Customer Reviews for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Touch of Color Internet@TV
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
39 of 41(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:February 21, 2011

Samsung LED flat-panel TV

Pros: an excellent flat screen led tv
Cons: i wall-mounted so the stand is unused
Model Number: UN46C6400RF
"This is the entry-level Samsung model, UNC4600RF, but don't let that fool you. The picture quality is stunning, and the sound is pretty good, too.
Here's what the model number means:
UN = U.S. version
46 = screen size in inches
C = 2010 model (A = 2008, B = 2009, D = 2011, etc.)
6400 = Samsung series; the 7000 series has 2 USB inputs instead of one, and the 8000 series has a 240 Hz refresh rate rather than 120 Hz. Bordering on overkill, I think.
RF = base stand type
This is an eye-catching piece of electronics, that looks great even when it's turned off.
This was a Costco on-line purchase, so the TV and wall mount bracket had to be delivered. The motor freight carrier used by Costco, CEVA, was great: I could track the progress, and they called the day before the scheduled delivery. They even agreed to call me about 20 minutes before the expected delivery time, so I could meet them at my house. The driver and his helper got tips for this accommodation."
Review 2 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando
Date:February 18, 2011

Samsung 46" LED

Pros: picture
Cons: sound is just ok
Model Number: BD 6500
"I have two other fairly new 42-46" LCD TV's. This TV has by far the best picture. AMAZING!!!"
Review 3 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Clemente, Ca
Date:February 6, 2011

Amazing picture

Pros: great picture, kinda expensive - but it was worth it!
Model Number: Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"The picture on this TV is amazing! We originally bought a 47" vizio with internet apps. It went back almost immediately due to a horrible picture and not so great sound. We have had a bad experience with a Samsung plasma (display went bad after 4 years) - but everything we read about samsung is always good - so we gave it another shot. I could not ask for a better picture!! I have read that some of you did not think the sound was very good on this model, however ours is not mounted on the wall and I think the sound is great."
Review 4 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:JACKSONVILLE, FL
Date:February 3, 2011

AMAZING TV

Pros: everything
Cons: remote controll is only good
Model Number: UN46C6400
"WOW! An amazing TV. Amazing picture, great sound and a very thin TV."
Review 5 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 3, 2011

Great TV. Very Satisfied Customer.

Pros: clear and sharp picture, usb for hdd or thumb drive, internet apps
Cons: not 3d
Model Number: UN46C6400
"I did my research and found this TV back in November. For what I paid I am very happy with the decision I made. Please read the manual so you will be able to understand what this TV can do. Every source has its own settings which is very helpful when watching a blu-ray vs. HD cable tv or media from my external hard drive. Once I got this thing dialed-in the picture is absolutely stunning. The clarity and color will leave your friends jealous."
Review 6 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2011

GLARE

Pros: great color
Cons: screen is too reflective
Model Number: 946640
"Bought this tv to use in a bright room. BIG mistake! The picture is very good but the glare on the shiny screen was too great. The traditional advantage of LCD over Plasma on many of the LCD-LED tv's on the reflection issue is gone. This tv is the same as a Plasma on the glare issue. It was returned due to this issue. It was almost like looking into a mirror during daylight hours although the picture was excellent at night."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:January 31, 2011

Excellent Product

Pros: really great picture!
Cons: none
Model Number: Samsung LED 6400
"Outstanding picture. Sound is good, setup is simple and straight forward."
Review 8 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 30, 2011

Amazing TV

Pros: everything, none yet
Model Number: UN46C6400RF
"Best picture I have ever seen. easy to setup great price."
Review 9 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lafayette, CA
Date:January 25, 2011

Love This TV

Model Number: un46c6400rfxza
"I love this LCD/LED TV. The HD channels are crystal clear. The On screen display is easy and there are more features than I'll ever use."
Review 10 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Braselton, GA
Date:January 25, 2011

Superb Technology and Brand

Pros: picture quality, user definable features, styling
Cons: sound leaves a little to be desired
Model Number: UN46C6400RF
"This is absolutely the best picture on an LED-LCD television that I've ever seen. I purchased this television after extensive homework utilizing the net and Consumer Reports. Though this exact model wasn't tested by CR, there are plenty of user reviews to the positive (I'll unofficially call this a CR best buy!).
My set up: I'm using 3 of the 4 HDMI ports for my DirecTV HD-DVR receiver, Sony Blu-Ray player (BDP-BX57, also from Costco), and an AppleTV (Gen II). What's really cool is the ability to set individual picture settings for each input (Contrast, Brightness, etc.).
The Good: Picture quality, user definable settings for video and sound (internal 7 band EQ), size and styling (this thing looks like artwork).
The Bad: Only a few minor flaws, one of which you can overcome. The color mutes a little if you get off more than 45 degrees from center (not bad considering some of the others I've seen). The sound is mediocre. The speakers for this television are in the back and the fact that its so thin (1.4") there isn't a whole lot of punch from the speakers. If you have it mounted to a wall, its not too bad, but in an enclosed entertainment center (as I have) you will hear an echo. You CAN overcome this flaw by adjusting the overall sound processing setting to "Movie" (in the main setup) and then go in and adjust the EQ until it suits your listening pleasure. (I can tell you that I will eventually purchase either a (i) sound bar or (ii) a small 2.1 system for extra punch when watching football or a movie). But for everyday television watching, you can get enough from the television to be okay.
The only other minor flaw is that the infrared receiver for the remote isn't very forgiving. It's only about 1.5" squared, so you need to have the remote pointed at the lower right hand corner of the television and not just in the general direction like most televisions. Other than that, you can't beat the technology for the price.
Hint: Set the sharpness level somewhere between 0 and 5 if your input is 1080p or 1080i. The processing done in most satellite receivers or blu-ray players will be enough without having the television compensate.
You'll also want to make sure that your HDMI cables are at least generation 1.3. If you've had the same HDMI cable for more than 2 years, replace it. You may also want to consider a better universal remote (like a Harmony 700). The remote that comes with this television is a little clunky compared to the style of the television and the standard DirecTV or Dish remote will leave off features available on the television that will have you grabbing for it on occasion.
Bottom line: A great television at a great price from a great store. You won't be disappointed. Also, If you're interested in its net connectivity, the Samsung apps are a little clumsy to navigate but otherwise pretty easy use once you get where you're wanting to go."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Great TV for the price but...

Pros: great picture for normal hd content, size, price, design
Cons: auto motion plus - too much motion blur when on
Model Number: 6400
"I purchased this TV after reading many great reviews but am now going to return it for the following reason. If you're considering this TV, read this review and hopefully you'll make the right decision. First off, the TV looks fantastic and doesn't sound bad at all. Now if you want a realistic sounding experience, then you'll need to get some external speakers. This TV is really well priced and is a great buy if you want to watch your normal HD content. However, if you decide to take advantage of one feature, called auto motion plus, know that this TV can't handle the setting, especially when its on the "smooth" setting and you're watching a dark scene. Auto-motion transforms the picture into a very lifelike and clear picture. However, the refresh rate on this TV (120Hz) isn't powerful enough to handle this advanced feature which results in a lot of motion blur - imagine a football flying through the air and a trailing blur behind the ball. This blur occurs with any fast movement - arm waving, sudden head turn, etc. Its apparent, noticeable, and annoying. Some people don't even like this feature on because it does make the picture look very different, and if you're one of those people then this feature makes no difference and you should buy this TV cause you'd turn it off anyways. However, if you like this feature then you should look at the samsung 7000 series - which comes with 240Hz processors.
Just to be perfectly clear, you don't get motion blur if auto motion is turned off - you'll get a perfectly good HD picture. If you turn this feature on, you'll see motion blur and its quite annoying."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Affordable but…

"Affordable product, but available much more cheaper on competitor’s websites ! Check the price comparison websites before purchasing !!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011

AMAZING

Model Number: Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"We were left with the decision to spend $700-800 on a 47" Vizio or 42" LG LED... lets put it this way, WE WERE GLAD we spent the extra 200 on a samsung. LOOKS AWESOME!! Not only does samsung have a cool little ring tune when turned on or off, but the brushed aluminum stand it comes with makes the razor thin TV look SUPER NICE in our room. If you're going to spend the money, SPEND A LITTLE EXTRA AND GET THE SAMSUNG!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 21, 2011

HD is unbelievable

Pros: great picture
Cons: cost
Model Number: Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"Having gone from a 18 year old TV to this one, it is obviously amazing. The only way I could get HD before was to put on my glasses! I have no other HD TV to compare to, but the picture is outstanding. I feel like I am part of it. It almost seems like 3D."
Review 15 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Castle, DE
Date:January 5, 2011

I love this TV!

Pros: picture connectivity ports weight power usage, apps internet connectivity streaming etc
Cons: touch controls are difficult to see.
"I love this TV!
The Picture is crisp, bright and clear.
I downloaded the IPhone APP and am able to control the TV with it easier than I could with a standard remote.
By turning on the HDMI sense on my PS3, when I turn on the PS3 the TV senses it and switches to display what is on my PS3 and goes back to TV automatically when I turn off the PS3.
I am also able to stream movies, music and pictures from my PC with the built-in net support of the TV.
The best part is that this TV uses less power than my old Sanyo 26" picture tube TV!
I plan to buy other Samsung devices that will communicate wirelessly with this TV. Oh, that is the other thing, I have a Samsung digital camera that connects wirelessly to the TV allowing me to display my pictures and movies from the camera!
The TV also has component connections that let me plug in my old PS2 along with my PS3 and if you have a Tivo, be sure to switch the settings to take advantage of all that new viewing real estate!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:January 4, 2011

Had an issue with this one

Pros: cost
Cons: brightness issues
"When I saw this TV on display at Costco I knew I had to get it since it looked awesome in the store. At home I immediately had an issue with it. The screen was nice and bright with perfect color one minute, and then it would darken just enough so that the quality was lost. On the 2nd day it was fine, but on the 3rd day it started to flicker between bright and dark again, as if some of the LED lights were not kicking in. I returned it to the store. After reading all these positive reviews I'm tempted to buy it again. Maybe I just had a bad apple"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, Calif.
Date:January 2, 2011

Super Picture

Pros: picture is outstanding, worth the price
Cons: none
Model Number: un46c6400rf
"Easy to hook up and for sure use the HMDI cable. Hooked up to Directv and WOW what a picture and sound is good also. 2nd Samsung I have purchased ( other one is a 36"), and am getting ready to buy a 55" for the living room. I found it better to turn off the lite sensor, so I can control the picture myself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Ozone Park, NY
Date:November 20, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: easy to use feature
Cons: hdmi cables not easy to manage
Model Number: UN46C6400
"Excellent Quality good support serveice from Costco and Samsung"
Review 19 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 2, 2010

Good screen but with reservations

"Excellent picture, but using an external sound amp hooked via optical audio, one cannot control the volume from the screen's remote; you must use the separate remote for the receiver. Also, the buttons on the remote are too close together for male fingers. No Google TV app yet either."
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:September 12, 2010

Best TV on the market

Pros: crystal clear picture, ultra light weight, sleek design looks amazing
"I have had this TV for about 2 weeks and it is just flat out amazing. The picture is so crystal clear and the sleek design looks awesome. I am still blown away every time i watch TV. You will not be disappointed if you get this TV. I shopped around for a long time and read a lot of reviews on different TV's and every review i came across on this TV gave it outstanding reviews."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>