Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

Cools up to 450 Sq./ Ft. R410a Eco Friendly Refrigerant Electronic Controls with LCD Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
(out of 95 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
18
63 of 95(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Review 21 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:July 24, 2011

Not right for us

Cons: noisy, can't adjust louvers, hard to move over carpet
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"I purchased this a/c because I wanted to avoid blocking one of the 2 windows in our studio apartment - our living area is small and the unit takes up too much space, also the exhaust tube is very unattractive. It does an adequate job of cooling, but our room is only 200 sq feet. I am going back to a window unit as soon as I can figure out how to haul this back to COSTCO"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SBA
Date:July 20, 2011

AC Unit

"works nicely. easy install. only used a few days so far. My room is much bigger than the rating but it still cools it down."
Review 23 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sunny Orange County, CA
Date:July 12, 2011

Not for me

Pros: arrived quickly, good looking unit, puts out cool air
Cons: hose is too short, hose set-up leaks hot air, vent hose gets too hot, not worth the 14000 btu's!
Model Number: PAC A140E
"The unit arrived very quickly, but the box had a dent in it. Took me a while to realize that I needed to reset it to start. The unit did have cool air coming out of it; however, it had even more hot air. It leaked hot air at the back where the hose attached, as well as through the window area. The hose became very hot. Although the unit tried hard, it could not keep up with the heat. I also had to put this good-looking unit up on a table to be closer to the window as the vent was so short--didn't look so good anymore!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011

Looks good but doesn't work

Pros: looks good installation super easy
Cons: does not live up to expectations
"I bought this model after researching a number of models out there. I even contemplated buying the Haier model that Costco was running a promo but decided on Delonghi since it had the best reviews so far. I liked the fact that there is no need to drain water out of this unit, it evaporates the water. When I ordered this product online at costco.com, it got delivered within few days. I was super excited to have it in my master bedroom that has large windows facing west (room gets real hot in summer). The installation was super easy (really took less than 5 minutes to install). I powered it up after leaving it upright for 6+ hours (documentation on the unit mentioned that if the unit was transported on its side or upside down, it needs to be kept upright for at least 6 hours before powering it up).
Now the ugly part : There was no cold air coming out of the front grille even after running the unit for couple hours. It looked like the compressor was cycling between on and off every few minutes but after couple hours, the room temperature was the same as before. This could be a defective unit. For now, returning it back to costco"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WOODSIDE
Date:July 11, 2011

I TRIED TO LIKE IT!!!!!!

Pros: looked good
Cons: didn't cool down room
"I brought it for my bedroom ,it was just not cooling down the room enough,put a drape to the bathroom area ,still not cooling it down that much after hours!!! I put my Attic House Fan on ,open all the windows ,it got cooler at night than this unit in less time???"
Review 26 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Napa, Ca
Date:July 5, 2011

14,000 BTU unlikely

Model Number: PAC A140E
"I bought this unit to use at work since we have no air conditioning in the building and the state of California refuses to give us one (state employee). It kept the room (about 450 sq ft with one window) about 5-10 degrees cooler than outside. Then another co-worker bought a 9,000 BTU unit which cools far better than this one. So I highly doubt this one is really 14,000 BTU's. I am taking mine back on my next day off, buying the LG 9,000 BTU unit and pocketing the $200.00 difference I paid."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:July 3, 2011

Good with a few issues

Pros: cools well, multiple modes, remote works well, covers included for winter storage
Cons: window panels are too short for some windows, a little heavy, a little noisy
"This aircon cools very well. It is a bit heavy and a bit noisy, but that is to be expected for a 14K BTU. One thing that disappointed me is the short Window panel. I really wish they would include a 3rd panel or have longer panels to cover larger windows. I had to buy and cut plexiglass to extend the panel to fit my window."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:July 2, 2011

Delonghi hasn't disappointed

Pros: fast shipping, costco guarantee, 14k btu
Cons: it is large
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Dehumidifier
"I bought this for my parents house and it is great, lots of functions and self evaporating. It is large and sounds like a normal a/c unit. It's well made and so far no problems. They did need to add a new outlet for it but that was b/c we didn't have a grounded outlet in the dining room where to plug it in. It may be too large for our dining room but it is workable - mom has lots of stuff in there."
Review 29 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert, CA
Date:July 2, 2011

Works For Us.

Pros: easy installation, good value
Cons: short window fitting, vent should point more upward.
Model Number: PAC A140E
"Bought this unit to fill in for a broken central AC in a pinch. We live in SoCal desert where temps. are high and humidity low. Had the unit for 2 weeks and it's working great. It's 115 degrees outside right now and our fairly well insulated 20'x20' garage converted to a bedroom is 85 degrees. Installation really did only take 5 or 10 minutes and it took about a day for the unit to cool the room down from well into the 90s. Like many other reviews have noted, the short window fitting is just dumb. The instructions list an optional extension but don't say how to order it. As to the noise level, I measured it at 40 decibels with a phone app, which is the same noise level as another room with the TV on.
For under $500 this is a good value for us."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Croix Falls, WI
Date:July 1, 2011

Does what it is supposed to do!

Pros: good design, none, cools down reasonably
"Okay, for a portable this is a good product. We bought it and will probably be buying another one. If you are like us and did not get a house with central air and heat, this is what you have to do. Anything under 90 degrees and this works fine. Anything over that and you have to be patient and give it some extra time."
Review 31 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2011

Happy with new airconditioner

Model Number: Delonghi PAC A-140E
"Just used our new air conditioning unit. Had 2 hot days and it performed very well. Cooled as we wished and without too much noise.
Used remote which worked good.
"
Review 32 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:June 20, 2011

Returned product

Pros: cools room
Cons: heavy poor design
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000
"Returned product for a window unit.
The installation was difficult due to the shortness of the cord and hose. Also, there was no foam to insulate around the hose area which gets HOT. By the time you do install the unit, it is no longer portable. The unit is very heavy.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Rochelle, NY
Date:June 20, 2011

Does the job!

Model Number: PAC A140E
"I put this portable air conditioner in my kitchen with the hope that it would also cool the dining area outside and so far I am pleased with the cooling that it does. I have three rooms under a roof and I get sun all day so the two air conditioners I have just weren't cooling the whole apartment. This is definitely helping to cool the whole place. Set up was easy and it started cooling right away. The noise level is not that loud."
Review 34 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:June 18, 2011

Great item

Cons: no cons
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"This is a great unit. It delivers on the cooling as promised. I highly recommend it."
Review 35 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:June 18, 2011

Weak Unit

Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU
"We bought this to use in our room which is upstairs where it is impossible to keep cool in the summer with central AC. It did not do what a 14000 BTU unit should do. It cooled a little, but overall it didn't make a significant dent in the room temperature. The "boost" function proved to be useless and the air was mildly cool coming from the unit. This is the second Delonghi product we have returned to Costco this summer. We finally found that the 12000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier sold on Costco.com was a winner. It cools really well. All that to say, stay away from this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philadellphia PA
Date:June 16, 2011

Delonghi PAC

Model Number: PAC A140E
"Easy to install. Wheels make it easy to move around. Settings allow you to pick temperature which will adjust fan."
Review 37 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 15, 2011

Satisfied

Pros: work fine as a supplimental system, easy to install
Cons: loud
Model Number: PAC A140E
"We only use to suppliment evaporative coolers. New Mexico is hot, but normally very dry. Evaporative coolers are great about 95-percent of the time, the other 5-percent these A/Cs are fine to run a few days when the huidity is up with the heat. They are loud and would not enjoy them running all the time. They are very easy to install. Unpackaging would be a little hard if one is older."
Review 38 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:June 15, 2011

Best AC to date

Cons: poor window panel design
Model Number: PAC A140E
"I was used to window units rattling the windows when the compressor would come on. Not a problem now.
So I waited 24 hours to turn it on as they recommend, hoping it would work.
It did take quite a while to initially cool off the 450'+ room it is in - however it was 98 degrees outside (it really was - June in New York, go figure), great day for it to be field tested for the first time. Specs say it is only good to 94 degrees which makes no sense to me. Once it cools the air, it is re-cooling cooler air. In fact, 12 hours later I had to turn it way down.
Our apartment gets very humid and I was quite worried about water dripping. No issues at all yet, which I can't believe.
I did have to use duct tape and rig up a wedge with wood I had laying around to keep the window panel from pulling out of the double hung window it is in. Wish they had optional/alternate panels. I would buy one if there was. Makes the installation look pretty tacky.
Also, it doesn't exactly glide between rooms. But we are keeping it where it is and we knew the weight from the spec sheet. Knowing that up front made it okay with us, no surprise there.
Maybe i'm just lucky but this is quieter than our 16000 BTU window unit which died last July. Much quiter even in Boost mode than the other one was with the compressor pumping. The other one was only 7 years old so it was not old technology making it noisey. On lower speeds I almost have to check to see if it is on while we are watching TV. No problem with TV or sleeping.
In fairness to other's opinions, I do suppose it depends on what you are used to. I am not used to central air so I'm not spoiled. (Wish I was!)
With all of the bad comments people have posted on all PACs, we went for most of last summer without an AC in this room.
I had a lump in my throat when I placed this order. It is always a risk when you don't know someone who has something you want to test.
It arrived without a single ding in the box. Mint condition thanks to UPS.
As I stated above, maybe I am just one of the lucky ones, but this was a great purchase.
My wife and I both have heart conditions and we will happy to have our main room back this summer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:June 15, 2011

AC

Model Number: A140E
"Bad things... The exhaust tube is too short maybe a foot or two longer would work better.
The window piece is too short as well. Few windows are that small in CA. It is more like in the East cost size windows.
Good things... It works really well and cools the rooms very quickly. The start and stop programming, the mode setting and temperature settings are great. The only thing left is the environmental impact and the electric bill, yet to be seen.
"
Review 40 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Queens New York
Date:June 15, 2011

great unit

Pros: works really well
Cons: hose too short and no auto on/off
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"This is a great unit. It will cool a 2nd floor office (450 sq ft.) with no problem The only down side is the venting hose is a little short and it doesn't have an auto on/off feature. For the price it was a great buy."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>