Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter

Rustproof Aluminum Frame; Polycarbonate Roof
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
45 of 52(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Review 1 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 17, 2010

Nice product assembly a nightmare

Pros: it keeps the bugs out
Cons: assembly is brutal
"After 8 plus hours...my brother finally had this put together. He is a handy person and pretty much did it by himself. I helped a little. The package was missing about 4 screws. You would think that they would give you extra hardware. Some roof pieces were bent. The instructions were horrible. Other than that it is very nice."
Review 2 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver, PA
Date:July 19, 2010

Love the Sun Shelter

Pros: very well built, attractive, unique
Cons: unclear instructions
Model Number: Napa Hardtop Sun Shelter
"The Sun Shelter looks fantastic next to our pool and we love it! It was quite difficult to put together, however we had previously read all the reviews before ordering the product so we were not surprised. With the help of 2 tall friends and a couple of ladders we were able to get it all together in about 6 hours. The directions were very unclear and we would suggest reading through them completely before beginning assembly of the shelter. All in all, the shelter is very well worth the tedious construction process!"
Review 3 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:June 15, 2011

Great shelter

Pros: very sharp looking shelter
Cons: time consuming to assemble
"As others have reported, this isn't a simple installation but the results are terrific. Good looking, water tight, and functional. Be aware that the dimensions are rounded up, it's not an actual 10' X 12' covered space.
Don't try to assemble this thing if you don't have some mechanical ability and patience. We had problems with some of the weatherstripping sliding out of place when we inserted the panels. Some blue tape helped hold then until the panels were seated. The parts all fit well. Using drift pins to align components really helped. As someone else reported, if you have to use a great deal of force you may be doing something wrong.
As far as two people taking 5 hours to assemble, maybe after you have done one."
Review 4 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:July 28, 2010

A Good Shelter but.....

Pros: sutrdy and stable, hvy duty netting stands up to wind and weather
Cons: it leaked, medium to complex assembly
"The assembly was not to difficult but did take 10hrs (not 3 to 5 and we are fairly handy people), good thing it can stay up year round. The netting is hvy duty and works well, couldn't tell from the inital pic. that it was going to have a semi transparent top, but it works well enough. The one real complaint I have is IT LEAKED! First heavy rain and we had water dripping inside the shelter on our table. I had to take apart a roof section and caulk the top 6 pop-rivets to prevent any more water from comming in. That seemed to do the trick but is a design flaw to be sure. Do yourself a favor and seal the very top piece fisrt.
After that fix we have been enjoying it every warm evening for dinners and relaxing.
"
Review 5 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suffern, ny
Date:August 7, 2010

be aware of assembly requirements

Cons: complicated assembly
"very attractive, sturdy construction. loved the finished product. rich looking, good meshing to limit insects.
it took our contractor EIGHT hours to assemble the piece. dont be thinking that this is an evening project with your husband a a pitcher of cocktails. it is not."
Review 6 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 10, 2010

Good Quality, Hard to Assemble

Pros: well made attractive
Cons: directions are bad
"The other ratings are right...the directions are awful, making it difficult to put together. Also a couple of screws were missing that I was unable to purchase at a hardware store. However, when I called the manufacturer, they quickly mailed me the missing screws plus extras for free. Once up though, I love it. It is waterproof and has a well supported roof of Polycarbonate, and the netting is way heavier than most. I think the quality is really excellent, and it is attractive as well. Glad we purchased it."
Review 7 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 28, 2010

If you like a Challenge . . .

Pros: really nice once it's up
"This thing can actually be assembed by one person. I know because I did it, took about 7-8 hours, however some of that time was spent hunting up substitute hardware for what was short or defectively-machined nuts & bolts. (They wouldn't dare give you a few extra screws, etc. & the ones they do provide aren't well-machined, so the threads are a little squirrely.) As others have noted, the "Assembly Instructions" are little more than a few crude drawings. If you don't look ahead (especially for screw placement in the struts), you'll end up taking things apart to make corrections. It's sort of like a jig saw puzzle, so you have to study it before beginning. You also need the right tools. If you use that pathetic little allen wrench of course you'll spend much of the rest of your life doing it."
Review 8 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:July 19, 2010

Sunshelter

Pros: great design and stylish looking shelter
Cons: took way too long to assemble (9 hours)
"This sunshelter was an excellent purchase. It looks great and can stay up all year round. Interior is smaller than 10x12 (roof size)."
Review 9 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:June 20, 2011

difficult assembly

"ok. It took more than 5 weeks to ship to me so I was already not happy before I got it. Then no DVD was included to help with the assembly. And the assembly was not easy. Directions were pitiful. Took 4 of us 6 hours to assemble and a case of beer. ..trust me , your gonna need beer....it does look nice however after we figured it out. we had to regress about 6 times during the construction because the directions were so bad."
Review 10 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Cajon, CA
Date:June 28, 2011

Great Product, but.....

"Ok I read the reviews and knew I was in for a fight. It shipped as promised and to my surprise they delivered to the backyard.
I was able to assemble the posts and cross members before my helper arrived. The whole support structure went together fairly easy, the roof was where the fun begins. Those panels just didn’t fit. It would have been nice to have that “before mentioned DVD”. After six hours in the hot Southern California sun, it finally came together. We used tie down straps to pull the post together so we could close the roof panel gaps. We also disassembled the roof support members to allow for a greater adjustment.
If I had it to do over again, I hire two pro’s and watch from the shade of cabana. It looks great. About eight total hours to assemble including drilling into a paver patio.
"
Review 11 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 30, 2011

Love it !!!

Pros: excelent for long time use won't rot away.
Cons: a little hard on the instruction manual, needs to have a little more specific details.
Model Number: NAPA 10' x 12' Hardtop Sun Shelter 510790
"Awsome, took a while to build by my self and a little hand here and there from my wife and 9 year old son, but overall we all love it, no more throwing away ripped soft cloth material top gazebo covers and looks great too. One only detail is on the instruction manual there are to parts that the number parts are reversed located on the top portion horizontals between the panels and frame, the corner ones , I do not have the part #'s handy but I remember it has a letter and a number 1, 2 & 3 and the part 1 should be a 2 and viseversa, the 3 is ok, watch out for that and another is we were short on some of the screws but I bought some at the local hardware store, very similar and took care of that. The instruction manual should be a little more user friendly"
Review 12 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:April 17, 2011

Looks good, but difficult to put together.

Pros: ok price, looks good
Cons: difficulty to assemble is a 10, parts mislabeled, instructions very poor
"It looks nice once it is put together. Two persons are a must. Plan ALL DAY to put this together. It is NOT a 5 hour job. Have a cordless screwdriver to save you considerable amount of time. You should be somewhat mechanically inclined to put this Sunshelter together. Seeing how I just put it together, I will have to wait and see how it holds up to the elements."
Review 13 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northport LI NY
Date:May 2, 2011

Napa Sunshelter Review

Pros: looks great, great price, very sturdy, dvd helpful
Model Number: 510 790
"I read all the reviews prior to assembly, so I was prepared for a struggle...
The DVD is really the key to a stress free assembly. In particular, the DVD tells you, well in advance, exactly when you should slide in 3 of the roof bolts. This is Extemely helpful when you get to the roof stabilizers. Fear Not! If you get stuck or have a question, simply stop what you're doing and review the DVD. It makes it so much easier. COTSCO is #1
"
Review 14 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

nice purchase

"I was pleased with this shelter. My husband and a friend put this together in about 5 hours. He said the frame wasn't to hard. The panels were a little more difficult! I love the way it looks. I wish it were a little bigger but other than that i am very happy with it!"
Review 15 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:alabama
Date:March 22, 2011

Sun Shelter

"The product was a bit different than expected, in a better way. The roof is opaque plastic which allows you to see the sky and still be shaded. The assembly instructions are very poor. They only have pictures and no explanation of how to actually assemble the shelter. This caused it to take a couple of extra hours to assemble over their estimates. There must be 2 ways to assemble it, because after is is completed, there are many extra roof parts not used. All in all, it is a very good buy."
Review 16 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:June 18, 2011

Love it

"It arrived in two boxes, some dents in box, but the legs were dented where there were no dents..
Better instructions would be nice, but I was able to do it without to much effort.
There is one small leak... Right on the center screw that holds the top plate to the top plate... Seal it before you install panels, cause afterwards it will be impossible to get to.
I want the curtains now, the screening is nice, but i want to enclose it."
Review 17 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:June 26, 2011

easy frame, panels impossible!

Pros: easy frame construction, probably beautiful if i could get it put together
Cons: top panels don't fit and are mislabeled
"The shipping was fast - it came in one box with three different sets of instructions - two in English but slightly different from one another. No DVD came and I was looking forward to it as the other reviews recommended it. The frame was very easy to put together and I used an electric drilll to save time then hand tightened a few delicate ones. The frames, however, are frustrating and I still don't have it up. It looks like you have to get all the panels before you can secure it, but then some fall out (which permanently damages them so they REALLY don't fit). Plus, they appear to be mislabeled and a bit too narrow for their deemed locations. Also the furry strip keeps sliding with the panels and keeps them from going in properly. Very frustrated, definitely need a beer and a good sense of humor to finish this - or better parts. PS - great suggestion on the pea gravel in the columns. Plus, I used tapcon 3" to secure it to the pavement."
Review 18 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 24, 2011

Very good purchase

Pros: quite strong
Cons: paper instructions. use dvd
Model Number: LGFP0874
"I just finished installing this gazebo, and after 12 hours, I am very pleased with it. The paper instructions are very hard to follow, so what I recommend is to watch the dvd and assemble it step by step as you're watching it. I watched the dvd after I finished setting it up, and regret not watching it before."
Review 19 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Date:June 25, 2011

Structure sturdy, roof panels weak

"Sturdy structure, but plastic roof tiles are very brittle in cold weather. Had one hail storm with cold temps and the roof sustained hundreds of small holes. The company wants $400 to replace the roof panels."
Review 20 for Napa 10' x 12' Hardtop Sunshelter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:June 29, 2011

Good product

Pros: well engineered and good fit., very nice result
Cons: assembly instructions definitely need improvement, paint quality is questionable
"I read the reviews here extensively prior to assembling which was helpful. Assembled in about 10 hours over two days with my brother. Wouldn't ever try it alone and certainly don't want to do it again, but am very pleased with the result. As previously noted, came in a large box with three sets of written instructions, two of them in english. No DVD here either (disappointed). The written instructions are adequate, but mediocre at best. Written instruction is minimal and doesn't adequately highlight the importance of some steps. There's one step in particular that is critical to facilitate one of the last steps of construction. If you got to that last step and found that you had overlooked and omitted it, you would commit hari kari on the first sharp tool you could find. I swear you would sit down on the grass with your beer and cry! That didn't happen to us but it should have been much better identified as a critical step in the instructions. So pay close attention to the written instructions, especially if that's all you have. We also laid all the parts out before hand which helped.
The roof panels definitely take the most time to assemble, so be very careful and take it slow. All my parts were correct and in adequate numbers. One of the roof panels had a small dent in it but I haven't decided if I will replace it yet.
All in all, though, a very well engineered product. There was only one screw hole that didn't line up with it's threaded socket, other than that it fit together well. I thought the painted finish wasn't quite the best quality. The color on some pieces seemed inconsistent but it didn't really affect the finished product.
There was no mosquito netting included with mine. Hooks for said netting are mentioned in the instructions, but are not included. I think it would be helpful if they were, so they could be installed for later if you wished as there's really no way to easily add them after assembly.
In the end though, I must agree with those before me...this is a very nice structure. It rained after we completed assembly and I found no evidence of leaks. The structure is manufactured by a company named Sojag, which appears to be Canadian. They manufacture other similar structures and of different sizes, but it doesn't appear that they distribute in the U.S. other than this structure through Costco. Would be nice to have a choice of sizes.
"
1 2 3 next>>