Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

Rustproof Aluminum Frame; Polycarbonate Roof
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
45 of 52(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Review 21 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roseville Ca
Date:June 1, 2010

Great product - poor assembly instructions

Pros: nice looking great shelter
Cons: needs better instructions
"As the other reviewers have commented on, the instructions are very poor. I have good to above average mechanical ablity, and had my neighbor who assembles partions for a living help me, and it still took us 7 hours !!
The instructions are vague, and do not provide good indications of the final set up in the pre assembly which in turn has you taking things apart, after you've assembled them.
Once set up, great gazebo, was worried about the panels on the roof being clear, but they are tinted and reflect a good portion of the sun. Ours is anchored and will be used for years to come"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 24, 2010

Terrible

Pros: costco returned it
Cons: everything
"If I could give this thing a 0 rating I would. Installation is a complete nighmare. I would have done better off throwing the instructions away and guessing at which parts went where. Then having to try and make the screws fit in holes drilled nowhere near where they should have been. And figuring out parts are missing 4 hours into the installation. And then being told that replacements parts wouldn't be here for 6 months. Glad I got this at Costco to return it without any problems. Maybe I just got a lemon at the wrong time. I am going to buy something made in USA."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010

Not as stated

"Be aware that the stated size on the web is misleading. The measurements are from the outside to outside and do not reflect the actual space covered by the shelter. The usable shelter space is about two feet less in both directions.
Also, the shipment arrived damaged, and it took over 5 weeksz with several calls to Costoc in order to get the replacement parts. The final call was get the parts and come and get the shelter. As others have stated, installation is hard and time consuming. After all that it does look nice.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver, PA
Date:July 19, 2010

Love the Sun Shelter

Pros: very well built, attractive, unique
Cons: unclear instructions
Model Number: Napa Hardtop Sun Shelter
"The Sun Shelter looks fantastic next to our pool and we love it! It was quite difficult to put together, however we had previously read all the reviews before ordering the product so we were not surprised. With the help of 2 tall friends and a couple of ladders we were able to get it all together in about 6 hours. The directions were very unclear and we would suggest reading through them completely before beginning assembly of the shelter. All in all, the shelter is very well worth the tedious construction process!"
Review 25 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 10, 2010

Good Quality, Hard to Assemble

Pros: well made attractive
Cons: directions are bad
"The other ratings are right...the directions are awful, making it difficult to put together. Also a couple of screws were missing that I was unable to purchase at a hardware store. However, when I called the manufacturer, they quickly mailed me the missing screws plus extras for free. Once up though, I love it. It is waterproof and has a well supported roof of Polycarbonate, and the netting is way heavier than most. I think the quality is really excellent, and it is attractive as well. Glad we purchased it."
Review 26 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norh Carolina
Date:July 19, 2010

Nightmare Construction

Pros: beautiful and sturdy
Cons: nightmare installation, parts missing and/or damaged
Model Number: Item# 510790
"This gazebo is beautiful and very sturdy.
Putting it together is a nightmare. Over the weekend, it took at least 20 hours to get it up, not counting the mosquito netting. Parts are mislabeled. Instructions are vague. Screws and bolts are missing. Requires extremely precise construction and even then, some parts are not accurate for installation. It can never be taken down because you will never get it back up. I never would have purchased had I known how impossible it would be to put together.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:alabama
Date:March 22, 2011

Sun Shelter

"The product was a bit different than expected, in a better way. The roof is opaque plastic which allows you to see the sky and still be shaded. The assembly instructions are very poor. They only have pictures and no explanation of how to actually assemble the shelter. This caused it to take a couple of extra hours to assemble over their estimates. There must be 2 ways to assemble it, because after is is completed, there are many extra roof parts not used. All in all, it is a very good buy."
Review 28 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:June 18, 2011

Love it

"It arrived in two boxes, some dents in box, but the legs were dented where there were no dents..
Better instructions would be nice, but I was able to do it without to much effort.
There is one small leak... Right on the center screw that holds the top plate to the top plate... Seal it before you install panels, cause afterwards it will be impossible to get to.
I want the curtains now, the screening is nice, but i want to enclose it."
Review 29 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northport LI NY
Date:May 2, 2011

Napa Sunshelter Review

Pros: looks great, great price, very sturdy, dvd helpful
Model Number: 510 790
"I read all the reviews prior to assembly, so I was prepared for a struggle...
The DVD is really the key to a stress free assembly. In particular, the DVD tells you, well in advance, exactly when you should slide in 3 of the roof bolts. This is Extemely helpful when you get to the roof stabilizers. Fear Not! If you get stuck or have a question, simply stop what you're doing and review the DVD. It makes it so much easier. COTSCO is #1
"
Review 30 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:June 20, 2011

difficult assembly

"ok. It took more than 5 weeks to ship to me so I was already not happy before I got it. Then no DVD was included to help with the assembly. And the assembly was not easy. Directions were pitiful. Took 4 of us 6 hours to assemble and a case of beer. ..trust me , your gonna need beer....it does look nice however after we figured it out. we had to regress about 6 times during the construction because the directions were so bad."
Review 31 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Date:April 14, 2010

Glad we bought it!

Pros: keeps the bugs out
Cons: no gutters rain will splash wherever.
"The other reviewer is correct in saying that it takes at least two people, we had four. It helps if one or two is carpenter/mechanical type. Read the instructions VERY CAREFULLY and be sure to anchor it securely. We love it, our table with 6 chairs fits very nicely.
It does tend to get warm under it, if it's a hot day with no breeze, but in the northwest how often does that happen.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:April 13, 2012

Really nice gazebo - BUT

Model Number: 640251
"I bought this gazebo for my son's new house. We were able to build it with no issues and it is very nice. However, the panels did not hold up to a hail storm we had recently and all panels were riddled with holes and ruined. If you live in an area that never gets hail it will probably be a great investment, If you get any hail though, you may want to consider a different unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pico Rivera, CA.
Date:March 5, 2011

Very Nice vs. canvas

Model Number: 510790
"We purchased 2 of these. Took my husband 6hrs to put together. 2 roof panels were short, L1 & L. On both of them. He put them together in less then 2 days. Said the instructions were terrible. But the end result, very nice and $18,000. cheaper then a built in patio cover. We put them side by side. One over the hot tub and the other a sitting area. We may order another one."
Review 34 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Retired Hiqhway Mtce. from Caltrans, in Oregon
Date:June 16, 2011

Excelent Unit

Model Number: Napa 10 X 12 Hardtop
"Excellent quality, packaged very well. The instructions were a bit confusing and could have shown more detail. Some of my parts were not labled correctly but it was easy to figure out where they should go. It would have helped to have a foot print layout/instructions in order to set the posts first. Had to assemble three and then set it in place to square and plumb it."
Review 35 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:April 17, 2011

Looks good, but difficult to put together.

Pros: ok price, looks good
Cons: difficulty to assemble is a 10, parts mislabeled, instructions very poor
"It looks nice once it is put together. Two persons are a must. Plan ALL DAY to put this together. It is NOT a 5 hour job. Have a cordless screwdriver to save you considerable amount of time. You should be somewhat mechanically inclined to put this Sunshelter together. Seeing how I just put it together, I will have to wait and see how it holds up to the elements."
Review 36 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:April 12, 2010

Great Product-Difficult assembly

Pros: a great gazebe/sun shelter
Cons: again takes skill and time for construction.
Model Number: SONOMA 10X12
"Instructions are confusing -parts numbers are different.Make sure and download instructions from the net.
I thought I could assemble most anything
but this was very difficult, even to the point of asking a friend of mine for help(He is a licensed contrator) You MUST have another person to help!!!
Took us a day and a half, with prayer!
Best of success!
Bob
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, Cal.
Date:June 20, 2011

Beautiful

Pros: looks good and is sturdy.
Cons: instructions are vague., not designed for an easy afternoon.
"I read all the previous reviews so I had an idea what to expect. I put an outdoor sealant on the rivets on the top cap prior to assembly. I didn't take the pictures in the instructions literally and I didn't try to complete it in one day. I did the entire assembly by myself in about 13 hours over five days. It was a challenge but worth it."
Review 38 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 17, 2010

Nice product assembly a nightmare

Pros: it keeps the bugs out
Cons: assembly is brutal
"After 8 plus hours...my brother finally had this put together. He is a handy person and pretty much did it by himself. I helped a little. The package was missing about 4 screws. You would think that they would give you extra hardware. Some roof pieces were bent. The instructions were horrible. Other than that it is very nice."
Review 39 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago area
Date:June 18, 2010

Sun Shelter

Pros: beautiful looks expensive sturdy, feels like a cabana
Cons: difficult and time consuming to assemble., missing screws necessary to assemble
"Took forever to get after ordering. Assembly difficult, instructions are poor, screws were missing, and parts miss marked. Otherwise, we love it. The netting is thick and drapes nicely.
Very beautiful when completed. Reminds me of a cabana. Sets a tropical mood. Worth the effort to put up. Fortunately, it stays up year round.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 24, 2011

Very good purchase

Pros: quite strong
Cons: paper instructions. use dvd
Model Number: LGFP0874
"I just finished installing this gazebo, and after 12 hours, I am very pleased with it. The paper instructions are very hard to follow, so what I recommend is to watch the dvd and assemble it step by step as you're watching it. I watched the dvd after I finished setting it up, and regret not watching it before."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>