Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

Cools up to 450 Sq./ Ft. R410a Eco Friendly Refrigerant Electronic Controls with LCD Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
(out of 95 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
18
63 of 95(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern New Jersey
Date:June 14, 2010

Great Product - with one "gotcha"

Pros: great cooling for a larger sized room., takes very little window space., five minute installation, friendly tech support staff
Cons: installation support call if unit fails to boot, no tech support evenings or weekends
"I wish I'd bought this years ago as the open layout of my home keeps the top floor too hot.
The product's exhaust only takes up the 4 bottom inches of my window, preserving sunlight and outdoor viewing.
Cooling is fine. The setup took only a few minutes, but a mysterious error message accompanied the unit's refusal to start working. A call to technical support revealed that AFTER setting everything up, one needs to open and then close the rear lower panel to reset a certain sensor and then all worked well. This situation is NOT covered in the owners' manual.
Also, if your box did not include an "out-of-season cover," the folks at tech support will promptly mail one free-of-charge.
Note that the unit must be installed directly in front of the window you are using for the exhaust, but that thick exhaust hose means it will be at least two feet forward from the wall.
You also need a three-pronged outlet within 5 foot of the unit as extension cords are discouraged."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:May 31, 2010

BuyBuyBuy

Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"This unit has been inside my home for 4 years. It was purchased to help cool an addition added to our house. While the original intention was to wait until the following summer pour a pad and add an additional outside HVAC. We purchased this Delonghi and it cools super fast, super queit, requires little maintenance and takes being stored during the winter. This unit has a 'boost' mode and it keeps the unit dispensing cold air, instead of cycling up and down. By maintenance, you have to open the back panel and pull the stopper off two tubes and drain the tank. I generally do this two times a summer. The noise complaint by the other customer, well, does not exist. To put it together it requires you open a window, put two exhaust tubes that mount in the provided bracket. Then you turn the unit on and enjoy COOL! This is one of my favorite purchases 'ever'."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011

Looks good but doesn't work

Pros: looks good installation super easy
Cons: does not live up to expectations
"I bought this model after researching a number of models out there. I even contemplated buying the Haier model that Costco was running a promo but decided on Delonghi since it had the best reviews so far. I liked the fact that there is no need to drain water out of this unit, it evaporates the water. When I ordered this product online at costco.com, it got delivered within few days. I was super excited to have it in my master bedroom that has large windows facing west (room gets real hot in summer). The installation was super easy (really took less than 5 minutes to install). I powered it up after leaving it upright for 6+ hours (documentation on the unit mentioned that if the unit was transported on its side or upside down, it needs to be kept upright for at least 6 hours before powering it up).
Now the ugly part : There was no cold air coming out of the front grille even after running the unit for couple hours. It looked like the compressor was cycling between on and off every few minutes but after couple hours, the room temperature was the same as before. This could be a defective unit. For now, returning it back to costco"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2010

Highly recommended

Pros: simple installation, cools large area, draws only 10 amps, quiet operation even with fan on high
Cons: louvers are not adjustable
Model Number: PAC A140E
"Highly recommend this unit. Blows colder than my 12000 btu Royal Soverign and is as quiet as my Sharp. Window mounting the hose is a piece of cake if you have a little bit of skill. If you have a large window then do not rely on the install kit. I suggest a piece of LP 8" lap siding. It fits in the window track nicely. Took me 5 minutes. Cools my entire living room (600 sq. ft.)"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 26, 2010

Defective remote/Air not cool

Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"I purchased this item at local Costco store and installed it the next day. After carrying it to the second floor and installed it through the window, I noticed that the remote control device did not display after inserting the batteries provided. I used my own new batteries, and still no display. So, I used the buttons on the device to turn on the air conditioning. It did not provide the cold air evenly, and after leaving it on for few hours, I felt that it is blowing air only and not a cold air. The next day, I turned it on again and after several hours. it is still not cold. I went to the store to ask about the defective remote control and the customer service person told me that they are out of stock and will not be getting new shipping anymore. I decided to return the unit since I could not even get a replacement. I ended up purchasing a different brand (a Japanese brand) from another store and it is working wonderfully.
I am glad I returned it since I paid $100 more at the store than it is advertised now.
"
Review 6 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ft.Lauderale Fla
Date:August 7, 2010

Cools well but annoyingly loud!

Model Number: PAC A140E
"Pros:
1) Fantastic price
2)easy install/setup
3)attractive design
4)great features.
Cons:
1) Louder than my central AC unit
2) as loud as my upright vacuum
3)Fixed louvers/vents blows air unevenly to one side and only in a fixed direction.
4)Customer service at delonhi needs better training. I called to state that I thought the unit made to much noise(maybe defective) They said that it will make 50db noise when compressor is running. And if I did not like it to return it to place of purchase. No excuses..no solutions...no suggestions.
5) did I mention how loud it is?
Now I don't like to bash, but I have run the unit in my Garage/office for a week now. it cools well but the noise is unbearable. Especially becase the unit sits 5 feet from me. I have to turn my music way up just to drown the noise. I will be returning this unit this next week. I will have to pony up for a mini split or another alternative."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 30, 2010

It will do in a pinch.

"My AC/heat pump unit died about a week and a half ago. Lack of AC in the Phoenix AZ summer is just not an option. Replacement cost estimated to be $11,000, which I don't happen to have right now. So I spotted this unit and read the reviews and decided to take a chance as it is in my price range.
Pros: It came pretty quickly. I ordered it on Saturday and it arrived the following Wednesday. It is essentially plug and play, if you have an available window and power. They make it really easy to extract from the box.
Cons: The exhaust hose is short and not insulated. The power cord is short too. The installation is not quite as easy as they make out. You have to let it "stand" upright for 24 hours before use-Ours was delivered upside down, despite the "this end up" indicators on the box. It is a little loud, but in a white noise kind of way.
I found a window with available power, but I wound up putting the unit up on cinder blocks in order to use the plenum and exhaust hose that came with the unit.
After waiting 24 hours to allow the unit to settle in an upright position, we hooked up the exhaust, duct taped the plenum in place, plugged it in & It immediately started cooling down.
Then the plenum popped out so I had to futz with it some more, the exhaust heat was making the glue on the duct tape release, so iI cut some cardboard bits to insulate the tape from the plenum. The exhaust makes the window glass very warm as there is a screen on the window, which is apparently shunting some of the hot exhaust air across the glass.
Over night things cooled down really nice, but in the afternoon I noticed it was really warm by that window and I could feel heat radiating off the exhaust hose. I surmised the air going into the unit was being heated by that hot exhaust air, which would impact its efficency and definitely affects how comfortable the room is.
I purchased a piece of 8 ft x 4 ft x half inch styrofoam insulation which I cut to size with a pair of sissors to cover the window. I also purchased a roll of foil & fiber glass duct insulation to cover the exhaust pipe. Once the insulation was in place, the difference was immediate.
So I am out about another $20 in insulation products-not too bad, but I spent a lot more time messing around with the installation.
I haven't owned the unit long so I haven't experienced some of the other issues (leaking for one) others complained of. If I do I will see if I can update this review.
At this point I think it was worth what I paid for it."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Falls Church, VA
Date:May 26, 2011

Works but tooooooo loud

Pros: cools well, looks nice
Cons: loud, very heavy, no protection from rain or birds, double hose option is aukward
Model Number: Sorry I don't remember, becuase we returned it.
"We purchased two units from DeLonghi last year and ended up returning them because they are very very loud. Also, the grill portion that sticks in the window does not have any screeen or cover. This part is connected to the exhaust hose on this A/C unit. By not having any screen or cover, birds fly directly into the exhaust hose. We had two birds build nests inside our A/C units. I highly recommend the Sharp brand A/C units sold by Costco. These are quiet and have covers to prevent birds from flying in. These covers also are angled to direct rain away. Do not buy the Delonghi units."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 11, 2010

Very effective unit - better than I expected

Pros: fast cooling - especially in boost mode, easy to set up, not as loud as i thought it would be
Cons: kinda heavy, ventilation hose (aka "dryer hose") is too short, add a con
Model Number: PAC A140E
"Looked at various "portable" (which means, not permanently-mounted, BTW) AC units,. Since our older Seattle office building has steam-heat in winter but no AC at all, and since we've gotten some increasingly hot summers lately, I decided to buy three of these units to cool our loft.
These things are HEAVY, so don't try to lift them yourself - make sure the delivery guy brings them in.
Set-up was a breeze - the only issues we had were 1) the fact that our windows are cantilevered casement windows, and 2) the fact that the windows are far enough off the floor that the short "dryer hose" was just barely long enough to reach. I had to saw some plywood to block the windows, but we made it work finally.
Turned them on in Boost mode, and Bam - the room was a nice, even 20° C (68° F) in about 1.5 hours. Yes, they're a bit noisy - but the street noise from outside competes quite handily and drowns them out completely at rush-hour. No big deal. Might be worse in a residential setting.
The exhaust hose gets kinda warm, so I'll probably get some insulation for them. Other than that, we're quite happy with them. We'll see how long they last and will revisit this review if things change."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque
Date:June 25, 2010

Cooled as advertised, but....

"This product cooled down the room FAST, but we purchased for our bedroom and it was LOUD. I wouldn't mind it for daytime but it didn't meet the WAF (wife acceptance factor). We had to return it because of the noise."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Napa, Ca
Date:July 5, 2011

14,000 BTU unlikely

Model Number: PAC A140E
"I bought this unit to use at work since we have no air conditioning in the building and the state of California refuses to give us one (state employee). It kept the room (about 450 sq ft with one window) about 5-10 degrees cooler than outside. Then another co-worker bought a 9,000 BTU unit which cools far better than this one. So I highly doubt this one is really 14,000 BTU's. I am taking mine back on my next day off, buying the LG 9,000 BTU unit and pocketing the $200.00 difference I paid."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert, CA
Date:July 2, 2011

Works For Us.

Pros: easy installation, good value
Cons: short window fitting, vent should point more upward.
Model Number: PAC A140E
"Bought this unit to fill in for a broken central AC in a pinch. We live in SoCal desert where temps. are high and humidity low. Had the unit for 2 weeks and it's working great. It's 115 degrees outside right now and our fairly well insulated 20'x20' garage converted to a bedroom is 85 degrees. Installation really did only take 5 or 10 minutes and it took about a day for the unit to cool the room down from well into the 90s. Like many other reviews have noted, the short window fitting is just dumb. The instructions list an optional extension but don't say how to order it. As to the noise level, I measured it at 40 decibels with a phone app, which is the same noise level as another room with the TV on.
For under $500 this is a good value for us."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 26, 2011

Solid AC Unit

Pros: solid build works well no drainage needed, nice remote control good array of features, easy/quick set up, comes w/ cover for machine/parts for storage
Cons: the hose is short window covering/ext is short, but these can be easily fixed if needed, the unit is large if you have a small space
"Just purchased this unit for our downstairs living room the other day. We live in Washington so the heat hasn't really happened yet... but it was hot for a few days and our downstairs has low airflow, so we purchased this unit from the warehouse. It is solidly built, no drainage needed (no condensation build up in the machine), and set up if very quick/easy. To help seal it to the window you can add some foam w/ tape as well. The hose is short so you do not have much room to move the unit - it has to be pretty close to the window it is connected to and probably works best in a med/large room. The extender was not long enough for our window, so I added a plastic piece to seal it when in use. Easy fix. Make sure the AC unit is upright for at least 6 hrs. before you run it. It runs great, produces a good amount of cooled air and produces noise which is relatively normal for an AC unit (not quiet, but not loud). The room we use it for is around 400 sq ft and it is able to cool the room effectively. Happy with the unit and functionality, good price."
Review 14 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:July 16, 2010

Cool deal

Pros: timer function, boost setting, very easy install (< 2 min!)
Cons: noisey when working full power
Model Number: PACA140E
"Although designed for about 460 sq.ft capacity, we bought this as a long shot to try to cool the 1000 sq. ft or so of our downstairs living area. We are extremely pleased to find it copes admirably! With the unusually hot summer we've had in Boston so far this year, this has provided a welcome relief to our home! Researched many options, but found this deal cannot be beaten on either product, price, or shipping terms"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Goleta, CA
Date:September 29, 2010

Works

Pros: handles high temp well
Cons: not exactly quiet
Model Number: PAC 140E
"I just went through the socal heat wave and this unit kept my bedroom cool. I've had no leaking problems and I've used this unit for about 4 months. It's not library quiet, but it doesn't sound like a freight train either. The exhaust system is a little bit clunky, and the window kit doesn't handle really tall windows well (like mine)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:June 10, 2011

Disappointed, returning it tomorrow

Pros: none
Cons: loud, smelly, never turns off, doesn't cool well
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"I took a chance on the unit due to mostly positive reviews. I've tried the unit for a week now and it's time to return it. The biggest problem is that it doesn't cool my room. I hoped to use it for several adjacent rooms, but I've been keeping the doors closed to try to cool just my 180sq-ft bedroom. Even setting it to 75 degrees the compressor never turns off even with outside temps under 85. It just can keep up. It's loud but not completely unbearable. No joke, I think it smells funny. My girlfriend isn't bothered, but every time I walk in my room I crinkle my nose because of the odor. The remote only works half the time. The two timers in the description are one for on and one for off, not two independent on/off timers like I expected. It's as convenient as setting you alarm clock twice a day. I'd probably have even kept it despite being big, loud, and smelly, but it doesn't even effectively cool the room."
Review 17 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:bklyn NY
Date:May 31, 2011

so far so good..........

Cons: exhaust gets hot
Model Number: A140E
"Before I purchased, I read other reviews. I have found that the noise some complained about was not an issue for me. Someone had mentioned about the heat radiating from the exhaust close to the intake. I was prepared and I wrapped the exhaust duct with insulation half way up. That length was fine and no heat was felt. On the half that I did not wrap, I could definately feel how hot the exhaust got. I will be wrapping the rest of the length. I can see how the heat would be sucked into the intake and make the unit less efficient. Otherwise so far so good. If anything changes, I will note it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2010

Started leaking all over the place

"I bought this product for my mom's bedroom that seems to always stay hot. The air unit worked great for a year. I bought this product from Costco online June 2009, and it started leaking all over my mom's carpet June 2010.
Although it says No-Drip Technology, the hose slot in the back starts to leak shortly after the coolant starts. Just like the other reviewer, I have to left this heavy unit downstairs to my truck and haul it back to Costco. At least costco has a great return policy or I'd be stuck with an expensive machine that only worked for a year."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 23, 2010

Well made!

"Unpacking it I see the thickness to the plastic that goes in the window... then the weight of seventy two pounds... it is solid. I also love the little LCD display tv deal on the top. Function, YES, it is strong and it is NOT loud either. On high at the coldest setting it is pumping out the air so you will hear it but it is air and cold so on a hot day it feels good. To sleep to it... Yup, no problem... it is not an Abrams A1M1. I got one for me... love it... blew the Sharp away I had before... this is the big beafy brother on steroids and at fourteen K BTUs... works great and cools fast. I am buying one now for my Mom. It is just well made and it works great for THIS price... buy one now I would recommend.
Got first one day and buying another now.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Far NW suburb of Chicago, IL
Date:August 20, 2011

Excellent air conditioner !!

Pros: easy to install, runs quitely, manual is easy to understand & set up is easy, rollers make it easy to move to another room
Model Number: PACA140E
"We purchased the PACA140E a few months ago and installed it in a slider window (moves sideways). I (the LADY of the house) attached some hard styrofoam (from the packing material) to fit the window bracket and all is well; it took about 5 min. It cools our family room & kitchen very quickly - the area is about 35' X 40' AND, it sits next to our TV and is quiet enough not to interupt watching shows. I read some reviews earlier which mentioned that the unit was too loud -- THIS IS NOT THE CASE -- it does not affect us watching TV or have conversations. This is a fabulous unit and is very easy to operate; the manual is very clear and describes how to use the unit and when. IT'S BETTER THAN I REALLY EXPECTED IT TO BE!!! You won't be disappointed,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>