Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

Rustproof Aluminum Frame; Polycarbonate Roof
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
45 of 52(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Review 21 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Date:April 14, 2010

Glad we bought it!

Pros: keeps the bugs out
Cons: no gutters rain will splash wherever.
"The other reviewer is correct in saying that it takes at least two people, we had four. It helps if one or two is carpenter/mechanical type. Read the instructions VERY CAREFULLY and be sure to anchor it securely. We love it, our table with 6 chairs fits very nicely.
It does tend to get warm under it, if it's a hot day with no breeze, but in the northwest how often does that happen.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Cajon, CA
Date:June 28, 2011

Great Product, but.....

"Ok I read the reviews and knew I was in for a fight. It shipped as promised and to my surprise they delivered to the backyard.
I was able to assemble the posts and cross members before my helper arrived. The whole support structure went together fairly easy, the roof was where the fun begins. Those panels just didn’t fit. It would have been nice to have that “before mentioned DVD”. After six hours in the hot Southern California sun, it finally came together. We used tie down straps to pull the post together so we could close the roof panel gaps. We also disassembled the roof support members to allow for a greater adjustment.
If I had it to do over again, I hire two pro’s and watch from the shade of cabana. It looks great. About eight total hours to assemble including drilling into a paver patio.
"
Review 23 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 28, 2010

If you like a Challenge . . .

Pros: really nice once it's up
"This thing can actually be assembed by one person. I know because I did it, took about 7-8 hours, however some of that time was spent hunting up substitute hardware for what was short or defectively-machined nuts & bolts. (They wouldn't dare give you a few extra screws, etc. & the ones they do provide aren't well-machined, so the threads are a little squirrely.) As others have noted, the "Assembly Instructions" are little more than a few crude drawings. If you don't look ahead (especially for screw placement in the struts), you'll end up taking things apart to make corrections. It's sort of like a jig saw puzzle, so you have to study it before beginning. You also need the right tools. If you use that pathetic little allen wrench of course you'll spend much of the rest of your life doing it."
Review 24 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fountain valley, Ca.
Date:November 19, 2010

great shelter,great product.

Pros: very attractive sun shelter
Model Number: 510790
"The sun shelter looks great and very easy to set up. [ 5 hours} Only problem was a set of damaged roof panels. Costco .com to the rescue. Also, being able to read blue print is great help for this installation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:May 9, 2011

Love the sun shade

"Holy smokes! It took my son and I seven hours to assemble this sun shade. WATCH the DVD all the way through once and then watch each step as you build the shade. Without the DVD, you are doomed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:March 20, 2011

Great

Pros: good looking
Cons: difficult to put together
"I love the Napa hardtop. Really wish it could have been 12x16. That would have been perfect. Instructions to put together are not good. Took 2 very handy men 6 hours to put together."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 8, 2011

Excellend

Pros: see my notes
Cons: none so far ...still being tested
"Bought it from Costco in Plano Texas due to four reasons, one for extreme heat we have in Texas which will block UV, can be bolted down in concrete for stability due to high wind in Texas, can have outdoor curtain hooked up for privacy and bugs repelling, and finally it adds so much elegant look to your backyard. Took me 10 hours in three days (you need a wireless drill for fast job). Everyday I worked on something different until it is completed. Let me tell ya, that this product adds magnificent look to backyard - I am to test if it drip any water through it!!!! anyone tested yet? I have not bolted it down yet in concreate, because I am not sure what screws to use (tapcon 2 or 4 inches? or other type) if 4 inches were used I may hit a steel rod in concrete ) any ideas?"
Review 28 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 30, 2011

Love it !!!

Pros: excelent for long time use won't rot away.
Cons: a little hard on the instruction manual, needs to have a little more specific details.
Model Number: NAPA 10' x 12' Hardtop Sun Shelter 510790
"Awsome, took a while to build by my self and a little hand here and there from my wife and 9 year old son, but overall we all love it, no more throwing away ripped soft cloth material top gazebo covers and looks great too. One only detail is on the instruction manual there are to parts that the number parts are reversed located on the top portion horizontals between the panels and frame, the corner ones , I do not have the part #'s handy but I remember it has a letter and a number 1, 2 & 3 and the part 1 should be a 2 and viseversa, the 3 is ok, watch out for that and another is we were short on some of the screws but I bought some at the local hardware store, very similar and took care of that. The instruction manual should be a little more user friendly"
Review 29 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:June 15, 2011

Great shelter

Pros: very sharp looking shelter
Cons: time consuming to assemble
"As others have reported, this isn't a simple installation but the results are terrific. Good looking, water tight, and functional. Be aware that the dimensions are rounded up, it's not an actual 10' X 12' covered space.
Don't try to assemble this thing if you don't have some mechanical ability and patience. We had problems with some of the weatherstripping sliding out of place when we inserted the panels. Some blue tape helped hold then until the panels were seated. The parts all fit well. Using drift pins to align components really helped. As someone else reported, if you have to use a great deal of force you may be doing something wrong.
As far as two people taking 5 hours to assemble, maybe after you have done one."
Review 30 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:July 28, 2010

A Good Shelter but.....

Pros: sutrdy and stable, hvy duty netting stands up to wind and weather
Cons: it leaked, medium to complex assembly
"The assembly was not to difficult but did take 10hrs (not 3 to 5 and we are fairly handy people), good thing it can stay up year round. The netting is hvy duty and works well, couldn't tell from the inital pic. that it was going to have a semi transparent top, but it works well enough. The one real complaint I have is IT LEAKED! First heavy rain and we had water dripping inside the shelter on our table. I had to take apart a roof section and caulk the top 6 pop-rivets to prevent any more water from comming in. That seemed to do the trick but is a design flaw to be sure. Do yourself a favor and seal the very top piece fisrt.
After that fix we have been enjoying it every warm evening for dinners and relaxing.
"
Review 31 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 24, 2010

Terrible

Pros: costco returned it
Cons: everything
"If I could give this thing a 0 rating I would. Installation is a complete nighmare. I would have done better off throwing the instructions away and guessing at which parts went where. Then having to try and make the screws fit in holes drilled nowhere near where they should have been. And figuring out parts are missing 4 hours into the installation. And then being told that replacements parts wouldn't be here for 6 months. Glad I got this at Costco to return it without any problems. Maybe I just got a lemon at the wrong time. I am going to buy something made in USA."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2010

Great Purchase

"Love it, it is very study. Me and the husband put it up in about 2 hours, but hubby is pretty mechanically inclined.
Very Windy at our place and it has stood up well. Downside..would like to order the fabric covering for it, but can't find it anywhere. Costco should stick this since they sold it.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010

Not as stated

"Be aware that the stated size on the web is misleading. The measurements are from the outside to outside and do not reflect the actual space covered by the shelter. The usable shelter space is about two feet less in both directions.
Also, the shipment arrived damaged, and it took over 5 weeksz with several calls to Costoc in order to get the replacement parts. The final call was get the parts and come and get the shelter. As others have stated, installation is hard and time consuming. After all that it does look nice.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver, PA
Date:July 19, 2010

Love the Sun Shelter

Pros: very well built, attractive, unique
Cons: unclear instructions
Model Number: Napa Hardtop Sun Shelter
"The Sun Shelter looks fantastic next to our pool and we love it! It was quite difficult to put together, however we had previously read all the reviews before ordering the product so we were not surprised. With the help of 2 tall friends and a couple of ladders we were able to get it all together in about 6 hours. The directions were very unclear and we would suggest reading through them completely before beginning assembly of the shelter. All in all, the shelter is very well worth the tedious construction process!"
Review 35 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 10, 2010

Good Quality, Hard to Assemble

Pros: well made attractive
Cons: directions are bad
"The other ratings are right...the directions are awful, making it difficult to put together. Also a couple of screws were missing that I was unable to purchase at a hardware store. However, when I called the manufacturer, they quickly mailed me the missing screws plus extras for free. Once up though, I love it. It is waterproof and has a well supported roof of Polycarbonate, and the netting is way heavier than most. I think the quality is really excellent, and it is attractive as well. Glad we purchased it."
Review 36 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:alabama
Date:March 22, 2011

Sun Shelter

"The product was a bit different than expected, in a better way. The roof is opaque plastic which allows you to see the sky and still be shaded. The assembly instructions are very poor. They only have pictures and no explanation of how to actually assemble the shelter. This caused it to take a couple of extra hours to assemble over their estimates. There must be 2 ways to assemble it, because after is is completed, there are many extra roof parts not used. All in all, it is a very good buy."
Review 37 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:June 18, 2011

Love it

"It arrived in two boxes, some dents in box, but the legs were dented where there were no dents..
Better instructions would be nice, but I was able to do it without to much effort.
There is one small leak... Right on the center screw that holds the top plate to the top plate... Seal it before you install panels, cause afterwards it will be impossible to get to.
I want the curtains now, the screening is nice, but i want to enclose it."
Review 38 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northport LI NY
Date:May 2, 2011

Napa Sunshelter Review

Pros: looks great, great price, very sturdy, dvd helpful
Model Number: 510 790
"I read all the reviews prior to assembly, so I was prepared for a struggle...
The DVD is really the key to a stress free assembly. In particular, the DVD tells you, well in advance, exactly when you should slide in 3 of the roof bolts. This is Extemely helpful when you get to the roof stabilizers. Fear Not! If you get stuck or have a question, simply stop what you're doing and review the DVD. It makes it so much easier. COTSCO is #1
"
Review 39 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:June 20, 2011

difficult assembly

"ok. It took more than 5 weeks to ship to me so I was already not happy before I got it. Then no DVD was included to help with the assembly. And the assembly was not easy. Directions were pitiful. Took 4 of us 6 hours to assemble and a case of beer. ..trust me , your gonna need beer....it does look nice however after we figured it out. we had to regress about 6 times during the construction because the directions were so bad."
Review 40 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pico Rivera, CA.
Date:March 5, 2011

Very Nice vs. canvas

Model Number: 510790
"We purchased 2 of these. Took my husband 6hrs to put together. 2 roof panels were short, L1 & L. On both of them. He put them together in less then 2 days. Said the instructions were terrible. But the end result, very nice and $18,000. cheaper then a built in patio cover. We put them side by side. One over the hot tub and the other a sitting area. We may order another one."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>