Customer Reviews for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set

Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
19 of 24(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Review 1 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2010

Not What I Expected

Cons: bulky/heavy
"I ordered my set from COSTCO.com and it arrived with 2 plates broken. I returned my set to the warehouse but did not place a replacement order. I like the large rounded dinner plates and also liked the colour (though it is not the white colour you see in the picture here) The mugs are a great shape too. However, all the pieces in the set are extremely heavy and thick. Not the kind of Royal Doulton that Hyacinth Bouquet would boast about."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, Ca.
Date:May 7, 2010

Meh

Pros: color, mugs and salad plates are nice
Cons: dinner plates resemble bowls
"I bought two sets but I'm going to return them. I like the color, and I like the concentric circle design. What I don't like are the dinner plates. They are rounded-up on the sides, meaning they resemble enormous shallow bowls. Even though the dinner plates are large, the amount of flat space in the middle is about the same as what you get with the salad plate (which are, thankfully, flat). These rounded dinner plates seem likely to chip or break, and they're going to be a pain to fit into the dishwasher."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:May 25, 2010

Love these dishes!

Pros: style, price
Cons: design
"I really love the style of this set, and ordered 3. I do, however, agree that they are hard to line up in the dishwasher because of the 'cupped' edge on the large dinner plates...I line them up, and they fall over, so I have to leave an extra space in between so they don't hit against each other. On the plus side about the dinner plates - they could double as 'pasta' dishes, so you don't have to get separate pasta bowls. I do wish they had other pieces that match it (I wrote the company, and they only have a 'completer set' in addition to this set). I have only had them a few weeks, so I hope they hold up awhile."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:April 21, 2010

Great dinnerware

"I bought the original set that Costo carried which included dinner plates, salad plates, large and small bowls, coffee mugs and a large serving bowl and I love, love, love these dishes.
I would definitely miss the larger bowls because they are a nice generous size for big salads as well as pasta dishes.
The mugs are a great size, no need for extra coffee cups anymore.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:May 7, 2010

Good value

"Wanted a new quality set of everyday dishes that worked in the microwave and dishwasher. This set was of excellent quality, but CREAM white, and not WHITE-WHITE. The plate is not flat, but has a bowl shape. Anyway, a good value but returned them. Would recommend if you want CREAM color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:KC, MO
Date:May 28, 2010

Fabulous!

Pros: lightweight, contempory
"I ordered the dishes about a month ago and they are great, I have arthritis in both hands and had to find light weight everyday dishes. These are perfect. They are a beautiful setting for any table. I would definitely buy more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:city island, NY
Date:May 14, 2010

simple and elegant

"I bought the original set at the warehouse--that came with the big soup bowls--so this is my 2nd set---but unfortunately they dropped the big bowls---the dishes are sturdy and fashionable --they're my everyday dishes"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north nj
Date:February 10, 2011

2nd time

"bought this at costco when they offered a large set, so i purchased this one for extras. very strong, there are time i bang them on a granite counter and it rarely breaks, i have 3 kids, and still holding up strong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:PNW
Date:April 28, 2010

breakage problem

"I have had these for a few months and every few weeks I find a new broken dish. I don't know if I got a box that was dropped and thus they had hairline fractures or if they aren't as 'dishwasher safe' as the are supposed to be. I bought two boxes so they may make it through a year, but it is unlikely at this rate. My last dishes lasted 6 years with heavy use and young children without this problem, so I don't think our dishwasher is the cause.
Otherwise they are nice. They have a nice feel, good weight without being chunky, and hold generous portions. I bought the set sold at Costco, that came with dinner plates, salad plates, pasta bowls, cereal bowls, cups and a larger serving plate.
If I wasn't having the breakage I would rate it 5 stars."
Review 10 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago IL
Date:July 15, 2010

It is not white

Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
"For someone how is looking for a bright white this is not the dinnerware you want to buy.
Size and shape ara perfect.
Quality looks good for the price.
I will return mine ASAP.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2010

Love these!

"I love these dishes. I bought them at the warehouse and loved them so much that I bought two more sets. The dinner plates are very large and the rounded edge makes them a challenge in the dishwasher, but no more than most sets of dishes that I've had. I have had no issues with breakage at all, in fact, I think they are very durable considering the beating they take in my dishwasher! I love the white color -- they go with everything and blend with all my other white service pieces. Great buy!"
Review 12 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2011

Disappointed

"I love these dishes. But I was very disappointed when the set I purchased online was not the same set I purchased last year in the San Leandro store. The set in the store contained a serving dish plus another set of 4 pasta bowls, which the set I purchased online did not include. I hadn't thought to check as to whether the product was the same or not; so it was my error. But still, the customer generally assumes what's seen in the store is the same that's online. Not true in this case."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:February 16, 2011

Buy them, you won't be disappointed

Pros: awesome
Cons: none
"Simple, elegant, sturdy, and the sizes of the dishes and cups were well thought out. The handles on the cups are nice and big (my husband is 6' 5" and has large hands) I love that the plates have a lot of surface area at the bottom and curved edges. The color is a nice off white with a bit of texture for interest. I am sooooooo pleased with this online purchase. I am tempted to buy one more box incase we break any."
Review 14 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:November 24, 2010

Classy everday dishes

Pros: beautiful, easy to clean, nice size & weight
"I'd purchased the same set in a Costco store about a year ago and accidentally broke one large plate. I'm glad these are still available online. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is the product I bought in the store had an additional set of 4 pasta bowls included (so it was a 20-piece set instead of the 16-piece set offered here). I wish the exact same product was available here as in the store."
Review 15 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 29, 2010

Great purchase but beware of color!

Pros: versatile, durable, great value
Cons: not true white
"This is a great set of dishes sturdy, well made and really pretty on the table. However, the color "casual white" means "off white", so it doesn't really match my other white dishes. Other than that, it's great value for money. As other reviewers have mentioned, it would be great if Costco could also source the five piece pasta place setting to complete the set."
Review 16 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011

Great Decision

Pros: you will not regret this purchase
"I researched carefully for a set of everyday white porcelain dishes and found the Gordon Ramsay Dinnerware set met my needs perfectly and the price was lower than other sources. Shipping was included and each piece was packed carefully with nothing broken. Knowing I could return them to the nearest warehouse made the decision easy to make."
Review 17 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 18, 2011

All in the Shipping

"The distributor of this product did not pack it well. The cardboard box it came in was very thin and the foam p-nuts were few. Two dishes were cracked so I returned it to a nearby Costco.
The upside, shipping was a few days and I already own a set I love. However, I purchased my other set from a warehouse."
Review 18 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DENVER CO
Date:March 8, 2011

love them

Pros: oven safe, great size, soft on the eyes
"I love Cheif Ramsey, his crude honesty is so funny to watch. I love to cook, am no ware near his class. Most importantly I love to eat! These plates are sturdy, it stands up to my 20 month old, perfect size to be full but not over eat, five stars. love them so much i order another box for my faily of 3."
Review 19 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010

Great dishes

"I got my 2 sets yesterday and today I'm ordering 2 more . They are great quality, I love the subtle concentric circle detail. I am glad I took the chance and ordered them. You can't beat the quality for the price. I only wish Costco offered other dishes / bowls / platters to complement the set."
Review 20 for Gordon Ramsay 16-piece Porcelain Dinnerware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Date:May 9, 2010

Just what I wanted

Pros: style
"The style is great, tho the coffee cups are a bit unusual, but I like 'em.
Otherwise, the set is just what I wanted, at a good price. The color is off white, and matches what I already have in color well enough. It seems a reasonably sturdy set, without looking heavy or clunky."
1 2 next>>