Customer Reviews for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety

1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety

Please Note: This commercial grade camera system is best suited for RV's,Trucks, Buses, Emergency vehicles, Cargo Vans, Trailers, Forklifts, Pickup Trucks, Boats or any other large vehicle. This system is not intended for use on cars and suvs. This 1 camera system is complete with a crystal clear 7" TFT LCD Color monitor with mirror image capability, a 3 channel multiplexer (can connect a dvd player or other cameras with automatic system switch, One (1) 130° CCD camera with 50 foot infra-red night vision and all the wires, connectors and mounts you will need. The system is completely weather proof with a IP67 rating, strong and reliable, shock resistant with a 10G impact rating (highest in the industry) and comes with a full year warranty. Includes: Color CCD infra-red weather proof camera   7" TFT LCD color monitor with universal mount/stand and wire   3 channel multiplexer control unit   66’ extension cable for camera   Remote control   Power connection wire   Double RCA + power converter, (to connect external, audio video and power)   Screw kit for installation Camera Features 1/4 sharp color CCD, 250k pixels, 2.1 mm wide lens with 130° angle, 420 TV lines (which means best quality image, with no blind spots)   18 automatic Infra-red night vision illuminates = 50 feet of vision in the darkest night. With built in foam around lens (so you are garneted not to have any glare from the IR's)   Built in High Gain Microphone   Extremely strong weather proof casing, with 10g impact rating, as well as a screw base and water proof sleeve connection Monitor Features: 7” Color TFT LCD monitor 16:9 wide screen with selectable option from monitor for 4:3 (super sharp image 1440 x 234)   Built-in speakers and earphone jack   Remote control (all functions can be controlled from the monitor) Multiplexer and System Features: 3 channel Multiplexer allowing you to connect additional cameras or DVD player (can be selected from monitor or remote)   Mirror imaging so you can see proper side   Automatic switch (option to automatically have the system turn on when in reverse)   Allows 12-24 DC power   All cables and connectors are weatherproof For technical support, please email service@rearviewsafety.com or call 800-764-1028 ext. 245 (9am – 5:30pm EST, M-F). Model:RVS-770613
Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
20 of 23(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Review 1 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:April 12, 2014

Simple to install

Pros: color camera and 7 inch monitor.
"Great color picture and the 7 inch monitor is easy on the eyes. I mounted the monitor above the rear view mirror so it is no problem to view mirror and rear view at the same time. Easy hookup and everything worked the first time I turned it on."
Review 2 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbellville, Ontario
Date:February 8, 2014

Beat expectations!

Pros: clarity colour field of vision
Model Number: RVS-770613
"We travel in a 28' class "C" motorhome towing a motorcycle trailer, that is narrower than the vehicle.
I wanted a camera to help with both backing up as well as to see the traffic behind.
The reviews were very good, so placed the order.
Three days later it arrived and we now have it installed.
Relatively simply to install, I just need to figure out the audio part.
The unit definitely has a quality feel, excellent colour, clarity, field of vision and at an attractive price point.
We may look at adding a second camera for inside the trailer.
So far, I am very impressed and look forward to hitting the road to try it out.
"
Review 3 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florham Park, NJ
Date:June 13, 2010

Excellent Backup Camera System

Pros: commercial grade, easy install, price
"I'm so glad Costco started carrying this product we outfitted our fleet with these systems almost 2 years ago and the systems work flawlessly. Great price and product! Go Costco."
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs Ca
Date:November 23, 2010

Great Value

Pros: easy install, clear view
"I installed this system on my RV. I ran the cable from the rear to the dash and mounted the LCD on the dash. Easy installation, as I am a handyman. Called the manufacturer and got a quick response and answer to a question regarding the wiring hookup. I sent the manufacturer photos of my installation and it is posted on the web site. Works great and provides a clear, color view."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chillicothe, OH
Date:July 29, 2011

Great Picture Quality!!!

Pros: quality, night vision
Cons: finding a place for 7 inch monitor
Model Number: RVS-770613
"I bought this based on previous reviews. Installer said this was the best quality camera he has seen for a backup he has Installed. We both noticed camera is weatherproof all the way to the connections that have rubber boots over them. Tested out IR lights backing in 95 % darkness to my utility trailer, all I can say is flawless!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:August 23, 2013

Great System

Pros: display camera ease of installation
Model Number: RVS-770613
"We are fulltime RV'ers, so a good backup camera is important. I have tried 3 other systems and THIS IS THE BEST! It has a wonderful display with graphics indicating your distance (1, 2 & 3') from rear objects. This unit costs about the same as the others, but is MUCH better."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:November 29, 2011

best backup camera

"this is the 8th backup camera that I bought thru Costco from the same brand to install in my school buses I must say this is a great product very easy to install and very user friendly and a very good price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Upland
Date:March 7, 2012

Returned!

Pros: complete system, clear image (when working)
Cons: camera not water tight, bulky design
"Camera not sealed, water casued it to fog, returned to costco."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newport Beach CA
Date:April 8, 2013

great product

Pros: great quality
Cons: not for sports cars, no instructions on how to wire to car's electrical
Model Number: RVS-770613
"This is a great product for the price. But not for everyone. The screen and camera are on the large size. I would not want this on my sports car. It is really designed for RV or pickup truck where size is OK. Also product does not really provide detailed instructions on how to connect to car's wiring (reverse circuit) I learned from other manufactures that had examples on youtube. Highly suggest the use of a fuse tap which allows easy connection to reverse circuit without cutting any wires. I found fuse tap at auto parts store. Enjoy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:June 26, 2012

System works great.

Pros: sharp picture
Cons: no speaker built in
Model Number: RVS-770613
"Ran the cable from the rear of the RV to the front and through the firewall. Hooked up power and all works great. I had to hook up tape player adapter to the earphone sound output jack to get sound. Wish that there was a small speaker built in the display.
Sound is nice with my wife in back directing me into tight places. Good warning system!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:July 21, 2011

Truly a "commercial" type product!

Pros: great functions, large monitor, heavy-duty
Cons: wish it had integrated rear parking sensors
"I had been searching for a backup camera system. I read reviews and recommendations earnestly and talked to companies who installed backup cameras.
A reviewer praised this product and his comments were convincing because I bought it!
My nephew installed it and said that it wasn't a problem. He was impressed with the product because of its weight and quality construction.
The screen is large with several functions including adjustments for tint, color, brightness, volume control, etc. The camera has a microphone which I learned about when I was driving and heard road noise I had never heard before.
My camera is installed so that I can always view what is behind me--it wasn't installed to the backup light and in doing so it is always activated. I find this useful because I have an additional view of what is behind me especially when there is a tail-gating vehicle.
We were concerned that the continuous activation would be a problem at night when the camera lights are own. The lighting technology is such that the lights are red and not blinding or distracting to anyone behind the vehicle.
There is an on/off button on the monitor which allows the user to cancel viewing. I find myself viewing the monitor more than I should while driving so I often turn it off.
Additional cameras can be installed to the monitor should someone decide to install front or side cameras.
This is a heavy-duty commercial unit and comes with lots of cable. For installation on a passenger vehicle, finding storage for the cable could be problematic. But this unit is such a great product that I don't mind the inconvenience.
The monitor view is wide-angle and convex. While this view is great, it is somewhat difficult to determine distances such as for parallel parking. This unit would be great with rear parking sensors.
I am completely satisfied with this unit especially considering the low cost for such a quality product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: good quality and value
"I bought this item to upgrade the camera on my Motorhome. It truly is commercial grade. Very sturdy housing and came with more than enough cable. Instructions where simple to understand and I did the install myself. Picture quality is good in normal and low light. The audio is a little low and I needed to raise the volume full blast to hear clearly. The only issue I had was the color of the camera itself, it is shown as white, yet I got a black one. Not a big deal for me but others may care. I would highly recommend this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta Ga
Date:November 23, 2012

Excellent

"I have read some bad and some good reviews on this product, wasn't sure what to expect when purchasing the Back Up Camera. I installed it in my 31FT RV to keep an eye on my motorcycle trailer and motorcycle. I traveled from Atlanta to San Deiago Ca and back with all the sites along the way. The camera worked great. I never had to wonder what was going on behind me. the picture was great. I would definitely recommend this product. It was easy to install as well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim Cal
Date:August 15, 2011

great purchase

Pros: great product
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 507783
"everything went together just as advertised camera works great.
7 in screen in plenty big and catches my eye right away when i reverse.
I am older and needed to see more of what is going on behind me when backing up in shopping parking lots etc.
This camera system fits my requirements to a tee.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 4, 2013

Perfect for my shuttle bus

Pros: excellent resolution excellent night vision
"I bought a shuttle bus to transport my disabled daughter and it's big enough to hide a house behind it. This camera makes parking a breeze and gives me peace of mind knowing a child isn't in danger. I mounted the camera high, just below the upper running lights, and the angle is just perfect to look down and see the entire width of the bus. The night vision is excellent."
Review 16 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:winter Springs, FL
Date:September 28, 2010

Oh what an accessory.

Pros: seems like an oem product.
Cons: camera may be a little large
Model Number: 507735
"I haven't installed this system yet, but compared to other systems I've owned, this is a quality product. The camera,cables and monitor all look like they'll all last longer than the warranty."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:southern nevada
Date:April 8, 2011

solved the problem

"I have a Sprinter with no rear windows. the blind spot behind was huge. this product solved the problem and its versitility is wonderful
If your vehicle does not have a 'radar' warning system this is your solution.
also a great $ value"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:June 3, 2011

Not for 5th Wheel

"Looks like a great product at a great price, but not designed for anything you want to disconnect. Just one long cable. Didn't want to risk splicing in connectors. Returned."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA.
Date:March 28, 2012

back-up camera video

Cons: camera went bad
"The online video and detailed note are in conflict. Note stipulates the system is intended to be used on cars and suv's, yet the video demonstrates the system shows it can be utilized on both. My system only worked for a few months."
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 Backup Camera System with 7" LCD Screen by Rear View Safety
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newark Delware
Date:June 22, 2011

Day time at night.

Pros: the price
Cons: the instructions should say mount outside
Model Number: 302-893-1126
"I had my dealer Newark Dodge install the system on my 2009 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon because of the blind spots from the rear seat and spare tire. I had a problem with people parking behind me and could not see them. I have one camera in the front grill and had the second put in the back window that has the factory tinted windows and the view at night was poor than I had it moved to the rear tow hitch and at night the view on the is like day time this is a great product. The ones that mount to the tag would not give me a good view around the spare tire and the mounting system for the tag is on the left so the view would be to the drivers side."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>