Customer Reviews for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike

Large Adjustable Seat with Mesh Back, 20 Resistance Levels, Audio Jack & Speakers for MP3 Player
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Review 1 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

Great exercise bike

"I am used to the exercise bikes at LA Fitness, and this one is just as quiet and effective. The pulse rate monitor is slow, the fan weak, the sound dock only adequate, but you would have to spend 3 times as much for that to improve. Just improvise with your own stuff you already have at home. The display does a great job for different exercise programs, though, and I really like the quarter mile track diagram. This was an excellent purchase."
Review 2 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bradenton, FL
Date:July 29, 2011

better than expected

Pros: easy to use
Model Number: XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
"Good workout, enough options for a beginner all the way up to fanatic. The almost flat access is excellent for people who have difficulty stepping over high objects making it perfect for my husband who had a stroke. It was a little harder to put together than I anticipated but nothing that a little perseverance didn't fix, a socket set made it easier. The instructions were excellent."
Review 3 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:June 17, 2011

Bike On!

Model Number: Xterra 540SBr
"Okay, the wrenches for assembly were not great, and the fan is less than desired, but you're supposed to sweat when exercising, right?
It is a sturdy, comfortable, efficient and versatile product. And a great value too!
"
Review 4 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Active senior in rural setting
Date:May 11, 2011

Good at twice the price!

Pros: cost effective., well finished, highly functional
Cons: doesn't remember target heart rate
Model Number: XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
"Product packaging was all that good packaging should be. Everything was wraped in plastic and placed in it's special nitch in the styrofoam package. As a result, all components arrived in good condition. Not so much as a scratch.
Assembly wasn't difficult but it took some time and effort. About one and a quarter hours. The assembly hardware was blister packed in four pouches---one for each step in the assembly manual. That simplified things considerably.
I have used the bike for ten days and I love it. It's smooth and quiet! At first I thought the tiny built in fan was a joke but when I tried it I changed my mind--it actually has a comforting cooling effect.
This bike is as smooth, as comfortable and as quiet as $3000 units I have used. If it holds up for a few years it will be a wonderful purchase."
Review 5 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville
Date:May 6, 2011

Problems continue to mount

Pros: seemed sturdy originally
Cons: lots of problems for $700
"I bought the bike because I rely on Costco buyers to bring high quality merchandise for a good price.
Right off the bat - bike came with two left handed heart monitor handles, and missing a nut to hold the heart monitor cable socket to the chair. I called and they sent the handle but I could not get them to understand what a nut was.
Problems with use are two - chair bottom edge is right where your tail bone goes. (1) The chair bottom needs to be one inch deeper. This makes it hard for long rides, say, more than 30 minutes. (2)There is a problem with the workout program calibration. When you set the difficulty level higher then 10, the bike says "recalibrating" and it lowers all of the low end of each hill to 1 difficulty. Very Annoying, because you have to manually raise the level every 30 seconds to what it should be.
Wear and tear - regular use cause a loud thumping noise and an irregular pedal motion. Very annoying.
Overall- Not worth any where near the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:May 4, 2011

Good bike but had a few problems

"Well made bike, sturdy, very quiet, and comfortable. But there were a few problems. I had the bike moved to our workout area in the basement and assembled by two installers from the local fitness store, which sells the same bike. They found the seat could hardly be moved to adjust its position and advised me to contact Xterra, which I did. After explaining the problem, they promptly sent out a new seat and slide mechanism and arranged for a local repairman to install it, which fixed that problem.
Then I found some inherent problems in the way the heart rate control programs work for each user (HRC1 and HRC2). The program for each user can be set for weight, age, duration of workout, and target heart rate. But the target heart rate is not retained like the other settings, which requires going through all the settings again every time you do a new workout just to set the target heart rate.
Furthermore, when you make the settings for a user in HRC1 and then do the same for a different user in HRC2, all the settings made for HRC1 are inexplicably changed to what was you set in HRC2, and vice versa. Essentially, this renders these controls unusable for two different users.
Xterra couldn't explain this and sent me a new control console but it worked the same way. They arranged for me to return the control console and said they would report the problem to engineering and a new version of firmware for the console would be forthcoming. That was about three months ago and I haven't heard from them further."
Review 7 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach, FL
Date:May 4, 2011

Excellent Workout Bike

Pros: great workouts!
Model Number: XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
"I bought this bike to add to my spare bedroom which I turned into a gym room. Excellent choice. After reviewing several bikes on the internet, I narrowed it down to this one. Workouts on this bike are as good as the commercial ones at gyms. After 10 minutes I start to sweat and after a 30 minute work out, I feel like it really worked out my legs which I have arthritis in. I would definetely recommend this bike.
The fan is a joke as well as the mp3 speaker but that's just a minor issue. The issue is the workout. I have a ceiling fan and a home theater system that I watch music videos while working out to pass the time, so the fan and speaker is not going to factor in any negative rating. The pedal crank and frame are very stable and I'm 6'4" and with the seat adjustment, this bike fits me perfectly.
"
Review 8 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:April 13, 2011

Pretty Amazing

Model Number: SB 540r
"Ok- I am probably the least qualified to assemble ANYTHING- and I got through the assembly of this bike quite easily. Very smooth peddling- probably the best value out there. My only complaint is that the mesh back (though great for perspiration) bends a little too much when you are peddling under load. What that means is - if you are reading, for instance, there is not enough support to keep your upper body still. Other than that, it's great!"
Review 9 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2011

Great Purchase

"This is a very well built bike. It is sturdy, quiet and very smooth. The tools supplied are cheap but work. The built in fan doesn't do much so it is the worst part of the bike.
The seat is comfortable and doesn't wiggle.
overall this is a high quality bike and I would recomend it to freinds.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 17, 2011

Decent quality for the money but not perfect

Pros: comfortable seat, quiet operation
Cons: errors and omissions in manual., cheap finicky electronic console, must be near an electric outlet
"We just got the bike this week. Observations are:
1. Assembly will take the novice 2-3 hours. It's overwhelming at first but eventually you get the hang of it.
2. There is an error in Step 3 of the manual. Use the larger screws for the chair installation and the smaller screws for the console assembly.
3. The console works fine on Manual mode but not the other functions. The electronic display seems relatively cheap and outdated but maybe that's all you get at this price.
4. The music loudspeakers and fan are nice touches.
5. The bike needs to be parked near an electric outlet. The wire is at the front of the bike. This is not shown on the picture.
6. Bike is comfortable and quiet. Easy to hear TV, phone, music.
Overall, if you overlook some of the shortfalls this is a good buy and decent equipment for home exercise.
"
Review 11 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Adairsville, GA
Date:February 20, 2011

Mightily Impressed

Pros: comfortable nice looking effective!
Cons: none so far!
Model Number: XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
"Wow - this is one product well built. Assembly wasn't bad - just throw away the Chinese tools and use your own. Within an hour and a half, had it up and running. Solid, heavy frame, instructions easy to follow.
We purchased the more expensive one and glad we did - it is very comfortable and computer control is easy and effective.
Highly recommend this product!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2011

Great quiet bike

Pros: quiet, sturdy
"I love it. Extremely quiet, very sturdy, remembers the programs/settings so it's easy to be biking within seconds. I use it while I watch TV or play on my DS/PSP. The only possible con would be that it's heavy and a pain to move, but that makes it sturdy and stable."
Review 13 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 22, 2011

Good Choice

Model Number: SB540r
"After reading other reviews of this product, I was a little concerned about being able to assemble it. No problems at all! The instructions are laid out well, and there were no missing pieces and none left over. I have it set up so I can look out the window as I cycle. My cardiologist will be so pleased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, California
Date:January 21, 2011
Model Number: Xterra SB540r
"The bike is very well made, reminds me of models at the gym. The seat and the back support is very comfortable. A detailed instruction manual was provided. The bike was not difficult to assemble, just time consuming. The delivery company made an appt. from 1-5 but delivered after 7 pm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Davis, CA
Date:January 21, 2011

Satisfied so far

Pros: found the instructions for assembly very clear
Cons: tight spaces for bolts and screws
Model Number: SB540r
"Just got this last week. The assembly took me a leisurely hour. The instructions were clear and the parts were well labeled in exploded diagrams. Fasteners were packaged by steps described in the instructions and included actual size diagrams of the fasteners so you could be sure you chose the correct screw/bold for each step. All tools needed for assembly were included. Many of the bolts have limited clearance so that typical socket set tools cannot be used. Having small hands was an advantage; my husband would have struggled with several of these.
Seat was comfortable and the operation was smooth on my first workout. Really like the mesh back! This is a big improvement on the bikes I used to use at the gym."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 29, 2010

Good, comfortable bike but has problems

Pros: sturdy and a comfortable ride
Cons: need better quality control in china.
"Easy to set up and a very sturdy and mostly well made bike. However, I had a few problems right away. Ticking coming from the housing as you peddle, left Heart Monitor hand grip uneven that was poorly installed at factory, seat would not move easily. Called Xterra and they promptly sent out new belt and handyman to fix. He temporarily fixed it but said the electronic reader and wheel was doing the ticking. Ordered new wheel and reader from factory, still waiting for the wheel. Also, where does the water bottle holder go?? For $700.00 I would expect a trouble free recumbent bike."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 19, 2010

Great buy for the money

Pros: very good features
Cons: assembly. not hard but takes a little time.
Model Number: Xterra sb540r
"I checked around at bikes in this price range and felt I got a great buy from Costco.
Good features and built very solid.
"
Review 18 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2010

Tough Assembly

Pros: good sturdy bike.
Model Number: xterra sb540r
"1. Assembly had quite a few problems. Two holes required using a tap to clear threads.
2. Four bolts or screws did not allow sufficient clearance to tighten.
3. One wire solder joint was broken.
there was no instruction on installing water bottle.
4. There was an additional plastic cap that was not identified and thus not used.
5. Wheels on base were eccentric and no explanation on use or setting.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northport, N.Y
Date:August 12, 2010

Great Value can't be beat

Pros: add a pro
"I check several units, this is the best of all of them..
My Daughter purchased a Life cycle unit
but she like ours better...I figured if Cosco
sells it ,it must be alright and I
was right...Not the easiest to put together
but if you go slowly you will not have
a problem.....My wife and I are in
our 70's and it's just what we needed
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for XTERRA® SB540r Walk-Thru Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville, TN
Date:July 28, 2010

Good value, good bike

Model Number: SB540r
"Reviewed several recumbent bikes before purchasing this one. One major reason would be Costco carries it, the next was the product ratings/reviews.
We are happy with our decision...
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>