Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

Cools up to 450 Sq./ Ft. R410a Eco Friendly Refrigerant Electronic Controls with LCD Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
(out of 95 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
18
63 of 95(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:January 4, 2012

Do not purchase

Cons: do not purchase this ac.
"The back of the unit has a plastic exhaust tube with a plastic fitting that came broke twice. I call the manufacture to get a replacement fitting and they said "They are on back order and we don't expect them in for a few months so you should return the unit to Costco." The unit runs nonstop and is always on at least fan mode...seems like a waste of electricity. By only having one exhaust hose it is taking my cold air that it just put in the room and exhausting it."
Review 2 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA (hot in summer)
Date:December 9, 2011

Get window AC, this type sucks hot air into room

Cons: sucks lots of hot air into room.
Model Number: A140E
"This type of AC sucks in room air and blows it outside through a sealed vent, thereby pulling in more hot air into room/building than it cools. This wrecks the real overall cooling efficiency, which is probably less than 0.
I am sorry I did not figure this out before I bought this AC for my garage.
A window unit keeps the cooling unit separate, and does not pull in hot air into the room/building."
Review 3 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kneeland, California
Date:October 9, 2011

not durable

Pros: nice looking, quiet, effective when it works
Cons: not durable, can't hold up to continuous operation
Model Number: A140E
"Unit arrived damaged from ruff shipping. One of four wheels was crushed upward into bottom of carriage. Outside cowling was cracked. I hooked it up anyway and held it level with a piece of plywood spacer. Installation was effortless and quick. Running the unit was simple with easy to understand instructions. Unit ran quietly for one week with a strong exhaust and then exhaust failed completely. The exhaust is required for dehumidifying. Air conditioner continued to work. I tried resetting many times during the following week with no success. Turned off unit. Unplugged unit for a period of time and then started over with no success. I really wanted this unit to work."
Review 4 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ft laud, Fla
Date:September 29, 2011

great AC unit

Pros: quiet and strong
Cons: it is a heavy piece...even with castors., window fittings could be more user friendly
Model Number: PAC A140E
"It was easy to set up, except you may need to customize the window adjustable slide with a piece of wood to make the hose fit in your window. Otherwise there may be a small space that is open for air to escape. The unit works well....cools fast.....is quiet......and easy to operate. It is an insurance investment for me so when my central air goes out due to storms or something more serious that may take time to get parts, I can cool off my bedroom. Great peace of mind"
Review 5 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO
Date:September 24, 2011

14K BTU FOR A GREAT PRICE!!!

Pros: cools really well. easy to use.
Cons: short hose. no extra fittings. heavy.
Model Number: PAC A14 OE
"Great portable cooling machine. i use it for my RV during the summer. It cools it very well. The hose could be a bit longer and would be helpful to have different sizes of vent mount. You can not point the direction of air flow coming out. Easy to install. Comes with remote control. It is a bit heavy, but what to expect for a 14k BTU machine. I am in love with it and would love to find out where to order a longer exhaust hose. Recommend to anyone who is seeking for an easy solution for cooling a room."
Review 6 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

Ok but window or central a/c is better

Pros: does good job cooling localized area
Cons: vents do not adjust
"First off, I think they drop the unit at the factory and boxed it up anyway. One of the wheels is pusched up. Well it works well for a portable. The air comes out at around 55-57 degrees out the vents. This is lower then the 10000 btu and 9000 btu units I have. they put out 61 degrees. These units good for a bedroom. 14000 much improvement over the 10000 I had for living room. But for best cooling go with window or central A/C. I live in California so only need A/C once in awhile."
Review 7 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Mirada, CA
Date:September 16, 2011

Great Product

Model Number: PAC A140E
"Bought it to cool the den and it fits
its purpose effectively. Comes with
necessary equipment to vent the
exhaust air outside on a window,
but I simply put the pipe up the
fireplace.
"
Review 8 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 29, 2011

Best for great room/living room

Pros: cooling power, appearance
Model Number: PAC A14OE
"We bought both the Delonghi and the Sharp at our local Costco.Together, they make 850 sq ft quite comfortable (73 when it is 85 outside). The Delonghi is the noisier of the two, but not bad (can converse and watch tv). It puts out more cooling, too. So it works best in the great room. The window piece preserved our view just fine. The window piece was a bit short, but that is easy to fix with a rectangle of wood and duct tape. The heat exhaust tube does get hot and heat up the room, but there is an easy fix. We followed the advice of another reviewer, and wrapped the exhaust tube w/ foil insulation. The Delonghi takes up less space than the Sharp. The Sharp is very quiet. Perfect for the bedroom."
Review 9 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:August 29, 2011

Okay....

Pros: works ok cools room 10 degrees from outside.
Cons: very loud cant sleep with it on
"Window units are better but are unsightly.
I read many reviews, and agree with the noise and vibration. Window units are just as loud, but they cool the room much faster.
Overall i am looking for an alternative solution."
Review 10 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:August 23, 2011

Delonghi PAC A14OE

"This is a very nice unit and I would highly recommend it. I bought it for our large master bedroom, and I couldn't be happier. It is fairly quite, all things considered. It puts out a great deal of cold air and cools my room down quickly, then I can leave it on a lower speed to maintain the temp. I know it's not Costco's fault but my first unit arrived damaged . Part of the reason I shop with Costco is that I know I won't have problems returning items. So I quickly got online and ordered a second unit, before we had a chance to return the first unit."
Review 11 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Far NW suburb of Chicago, IL
Date:August 20, 2011

Excellent air conditioner !!

Pros: easy to install, runs quitely, manual is easy to understand & set up is easy, rollers make it easy to move to another room
Model Number: PACA140E
"We purchased the PACA140E a few months ago and installed it in a slider window (moves sideways). I (the LADY of the house) attached some hard styrofoam (from the packing material) to fit the window bracket and all is well; it took about 5 min. It cools our family room & kitchen very quickly - the area is about 35' X 40' AND, it sits next to our TV and is quiet enough not to interupt watching shows. I read some reviews earlier which mentioned that the unit was too loud -- THIS IS NOT THE CASE -- it does not affect us watching TV or have conversations. This is a fabulous unit and is very easy to operate; the manual is very clear and describes how to use the unit and when. IT'S BETTER THAN I REALLY EXPECTED IT TO BE!!! You won't be disappointed,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 11, 2011

Buy at your own Risk!!!!!!

Model Number: PAC A 140 E
"I purchased this unit and the first one received was dead in the box. Fortunately I purchased it at Costco and I returned the product and received credit. As it is possible for a bad unit I ordered a second unit. Received the second unit and I must tell you it is AWFUL! The unit will not produce air cooler than 76 degrees. So this is two out of two that are bad. This unit will go back to Costco for credit and I will purchase another brand.
You make your own decision, however I will not buy this brand again. In anything!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011

Not Quite Good

Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"I bought this product to replace our window unit since it was not cooling the area. Unfortunately, it did not deliver what I had expected it to do. It turned out that our old window unit was better than this new one. I intend to return it. Thanks."
Review 14 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:August 9, 2011

Better Than The Last One

Pros: kicks back to lower fan speed periodically.
Cons: terrible hose connection to unit/window
Model Number: PAC A140E
"So far, a week after setup, I am happy with the cooling capacity of this AC. Even set at a high temp, it cools very well. The real bugaboo is setting it up each time. Since, I don't want a permanent window installation, I must re-connect the plastic apparatus/hose to the window (a royal pain). The hose does not stay attached to either the unit or the plastic frame (which goes inside the window). Therefore, it took me at least 15 minutes (in the boiling heat/humidity) for setup the other day. Because of this, I should give the unit only 3 stars. Once connected, the AC works flawlessly."
Review 15 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 6, 2011

Costco To The Rescue

Pros: as advertised
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"We purchased the PAC A140E from Costco.com -- easy and timely delivery. Waited the recommended 12 hours, plugged it in and cooled down the bedroom over the garage (430 sq feet) just fine. The only problem was the thermostat didn't work and the next morning we awoke to a room that was more like a meat locker! This is the kind of problem I'd rather have than the one where it didn't cool.
Called Delonghi and they helped troubleshoot the problem over the phone and gave me two options. First, return the unit (sans the box by now) to any Costco store; or, second, pay for shipping to the Delonghi repair facility in Ohio... Yep, you know what decision was made.
Ordered a second unit via Costco.com, great delivery by UPS within 2 days. The new unit worked perfect and continues to work great to this day. A day or so later, I returned the original unit to the closest Costco store for a full refund, no questions asked.
Hear are some quick thoughts on the unit itself. Noise is within limits of most window units that I've used over my lifespan so its hard to dig the unit for being too noisy. Cooling works fine for our application where we're taking a warm 85 degree room down to 77 degrees. Takes about an hour or so to accomplish and hold that temp.
The remote is handy and we use it primarily to turn the unit on and off after initially setting it up. Otherwise not real practical. The sleep mode is good but we found that leaving the unit set to a constant temp produced a more restful sleep. The night mode reduces the fan noise but then when the cooling compressor kicks in there is a noticeable (awakening) increase in the noise. Probably more from the fact that we haven't gotten accustomed to the change in noises yet. Instead we leave the unit set on 79 degrees (produces a room temp of 77 degrees) and the fan runs a little faster so when the cooling compressor kicks in there isn't such a noticeable. Note, if your looking for a cooling matches a central air unit this isn't it.
The other major benefit is that we haven't had to empty any condensation pan or hook up any hoses to drain it. Just run the big hose to the easy to install window component and away you go. We did, out of an abundance of caution, place the unit on the lid to a hard plastic storage container. It has about a one inch lip on the lid and would forewarn us of any leaks -- but so far none to report in the five days of operation.
Hope this helps and good luck with your decision, whichever way you go."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:August 3, 2011

powerful though noisy at max speed

Pros: powerful
Cons: noisy at the max speed
Model Number: PAC A 140E
"I don't mind the noise as it is located in a bedroom adjacent to the living area, and the noise drowns out outside sounds which cause my dogs to bark.
Installation was a snap in my 22.5 inch double hung window. I got out my mitre box and regular saw to cut down window piece. I used duct tape for a good seal to keep out bugs.
The room it is in has a open beam ceiling and is 20 by 20. There is a door and wall opening into the family room and kitchen. Turned it on a hour ago and all rooms are cool. Today will be the hottest day of the year at 88 degrees in the NC mountains.
I live in a log cabin built over 30 years ago but the unit is in a bedroom added on 10 years ago. I was worried that the cabin electrical amps would not support the 14,000 btu. Plugged into a regular outlet and it has run fine--no trips."
Review 17 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:July 31, 2011

Solid Purchase

Pros: durable construction, very quiet
Cons: fixed vents
Model Number: PAC A140E
"This unit was bought to cool a 600sqft garage that is being converted into another den.
The unit is doing its job. Its very quiet and it blows strong cold air even in this upper 90s Alabama humid oven.
I dislike the fixed vents though. Facing the unit, most of the air blows to the right and its not evenly distributed. Its easy to turn on the casters to where I want to point the air though.
I might buy another."
Review 18 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011

totally disappointed

Model Number: A140E
"Unit does not adequately cool down rooms. Unit vent hose becomes hot while unit is operating and releases this heat back into the room. If unit has not been transported upright, must be kept in upright position for 24 hours before operating unit. Am very concerned as to the impact of operating this unit on my electric bill. Thank you Costco for refunding my money. Back to window AC unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 26, 2011

Solid AC Unit

Pros: solid build works well no drainage needed, nice remote control good array of features, easy/quick set up, comes w/ cover for machine/parts for storage
Cons: the hose is short window covering/ext is short, but these can be easily fixed if needed, the unit is large if you have a small space
"Just purchased this unit for our downstairs living room the other day. We live in Washington so the heat hasn't really happened yet... but it was hot for a few days and our downstairs has low airflow, so we purchased this unit from the warehouse. It is solidly built, no drainage needed (no condensation build up in the machine), and set up if very quick/easy. To help seal it to the window you can add some foam w/ tape as well. The hose is short so you do not have much room to move the unit - it has to be pretty close to the window it is connected to and probably works best in a med/large room. The extender was not long enough for our window, so I added a plastic piece to seal it when in use. Easy fix. Make sure the AC unit is upright for at least 6 hrs. before you run it. It runs great, produces a good amount of cooled air and produces noise which is relatively normal for an AC unit (not quiet, but not loud). The room we use it for is around 400 sq ft and it is able to cool the room effectively. Happy with the unit and functionality, good price."
Review 20 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York City, NY
Date:July 26, 2011

Great buy

"considering the heat wave we are experiencing, this a/c is doing the job."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>