Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi

Blu-ray 3D™ Playback Capability BRAVIA® Internet Video HDMI Cable Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
17
66 of 92(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:May 27, 2010

Happy shiney

Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"Ok, so I have a friend who has a non WI-Fi built in Blue Ray player and there has been more than one instance where he has had to jack around on the internet burning drivers onto a disk to put into the blue ray player so it'll play the new stuff. Well the heck with that! I took the guess work out of it and bought this one which has it built in. Also, I can stream movies from netflix and the others. Came with the HDMI cable and it's ready to go. Setup only took a couple of minutes. Compliments my new Sony 55' LCD 120hz "man tv". I also dig that when you turn the blue ray player on, the tv automatically recognizes it and switches to that HDMI input."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 28, 2010

Lousy customer service

Pros: plays dvd's
Cons: no wifi
Model Number: BDP-BX 57
"I rec'd this product and immediately attempted to set it up with my wireless network. Oops no way. Called Sony customer service do discuss the problems and I was told that I need to prove that I had an active broadband connection before they could proceed. I did that and called them back after attempt after attempt I was advised by Hector at Sony that they would have to send me a disc to update their software and could expect to see it in 7 to 10 days. If the disc doesn't work it going back may go back anyway after dealing with the people at Sony"
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples FL
Date:June 19, 2010

Exceeded my expectations

Pros: picture quality, easy setup, online content, snappy performance
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57
"Great upconversion of DVD, and very easy to set up. Promised to be 3D ready."
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:June 20, 2010

Awesome player!

Pros: fast, wireless, lot's of streaming channels to choose from, easy setup
Cons: player buttons (e.g. eject) are small
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"Just replaced my 2-year-old Samsung player with the Sony BX57 and I'm delighted. Set-up is quick, just a few minutes for wi-fi and update the firmware. The player is responsive, loading/ejecting just a few seconds, browsing through the dozen or more wireless "channels" is instantaneous. And best of all, no more Blu Ray compatibility problems (I'm talking about you Samsung). Highly recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:June 21, 2010

A Great Blu-Ray

"Set up was easy, wi-fi no problem. A great Blu-Ray for the price."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fairfax Virginia
Date:June 22, 2010

Smart buy

Model Number: 111352700000
"After received item,everything is work as advertized. Except for BD files information were not included in the operation manual. You have played with all the selection to choice which one to watch or test. Operation manual is simply not through enough to find out all the hidden function and selection. The remote and BD are seems a little slow and wonder if you push wrong bottom. If you use HDMI cable, you can skip all AV /RCA alternative connection Overall experience is good.,"
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:July 1, 2010

Great Blu Ray Player

Pros: it hooks up to wireless easily
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"I took this model over the bx37 because the wireless lan was integrated into the player and it hooked up tp my netgear wireless router easily!
The blu ray player is fantastic and even the up conversion it does on regular dvd's, to near hd quality, is fantastic!
You can't beat this model for the price! This was my first blu ray player and i looked around alot before deciding on this one and it did not disappoint!
The upload is very fast as well.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:July 10, 2010

Pretty good

Model Number: BDP-BX57
"Wi-fi on this unit is pretty good, but not good enough to make me want to keep the unit. I bought it mainly to use Pandora, but unfortunately this unit takes a *very* long time to load the next song (10-15 seconds). It greatly diminishes the experience of listening to Pandora. I tested it against my laptop, and there was a huge difference (where the next song is essentially instantaneous after the last one). Also, Netflix streaming was choppy. On the plus side, setting up my Netflix and Pandora accounts was a breeze, and the iPod remote (BD remote) is pretty cool. But in the end, I just don't think the wi-fi offerings are ready for primetime."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:July 13, 2010

Excellent Blu-Ray/DVD player. Great Buy.

Pros: ability to watch netflix movies online, abilty to watch youtube, easy set up
Cons: none.
Model Number: BDP-BX57 Blu-Ray
"Bought this Blu-Ray/DVD player a couple of months ago just for the Blu-Ray capabilities. But, I use the Netflix/youtube etc online features of the unit almost everyday. They work great. I absolutely love it. The wireless set up was very easy. It's from Costco. So, buy it without any reservations."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakbank, MB, Canada
Date:August 7, 2010

Good Blu Player for the price!

Pros: awesome picture, great value
Cons: setup instructions quite vague
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"Excellent value for the dollar! Nice that this unit comes with an HDMI cable. Took a long time to get the Blu ray player to connect to my wireless network, since the Sony instruction manual was so vague. I had to go on Sony.com to get more detailed instructions for my wireless network and I finally got the blu-ray to connect to the internet. The apps that come with the player are OK, nothing to brag home about.
Overall, in comparing other models to this one, I thought I got a good deal. I would recommend this model to others!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL NY South
Date:August 9, 2010

Help, As mentioned Cravat Emptor

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"I purchased this Blu-ray player based on
excellet reviews. Also Wireless?
I just got the DVD and told I am current and up to date.
I now need to buy a Router? Can anyone
tell me if that is the case?
I see the Link Connection FAILED
Current IP Address is BLANK
Provisioning Service Connection FAILED.
"
1 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010

Love it!

Pros: love that it has wireless
Cons: can be slow to load if not set to quick on
"Bought this Blu-Ray player and really enjoy it. I'm not very tech savy and would agree that there are some things missing from the instructions packet but had little problems getting the DVD player to sync with my router or with netflix or Pandora. Every now and then I have to resync my router but that's it. Have no clue what to do with the colored buttons. Currently have used Netflix, Pandora, DVD's, YouTube, and Amazon. Player walks you through setting up accounts, helps to have laptop while setting everything up (can't imagine what it would be like with PC). HDMI cable that comes with player is great. Lots up updates is my only con and don't know if I can delete some of the options it gives."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ATHERTON, CA
Date:August 28, 2010

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FROM SONY

Pros: very easy setup, best price, no problems at all
Cons: no cons at all.
Model Number: BX57 BLU RAY PLAYER
"THIS IS ANOTHER EXCELLENT ITEM FROM SONY. I BOUGHT PANASONIC FROM COSTCO AND THAT IS SLOW LIKE A SNAIL. I RETURNED THAT AND BOUGHT THIS. OH..MAN...THIS IS THE BEST. I DONT KNOW WHAT OTHERS TALKING ABOUT OVERHEATING AND SETUP PROBLEMS ETC. BUT FOR ME THIS IS THE BEST ELECTRONIC ITEM I EVER BOUGHT. IT IS VERY EASY TO SETUP. I HAVE WIFI MODEM WITH BUILTIN ROUTER. SO THERE WAS NO PROBLEM CONFIGUREING. ONE BUTTON PRESS IT IS DONE. BELIVE ME BUY THIS ITEM AND YOU NEVER DISSAPOINT WITH THIS. NO GLITCHES AT ALL. VERY EASY SETUP. AND LOTS OF FREE ONLINE SITE COMES WITH THIS. DIFFERENT NEWS, FASHION NEWS, ELECTRONIC NEWS SPECIALLY UTUBE AND NETFLIX. U DONT HAVE TO DO ANYTHING SPECIAL TO GET NETFLIX AS LONG AS U HAVE A NETFLIX ACCOUNT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND ANYONE TO BUY THIS PRODUCT. ALSO VERY GOOD PRICE. BESTBUY SELLS THE SAME ITEM BUT NO HDMI CABLE. PRICE $249.00. THIS COSTCO PRICE IS THE BEST U CAN FIND ANYWHERE. GO BUY IT. I PROMISE U NO PROBLEMS. U NEVER FIND ANY PROBLEM WITH THIS ITEM. GREAT ITEM. RECOMMEND FOR ANYONE."
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Valrico, Florida
Date:September 3, 2010

Sony ( What happened to quality ???)

"I originally purchased my first Sony bdp-bx2 blu-ray player from Costco, and the player had performed well. Recently, I decided to upgrade and purchased the Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi.
On the surface, my research indicated that this player should also perform well . After unboxing the player at home , I discovered the following issues and concerns:
1. The user/instructional manual was very limited and uninformative. A decent instructional manual is not a lot to expect from a quality company.
2. The Wifi feature was buggy, sporadic, and temperamental at times. The Sony system eventually locked down my wireless network from access of my other wifi computer equipment and printers. I spent several hours working on this issue. Finally, I contacted Sony support and was not impressed. The representative was polite but could not assist me. The next day, I had to trouble shoot and finally reset my whole wifi home network system to get my network working again.
3. Netflix Issue: Some of the movies in my instant queue would not play. The player would sometimes display an error “protective copy” message. However, all the movies would play well via my Wii player.
Also, the Netflix video quality on the Sony player was spotty and grainy at times.
4. The DLNA feature worked well for photos, but the system would not work for streaming any videos from any of my computers. Also, there was no helpful information in the manual to help trouble shoot this problem. The recommended firmware upgrades were completed also.
5. On different days, the player would occasionally send a “ fail to connect to Wifi” error message when turning the system on.
After giving the player an opportunity to go through a debugging process, I determined that the player was more problematic for my needs. I returned the player to Costco without no problem.
LG BD570 Blu-Ray
After researching other blu-ray players, I purchased the “LG” BD570 Wifi Network Blu-ray Player. I have been very impressed with the performance of the LG.
The player came with a informative instructional manual, quick setup manual, and software CD. The LG connected flawlessly to my network in approx. 10 minutes. Netflix was activated and operating within minutes. The video quality was much better than the Sony. The DLNA (LG All Share) worked well.
A note of interest, LG was the first to offer Steaming Netfix via a blu-ray player, and this is evident. Also, this really surprised me - the blu-ray video quality of the LG was far better than the Sony. The LG has video and audio adjustments to accommodate your viewing desires and needs."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2010

BDP-BX57 is great

"Thin and small and light. Installed without a hitch. Compared to my old Samsung this thing is lightening fast in loading blue ray disks. 12 seconds maybe. Cool. Easy to set up. lots of options."
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Best Blu Ray for the money

Pros: easy to set up, it found the wireless connection quickly
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57
"I purchased this for the wireless connection and for Netflix downloads. The only problem I ran across was trying to register the product through the blue ray. After several attempts, I registered through my notebook on sony's website. After going through several steps, it was smooth sailing through hooking up Netflix. I have AT&T high speed DSL and a Netgear router, connected to a 47" Vizio LED LCD Razor tv (also from Costco). The Netflix streaming is great with no freezing issues and the picture is vivid and clear. Menu is easy to use."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:May 26, 2010

Good Buy

"I've owned my for over a month now. I bought it to compliment my Sony EX5-46" screen. The Wi-Fi works great, I recommend this model over the Sony BX-37 because this one has a built in Wi-Fi; you don't need Sony's wireless USB. If you're new to blue ray, just remember that the software needs to be updated, when available. I don't plan on buying a 3D televsion for this player, which is 3D ready too. Costco has the best price for this model period for the time being, I looked around prior to buying at Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:December 15, 2010

DNLA UPnP delivered

Pros: great little unit for the $$$
Cons: front panel buttons are a bit wanting.
Model Number: BDP-BX57
"Upgraded fron a S-460 for this to get my PlayOn.tv programming on the downstairs set. Works better with PlayOn file formats than alot of my other IPTV boxes including WDTV Live and Roku- much better format support for DVD files online. Running this over a wired connection and using HuluPlus with ok results. (mostly a Hulu interface issue- not Sony's fault.) I usually watch Netflix on other devices so it's not so much an issue for me- I think my new expresso machine comes with Netflix next month anyway so there are lots of work arounds for it. If you're cord cutting this player would be a good start in conjunction with an HTPC.."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Date:December 22, 2010

Easy set up & works great

Pros: great price
"I was a little anxious about this product because I am NOT tech savvy at all. But I was able to go from box to watching Netflix in under 30 minutes.
I had no problem understanding what I needed to do next during the set up process.
So far, i'm very pleased with the quality of the picture.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX57 BLU-RAY Disc Player w/ Built-in WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cerritos, California
Date:June 6, 2010

Good but has shortcomings

Pros: built in wireless adaptor, supports neflix youtube others
Cons: inadequate instructions, remote cannot operate tv
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX57
"What everyone else wrote about the BX57's strong points is true but the product could be better with a few tweaks. First, the setup instructions aren't well written and quite frustrating to follow. I had to call Costco's Concierge Service and Netflix Customer Service for assistance. Second, there are buttons on the remote that are unexplained in the owner's manual. Third, I bought the Sony brand BluRay to make it less troublesome synching it to my Sony TV. Interestingly, the BluRay remote only controls the TV volume therefore cannot replace the TV remote. So I still need both remotes to watch a DVD. Fourth, the few controls on the unit is very difficult to see and tedious to depress. Overall, a good product and you'd be satisfied with it if you're okay with the abovementioned shortcomings."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>