Customer Reviews for Solar Power Attic Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Solar Power Attic Fan

Ventilates up to 1350 Square Feet
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
35 of 42(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Power Attic Fan
Review 1 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Steamy South Florida
Date:March 13, 2011

Solar Attic Fans

Model Number: gable end & roof ventilators
"This is the second solar powered fan I have purchased. I previously purchased the gable end vent by Sun Corp and was so please with the silent operation I purchased the second unit as a "thru-roof" vent for an inaccessible area on the "hip" section of my roof. Both are working flawlessly and with minimal work needed for installation I am very pleased. The solar panel is so sensitive to light that these will run at night on a full moon if the temp sensor has not reached the low point. Yay! Sun Corp and Costco for a great deal on terrific items."
Review 2 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 19, 2010

Great Buy!

Model Number: 1010TR Solar Powered Attic Ventilators
"Living in South Texas with triple degree heat in a new neighborhood with no adult trees to provide shade, I purchased three 1010TR Solar Powered Attic Ventilators for my modest 1700sqft home with a high peak attic. It works. You must read the instructions carefully. Installation was simple, cutting a new hole took longer than installation. I recommend the youtube video as reference. What’s key here, is to make sure you have the right number of fans considering your attic peak, home square footage and that you’ve covered some general ventilating areas. Read the instructions carefully, and if you’re still unsure, use the toll free number to get consultation on the number of fans best for your home. The change in the interior of my home was dramatic, most significant was the humidity. Most of my home is air conditioned so I didn’t think I would tell the difference that quickly, but the Garage temperature was always in the low 80’s in 100 degree weather. Most amazing, was the drop in my utility bill, nearly 20%, that’s dramatic!"
Review 3 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 17, 2010

Needs improvement

Pros: tax credit
Cons: no solar power storage
"My attic is cooler but I can't tell you that I've noticed a big difference in my A/C costs. If they really want to improve this product, then create a solar battery so it can run for at least a few hours after the sun goes down. That's when the air temp outside changes and the cool night air would really go along way in keeping the attic cool."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:October 22, 2010

Wish I would of done it sooner!

Pros: great price, great product, easy install, quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: 1010TR
"Excellent product. I installed 2 fans on our 2 story house and we instantly felt the difference. Prior to the install on a super hot day with the AC running, the upstairs would always be uncomfortably hotter. After the install the AC is able to cool the upper story without a problem even in 100+ degree days."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, Ca.
Date:October 16, 2010

Excellent product!

Pros: highly recommend
Model Number: Model 1010TR
"I recently bought 3 of these fans. Installation was quick and very easy ! Fan started working right away and we noticed a difference in temperature immediately. One was used for the main house and another for an addition to the house. We Installed the third in a house wth a low peak roof. We live in the High Desert where it can get really hot in the summer so these were a nice addition to our home."
Review 6 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2010

Made a believer out of me.

"It installed fairly easily. I installed the fan on the back (north) side of the house, and the panel on the front (south) side.
With record high temperatures in Florida this summer, and increasing electric rates, my bills were actually down 80-100 dollars each month. It cooled down all the AC duct work in the attic, and took a load off the AC.
You could really feel the difference in the unventilated or cooled garage, which was always like an oven in the summer. It is actually comfortable in there now. I'd highly recommend this unit to everyone."
Review 7 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 29, 2010

Great fan

"After reading the reviews I purchased one of these attic fans for an attic storage area that is not open to the the rest of the ventilated attic. I had it installed when I replaced the roof shingle cap 3 weeks ago. It has worked perfectly and keeps the storage area 15-20 deg. cooler than it had been before."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca.
Date:September 28, 2010

mediocre

Pros: federal tax credit
Cons: not quite enough air movement
"I was very optimistic, technology has come so far. I cannot say the same for the air that this attic fan moves. Before even installing, I by-passed the temp switch, and took it out in noon-day sun.I was quite dissapointed. Glad I didn't cut a hole in my roof.
My airflow meter registered 3 to 4 feet of air a minute. I couldn't believe it, so I looked underneath. This motor was only spinning the blade 200 revolutions a minute. No-wonder, I only got 4 cubic feet a minute. Took it back for full refund and went electric.
Much, much better now. I think that it truely has to due with the small solar panel they gave it.
"
Review 9 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:September 6, 2010

These Fans WORK!!

Pros: free energy!, can't hear a thing!
"I read online reviews and had mixed expectations of this fan. Having had it installed now for about 7 weeks, I can say that it has made a HUGE difference in the temperature inside my house. My air conditioner isn't powerful enough to keep my house cool in the summer when temperatures get too hot. Once late afternoon rolled around, the air conditioner would run all day and night without bringing the temperature to a tolerable level. Last year I put in a whole house fan to suck the hot air into the attic when the air is cooler outside than in. This year, I installed two of these on my 2000 SQFT ranch house. I used the installer recommended by the company, who was excellent. He installed them to bypass the sensor, so if the sun in shining, the fans are running. I can't tell you what a delight it is to come home from work and walki into a cool house. And, it's cooling my house for free!! Excellent product! Highly recommend the product and the company (based only on my call for a reference for installation)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:September 4, 2010

look no further for quality

Pros: easy to install, high quality
Cons: cost higher than others
Model Number: 1010TR-G3
"I,ve done my homework prior to purchasing this roof ventilator,item #469998 and I had a professional install it for me shortly after I received it.The ease of installation amazed me and soon the unit was up and running.I see no reason why I could not have done the job myself having all the required tools.The instructions are outlined very clearly and if you'r not afraid of going on your roof,do it yourself! My wife said that I'm too old to be up on the roof!!"
Review 11 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 3, 2010

Not for tile roofs!!!

"Great fan but not recommended for tile roofs. I installed and now regret it. They offer another option for tile roofs. Contact the manufacturer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:August 26, 2010

Will Pay For Itself in No Time!

Pros: pays for itself
Model Number: 1010TR
"Easy Quick install - I replaced an existing static vent - Removing it was the hardest part of the job! Instructions easy to follow, it started up immediately. Very Quiet - cannot hear it running even directly below in the kitchen. Has made a marked difference in keeping the house cooler so we have run the air conditioner much less - even in 100+ heat. Great product. Longest part of the job was putting the tools away - c'mon guys - you know that's part of the job!!"
Review 13 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicagoland
Date:August 24, 2010

Disappointment!!!

Model Number: Solar Power Attic Fan
"Very disappointed with this fan. Had a new roof installed and thought this solar fan would be very energy efficient. It was up in the attic several days and I went up to the attic on the 3rd day to check it out and the fan wasn't going. It was 5:30pm and the sun was out and the temperature according to my thermometer I brought with me it was over 110 degrees. Needless to say, the fan was not responding as I had hoped. I had the roofer take out the solar fan and install a new electric fan like I had before."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, cA
Date:August 20, 2010

Solid Construction, works very well!

Pros: quiet easy installation, zero operation cost
Cons: no battery backup
Model Number: 9910TR
"I had a new Roof installed, and I added this Fan while we were at it.
This Fan really works and drastically reduces the Heat in your Attic. It is super-quiet and very easy to install, even if you don't install a new Roof. I am working now to add a 38 Volt (Lawnmower) Battery-pack to keep it spinning after the Sun is down.
One of my better purchases from Costco.
"
Review 15 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2010

Excellent

"It is quiet. It is noticeable cooler before it was installed. The price at Costco is great."
Review 16 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2010

This Fan has Solved my Top Floor Heat Problem

"Installing this solar power fan along with baffle installation have solved my townhouse top floor heat. I wish I had done it much sooner. All floors now are about the same temperatures, no longer playing with the thermostat when the top floor was comfortable the floors below were freezing. No addtional heating cost having the fan running is nice."
Review 17 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:August 3, 2010

Impressive

Pros: easy to install, price
Cons: none
Model Number: 9910TR
"Read the information, claims, and company website on this product. Very skeptical and hesitant at first thought too good to be true. Purchased two units for my Colorado home. Easy installation and appears after a month of using to be working as advertised. Noticed the temperature during the day remaining at a constant level vs. the large afternoon spikes. I recommend this product highly!"
Review 18 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:July 22, 2010

Good but not great

"This fan is easy to install, well built, and quiet. It also seems to work well in the middle of the day when it's the hottest (and brightest).
The biggest limitation of the fan is that it needs a significant amount of sunlight to work at all. That means it's off all morning and from mid-afternoon on, even though the attic hasn't cooled down yet. I've tweaked with the angle and will continue to do so, but I don't believe it will get much better.
The instructions recommend changing the angle throughout the year, but it's a dangerous hassle getting on and off the two-story roof each time to do it. I expect that even with an optimal configuration it will be useless in the winter months when the days are much shorter."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 19, 2010

Awesome solar attic fan !!!

Model Number: 1010TR Solar Powered Attic Ventilator
"It is very hot in my attic during the summer, and the air conditioner runs continuously thoughout the day and night. After my husband installed 2 solar attic fans, we immediately saw the big difference. The air conditioner runs alot less often now, and the cycle it runs is shorter, too. I think the air conditioner running time is cut down by 70%, now it only runs 30%. My husband is very picky about buying things, but he is very pleased to have purchased these 2 solar attic fans. We really appreciate what these attic fans do for our house. They do save us alot of money with electricity bill. The solar panel works very well ( we installed it facing the south), it makes the fan runs from early morning until 6:30pm, even on cloudy days. However, houses with high trees around the house, we think if the shades block the solar panel, then the fan would not run.
We love what this solar attic fan does for our home. We'd recommend this product 100%.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solar Power Attic Fan
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, Washington
Date:July 13, 2010

Easy to install

Pros: easy to install, solar powered
Model Number: Solar attic fan
"I put this up in place of a static vent on my roof to help get the heat out of my attic in the summertime, and moisture out during the wintertime.
I do have a whole house attic fan already, but it uses electricity like mad in the summer. It will be interesting how this works with solar power to substitute for that.
"
1 2 3 next>>