Customer Reviews for Console Vault Wall Safe

Console Vault Wall Safe

The lock meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice requirements for an approved firearm safety device under CA Penal Code section 12087, et seq. The Console Vault wall safe features superior quality and design. Ease of operation and installation assure the best value in the industry. Remember that wall safes get most of their security from being hidden out of sight. Police statistics show that the average time a burglar takes in a residence is less than 8 minutes. If an intruder can't find a safe they cannot get your valuables. All Console Vault products are made in USA and engineered for years of failsafe operation; these products have been tested in a variety of conditions and backed by the strongest warranty available. The wall safe door is constructed of 12 gauge plate steel and designed for easy removal making installation fast and easy. The recessed lock keeps the entire safe nearly flush with the wall providing easy camouflage with a picture or other decoration to cover it. The Console Vault wall safe lock has been selected for superior quality and failsafe operation. This lock is fully mechanical so no batteries or power source which is the cause for most electronic lock failures. Your personal combination can be easily set in moments and changed at anytime in the future. Perhaps the most unique feature of this lock is you can select your level of security, you can scramble all four roller sets for maximum security (10,000 possible combinations) or only set one or two of the rollers for immediate access even in dark or low light level conditions. We highly suggest you become very familiar with the lock operation and practice opening in all light levels. Tools Required For Installation: Safety Goggles or Glasses   Electronic Stud Finder   Measuring Tape   Carpenter's Level   Pencil   Drop Cloth   Drill   Drill Bit   Phillips Head Bit   Keyhole Drywall Saw   Features: Complete, easy to follow instructions   Includes all necessary installation hardware   White Powder Coat Finish   Can be painted to match your interior walls   Lock meets or exceeds CA DOJ standards   Lock can be easily reset to up to 10,000 different combinations.   Mounts to standard 16 inch on center 2” X 4” or 2” X 6” wall studs.   Unique tab mounting system   Constructed of 12 gauge cold roll steel   Integrated, felt lined shelf   Low-Profile design, sits flush with wall   Interior Dimensions: 13.75” W x 3.5” D x 11” H   Exterior Dimensions: 16.25” W x 3.625” D x 13.5” H   Weight: 12lbs. Model: 1025
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
17 of 20(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Console Vault Wall Safe
Review 1 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:May 8, 2012

Small but useful

Pros: inexpensive, easy to install
Cons: delivered with "vault wall safe" on the box!
"Only a few inches deep, but plenty of room for small valuables and money. Super easy to install. Lays flat against the wall, easily covered with art or a mirror.
Due to the nature of this item, it should NOT come delivered with a silver (noticeable) sticker on the outside of the shipping box that says "Console Vault Wall Safe" -- really dumb!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New jersey
Date:January 31, 2012

Useless

Pros: none
Cons: poorly made
"Poor quality, returning tomorrow for a product that a spoon cant break open."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florence, KY
Date:January 18, 2012

Best Value

Model Number: 507290
"Great wall safe for the money. Has 4 digit combo that could be a little larger to read or better yet possibly non tamper key lock. It was very easy to install. Very good value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2011

You'll Like It

Pros: like the recessed locking mechanism
"This quality product offers good security with a flush to the wall installation, making it easy to cover with a piece of framed art. Good security, but certainly not impregnable. If discovered, the crook will most likely have to cut this safe out of the wall. He can then open it at his leisure, but, how many burglers bring a "sawzall" with them ???"
Review 5 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 8, 2011
"Poor quality. Ordered two of them and returned them immediately upon receiving them. Not a value and disappointed that Costco sees them as a value."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Alabama
Date:October 9, 2011
"Well-built and easy to install. Needs another shelf and it would be good to have pre-cut pieces to seal the sides."
Review 7 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island City, NY
Date:September 28, 2011

Awesome Safe for Office/Home

Pros: awesome design, simple installation, inexpensive price
"I bought the Console Vault Wall Safe a number of months ago and have been more than pleased with the purchase (I access it about twice a month).
I got this for my office due to some possible theft with the cleaning crew overnight. Truth be told, I'm not the most talented carpenter on the block. However, installing this was nothing short of a cinch. Now all of my valuables are stored safely and securely and I needn't worry every night when leaving the office.
I haven't gotten one for my home, but will likely get one or two (which is why I'm back at this page, low and behold). Thinking the utility closet and garage.
Either way, home or office, I recommend their wall safe without reservation. Buy it – you won't be sorry."
Review 8 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2011

Great product, and a HINT...

Pros: installation
"Easy to install - just measure twice, cut once. My installation was in a relatively new home construction and the fit was tight. Be really carefull as you cut the drywall - if I had installed a foot higher I would have cut some electrical wiring (there were no outlets anywhere nearby). The safe is meant to be hidden not be crowbar proof once found. It's solid but probably is easily defeated if given some time.
HINT: purchase a large blank magnet cover and then paint it to match your wall color. Makes the safe invisible (assuming you don't have it out in the open without something in front like clothes, etc.)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:May 10, 2011

GREAT PURCHASE

"Installation was extremely simple to install. Great instructions, perfect wall safe. Easy to use and plenty of room."
Review 10 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:May 5, 2011

A Fantastic Wall Safe! Fully Recommend

Pros: great price, easy to install, made in america
"Definitely recommend Console Vault's Wall Safe. The price is right, it's incredibly easy to install, and it definitely does the trick. Throw a mirror or a piece of art over this for greater diversion (I own two and did this for one that's out in the open in my study).
Fully recommend and all in all a great purchase. Thanks!"
Review 11 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 13, 2011

Always wanted one.

"It was easy to install and I like this safe. Please note that this safe relies on the fact that it is hidden and hard to find, the lock looks cheap and can be easily broken into, no real defense if someone finds it and wants to have it open, simple tools will do that. Better hide it well behind a framed art or picture if you get one and that's the whole idea behind this safe."
Review 12 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Rock Solid

Pros: made in usa, quality lock
Cons: none
"This safe is better than one that was selling for $250.00 at the local locksmith and safe store. I like the lock, high quality and I can set it one digit off and open in a couple seconds or scramble the numbers for maximum security.
I mounted it in my bedroom and put a picture over it, nobody knows but me.
"
Review 13 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011

Console Vault Wall Safe

Pros: cost effective
Model Number: 507290
"Made in the USA! Well constructed. Easy to install. Conceals perfect in the closet behind a rack of clothes. The black, non glare combination lock is sturdy and easy to access. For the price, best wall safe I could find on the market. Reading other reviews I would like to comment that with enough time and tools ANYONE can break into just about ANY safe! Hope you like yours as much as I like mine!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jackson, WY
Date:February 8, 2011

the wife is mad (but it was worth it)

Pros: easy installation, tough design, made in the usa
Cons: addicting!
"Fantastic product! Sad to say I installed it, loved it, and then went out and bought three more less than a week later. Can't say the wife was too happy, but felt like I kept the family safer, impressed the neighbors and friends (two bought the same unit, and another bought the Console Vault for his Escalade), and added a little extra perk (and value) to the house!
Awesome product. Thank you!"
Review 15 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:February 4, 2011

Best Wall Safe I've Found (and American-Made)

Pros: sturdy, discrete, price, made in the usa
"I've been thinking of getting a wall safe for a number of years now, yet never came across the right wall safe until I found this one. The price was right, the size was perfect, and, low and behold, I could get it through Costco.
It's obvious that the wall safe has been crafted with care and some serious attention to detail. The casing is tough and rugid, the dial smooth, the interior just the right size, etc. Proof that American-made products are worth the cost.
The installation was also a breeze. I have to admit that I'm not that talented in terms of carpentry and thought I would have to hire someone to install it, but I thought I'd throw myself into the project and was actually amazed by how simple the installation was.
All in all, the wall safe is a fantastic product and one of the best purchases I've made. I've already recommended it to all of my friends and will likely buy another two (one for the entryway's closet, the other for the garage)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA Area
Date:January 25, 2011

Safe from what?

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap
"It's hard to tell until you've seen it in person, but the quality is very, very cheap. You're not gong to keep anyone out that wants to get inside. The dials on the lock are wobbly and the knob is made of molded plastic. The locking mechanism on the inside is similar to what you would expect to find on a desk drawer - one good tug...
I think my kid could break into this safe with a spoon.
"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 3, 2010

Good Value

"Good buy for an American made product. Same issue with the low impact locking device and the small combination digits as mentioned in other reviews. The measurements and installation directions were right on but I would recommend using your own heavier duty screws/hardware for a more secure installation. Interior space is minimal and has a removable shelf. Good for up to two hand guns (strategically placed) and some other small valuables."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 23, 2010

Good value for the money

Pros: good value for the $
Cons: numbers hard to read
"Installed console safe in our walk-in closet. Fit well in the wall between two of the studs. Easy installation. Not a lot of room inside, but just enough to hide away some jewelry and a few small valuables. It's most effective if you can install in a "hidden" part of the house (like behind clothes in the closet). Gives us some peace of mind knowing that it would be really hard (but not impossible) to steal stuff while we're away."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010

Pretty Decent

Pros: well made
Cons: lock could be better
"Nice quality, well constructed, nice fit, nice finish, easy to install, serves its purpose nicely. The lock is kind of cheap and difficult to scroll digits and read. The wahers for the installation screws are pretty useless as the hole is just slightly smaller than the flat screw head, so if you tighten the screws very tight the washer will pop off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Console Vault Wall Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:The sunny West Coast
Date:May 25, 2010

Not too bad

Pros: usa made
Cons: glare on lock and small numerals
"The greatest part of this wall safe is it is made in the USA, not many items can say that. As for the item itself, the overall construction is very good and the dimensions are accurate. Paint very good.
The only complaint I have is the combo lock is not high contrast, the satin chrome causes a glare making the small numbers difficult to read/see."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.