Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

BRAVIA® Internet Video: Access Movies, Music, Videos & More Wi-Fi® Adapter Ready
Average Customer Rating:
3.919 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
28 of 37(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upstate California
Date:April 19, 2011

Serves our needs nicely

Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37
"Plays NetFlex disks with no problem. The manual could be written clearer. It is almost a plug and play but not quite. Set up is slightly bewildering but manageable if one has some college education.."
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:April 4, 2011

Nice Bargain BR + Internet Device

Pros: cheap, nice quality, lots of internet widgety kinds of things
Cons: no built in wifi, netflix requires using a pc to choose movies
"The BDP-BX37 does exactly what it says it will and cheaply. As others have mentioned - no built in wifi. And the Netflix player is a bit limited. You'll have to add movies to your 'Instant Que' at their website to view them.
Works very nicely with Bravia Sync. Didn't add yet another remote to my coffee table which is much appreciated.
Anyone who's ever used a PSP will be right at home. This appears to use the exact same interface.
At this price, it's hard not to recommend. Not the most fully featured unit out there, but dirt cheap."
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:March 18, 2011

Good but no wi-fie

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"This is a great DVD and Blu-ray player for a great price. The only thing is it is wi-fi ready, but does not have a wi-fi unit in it, that will cost you another $80 from Sony or plug into ethernet out of the wall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Hill, CA
Date:February 24, 2011

Love SONY

"The qualify is excellent.
I use ethernet cable to view NetFlix movies, pictures are great. When you register on SONY, make sure you create an "Essentals" account before starting use any online video product.
SONY rocks!!"
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:February 17, 2011

Old Netflix interface

Cons: old netflix interface
Model Number: BX37
"The new "Watch it now" Netflix interface is available on Samsung players as well as the PS3. The old interface on this machine is terrible by comparison and Sony has given no indication when it will be updated, if ever. Get the Samsung."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SALIDA CALIFORNIA
Date:February 15, 2011

IT IS FROM SONY

Pros: everything works awsome
Cons: did not found anything wrong yet
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37
"AWSOME!!!! NO MORE LATE FEES
VERY EASY TO SET UP AND TOOOON OF WEB APP THAT YOU CAN USE FROM LISTEN MUSIC,WACH MOVIES FOR FREE AND NETFLIX HAS WORKED VERY VERY NICE AND FAST. I HAVE THIS PLAYER SET UP TO AN APPLE AIRPORT EXPRESS A/B/G/N WIRELESS ROTER AND WORKS VERY FAST.
"
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond VA
Date:February 4, 2011

Horrible Netflix Streaming

Pros: everything but streaming
Cons: terrible streaming.
Model Number: BX37 or BX57
"Excellent product but you can forget streaming Netflix (which is fantastic) or any other internet streaming video on Friday nights, Saturdays and/or Sundays. The Sony Server gets overloaded and movies hang for minutes at a time. Sony knows about the problem but will do nothing to fix it. I am returning this and getting a similar machine made by another manufacturer. Thank God for the Costco return policy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 25, 2011

love it

Pros: great product, great price, includes hdmi cable
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
"I had read several reviews after I purchased it and just almost sent it back before opening the box. But then I thought, Sony makes great products...never had a problem with Sony. I was right., they do.
First let me say, read the manual all the way to the end. If you are wanting to set it for Netflix like I did, have your computer on and ready to go. Download the updates after you get the Sony blu ray to recognize your router before you try to connect to Netflix. It didn't take any more than 30 minutes for me to watch a Netflix movie. I am so happy I trusted Sony and Costco. Also, I haven't had any issues as of yet with synchronization. A Netflix movie loads within 10 seconds. And yes, I do use my computer to load movies in the queue, but not a problem...gives me time to do full search for movies and reviews online, which I would prefer to do anyway.
I have a 2009 47" Vizio and all I had to do was connect the HDMI cable from the back of the player to the tv...plug it in. Do have everything ready, like your router password and your computer on so you can update the firmware before attempting to use Netflix. That could be the problem some people seem to be experiencing. Take the time to read all of the manual, it's not that many pages anyway. You will be glad you did."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011

Disappointed with Sony

"We've had our player for 2 months. Last night the video cut out mid-movie. Sound still works fine, but nothing but a blue screen shows up now. Checked all my connections. I'm returning it this morning. I'm hoping that they'll take it back without all the manuals and extra cords. We'll see."
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Menlo Park, CA
Date:January 3, 2011

Warning! Sound gets out of sync

Cons: sound gets out of sync with video.
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37
"I bought the Sony BDP-BX37 to replace a Roku and older Blu-ray player in order to simplify streaming movies. The BX37 updated the firmware online as part of the installation process. I then discovered that when playing Blu-ray movies whenever I backspaced to replay part of a movie the sound would be out of sync until a new chapter was reached. This was a very annoying bug. I also discovered that the Sony Netflix interface does not provide a search capability like the Roku. I returned the Sony and purchased a Panasonic DMP-BD655 as a replacement, which I have been happy with in spite of the fact that it does not provide a Netflix search capability either. So far the Roku is the only streaming device that I know of that has a Netflix search capability."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010

Easy, easy, easy

Pros: dvd takes only about two seconds to load.
Cons: remote is not backlit.
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
"I plugged this baby into my Linksys router and Bam, I was watching netflix streaming video in minutes.
This was easy for me, and I don't have any idea how or why this stuff works.
When you power this unit up for the first time, it has a built in menu system that holds your hand and tells you exactly what to do.
This unit is available at other stores for the same price, but it does not come packaged with the HDMI cable. The additional HDMI cable, is a Costco perk. Also, you get an additional 1 year warranty if you use your Costco American Express card. Plus, you get 90 days to return the product instead of only 30 like other stores.
My only complaint, I wish the remote would light up in the dark."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 17, 2010

Best Player for the Money

Pros: works with usb hard drive, awsome picture quailty, low cost, small player for space
Cons: wifi not built in
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"Player will work with USB Hard Drive. Your have to first format the drive using FAT 32. This is the same format your usb memory sticks are. This player has awsome picture quailty, and plays any kind of disc you can throw at it. I have mine hooked up direct with a cat 5 cable to the web. Regular DVDs even look exceptional with this player. Good job Sony."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kailua, Hi
Date:December 7, 2010

USB Movies, NO

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"I just got this unit based on it says I can view movies from my USB input. I took my USB drive that I watch movies on a Panasonic, & plugged it in, expecting to see movies. The unit does not support my drive. It's a 16gb Sandisk drive that I often download movies, plug into my DVD Panasonic DVD/VHS combo unit, & happily watch my movies.
The price is right, so I am debating whether to return it, or keep it & use it on another HDTV just for BluRay stuff.
"
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rowlett, TX
Date:November 24, 2010

Great Unit

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"We returned the Samsung C5500 and got the Sony BDP-BX37 as an anniversary present to ourselves. I've been very happy with the Sony, especially after the firmware update two days ago fixed the last minor bug I was experiencing. There have been 3 firmware updates since purchased in August.
The Samsung would not sync up well with my MediaVault MV2020 using DLNA so no matter what other features worked, I just could not keep it.
The Sony syncs up perfectly with my MediaVault over my network, allowing me to play all my movies, family videos, music and pictures through the Blu-ray player.
The minor bug just fixed two days ago was a brief pause in music playback if I pressed a button while the player was displaying the screensaver on the TV screen. Now that is gone and I just love this player.
It is very versatile: DVD/Blu-ray discs, NetFlix instant movie streaming, Pandora, YouTube, and lots of other Internet resources to choose from, plus I spend more time playing music stored on my MediaVault. Sounds great through my Home Theater system.
I am going to buy another one for a second TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MT
Date:October 27, 2010

WOW

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"My son used an aethernet cord to hook up this blu-ray player to my newish Sony flatscreen and WOW! Instant information and immediate entertainment and access to an array of apps. Not to mention fast loading of discs and crystal, crystal clear picture. I'm happy with this purchase and Sony technology. Very smooth..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 25, 2010

Will not work with USB hard drives

Cons: does not recognize usb hard drives.
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"I bought this player because it looked like it had everything I wanted, including the ability to play videos from an external drive. As long as you're using a flash (thumb) drive, you're ok. But this player does not recognize USB hard drives. I tried three different portable USB drives and one 'wall outlet' powered one and the BX37 did not recognize any of them. I returned the Sony and bought the Samsung C5500 (also Costco). The C5500 recognizes all of my portable drives and has a better user interface, in my opinion. Skip the Sony and buy the Samsung."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:September 26, 2010

Sony leads the way!

Pros: netflix pandora tons of apps.
Cons: none.
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"This Sony Blu-Ray player has super fast load times for movies and has great internet applications that just simply blow away the Samsung rival.
This Blu-Ray player is sleek, quiet, and has all the right options anyone could ask fort. I love that it has Netflix, Amazon movies, YouTube, Pandora, and so on. If you need a great reliable Blu-Ray player then this should be your first choice.
This is a 5 star product in a world of mediocre Blu-Ray players."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bolinas, California
Date:September 21, 2010

Great Deal

"I'm not a techie and I don't plan on using all the bells and whistles on this player, but it was very easy to install and works very well. The loading is a bit slow, but that doesn't bother me. The price was better than anywhere else I checked."
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hesperia,CA
Date:September 20, 2010

Great and at a fantastic price.

Pros: excellent up-converting.
Model Number: BDP-S370/BX37
"I would highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting a great DVD player. I have not set up the internet and probably will not, since, at this time I do not see any use for this feature.
This unit up-converts regular DVD's to Blue ray qaulity. There is very little difference between the two discs on playback.
This unit, for some reason has to be turned on for my TV to work. After about 15 minutes on no use the unit turns off
and has to be turned on again. This is probably caused by the way the unit is hook up and I will explore this further.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles County, CA
Date:August 31, 2010

Great Product at a Low Price

Pros: ease of hookup, ease of use
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"This is a great DVD Blue Ray at a very low price. It was a breeze to connect and works wonderfully. I recommend it whole heartedly."
1 2 next>>