Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

Rustproof Aluminum Frame; Polycarbonate Roof
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
45 of 52(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Review 21 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson Cirty, NV
Date:May 5, 2011
Pros: looks great
Cons: careful not to scrach the surface
Model Number: LGFP0874
"Just like most of the reviews, this product was difficult to assemble. It took two guys that we hired, as we had read the previous reviews & knew it was going to be too hard for us. It took them six hours, nonstop to assemble. It looks great! Now we have to test it with the winds, that's our main concern."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carol Stream, IL
Date:May 4, 2011

Great Buy!

"Costco's online purchasing is great. They shipped it less than a week from ordering and I received it in a week from shipping. This sunshelter looks very classy. A well made product. The netting is thicker and heavier then I expected. It took 2 people, 10 hours to put together. We took our time thou. I suggust reading the instructions first. That made it easier to put together. I also suggest putting the whole thing together with tighting the screws by hand and then going back and use a tool to tighten all the screws. That helped everything fit together perfectly. There are no extra screws so be careful. I screwed it into a concrete patio and nothing will move this. It has down poured rain and not one leak. I've had it for a month. I would highly recommend this. I just love it! You never have to take it down for winter or replace a canvas top. Oh, one thing, post to post measures 8.7' x 10.8' not 10' x 12'. I wish I knew they were going to have the 12' x 14' available (they told me they only had the 10' x 12') I would have bought that one. My patio is 12' x 12'."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northport LI NY
Date:May 2, 2011

Napa Sunshelter Review

Pros: looks great, great price, very sturdy, dvd helpful
Model Number: 510 790
"I read all the reviews prior to assembly, so I was prepared for a struggle...
The DVD is really the key to a stress free assembly. In particular, the DVD tells you, well in advance, exactly when you should slide in 3 of the roof bolts. This is Extemely helpful when you get to the roof stabilizers. Fear Not! If you get stuck or have a question, simply stop what you're doing and review the DVD. It makes it so much easier. COTSCO is #1
"
Review 24 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 24, 2011

Very good purchase

Pros: quite strong
Cons: paper instructions. use dvd
Model Number: LGFP0874
"I just finished installing this gazebo, and after 12 hours, I am very pleased with it. The paper instructions are very hard to follow, so what I recommend is to watch the dvd and assemble it step by step as you're watching it. I watched the dvd after I finished setting it up, and regret not watching it before."
Review 25 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:April 17, 2011

Looks good, but difficult to put together.

Pros: ok price, looks good
Cons: difficulty to assemble is a 10, parts mislabeled, instructions very poor
"It looks nice once it is put together. Two persons are a must. Plan ALL DAY to put this together. It is NOT a 5 hour job. Have a cordless screwdriver to save you considerable amount of time. You should be somewhat mechanically inclined to put this Sunshelter together. Seeing how I just put it together, I will have to wait and see how it holds up to the elements."
Review 26 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:alabama
Date:March 22, 2011

Sun Shelter

"The product was a bit different than expected, in a better way. The roof is opaque plastic which allows you to see the sky and still be shaded. The assembly instructions are very poor. They only have pictures and no explanation of how to actually assemble the shelter. This caused it to take a couple of extra hours to assemble over their estimates. There must be 2 ways to assemble it, because after is is completed, there are many extra roof parts not used. All in all, it is a very good buy."
Review 27 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:March 20, 2011

Great

Pros: good looking
Cons: difficult to put together
"I love the Napa hardtop. Really wish it could have been 12x16. That would have been perfect. Instructions to put together are not good. Took 2 very handy men 6 hours to put together."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pico Rivera, CA.
Date:March 5, 2011

Very Nice vs. canvas

Model Number: 510790
"We purchased 2 of these. Took my husband 6hrs to put together. 2 roof panels were short, L1 & L. On both of them. He put them together in less then 2 days. Said the instructions were terrible. But the end result, very nice and $18,000. cheaper then a built in patio cover. We put them side by side. One over the hot tub and the other a sitting area. We may order another one."
Review 29 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fountain valley, Ca.
Date:November 19, 2010

great shelter,great product.

Pros: very attractive sun shelter
Model Number: 510790
"The sun shelter looks great and very easy to set up. [ 5 hours} Only problem was a set of damaged roof panels. Costco .com to the rescue. Also, being able to read blue print is great help for this installation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 10, 2010

Good Quality, Hard to Assemble

Pros: well made attractive
Cons: directions are bad
"The other ratings are right...the directions are awful, making it difficult to put together. Also a couple of screws were missing that I was unable to purchase at a hardware store. However, when I called the manufacturer, they quickly mailed me the missing screws plus extras for free. Once up though, I love it. It is waterproof and has a well supported roof of Polycarbonate, and the netting is way heavier than most. I think the quality is really excellent, and it is attractive as well. Glad we purchased it."
Review 31 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 29, 2010

Works in wet climates

Pros: nice looking, metal/plastic structure for long term performance, good value, light weight
Cons: poor instructions, poor packaging some plastic sheets damaged, 2 roof panels wrong size
Model Number: 510790
"I bought the sun shelter because it was metal frame with plastic sheets for the roof, thinking it should look good for years to come.
I just installed it and I am not disappointed. Just had one of those Houston downpours, and I am happy to say, no leaks! Thanks to the other postings, I was careful to put the roof panels in. The reinforcement bars helps to keep the panels water tight. No caulking is needed.
Did have the same challenges with the installation. Tip: buy a allen wrench bit for your cordless drill.
I installed a 32" TV to one of the posts. Attached with a arm i bought at Costco. So far, working great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Strong Island, NY
Date:August 29, 2010

Another room

Pros: looks great in the yard
Cons: could be a little bigger
"My neighbor said it best "this is like having another room. It looks great not like an overnight job." I agree, it is like another room, great quality. The family is really enjoying it, we put a fire pit right next to it and the smores are rolling out. I am now looking at the outdoor chimney that Costco carries and I am about to pull the trigger but the weather is about 80-90 so I will wait for a bit. NOW construction it is not for the person who glances at the manual and begins to construct (Me). The best advise I saw here was to build but always read ahead so you understand why the bolts go where they are. If you do this, it is not that difficult. It took me about two days on and off so about 8-10 hrs maybe less mostly by myself, the wife helped for a few minute to hold the post and roof bars while I bolt them down,....did not want the metal to start bending. Highly recommend it. Some people have complained about the condition of the product after shipment, I got lucky all the parts were good, but that could happen with any shipment. NOTE. Use common sense some parts are mislabeled. Anyway you can always return it to Costco. Great buy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010

Not as stated

"Be aware that the stated size on the web is misleading. The measurements are from the outside to outside and do not reflect the actual space covered by the shelter. The usable shelter space is about two feet less in both directions.
Also, the shipment arrived damaged, and it took over 5 weeksz with several calls to Costoc in order to get the replacement parts. The final call was get the parts and come and get the shelter. As others have stated, installation is hard and time consuming. After all that it does look nice.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 24, 2010

Terrible

Pros: costco returned it
Cons: everything
"If I could give this thing a 0 rating I would. Installation is a complete nighmare. I would have done better off throwing the instructions away and guessing at which parts went where. Then having to try and make the screws fit in holes drilled nowhere near where they should have been. And figuring out parts are missing 4 hours into the installation. And then being told that replacements parts wouldn't be here for 6 months. Glad I got this at Costco to return it without any problems. Maybe I just got a lemon at the wrong time. I am going to buy something made in USA."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 17, 2010

Nice product assembly a nightmare

Pros: it keeps the bugs out
Cons: assembly is brutal
"After 8 plus hours...my brother finally had this put together. He is a handy person and pretty much did it by himself. I helped a little. The package was missing about 4 screws. You would think that they would give you extra hardware. Some roof pieces were bent. The instructions were horrible. Other than that it is very nice."
Review 36 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverdale, WA
Date:August 12, 2010

Glad I got it

Model Number: 510790
"Recommend you read all reviews but take claims of just a few hours to assemble with a big grain of salt. The two contractor friends who built our new 1200 sq ft deck took 7 hours to assemble it.
The plastic roof panels are polarizing, so they do a good job of filtering the sun. I wonder whether a metal roofi would heat up the sitting area too much, but I'd like to have some additional cover to preserve that plastic.
We had two roof panels that were absolutely the wrong size; there is confusion with parts L and L1. They were on our parts list, but they were not referred to in the assembly instructions. The parts list shows them to be the same size, and they should be. If you have this problem, contact Costco.com immediately for help. It takes weeks to get replacements.
The item was only advertised as a SUN shelter, so I didn't expect it to be waterproof, but it nearly is--a pleasant surprise. We bought a patio furniture cover that covers our entire wicker set. That furniture is new, and we didn't want it to fade from the sides. The few leaked rain drops are not a problem to us.
We did bolt it to our deck because the Pacific Northwest gets some high winds during late Fall and most of the Winter. Rain does hit the deck and bounce into the shelter about two feet, so we are contemplating gutters for it.
With the furniture cover, we intend to use this shelter all year. Despite agreeing with the problems mentioned by other reviewers,we are really glad we got it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:North Haven, CT
Date:August 8, 2010

Good but not good enough...

Pros: nice shelter for the price, great price
Cons: roof is made of plastic
"I just purchased this online a couple of weeks ago and my dad and I put it up Friday afternoon. Took us about 4hrs. I read all the reviews and kept in mind some of the tips (3 sliding bolts instead of 2 for each of the roof supports). We found all the same issues that other users have mentioned. Basically, not manfactured well. But, the biggest problem I have is with the roof. I really thought it was a sheet metal roof and it's NOT. They had a similiar sunshelter in the Costco near my home(Milford, CT) which had a sheetmetal roof. This one has a plastic smokey clear type of rood. I found 2 of the panels to not fit well and it was a real pain to try to get them in the slots. You'd put one in and one would fall out. Because of the roof material and the reviews I read about it leaking I've decided to return this product. I don't want to deal with it leaking in the winter because I was planning on storing the outdoor furniture in it. I did read somewhere that they sell solid side panels for the shelter and there are 2 sets of tracks going around the shelter so there must be something out there for it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suffern, ny
Date:August 7, 2010

be aware of assembly requirements

Cons: complicated assembly
"very attractive, sturdy construction. loved the finished product. rich looking, good meshing to limit insects.
it took our contractor EIGHT hours to assemble the piece. dont be thinking that this is an evening project with your husband a a pitcher of cocktails. it is not."
Review 39 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 28, 2010

If you like a Challenge . . .

Pros: really nice once it's up
"This thing can actually be assembed by one person. I know because I did it, took about 7-8 hours, however some of that time was spent hunting up substitute hardware for what was short or defectively-machined nuts & bolts. (They wouldn't dare give you a few extra screws, etc. & the ones they do provide aren't well-machined, so the threads are a little squirrely.) As others have noted, the "Assembly Instructions" are little more than a few crude drawings. If you don't look ahead (especially for screw placement in the struts), you'll end up taking things apart to make corrections. It's sort of like a jig saw puzzle, so you have to study it before beginning. You also need the right tools. If you use that pathetic little allen wrench of course you'll spend much of the rest of your life doing it."
Review 40 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:July 28, 2010

A Good Shelter but.....

Pros: sutrdy and stable, hvy duty netting stands up to wind and weather
Cons: it leaked, medium to complex assembly
"The assembly was not to difficult but did take 10hrs (not 3 to 5 and we are fairly handy people), good thing it can stay up year round. The netting is hvy duty and works well, couldn't tell from the inital pic. that it was going to have a semi transparent top, but it works well enough. The one real complaint I have is IT LEAKED! First heavy rain and we had water dripping inside the shelter on our table. I had to take apart a roof section and caulk the top 6 pop-rivets to prevent any more water from comming in. That seemed to do the trick but is a design flaw to be sure. Do yourself a favor and seal the very top piece fisrt.
After that fix we have been enjoying it every warm evening for dinners and relaxing.
"
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>