If they really want to improve this product, then create a solar battery so it can run for at least a few hours after the sun goes down. That's when the air temp outside changes and the cool night air would really go along way in keeping the attic cool."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:October 22, 2010

Wish I would of done it sooner!

Pros: great price, great product, easy install, quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: 1010TR
"Excellent product. I installed 2 fans on our 2 story house and we instantly felt the difference. Prior to the install on a super hot day with the AC running, the upstairs would always be uncomfortably hotter. After the install the AC is able to cool the upper story without a problem even in 100+ degree days."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CA
Date:March 30, 2010

Solar Power Attic Fan - Best investment Made!

"I installed 3 of these units. 2 in the house and one in our garage. They are fantastic. What a difference in the heat reduction in our home. No need for AC. This is a great investment for any home and recommend it to any of our friends."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oviedo, FL
Date:June 30, 2010

Great Product - Easy install - Great Price

Pros: easy install
Model Number: 1010TR
"Keeps the attic much cooler, for the past 3 days our multiple speed AC unit has only run in low speed.
These fans should provide significant power savings.
20 year Warranty, can't be beat"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:April 12, 2010

Easy to install

Pros: easy to install, very quiet, effective!
Model Number: 469998
"I found no surprises during installation. The videos are very detailed and the printed instructions eliminate guesswork. Anyone with a reciprocating saw (don't practice on your roof) who isn't timid about stepping out on your roof should take this project on. The only thing I forgot to do was pierce the seal inside the tube of sealant, otherwise I'd have only climbed up once and spent about 45 minutes on the roof in total. My wife thinks I'm a god now (that won't last long). After measuring the pitch of my roof while installing this one, I discovered I need a second one. I actually look forward to installing it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 29, 2010

Great fan

"After reading the reviews I purchased one of these attic fans for an attic storage area that is not open to the the rest of the ventilated attic. I had it installed when I replaced the roof shingle cap 3 weeks ago. It has worked perfectly and keeps the storage area 15-20 deg. cooler than it had been before."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ft Lauderdale. FL
Date:June 15, 2010

Easy to Install

"I just installed 2 of these last week. I haven't had them long enough to tell if it's going to make a difference in my electric bill, but I can tell you the attic was way cooler after they were installed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>