Customer Reviews for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac

Large Mobility Handle & Rear Wheels for Easy Maneuvering Includes: 8' Locking Hose
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
10 of 13(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Review 1 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 6, 2010

Cheap piece of junk

Cons: top does not fight tightly to container portion, hose is made of flimsy cheap material, hose kinks easily, bracket for cord is to small for cord
"I've owned previous shop vacs and this does not compare. It is poorly constructed of cheap material and is not of similar quality to my old shop that I purchased 7 years ago."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2011

Not Bad

Pros: quiet, powerful-ish, not bad looking
Cons: poor maneuverability, limited attachments
"This is only the 2nd shop-vac that I've owned, but it's definitely better than my 1st one: quieter, more powerful, better looking. However, it isn't designed to be very maneuverable; it's almost impossible to get it to follow you as you move away from it. It likely would work better with 4 castors, rather than its 2 castors and 2 fixed wheels. Also, the attachments aren't very good for vacuuming a nice wood floor -- there are none with a soft bottom; just hard plastic. As with my old shop-vac, I'm going to have to glue some felt to the bottom of one of the attachments to protect my wood floor from getting scratched. Despite my complaints, I think I'll still keep it. Plus, it's from Costco, so I can always return it if I change my mind."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Newcastle, WA
Date:May 10, 2010

not good

Pros: price?
Cons: weak
Model Number: Shop-Vac® 14 Gallon 6.0 HP
"I've used 6.5 hp before, I didn't know 6.0hp would be so much weaker.
Plus it would stop sucking water every minute. I had to turn it off and wait, turn it back on again several times.
I'll try to use it couple more times. But if it keeps up this way, I'll be returning it
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 3, 2011

Good shop vac but not made as well as old ones

Pros: easy to maneuver, quiet, good suction, doesn't cost as much as old shop vacs
Cons: not made as well as old shop vacs
Model Number: 14 gal 6.0 HP shop vac
"We are pleased with this shop vac, especially for the price. It isn't made as well as the old shop vacs but it also don't cost as much as the old ones either. This one is on par with the level of quality of others on the market today.
Function: It has good suction and is surprisingly quiet for the level of HP that it has. We have used it for cleaning up leaves so far. The large back wheels are great for getting over rough terrain. The attachments seem to stay in place well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:September 1, 2010

Great Product

Model Number: ShopVac 14 Gallon
"I recieved this as a Fathers Day gift from my children and hadn't had a chance to use it until a few weeks ago.It has fantastic suction for wood chips and glass that I had on my garage floor. I even had a small flood when my hot water heater started to leak. This machine picked up the water quickly. The handle and large wheels made it easy to move around and the storage bucket holds all the tools. I would reccomend it to anyone looking for a Shop Vac!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:September 23, 2010

great vac

Pros: works great!!
Model Number: Shop-Vac® 14 Gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
"I recieved this ShopVac as a gift and was very satisfied with what was in the box. The machine worked grat. I was able to suck dirt out of my pond and it also sucked up debris from a recent remodel job I did at home. All in all it is a grat all around vac. I would reccomend it to all my friends"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Jordan, UT
Date:June 8, 2011

Great Shop-Vac

Pros: excellent suction, tracks behind without tipping over, onboard storage, transport handle, less noise
Cons: very large
Model Number: Model 5871400
"This is a replacement for an older smaller model. I am impressed by the way it will follow behind and stays upright better than the older model. The flexible hose makes it easier to work clogs out. It does take up a lot of room when storing but it is well worth the space sacrifice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

Not like the older Shop Vacs

"We have an older Shop Vac of similar size that has served us well for many years. We purchased this one as an upgrade but it just isn't the same quality as the old one.
The hose is made of thinner materials. The latches for the top are not as sturdy. Worst of all, the push button power switch doesn't always engage entirely causing the motor to strain.
We purchased a smaller Shop Vac around the same time as this one and it has similar issues with quality.
Its too bad but it seems that the company has cheaped out on their previously fantastic products."
Review 9 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010

Good for home use

Pros: good suction, good attachments
Cons: hose should have been sturdier as it will kink
"I had a very small shop vac so when I saw this unit I jumped at it. While I don't think it is perfect in every way it does what is advertised. I thought the wheels should have all been swivel as it can be a challenge to maneuver around but it definately picks up the stuff on the floor.
I would also agree that the cord wind should have been designed better. It really doesn't work all that well.
Bottom line it is a good vac for the price!
"
Review 10 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Meridian, Id
Date:February 14, 2011

Replacement for older shop-vac

"I am not the shop-vac expert but I was very pleased with the company as well as the product. I had some issues putting the vac together and the company returned my phone call and responsed to my email. The vac went together well and runs great."
Review 11 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victorville, CA
Date:August 27, 2010

Great replacement

Model Number: 87L600C
"My older shop-vac needed replacement. This one has great suction, and moves around with ease. I don't plan on using it as a wet vac, but its there if needed."
Review 12 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Placerville CA
Date:May 31, 2011

power to spare

Pros: long cord, caddy holds accessory parts
Cons: accessories are large in size., it was hard for my sm. hands to hold.
"This is a shop vac on steroids! It has so much suction to it and a very large capacity tank. It was easy to assemble."
Review 13 for Shop-Vac® 14-gallon 6.0 HP Wet/Dry Vac
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF, CA
Date:June 9, 2010

Works great!

"Almost too quiet, it seems like it's not pulling a suction."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.