Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

BRAVIA® Internet Video: Access Movies, Music, Videos & More Wi-Fi® Adapter Ready
Average Customer Rating:
3.919 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
28 of 37(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 3, 2010

A wonderful BluRay experience

Pros: easy set-up, great video quality, internet streaming via netflix is great, other internet providers for content, energy saving mode
Cons: doesn't automatically config remote to off tv
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37
"I really enjoy the picture quality of my bx37. I have it connected to a 36" sony lcd at 1080p. image is excellent.
i was disappointed to find the product was not compatible with belkin n wireless usb connector. i returned it and bought a sony usb wireless connector that also seems to be n wireless.
quality of streamed video via netflix looks very good - at least dvd quality.
regular dvd's look good as well.
the depth of menus is a bit overwhelming, but only in terms of streaming content.
configuration and set-up was very easy.
one challenge is that the on/off button the bd remote does not seem to automatically control my tv - i need to figure out how to configure it.
start-up time is slow if you keep the energy saving option on, but it's not painfully slow.
i did notice that the internet connection sometimes needs to be reestablished before accessing netflix at the moment i turn the system on.
physical install and plub in was very simple."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010

Easy, easy, easy

Pros: dvd takes only about two seconds to load.
Cons: remote is not backlit.
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
"I plugged this baby into my Linksys router and Bam, I was watching netflix streaming video in minutes.
This was easy for me, and I don't have any idea how or why this stuff works.
When you power this unit up for the first time, it has a built in menu system that holds your hand and tells you exactly what to do.
This unit is available at other stores for the same price, but it does not come packaged with the HDMI cable. The additional HDMI cable, is a Costco perk. Also, you get an additional 1 year warranty if you use your Costco American Express card. Plus, you get 90 days to return the product instead of only 30 like other stores.
My only complaint, I wish the remote would light up in the dark."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 25, 2011

love it

Pros: great product, great price, includes hdmi cable
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
"I had read several reviews after I purchased it and just almost sent it back before opening the box. But then I thought, Sony makes great products...never had a problem with Sony. I was right., they do.
First let me say, read the manual all the way to the end. If you are wanting to set it for Netflix like I did, have your computer on and ready to go. Download the updates after you get the Sony blu ray to recognize your router before you try to connect to Netflix. It didn't take any more than 30 minutes for me to watch a Netflix movie. I am so happy I trusted Sony and Costco. Also, I haven't had any issues as of yet with synchronization. A Netflix movie loads within 10 seconds. And yes, I do use my computer to load movies in the queue, but not a problem...gives me time to do full search for movies and reviews online, which I would prefer to do anyway.
I have a 2009 47" Vizio and all I had to do was connect the HDMI cable from the back of the player to the tv...plug it in. Do have everything ready, like your router password and your computer on so you can update the firmware before attempting to use Netflix. That could be the problem some people seem to be experiencing. Take the time to read all of the manual, it's not that many pages anyway. You will be glad you did."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF,CA
Date:May 29, 2010

Love it!!

Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37
"I've had the player for about a month now and so far I have nothing bad to say about it. I have a PS3 which I use to play my bluray movies before but since I baught a new tv for the living room I moved my ps3 in the bedroom and baught this one. BX37 is so easy to set up I had it wired to my broadband connection and updates was done in no time. I didn't have problem setting it up since the layout is pretty much similar with PS3. I've tried my DVD on it and the upconverter is up to par with my other dvd player and PS3. Bluray movies plays really well, video quality is crisp and clear. I have Netflix as well and have watch numerous movies from this player, streaming is no problem and it's fast. If you're looking for a reasonable priced good quality Bluray player I recommend BX37. In my opinion PS3 is still the best bluray/dvd/game player but if you just want a bluray player and can stream this player can do it. I love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 4, 2010

Great all around Blu-Ray Player

Model Number: Sony BDP-BX37
"I got tired of playing netflix through my ps3 (requires you to insert a dvd), so I looked into getting a dedicated blu-ray player that had the same feature. This player gave me more.
The netflix UI was much more convenient and faster loading. It even allowed me to delete movies off my queue after watching. The picture was much sharper as well. It also came with youtube and a TON of other programings.
I think the one thing that tops it off the most is the compatibility with iphone. I downloaded the BD Player remote app from ituned and it made using youtube on it much more useful w/ the text keyboard. My wife and I now youtube skits together on our tv.
I'm usually very critical in my reviews, but the tell you the truth, I can't find one thing I don't like about this player. I know not having a built in WiFi could be a turn off, but my router and cable modem are set up on my entertainment system so it's no big deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Walt Disney World, FL
Date:April 14, 2010

Must have for Netflix users!

Pros: fast and easy to use
Cons: dlna not available yet despite being listed
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"For starters, I installed this on Sunday April 11th, it automatically perfomred a firware update and Pandora was available and worked great. I primarily purchased this to use as a Netflix on demand box with a Blu-Ray bonus. The video quality from online streaming sources was fantastic and the load times all around are very quick."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rowlett, TX
Date:November 24, 2010

Great Unit

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"We returned the Samsung C5500 and got the Sony BDP-BX37 as an anniversary present to ourselves. I've been very happy with the Sony, especially after the firmware update two days ago fixed the last minor bug I was experiencing. There have been 3 firmware updates since purchased in August.
The Samsung would not sync up well with my MediaVault MV2020 using DLNA so no matter what other features worked, I just could not keep it.
The Sony syncs up perfectly with my MediaVault over my network, allowing me to play all my movies, family videos, music and pictures through the Blu-ray player.
The minor bug just fixed two days ago was a brief pause in music playback if I pressed a button while the player was displaying the screensaver on the TV screen. Now that is gone and I just love this player.
It is very versatile: DVD/Blu-ray discs, NetFlix instant movie streaming, Pandora, YouTube, and lots of other Internet resources to choose from, plus I spend more time playing music stored on my MediaVault. Sounds great through my Home Theater system.
I am going to buy another one for a second TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 25, 2010

Will not work with USB hard drives

Cons: does not recognize usb hard drives.
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"I bought this player because it looked like it had everything I wanted, including the ability to play videos from an external drive. As long as you're using a flash (thumb) drive, you're ok. But this player does not recognize USB hard drives. I tried three different portable USB drives and one 'wall outlet' powered one and the BX37 did not recognize any of them. I returned the Sony and bought the Samsung C5500 (also Costco). The C5500 recognizes all of my portable drives and has a better user interface, in my opinion. Skip the Sony and buy the Samsung."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 28, 2010

Hooking it Up

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"Haven't played a blu ray disk on this yet, but know many have questions regarding hook up. I didn't realize when I purchased this DVD player that I needed a USB Wireless Adaptor, which from Sony is an additional $75.00. They are out of stock and have no estimated ship date. I have a Directv HD-DVR, connected to a wireless access point via lan connector. I plugged an extra lan connector into an extra lan port in the back of the the HD-DVR and connected it to the Sony Blu Ray BDP-BX37 and it worked. Went and updated the DVD software and I have access to all the streaming video.
More to come when I actually get time to watch a blu ray disk.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 22, 2010

Good Buy

Pros: streaming, fast load times, good value
"This is a good price for a name brand Blu-Ray player and it even comes with an HDMI cable. I paid 159.99 in store which was better then the listed online price. Set-up was relatively easy though I had to call customer support to get help accessing the internet as the "easy" 1-2-3 instructions left out the fact the Blu-Ray has to be off and unplugged prior to connecting the ethernet cable. Has a wireless option with wireless USB addon (not included). Fast load times, runs smoothly, has recognized all discs I have tried. Netflix streaming looks great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:September 26, 2010

Sony leads the way!

Pros: netflix pandora tons of apps.
Cons: none.
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"This Sony Blu-Ray player has super fast load times for movies and has great internet applications that just simply blow away the Samsung rival.
This Blu-Ray player is sleek, quiet, and has all the right options anyone could ask fort. I love that it has Netflix, Amazon movies, YouTube, Pandora, and so on. If you need a great reliable Blu-Ray player then this should be your first choice.
This is a 5 star product in a world of mediocre Blu-Ray players."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 6, 2010

Great Blu-Ray Player

Pros: great user interface design, reponsive ui
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"This player is awesome. I was a bit skeptical of what the user experience for YouTube, Netflix, and Slacker would be, as these were some of the main features I bought the player for. The UI design for each of these features is well thought out and as user friendly as it can be with the remote they provide. I love it. The only thing I can say about it was hooking up to my Slacker, and Netflix service was a pain because I had to keep going back to my computer to enter the activation codes, having the laptop handy would have made it even easy to setup. Possible enhancement would be to have this activation process just be included in the UI on the player it's self."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 17, 2010

Best Player for the Money

Pros: works with usb hard drive, awsome picture quailty, low cost, small player for space
Cons: wifi not built in
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"Player will work with USB Hard Drive. Your have to first format the drive using FAT 32. This is the same format your usb memory sticks are. This player has awsome picture quailty, and plays any kind of disc you can throw at it. I have mine hooked up direct with a cat 5 cable to the web. Regular DVDs even look exceptional with this player. Good job Sony."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 28, 2010

Best Blu-Ray for the money

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"I was looking for a Blu-Ray player for a long time and I purchased the model Sony BDP-BX37 to complete my entertainment system at my home. The set up was a piece of cake and the first Blu-Ray movie that I played was flawless. I am looking forward to having my computer send streaming Netflix Blu-Ray movies to my HDTV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis MN
Date:July 21, 2010

Fantastic Value - Easy to Configure

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"I had no trouble setting this up. BEFORE I turned it on I hooked it up to my tv (HDMI cable was included--nice) and connected it to my network with a basic LAN (cat5, whatever) cable. I turned it on and went through its setup. Then I tried to open the Advanced Network Features and had no trouble creating an account on the Sony site. From there, I opened the Netflix feature (we have been Netflixing for years) and had no trouble registering the device. I actually prefer watching Netflix through this player than through our computer (also hooked up to the TV). We watched a blu-ray movie and loved the quality. Absolutely flawless. Better than my husband's Panasonic blu-ray player that was almost twice as much...he is now jealous of my little Sony."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MT
Date:October 27, 2010

WOW

Model Number: BDP-BX37
"My son used an aethernet cord to hook up this blu-ray player to my newish Sony flatscreen and WOW! Instant information and immediate entertainment and access to an array of apps. Not to mention fast loading of discs and crystal, crystal clear picture. I'm happy with this purchase and Sony technology. Very smooth..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 16, 2010

Can't believe it

"I was very satisfied with this DVD player until yesterday. I have not even had it a year yet and it already broke on me. I checked every possible problem (HDMI cable, power) and the only thing wrong with it is the player will not recognize the HDMI cable input anymore making the player useless. I bought a new cable and it didn't work. I have to say I am less than pleased that this player broke so quickly. I have had almost all other inferior DVD players last me for years and years. I am not happy about spending the money to replace something still so new. If you don't mind buying a new one every year than I recommend this product."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:February 17, 2011

Old Netflix interface

Cons: old netflix interface
Model Number: BX37
"The new "Watch it now" Netflix interface is available on Samsung players as well as the PS3. The old interface on this machine is terrible by comparison and Sony has given no indication when it will be updated, if ever. Get the Samsung."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 12, 2010

DLNA not available until July 2010

Pros: great dvd/br player, good internet playing functionality, small very little noise
Cons: dlna functionality not available until july 2010
Model Number: BDP-BX37
"Great player for your DVD and B-Ray disks. Fantastic load times. Small size and very low amount of fan noise.
Form and function exceeded expectation except: DLNA (network based media sharing)
DLNA not available until July 2010, per support pages of the Sony website. I was surprised that Sony’s packaging (box/manual) did not market the DLNA and only Costco.com. Also, Costco’s in store signage did not market DLNA.
Basically, Costco.com is stating a feature that will be available this summer. The website should be updated to remove the feature or note that it is future capability with an anticipated release date of July 2010.
I returned mine and will repurchase after update is released.
Costco obviously gave no problems with return."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond VA
Date:February 4, 2011

Horrible Netflix Streaming

Pros: everything but streaming
Cons: terrible streaming.
Model Number: BX37 or BX57
"Excellent product but you can forget streaming Netflix (which is fantastic) or any other internet streaming video on Friday nights, Saturdays and/or Sundays. The Sony Server gets overloaded and movies hang for minutes at a time. Sony knows about the problem but will do nothing to fix it. I am returning this and getting a similar machine made by another manufacturer. Thank God for the Costco return policy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>