Customer Reviews for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Touch of Color Internet@TV
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
39 of 41(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Castle, DE
Date:January 5, 2011

I love this TV!

Pros: picture connectivity ports weight power usage, apps internet connectivity streaming etc
Cons: touch controls are difficult to see.
"I love this TV!
The Picture is crisp, bright and clear.
I downloaded the IPhone APP and am able to control the TV with it easier than I could with a standard remote.
By turning on the HDMI sense on my PS3, when I turn on the PS3 the TV senses it and switches to display what is on my PS3 and goes back to TV automatically when I turn off the PS3.
I am also able to stream movies, music and pictures from my PC with the built-in net support of the TV.
The best part is that this TV uses less power than my old Sanyo 26" picture tube TV!
I plan to buy other Samsung devices that will communicate wirelessly with this TV. Oh, that is the other thing, I have a Samsung digital camera that connects wirelessly to the TV allowing me to display my pictures and movies from the camera!
The TV also has component connections that let me plug in my old PS2 along with my PS3 and if you have a Tivo, be sure to switch the settings to take advantage of all that new viewing real estate!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, Ca
Date:June 20, 2010

Almost Perfect

Pros: everything i didn't list as a con
Cons: wireless adapter not included, pandora app only supports one user account, no keyboard typing via the remote is difficult
Model Number: UN46C6400
"The picture is amazing, instillation is easy, very sleek lightweight design. A couple of people said the netflix app does not work. I don't know if there was some kind of update since they posted that but the does in fact work and it works great. The only negative things I can really say is that the wifi adapter is not included. I plugged my modem into the back and it works great but wifi would have been nicer. The Pandora app only supports one user account at a time. You have to log in and out via your PC every time you want to use a different Pandora account. Typing via the remote control isn't very easy. I originally was going to but a viseo because the remote control has a pull out full qwerty keyboard but the store was sold out of the model that I wanted. From what I understand though, the facebook app isn't very good on the video tv either. Over all though, the TV is amazing and although I said some negative things, I am extremely pleased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:July 15, 2010

Excellent TV

Pros: iphone-as-tv-remote internet@tv netflix youtube, better picture clarity than sony
Cons: wifi adapter expensive just use ethernet, no s-video (if you still need to use that), the bottom holder is silver not black unlike tv.
Model Number: UN46C6400 - Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"Super-slim at 1.2 inch deep edge-lit LED
Internet@TV to watch NetFlix (with new firmware), YouTube, Picasa, Flicker, Yahoo! Widgets, Hulu, etc, etc (Samsung Apps)
Using iPhone as TV-Remote!! Very useful as KeyBoard for Internet@TV, YouTube,etc. Look for Samsung TV Remote in iPhone-AppStore. Enable Wireless-Remote ON in TV's menu-settings (general)
Fits in the back seat of a full-size sedan.
Samsung Blue Ray DVD Player combo deal at Costco
Light level detection (also called EcoSensor, I think) will dim your TV's picture in dark room because this is the default-setting. Just, disable the feature in TV settings (if you do not like the dimming)."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CT
Date:March 28, 2010

Stunning

Pros: ultra slim and sleek, energy conservative
Cons: don't have one yet
"So far phenomenal. The picture is something unlike anything I have ever seen to date. We have HD service through Cox and have 4 other LCD HD TV's but not the LED edge lit like this one. Three are Samsung, 2 are 720p/ 1080i and 1 is 1080p and the one we replaced was a Sony Bravia 40" 1080i. I thought the pictures on those are spectacular. They are nothing like this new version. You feel like you are watching the show live."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morris Plains, New Jersey
Date:March 29, 2010

Beautiful TV!!

Model Number: Samsung 6400 LED 46inch 120hz
"This TV has such a gorgeous picture!! Even the non HD channels look awesome! It took me soooo long to finally make a decision about what TV to get until I saw this gorgeous Samsung! It's only 1 1/2 inches thick with a thin glass frame which makes it very attractive. It's so thin that the box fit into the back of my Honda Accord!
With the amazing return policy and added warranty by Costco, it takes away all risk of a faulty product. What an awesome TV!! LOVE IT!!! GO GET ONE!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:February 21, 2011

Samsung LED flat-panel TV

Pros: an excellent flat screen led tv
Cons: i wall-mounted so the stand is unused
Model Number: UN46C6400RF
"This is the entry-level Samsung model, UNC4600RF, but don't let that fool you. The picture quality is stunning, and the sound is pretty good, too.
Here's what the model number means:
UN = U.S. version
46 = screen size in inches
C = 2010 model (A = 2008, B = 2009, D = 2011, etc.)
6400 = Samsung series; the 7000 series has 2 USB inputs instead of one, and the 8000 series has a 240 Hz refresh rate rather than 120 Hz. Bordering on overkill, I think.
RF = base stand type
This is an eye-catching piece of electronics, that looks great even when it's turned off.
This was a Costco on-line purchase, so the TV and wall mount bracket had to be delivered. The motor freight carrier used by Costco, CEVA, was great: I could track the progress, and they called the day before the scheduled delivery. They even agreed to call me about 20 minutes before the expected delivery time, so I could meet them at my house. The driver and his helper got tips for this accommodation."
Review 7 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Braselton, GA
Date:January 25, 2011

Superb Technology and Brand

Pros: picture quality, user definable features, styling
Cons: sound leaves a little to be desired
Model Number: UN46C6400RF
"This is absolutely the best picture on an LED-LCD television that I've ever seen. I purchased this television after extensive homework utilizing the net and Consumer Reports. Though this exact model wasn't tested by CR, there are plenty of user reviews to the positive (I'll unofficially call this a CR best buy!).
My set up: I'm using 3 of the 4 HDMI ports for my DirecTV HD-DVR receiver, Sony Blu-Ray player (BDP-BX57, also from Costco), and an AppleTV (Gen II). What's really cool is the ability to set individual picture settings for each input (Contrast, Brightness, etc.).
The Good: Picture quality, user definable settings for video and sound (internal 7 band EQ), size and styling (this thing looks like artwork).
The Bad: Only a few minor flaws, one of which you can overcome. The color mutes a little if you get off more than 45 degrees from center (not bad considering some of the others I've seen). The sound is mediocre. The speakers for this television are in the back and the fact that its so thin (1.4") there isn't a whole lot of punch from the speakers. If you have it mounted to a wall, its not too bad, but in an enclosed entertainment center (as I have) you will hear an echo. You CAN overcome this flaw by adjusting the overall sound processing setting to "Movie" (in the main setup) and then go in and adjust the EQ until it suits your listening pleasure. (I can tell you that I will eventually purchase either a (i) sound bar or (ii) a small 2.1 system for extra punch when watching football or a movie). But for everyday television watching, you can get enough from the television to be okay.
The only other minor flaw is that the infrared receiver for the remote isn't very forgiving. It's only about 1.5" squared, so you need to have the remote pointed at the lower right hand corner of the television and not just in the general direction like most televisions. Other than that, you can't beat the technology for the price.
Hint: Set the sharpness level somewhere between 0 and 5 if your input is 1080p or 1080i. The processing done in most satellite receivers or blu-ray players will be enough without having the television compensate.
You'll also want to make sure that your HDMI cables are at least generation 1.3. If you've had the same HDMI cable for more than 2 years, replace it. You may also want to consider a better universal remote (like a Harmony 700). The remote that comes with this television is a little clunky compared to the style of the television and the standard DirecTV or Dish remote will leave off features available on the television that will have you grabbing for it on occasion.
Bottom line: A great television at a great price from a great store. You won't be disappointed. Also, If you're interested in its net connectivity, the Samsung apps are a little clumsy to navigate but otherwise pretty easy use once you get where you're wanting to go."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:June 10, 2010

Forget all other TVs out there

Pros: picture clarity, sound, wireless capability, netflix ready, ipod connectivity, windows media player ready
Cons: samsung wireless lan adapter not included, it can't do my household chores
Model Number: UN46C6400RF
"My husband and I have long been Sony customers but this time I was impressed by Samsung's think LCD-LED design and features and convinced my husband to try this one instead after our Sony Bravia broke accidentally just recently. I am so glad that we decided to make this purchase because it is by far the best TV out there on the market right now. The picture quality and sound is excellent. My Verizon Fios cable never looked better before than on this TV. There are so many cool applications to use on this TV like the Netflix, Yahoo widgets, YouTube, etc. I can even play my iPod directly on this TV and the sound is to die for. Netflix is streamed in high HDTV quality and the videos look awesome. Even Windows Media Player can be directly streamed to this TV. I just wish that this particular model came with the Samsung Wireless LAN adapter so I didn't have to purchase it separately. But I am not complaining. I love my Samsung TV. I highly recommend spending the extra money to purchase this particular model because it is already packed with so much fun features. I don't need to pay monthly fees for my Verizon Fios Media Player DVR anymore with this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Escondido, CA
Date:June 28, 2010

great tv and amazing technology.

Pros: media sharing, led technology
Cons: remote doesnt have a flip out keyboard or anything, wifi should be built in and isnt
Model Number: UN46C6400
"The LED is great, even with standard digital cable. we dont have HD (yet). Easy setup and just cool to look at even when its not on.
connected to internet via LAN line and is very quick. Internet TV is fun, but all the movies and stuff cost extra. however, vudu gives you free previews in HD quality and the picture is crystal clear. I added the Picasa app and can have a slideshow of my picasa web albums w/background music playing. Easy.
the BEST feature is the Media Sharing! I have it linked up to my desktop thru pc manager share from samsung (in the manual) and now I can stream movies, music and even pictures to my tv. and the quality is like HD!
SWEET!
And with Costco's 90 day return policy and TWO year extended warranty, you can try it yourself. We got the 46" because of our apt space, but i really wanted the 55".
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:September 6, 2010

Great Picture Horrible Netfix App

Model Number: UN46C6400RFXZA
"Great sound, great picture but don't expect much from the Netflix application.
This is the only downside to the tv and specifically why I bought this model. I was hoping to downsize the number of additional boxes, power cords, cables etc that were used with the TV. The Netflix option doesn't maintain a good stream with the TV and constantly cuts out to reload. I never had this issue with the Roku box. I still don't.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Great TV for the price but...

Pros: great picture for normal hd content, size, price, design
Cons: auto motion plus - too much motion blur when on
Model Number: 6400
"I purchased this TV after reading many great reviews but am now going to return it for the following reason. If you're considering this TV, read this review and hopefully you'll make the right decision. First off, the TV looks fantastic and doesn't sound bad at all. Now if you want a realistic sounding experience, then you'll need to get some external speakers. This TV is really well priced and is a great buy if you want to watch your normal HD content. However, if you decide to take advantage of one feature, called auto motion plus, know that this TV can't handle the setting, especially when its on the "smooth" setting and you're watching a dark scene. Auto-motion transforms the picture into a very lifelike and clear picture. However, the refresh rate on this TV (120Hz) isn't powerful enough to handle this advanced feature which results in a lot of motion blur - imagine a football flying through the air and a trailing blur behind the ball. This blur occurs with any fast movement - arm waving, sudden head turn, etc. Its apparent, noticeable, and annoying. Some people don't even like this feature on because it does make the picture look very different, and if you're one of those people then this feature makes no difference and you should buy this TV cause you'd turn it off anyways. However, if you like this feature then you should look at the samsung 7000 series - which comes with 240Hz processors.
Just to be perfectly clear, you don't get motion blur if auto motion is turned off - you'll get a perfectly good HD picture. If you turn this feature on, you'll see motion blur and its quite annoying."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest, USA
Date:May 22, 2010

Great TV!

Pros: team with samsung blu-ray player and you're set!, eye candy eye candy eye candy!!!, sips energy at a mere 150 watts, compatibility with other samsung products
Cons: your friends will never leave...
Model Number: 6300
"A little confused on this... I bought a 6300 model at another store and got the Blu-ray player at CostCo. Mine is LED, not edge lit. Yet the local CostCo store seems to sell my model and not this 6400, eventhough they're about the same price. Oh well.
Connections for everything on the back. Picture is superb and built-in speakers are fine... though big-time users will no doubt couple with the sound system of their choice.
Samsung Blu-ray player comes with the MUCH NEEDED HDMI cable to connect to the TV. I had tried a 5-component cable that I already had and that picture was little better than an ordinary DVD player. With HDMI cable in place, Blu-ray movies look OUTSTANDING! Also, regular dvds of old black & white TV shows look OUTSTANDING! Blu-ray remote and TV remote operate the other device straight out of the box; no programming needed, and it's handy to have two remotes! In short, the TV is wicked kewl!!!"
Review 13 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto,CA
Date:August 19, 2010

Enjoy Watching It

Model Number: 6400
"We enjoy watching this 46" TV. The sound quality however is poor; this is compared with our Samsung 36" TV which doesn't exactly have superb sound. But maybe all thin (1.2") TVs are like that. We opted to order it rather than pick it up at our local Costco. Out of curiosity I tried to fit the the box in the rear seat of our 2005 Corolla. It did not fit by a little (couldn't close the door). It took 7 days for the delivery, and I was pleased that 2 people carried it in (it weighs about 50 lbs.) so I felt reassured that they didn't skimp on the handling part. I had trouble navigating the remote menu but a call to the support number quickly put a knowledgeable person on the line and my problem was resolved."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ABQ, NM
Date:June 4, 2010

Beautiful and Netflicks is great

Pros: great picture netflicks and intuitive controles, the tv intereacts with all my componants
Cons: light level detection will dim your picture, you can turn the light level detection off
Model Number: LED 6400
"This TV is amazing. The picture is fantastic and the menu and other controles intuitive. Unlike other reviewers I had no troubles using the netflicks app. You just better have good internet access. I have 1.5M and that is not enough for HD and the quality is reduced, but everything looks better on this screen. The TV is not heavy for the size and is very thin. I do have one recomendation, turn off the light level detection. When you turn down the room lighting the TV will dim. Some may like this feature I do not. Also this is last years model, not sure how they could or did improve on this model."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:January 4, 2011

Had an issue with this one

Pros: cost
Cons: brightness issues
"When I saw this TV on display at Costco I knew I had to get it since it looked awesome in the store. At home I immediately had an issue with it. The screen was nice and bright with perfect color one minute, and then it would darken just enough so that the quality was lost. On the 2nd day it was fine, but on the 3rd day it started to flicker between bright and dark again, as if some of the LED lights were not kicking in. I returned it to the store. After reading all these positive reviews I'm tempted to buy it again. Maybe I just had a bad apple"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houghton, Mich - (U.P.)
Date:June 25, 2010

Picture is Very Clear - Niceeeee

Pros: clear picture, sound is good
Cons: none
Model Number: 6400
"Mounted on the wall with a Slim Line wall mount we ordered from Costco.
Looks Great. Waited for 2 years to find a TV like this one.
TV looks like a Picture hanging on the wall."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Astoria, Oregon
Date:July 8, 2010

I still give it 5 stars

Model Number: UN46C6400
"This [second set] is a great television. The first one lost video after only 15 minutes of use. Multiple signal sources ruled out cabling as a possible cause, so I returned it to Costco and got a replacement – their no hassle return policy is why I buy at Costco!
This TV has a fantastically clear and crisp picture – better than all the others – and, it even looks cool when turned off. Kind of like a Corvette looks like it’s speeding when it’s parked at the curb. Even with the first units failure, I still give this TV 5 stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2011

GLARE

Pros: great color
Cons: screen is too reflective
Model Number: 946640
"Bought this tv to use in a bright room. BIG mistake! The picture is very good but the glare on the shiny screen was too great. The traditional advantage of LCD over Plasma on many of the LCD-LED tv's on the reflection issue is gone. This tv is the same as a Plasma on the glare issue. It was returned due to this issue. It was almost like looking into a mirror during daylight hours although the picture was excellent at night."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011

AMAZING

Model Number: Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
"We were left with the decision to spend $700-800 on a 47" Vizio or 42" LG LED... lets put it this way, WE WERE GLAD we spent the extra 200 on a samsung. LOOKS AWESOME!! Not only does samsung have a cool little ring tune when turned on or off, but the brushed aluminum stand it comes with makes the razor thin TV look SUPER NICE in our room. If you're going to spend the money, SPEND A LITTLE EXTRA AND GET THE SAMSUNG!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 46” 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:September 12, 2010

Best TV on the market

Pros: crystal clear picture, ultra light weight, sleek design looks amazing
"I have had this TV for about 2 weeks and it is just flat out amazing. The picture is so crystal clear and the sleek design looks awesome. I am still blown away every time i watch TV. You will not be disappointed if you get this TV. I shopped around for a long time and read a lot of reviews on different TV's and every review i came across on this TV gave it outstanding reviews."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>