Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier

Cools up to 450 Sq./ Ft. R410a Eco Friendly Refrigerant Electronic Controls with LCD Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
(out of 95 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
18
63 of 95(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Review 21 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:June 12, 2010

Huge bother and waste of time

"The unit came with a broken part. I contacted the factory, got a huge runaround, they didn't return my call. Finally, 3 weeks later it came in the mail. The unit worked for 2 weeks before it quit. Now I have to lug a 100 lbs unit back to the store to get my money back. I will never buy a Delonghi product again. I don't blame Costco, but the manufacturer, as evidenced by online reviews and my experience, is to be avoided."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Londonderry, NH
Date:September 10, 2010

The Best

Pros: ease to install, quiet and powerfull
Model Number: PAC A140E
"This unit is quiet and powerfull, I only wish I had bought a second. It's better than any of the window models I have, and installs in seconds. I bought a Kenwood 13,000 btu from Costco early in the year and I beleive it is also manufactured by Delonghi. It also works great, thats why I bought this one. The remote control functions and timer for on and off are very useful."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:July 24, 2011

Not right for us

Cons: noisy, can't adjust louvers, hard to move over carpet
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"I purchased this a/c because I wanted to avoid blocking one of the 2 windows in our studio apartment - our living area is small and the unit takes up too much space, also the exhaust tube is very unattractive. It does an adequate job of cooling, but our room is only 200 sq feet. I am going back to a window unit as soon as I can figure out how to haul this back to COSTCO"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 22, 2010

Okay, but will probably take back.

"Overall, this is a decent A/C with simple controls gets the job done for my 500 sq. ft. living room. However, the unit does get pretty loud if you're watching TV at a regular volume. I'll need to turn up the volume when the condenser kicks on which is usually a few seconds after the unit is turned on.
Here's my final breakdown of the pros and cons.
Pros:
Decently priced given it's 14k BTU
Excellent return policy if needed
Does the job
Cons:
Sorta loud when watching TV
Remote sorta glitchy & Must be
pointed directly at the front of unit
Vents for AC only on top and not very adjustable
Haven't decided if I'm going to live with my main concern; the noise issue, or consider using the return policy yet..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:September 9, 2010

TAKE IT BACK!

Pros: cools well, boost function very helpful
Cons: very loud, leaks
Model Number: DeLonghi PAC A 140 E
"This unit does a sufficient job of cooling a 360 sq. foor bedroom and the boost function works in cooling the room faster. That being said, this PAC is so noisy that noone could sleep through it.
Additionally, it leaked after a few days. It appears as though the unit doesn't have the capacity to process water taken in through the humidifier. The unit can be turned off for a couple of days and won't leak for a little while, but it starts leaking again once it is used for a few hours.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:June 20, 2011

Returned product

Pros: cools room
Cons: heavy poor design
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000
"Returned product for a window unit.
The installation was difficult due to the shortness of the cord and hose. Also, there was no foam to insulate around the hose area which gets HOT. By the time you do install the unit, it is no longer portable. The unit is very heavy.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mi
Date:June 24, 2010

Cool and Comfortable ...

"This unit is great. We have ceiling fans and it is cooling our whole house. We did not have a window to place it in so we vented externally and love it. One small whole and well worth it. It will be a cool comforable summer.
Give this unit a try you will not be sorry."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:July 22, 2010

unbearably noisy

Cons: add a con
Model Number: DeLonghi PAC A140E
"Easy set-up, efficient cooling, but ear-splitting noise. Impossible to sleep, watch tv, or have a conversation in the same room"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Queens, NY
Date:June 28, 2010

Good with a few cautions

Pros: cools well
Cons: not as easy to install as manufacturer states, a little quirky, get a little hot
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"Very stylish and cools very well, however the sliding window guard is not as easy to install as it does NOT fit all windows easily. It is hard to keep in the window without adding insulation or other support to it. I finally got it to stay fairly well after tinkering with it for about an hour. Also the hose that connects to it is a little short and the unit must be directly in front of the window in order for it not to pull on the hose attachment and prevent it from vibrating and making unecessary noise. I like the product, however Delonghi should mention these items in their description as not all homes are made alike."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 6, 2011

Costco To The Rescue

Pros: as advertised
Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E
"We purchased the PAC A140E from Costco.com -- easy and timely delivery. Waited the recommended 12 hours, plugged it in and cooled down the bedroom over the garage (430 sq feet) just fine. The only problem was the thermostat didn't work and the next morning we awoke to a room that was more like a meat locker! This is the kind of problem I'd rather have than the one where it didn't cool.
Called Delonghi and they helped troubleshoot the problem over the phone and gave me two options. First, return the unit (sans the box by now) to any Costco store; or, second, pay for shipping to the Delonghi repair facility in Ohio... Yep, you know what decision was made.
Ordered a second unit via Costco.com, great delivery by UPS within 2 days. The new unit worked perfect and continues to work great to this day. A day or so later, I returned the original unit to the closest Costco store for a full refund, no questions asked.
Hear are some quick thoughts on the unit itself. Noise is within limits of most window units that I've used over my lifespan so its hard to dig the unit for being too noisy. Cooling works fine for our application where we're taking a warm 85 degree room down to 77 degrees. Takes about an hour or so to accomplish and hold that temp.
The remote is handy and we use it primarily to turn the unit on and off after initially setting it up. Otherwise not real practical. The sleep mode is good but we found that leaving the unit set to a constant temp produced a more restful sleep. The night mode reduces the fan noise but then when the cooling compressor kicks in there is a noticeable (awakening) increase in the noise. Probably more from the fact that we haven't gotten accustomed to the change in noises yet. Instead we leave the unit set on 79 degrees (produces a room temp of 77 degrees) and the fan runs a little faster so when the cooling compressor kicks in there isn't such a noticeable. Note, if your looking for a cooling matches a central air unit this isn't it.
The other major benefit is that we haven't had to empty any condensation pan or hook up any hoses to drain it. Just run the big hose to the easy to install window component and away you go. We did, out of an abundance of caution, place the unit on the lid to a hard plastic storage container. It has about a one inch lip on the lid and would forewarn us of any leaks -- but so far none to report in the five days of operation.
Hope this helps and good luck with your decision, whichever way you go."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:June 18, 2011

Weak Unit

Model Number: Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU
"We bought this to use in our room which is upstairs where it is impossible to keep cool in the summer with central AC. It did not do what a 14000 BTU unit should do. It cooled a little, but overall it didn't make a significant dent in the room temperature. The "boost" function proved to be useless and the air was mildly cool coming from the unit. This is the second Delonghi product we have returned to Costco this summer. We finally found that the 12000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier sold on Costco.com was a winner. It cools really well. All that to say, stay away from this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:August 11, 2010

VG price, VG performance

Model Number: Delonghi A140E 14,000 BTU PAC
"This is our 3rd try at a PAC. The 14000 Delonghi cools and dehumidifies nicely. At 85 outside, our room would easily get 90+ due to sun hitting wall. Now easily holds at 75. We have had high-power circulating fans that are louder than this unit when the unit is on low. It is louder, of course, when on high. I know many have said this PAC is loud, but the loudness level is a very fair trade-off considering it's cooling capabilities. Very happy with this unit. Very easy install and so far no water issues. (Check plug at bottom to make sure it is seated.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:August 11, 2011

Buy at your own Risk!!!!!!

Model Number: PAC A 140 E
"I purchased this unit and the first one received was dead in the box. Fortunately I purchased it at Costco and I returned the product and received credit. As it is possible for a bad unit I ordered a second unit. Received the second unit and I must tell you it is AWFUL! The unit will not produce air cooler than 76 degrees. So this is two out of two that are bad. This unit will go back to Costco for credit and I will purchase another brand.
You make your own decision, however I will not buy this brand again. In anything!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sunny Orange County, CA
Date:July 12, 2011

Not for me

Pros: arrived quickly, good looking unit, puts out cool air
Cons: hose is too short, hose set-up leaks hot air, vent hose gets too hot, not worth the 14000 btu's!
Model Number: PAC A140E
"The unit arrived very quickly, but the box had a dent in it. Took me a while to realize that I needed to reset it to start. The unit did have cool air coming out of it; however, it had even more hot air. It leaked hot air at the back where the hose attached, as well as through the window area. The hose became very hot. Although the unit tried hard, it could not keep up with the heat. I also had to put this good-looking unit up on a table to be closer to the window as the vent was so short--didn't look so good anymore!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:August 3, 2011

powerful though noisy at max speed

Pros: powerful
Cons: noisy at the max speed
Model Number: PAC A 140E
"I don't mind the noise as it is located in a bedroom adjacent to the living area, and the noise drowns out outside sounds which cause my dogs to bark.
Installation was a snap in my 22.5 inch double hung window. I got out my mitre box and regular saw to cut down window piece. I used duct tape for a good seal to keep out bugs.
The room it is in has a open beam ceiling and is 20 by 20. There is a door and wall opening into the family room and kitchen. Turned it on a hour ago and all rooms are cool. Today will be the hottest day of the year at 88 degrees in the NC mountains.
I live in a log cabin built over 30 years ago but the unit is in a bedroom added on 10 years ago. I was worried that the cabin electrical amps would not support the 14,000 btu. Plugged into a regular outlet and it has run fine--no trips."
Review 36 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011

totally disappointed

Model Number: A140E
"Unit does not adequately cool down rooms. Unit vent hose becomes hot while unit is operating and releases this heat back into the room. If unit has not been transported upright, must be kept in upright position for 24 hours before operating unit. Am very concerned as to the impact of operating this unit on my electric bill. Thank you Costco for refunding my money. Back to window AC unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 26, 2010

very good

"our space is closer to 600 to 700 square feet and the hose is hooked up to the clothes dryer vent - both not installation spec.
the unit worked fairly well in battling the last heat wave. easy to set up. easy to use. easy control panel.
cooled the rooms reasonably fast. while the hum and air noise is certainly audible, this was more of a white noise that was easy to sleep by."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lake Erie, Ohio
Date:August 2, 2010

Disappointed

"Because I didn't want to "lose" a window, I decided to go for a portable unit that could be wheeled into a corner when not in use. What I found is that the term portable is used very loosely where this unit is concerned. It took two of us to lug the thing up our steps, and once it was in place, I couldn't believe how large it was. As my father stated, you might not lose a window, but you certainly lose a lot of floor space. The unit was loud, which I expected. What did surprise me was its inability to cool the bedroom it was in. I have a window unit in another room that seems to do a better job of cooling a larger space. The portable unit was easy to install, and use, but overall did not meet my expectations. Costco cheerfully refunded my money, which is why I always feel secure shopping there."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010

noisy hummer

"Sounded like you have a tank rumbling in your room.
It said it is a 5 minute installation. I am sure it missed at least one zero after the 5.
"
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Delonghi PAC A140E 14,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner & Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:July 3, 2011

Good with a few issues

Pros: cools well, multiple modes, remote works well, covers included for winter storage
Cons: window panels are too short for some windows, a little heavy, a little noisy
"This aircon cools very well. It is a bit heavy and a bit noisy, but that is to be expected for a 14K BTU. One thing that disappointed me is the short Window panel. I really wish they would include a 3rd panel or have longer panels to cover larger windows. I had to buy and cut plexiglass to extend the panel to fit my window."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>