Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

Rustproof Aluminum Frame; Polycarbonate Roof
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
45 of 52(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Review 21 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:April 13, 2012

Really nice gazebo - BUT

Model Number: 640251
"I bought this gazebo for my son's new house. We were able to build it with no issues and it is very nice. However, the panels did not hold up to a hail storm we had recently and all panels were riddled with holes and ruined. If you live in an area that never gets hail it will probably be a great investment, If you get any hail though, you may want to consider a different unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Date:April 14, 2010

Glad we bought it!

Pros: keeps the bugs out
Cons: no gutters rain will splash wherever.
"The other reviewer is correct in saying that it takes at least two people, we had four. It helps if one or two is carpenter/mechanical type. Read the instructions VERY CAREFULLY and be sure to anchor it securely. We love it, our table with 6 chairs fits very nicely.
It does tend to get warm under it, if it's a hot day with no breeze, but in the northwest how often does that happen.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:June 20, 2011

difficult assembly

"ok. It took more than 5 weeks to ship to me so I was already not happy before I got it. Then no DVD was included to help with the assembly. And the assembly was not easy. Directions were pitiful. Took 4 of us 6 hours to assemble and a case of beer. ..trust me , your gonna need beer....it does look nice however after we figured it out. we had to regress about 6 times during the construction because the directions were so bad."
Review 24 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northport LI NY
Date:May 2, 2011

Napa Sunshelter Review

Pros: looks great, great price, very sturdy, dvd helpful
Model Number: 510 790
"I read all the reviews prior to assembly, so I was prepared for a struggle...
The DVD is really the key to a stress free assembly. In particular, the DVD tells you, well in advance, exactly when you should slide in 3 of the roof bolts. This is Extemely helpful when you get to the roof stabilizers. Fear Not! If you get stuck or have a question, simply stop what you're doing and review the DVD. It makes it so much easier. COTSCO is #1
"
Review 25 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:June 18, 2011

Love it

"It arrived in two boxes, some dents in box, but the legs were dented where there were no dents..
Better instructions would be nice, but I was able to do it without to much effort.
There is one small leak... Right on the center screw that holds the top plate to the top plate... Seal it before you install panels, cause afterwards it will be impossible to get to.
I want the curtains now, the screening is nice, but i want to enclose it."
Review 26 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:alabama
Date:March 22, 2011

Sun Shelter

"The product was a bit different than expected, in a better way. The roof is opaque plastic which allows you to see the sky and still be shaded. The assembly instructions are very poor. They only have pictures and no explanation of how to actually assemble the shelter. This caused it to take a couple of extra hours to assemble over their estimates. There must be 2 ways to assemble it, because after is is completed, there are many extra roof parts not used. All in all, it is a very good buy."
Review 27 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norh Carolina
Date:July 19, 2010

Nightmare Construction

Pros: beautiful and sturdy
Cons: nightmare installation, parts missing and/or damaged
Model Number: Item# 510790
"This gazebo is beautiful and very sturdy.
Putting it together is a nightmare. Over the weekend, it took at least 20 hours to get it up, not counting the mosquito netting. Parts are mislabeled. Instructions are vague. Screws and bolts are missing. Requires extremely precise construction and even then, some parts are not accurate for installation. It can never be taken down because you will never get it back up. I never would have purchased had I known how impossible it would be to put together.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 10, 2010

Good Quality, Hard to Assemble

Pros: well made attractive
Cons: directions are bad
"The other ratings are right...the directions are awful, making it difficult to put together. Also a couple of screws were missing that I was unable to purchase at a hardware store. However, when I called the manufacturer, they quickly mailed me the missing screws plus extras for free. Once up though, I love it. It is waterproof and has a well supported roof of Polycarbonate, and the netting is way heavier than most. I think the quality is really excellent, and it is attractive as well. Glad we purchased it."
Review 29 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver, PA
Date:July 19, 2010

Love the Sun Shelter

Pros: very well built, attractive, unique
Cons: unclear instructions
Model Number: Napa Hardtop Sun Shelter
"The Sun Shelter looks fantastic next to our pool and we love it! It was quite difficult to put together, however we had previously read all the reviews before ordering the product so we were not surprised. With the help of 2 tall friends and a couple of ladders we were able to get it all together in about 6 hours. The directions were very unclear and we would suggest reading through them completely before beginning assembly of the shelter. All in all, the shelter is very well worth the tedious construction process!"
Review 30 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010

Not as stated

"Be aware that the stated size on the web is misleading. The measurements are from the outside to outside and do not reflect the actual space covered by the shelter. The usable shelter space is about two feet less in both directions.
Also, the shipment arrived damaged, and it took over 5 weeksz with several calls to Costoc in order to get the replacement parts. The final call was get the parts and come and get the shelter. As others have stated, installation is hard and time consuming. After all that it does look nice.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 24, 2010

Terrible

Pros: costco returned it
Cons: everything
"If I could give this thing a 0 rating I would. Installation is a complete nighmare. I would have done better off throwing the instructions away and guessing at which parts went where. Then having to try and make the screws fit in holes drilled nowhere near where they should have been. And figuring out parts are missing 4 hours into the installation. And then being told that replacements parts wouldn't be here for 6 months. Glad I got this at Costco to return it without any problems. Maybe I just got a lemon at the wrong time. I am going to buy something made in USA."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Roseville Ca
Date:June 1, 2010

Great product - poor assembly instructions

Pros: nice looking great shelter
Cons: needs better instructions
"As the other reviewers have commented on, the instructions are very poor. I have good to above average mechanical ablity, and had my neighbor who assembles partions for a living help me, and it still took us 7 hours !!
The instructions are vague, and do not provide good indications of the final set up in the pre assembly which in turn has you taking things apart, after you've assembled them.
Once set up, great gazebo, was worried about the panels on the roof being clear, but they are tinted and reflect a good portion of the sun. Ours is anchored and will be used for years to come"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 29, 2010

Works in wet climates

Pros: nice looking, metal/plastic structure for long term performance, good value, light weight
Cons: poor instructions, poor packaging some plastic sheets damaged, 2 roof panels wrong size
Model Number: 510790
"I bought the sun shelter because it was metal frame with plastic sheets for the roof, thinking it should look good for years to come.
I just installed it and I am not disappointed. Just had one of those Houston downpours, and I am happy to say, no leaks! Thanks to the other postings, I was careful to put the roof panels in. The reinforcement bars helps to keep the panels water tight. No caulking is needed.
Did have the same challenges with the installation. Tip: buy a allen wrench bit for your cordless drill.
I installed a 32" TV to one of the posts. Attached with a arm i bought at Costco. So far, working great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:July 28, 2010

A Good Shelter but.....

Pros: sutrdy and stable, hvy duty netting stands up to wind and weather
Cons: it leaked, medium to complex assembly
"The assembly was not to difficult but did take 10hrs (not 3 to 5 and we are fairly handy people), good thing it can stay up year round. The netting is hvy duty and works well, couldn't tell from the inital pic. that it was going to have a semi transparent top, but it works well enough. The one real complaint I have is IT LEAKED! First heavy rain and we had water dripping inside the shelter on our table. I had to take apart a roof section and caulk the top 6 pop-rivets to prevent any more water from comming in. That seemed to do the trick but is a design flaw to be sure. Do yourself a favor and seal the very top piece fisrt.
After that fix we have been enjoying it every warm evening for dinners and relaxing.
"
Review 35 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:June 15, 2011

Great shelter

Pros: very sharp looking shelter
Cons: time consuming to assemble
"As others have reported, this isn't a simple installation but the results are terrific. Good looking, water tight, and functional. Be aware that the dimensions are rounded up, it's not an actual 10' X 12' covered space.
Don't try to assemble this thing if you don't have some mechanical ability and patience. We had problems with some of the weatherstripping sliding out of place when we inserted the panels. Some blue tape helped hold then until the panels were seated. The parts all fit well. Using drift pins to align components really helped. As someone else reported, if you have to use a great deal of force you may be doing something wrong.
As far as two people taking 5 hours to assemble, maybe after you have done one."
Review 36 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:June 9, 2010

Great Purchase

Pros: strong structure, great shade option
"This product is Fabulous. We looked at all types of canopy/gazebo/pegola options for our back patio and this is by far the best we could find. The instructions weren't as bad as I was expecting based on previous reviews. But there were a few times when we had to really think about how the structure was put together. We even went a few steps ahead to make sure we were putting screws in the right place. My brother and I put it together in 4 hours. The instructions say to plan on taking 5.5. The day after we put up the canopy, there was an unexpected snow storm that dumped about 3 inches on the roof. It held up like a champ. No leaks or anything. I would highly recommend this item to anybody who doesn't want to buy a new structure or fabric top every year."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 30, 2011

Love it !!!

Pros: excelent for long time use won't rot away.
Cons: a little hard on the instruction manual, needs to have a little more specific details.
Model Number: NAPA 10' x 12' Hardtop Sun Shelter 510790
"Awsome, took a while to build by my self and a little hand here and there from my wife and 9 year old son, but overall we all love it, no more throwing away ripped soft cloth material top gazebo covers and looks great too. One only detail is on the instruction manual there are to parts that the number parts are reversed located on the top portion horizontals between the panels and frame, the corner ones , I do not have the part #'s handy but I remember it has a letter and a number 1, 2 & 3 and the part 1 should be a 2 and viseversa, the 3 is ok, watch out for that and another is we were short on some of the screws but I bought some at the local hardware store, very similar and took care of that. The instruction manual should be a little more user friendly"
Review 38 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Payson, Az
Date:May 24, 2011

Great Sun Shelter!

Pros: lightweight, looks great, well built
Cons: assembly time
"We put this sun shelter on our mountainside deck which is South facing and was always hot and sunny. The winds destroyed three umbrellas over the past two years and we almost gave up trying to find something that would stand up to the elements and not blow away. This shelter did the trick! After assembly (12+hours) and bolting it to the deck with 4" lag screws, we are now enjoying shade on sunny days and we can even sit outside during a rainstorm and not get wet. If you can find someone who knows his way around a toolbox to help you, you can both work on different sections and the installation will go twice as fast. Don't take the film off the translucent roof sections until you are ready to install them or you will not know which side faces the sun for UV protection."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 8, 2011

Excellend

Pros: see my notes
Cons: none so far ...still being tested
"Bought it from Costco in Plano Texas due to four reasons, one for extreme heat we have in Texas which will block UV, can be bolted down in concrete for stability due to high wind in Texas, can have outdoor curtain hooked up for privacy and bugs repelling, and finally it adds so much elegant look to your backyard. Took me 10 hours in three days (you need a wireless drill for fast job). Everyday I worked on something different until it is completed. Let me tell ya, that this product adds magnificent look to backyard - I am to test if it drip any water through it!!!! anyone tested yet? I have not bolted it down yet in concreate, because I am not sure what screws to use (tapcon 2 or 4 inches? or other type) if 4 inches were used I may hit a steel rod in concrete ) any ideas?"
Review 40 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 28, 2010

If you like a Challenge . . .

Pros: really nice once it's up
"This thing can actually be assembed by one person. I know because I did it, took about 7-8 hours, however some of that time was spent hunting up substitute hardware for what was short or defectively-machined nuts & bolts. (They wouldn't dare give you a few extra screws, etc. & the ones they do provide aren't well-machined, so the threads are a little squirrely.) As others have noted, the "Assembly Instructions" are little more than a few crude drawings. If you don't look ahead (especially for screw placement in the struts), you'll end up taking things apart to make corrections. It's sort of like a jig saw puzzle, so you have to study it before beginning. You also need the right tools. If you use that pathetic little allen wrench of course you'll spend much of the rest of your life doing it."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>