Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi

Blu-ray 3D™ Playback Capability BRAVIA® Internet Video HDMI Cable Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
17
66 of 92(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:January 31, 2011

Great Blu Ray Player

"I bought this to have the ability to stream Netflix to my TV. This player had all the features (built in wifi) and the right price. I found it relatively easy to set up. After plugging it in and getting the internet connected, the first thing I would recommend doing is updating the firmware. The only problem I had with setup was that when I went to register my device on Netflix, the code generated by the DVD player showed as "expired" so I "deactivated" and then "reactivated" Netflix and it generated a new code, which then worked just fine.
I have watched several DVDs (not blu-ray) and streamed multiple movies with few issues. I had one movie that had a minor blip/pixelation but it was for a second or two and no other problems. I will say there seems to be sound adjustment necessary when switching from DVDs to streaming movies but I don't know if that is just my set up or what. Overall I'm very happy with this player."
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 29, 2011

Good value for BR player that does quite a bit

Pros: streaming of netflix and hulu, easy setup
Cons: few file formats accepted.
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"We wanted a BR player for the bedroom that could do Hulu Plus, Netflix, play movies and stream. This device appeared to fit the bill. Set up was quick and very easy. We tried both wired and wireless for the internet connection. The device downloaded the latest firmware updates without issue. So far streaming is working great and movies are fine on our bedroom's LCD TV. The device seems like a win all around.
About the only negative I can find is the limited file support. We have a Plex media server in the living room and it will accept all movie formats - the Sony will not. Shrug.
To those whining about the search feature in Netflix, do you really use this? Our Roku has it but we prefer to use a laptop as we usually add 10-20 movies at a time. Fiddling with a remote to do a search function doesn't make sense when a laptop can do it so much more quickly.
DVDs look nice. Can't comment on Blu Ray movies as we haven't rented one and probably won't for many years, if ever. I don't really care about image quality in movies as we see hundreds per year so it's all about story, writing and acting. The visuals are puffery."
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:January 27, 2011

Girl that did her research

"This was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I'm really impressed with the variety of internet TV options. It's easy to use and just a fun entertainment tool. I would definitely recommend this to a friend."
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:January 27, 2011

Poor

Pros: easy start up.
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57
"Bought this model because I thought hey it's a Sony. The unit has a number of issues:
1) Cannot search for movies with Netflix, you need a computer.
2) Netflix constantly has to buffer.
3) The menu options are a mess and the fonts are small.
4) Has problems finding my TV.
5) Has Michael Jackson sony promotion on the start menu, which you can't get rid of.
6) Remote is too small.
Buy the LG BD 570, it's much better.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:January 27, 2011

Works great, when it actually works

Pros: price
Cons: having to constantly reconnect to wireless, frozen pink screen
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57
"We really have enjoyed this player. We bought it mostly for streaming Netflix, Hulu and Amazon on demand, since we don't have cable. The problem is even with a Wireless N router this player has connection issues. Also at least once a day we get a frozen pink screen from this player. We then have to actually turn it off or unplug it from the power source before it will even work again. I did some research and found a better and more reliable option for us. We will be returning this player to Costco next week."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Annapolis Md
Date:January 26, 2011

Love it

Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
"This is my second Blu Ray Sony DVD Player. I purchased the first for the Big Screen and it is great. I like the wireless connection that gives me Netflix and Amazon Videos. I liked so much I bought a second and put it in the bedroom"
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 26, 2011

Great player

Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57
"Very happy with the performance and it was a great price."
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 25, 2011

Great bluray

"Easy to set up! Having fun watching movies so clear and crisp."
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 25, 2011

Exactly as advertised

"Everything about this product is exactly as advertised. The blue-ray works very easily. And the streaming video was pretty easy to set up and functions well. Even an old codger (like m) can set i up and use it with ease."
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:January 25, 2011

Perfect WiFi Blu-Ray Player

Pros: looks great, hdmi cable included, built in wifi, nice remote control, great picture quality
Cons: slow start up
"I got one of these for Christmas and after using it I immediately went the next day to get another one for our bedroom. I chose this model after reading the reviews. Specific reason I chose this model was for the built in wireless, which works perfect for streaming Netflix! I really like that it comes with the HDMI cable. Tough to beat the price at Costco too!"
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 21, 2011

wireless reception poor

"Will be returning our brand new player because movies from Netflix do not load quickly. It is so slow that each time I tried to load something from the internet , the application timed out. The device is about 40 feet away from the router (with a few walls in between) . Sony tech support suggested I move it closer to the router, which doesn't work for me because the tv is in a different room from the router. I bought this unit to use primarily for internet streaming and it doesn't seem to be designed for this use."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 21, 2011

Great value

Model Number: BDP-BX57
"Very easy to set up and use. Was worried about how to connect to Wi-fi, but was very easy (directions not the best).
Good value for the price"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011

Easy to use.

Model Number: BDP-BX57 Blu Ray Disc Player wifi
"Grandson hooked it up with no problems. Instantly get on Netflix to stream movies.
Just great.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

Great buy

"It is easy to understand, assemble, efficient, and practical. Plus you know sony is reliable and internet ready is awesome!"
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

If you want to use Netflix go somewhere else

Model Number: SONY BK57
"I needed a DVD player and wanted to put Netflix in the living Room.
I went to Costco and bought the BX57.
Did all the attaching to allow Netflix to operate through the player and found that I had to first select what I wanted to watch from my PC before I could watch using my new DVD player.
My Roku allows me to browse with my remote while in bed and not have to first get up bring up my PC log in and bring up Netflix then select what I want to watch.
Needless to say the player went promptly back to Costco.
Netflix has a list of DVD players that will do search and select without need of a PC.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Laguna Hills, CA
Date:January 19, 2011

Low end product!

"Seems like a good buy when first saw it at Costco. In the warehouse the sound even sounded pretty good. Got it home and it took me several hours to set it up. The reason is that the manual is mis-leading! It says if you have a Sony TV all you have to do is connect the HDMI cable for both picture and sound. That is not correct! It only works if you have a Sony TV built after 2010!!!! The rest have to use the audio input.
I had a older BOSE system that makes the Sony speakers sound like junk! I am going to contact Bose and see if I can hook the Bose speakers to the Sony player. If not the whole mess is going back to Costco."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:yonkers , new york
Date:January 19, 2011

has shortcoming

Cons: has some hickups
Model Number: BDP-S570/bx57
"streaming videa stops periodically to load. main discrepancy, unable to view video files from computer. called company and am told it is not possible because product is DLNA certified. This makes no sense since it is able to view and play music files. Online service was unable to help. they could only apologize. If this is not rectified will have to return. Is anyone able to help?"
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 18, 2011

One Complaint

Model Number: BDP-BX57
"This blue ray player loads faster than the previous generation of blue ray players. The Wifi is pretty cool, and easily connects to a router.
I would have given it 5 stars except that sometimes my Samsung TV will not switch over to the blue ray player right away. I run the blue ray thru my receiver, as well as the TV. I've found that if I turn on the receiver first, blue ray, and then the TV, then the problem doesn't happen. Anyone else have this connection problem?"
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa rosa, ca.
Date:January 18, 2011

Don't do it

Pros: to use as a playback of dvd's only
Cons: not user freindly
Model Number: bdp-bx57
"WiFi way to slow to use with Netflix. It keeps stopping playback to upload, and the remote options are very few and not user friendly."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:sugar land, tx
Date:January 16, 2011

THE Software is horrible

Model Number: ? had it a year now.
"I won't buy SONY anymore. The 52"TV was ok, but the remote controls, and the blueray player take 4 advanced degrees and a year of study to get it to even sort of work.
MOre buttons than the space shuttle and NONE of them seem to do what theyr'e labeled. Plus the DVD remote and the TV remote are CONSTANTLY BATTLING to control what's on the screen. i don't know who designed this mess, but it's not worth the hassle no matter what it's supposed to do.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>