Customer Reviews for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 32" LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 60,000:1 ConnectShare™ Movie
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 21(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 1, 2010

Good Selection

Pros: wonderful picture
Cons: none
Model Number: LN32C540F2DXZA
"I needed a television for my bedroom and after a great deal of research and after reading a lot of reviews, I decided on the C540. Since I received so much help from the reviews, I decided to write one myself.
Well I am now watching the television and I am very satisfied with my selection. I am a 58 year old woman and had this TV up and running in under one hour. It would have been half the time but I got stuck during the TV set-up portion because I got a prompt which stated that I had a weak antenna signal. I called the customer Service number and the problem literally was resolved in 3 minutes.
Thanks to an earlier reviewer I was able to put the stand together without a glitch. Sure enough, the manual failed to mention a step in the process. Were it not for the reviewers step by step instructions, I probably would not be watching TV now, just waiting for my husband to come home and put it together himself. Follow the reviewers instructions step by step. (I hope it was this site)
There is no problem with the sound contrary to some of the reviews."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield County, CT
Date:July 2, 2010

Terrific TV - missing assembly-step alert!

Pros: reception of over-the-air channels, ease of set-up and assembly, excellent out of the box picture, tv pivot-feature, monitor's as-you-go set-up instructions
Cons: not one!
Model Number: LN32C540F2D
"We purchased this at the warehouse a week ago, it's an excellent choice: picture, ease of set-up, strong ability to pull in over-the-air channels; never had cable, don't want cable, this Samsung pulls in many more channels than our other LCDs in the house. BUT there is a missing assembly-step in the Samsung instructions. One reason we chose this is because of it's pivoting stand feature - great for LCD watchers anywhere in the room. We saw this immediately as we began the assembly and found the stand would not pivot , so immediately called Costco's Concierge Service help-line. The person who spoke with us also had the manual and was stumped, too, so called Samsung while we were on the line, set up a conference-call, and the Samsung rep guided us through it: if you want the pivot-feature, before assembly, turn the stand-piece upside down and note the fixed gray metal circular disk in the middle and the shiny metal tab extending up from below into the cut-out channel in the disk. Loosen slightly the disk's three screws just until the disk can pivot and the shiny tab's channel can slide. That's all - easy! Then proceed with assembly as written and your TV will pivot.
None of this is Costco's fault, but that of Samsung which omitted this optional step from it's assembly-instructions. Costco's outstanding Concierge Service, saved us much frustration, repacking and probable return of what turned out to be a superb choice of TV.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Bruno, CA
Date:May 4, 2010

Nice screen...

Pros: smaller size and cheaper but more important its w
Cons: not full hd, price is still tough
"I returned my 40" Sony LCD TV for this one: Smaller size and cheaper, but more important its wide color performance. I have been in R&D of LCD technology for 10 years. My wife did not like the Samsung brand previously, but now she has to agree with me: Sasumg is the No.1 in LCD TV maker so far."
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:May 7, 2010

Very good TV purchase

Model Number: Samsung 32" LCD TV
"High quality video and decent audio in a very trim, nice looking set at a competitive price. For a 60hz LCD, it has very good blacks and a sufficiently low response time that I see no ghosting or smear while watching fast moving sports. Extremely easy set up including a useful onscreen description for each setting without having to refer to the user manual. Includes a swivel base which I find handy for the location between our kitchen/dining area. The few touch controls on the lower bezel are difficult to see but the remote control is used virtually all of the time so it’s not much of a problem. This is a recent purchase so I can’t speak for long term performance but my initial experience has been a good one."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Socal, OC
Date:August 14, 2010

Better than Vizio!!

Pros: beautiful picture, base swivels, very easy setup, smooth volume control compared to vizio.
Cons: screws didnt want to go all way in on the back.
Model Number: LN32C540
"I originally purchased the 32" Vizio, I returned it for this model that was 50 bucks more. It is worth every penny spent and than some!! First off the Vizio had hdmi ports on the left side, not exactly a clean look if you ask me. Reason I returned it is sometimes during commercials the volume would shoot up real loud and when trying to turn it back down the TV would turn off.
Anyhow I am here to review this TV. First off after 10 mins putting it together; the TV is really bright and nice!! Way better picture than the Vizio I did have. Volume could be heard and changes smoothly. The TV plays a small musical song maybe 2 secs long when turning on or off. Also 3 of 4 Hdmi portsa are in the back, there is one on the side.
The remote has nice large buttons on it but not too big. I don't know about the other reviews but my box did have a parts list and very clear instructions on how to mount the swivel base. There were 2 bags of screws color coded and labeled A (yellow) and B (white). The only issue I had was the screws in the back didnt want to go in all the way. No biggie.
For the size I highly recommend this model with easy setup and a very beautiful finish and picture. Samsung is the #1 manf with Vizio at #2 and Sony at #3. See it for yourself and buy this TV!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 9, 2010

Great TV for the Price

Pros: great picture quality., sound quality is solid.
"Samsung did it again. This is a great tv. The picture and colors are great. I didn't even have to adjust the color setting, the colors were perfect right out of the box. Also, even without a HD cable box, the picture is very clear.
I have just the coaxial cable cord connected to the back of the tv and the picture is great. The digital tuner found all the digital channels and the picture on the digital channels is crystal clear, it is like having an HD box connected.
The picture is the same quality as my 1080p tv that is hooked to a HD box. If you are looking for a perfect tv for your bedroom this is the one to buy. The design is nice and sleek.
You will not go wrong with this purchase, especially since it is at a great price. Thanks COSTCO!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:June 6, 2010

Goood Buy

Pros: picture, sound, price
Model Number: Samsung LN32C540
"Purchased the Samsung LN32C540 and have been happy ever since. Did some shopping around and ended up buying at Costco because of the warranty (1 year on top of Samsung's year) as well as the customer service. The TV has good sound and easy to use menu settings. The picture is dark before adjusting the settings but after a little bit of tweaking, I was able to get a good picture for the room. Cable is hooked up to the ATT U-Verse via a HDMI cable, while the DVD player is hooked up through the standard RCA cables. I bought a lower priced HDMI cable and have had no problems and good picture quality. I have had this TV for a little over a month now and am glad I chooser the Samsung."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 27, 2010

No power after the first month

Pros: nice looking tv and clear picture
Cons: tv would not power on after 30 days of ownership
Model Number: Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
"My wife and I loved this TV. The picture quality is great, the menu is intuitive and switching between sources on the romote is easy. We have the larger 40+ inch TV in our living room and we love this one. Not sure what happened to this 32+ TV but it had power problems after the first 30 days of ownership. We had to unplug the TV for a couple hours (sometimes overnight) for it to power back on. We returned this to Costco and debated about buying the same model again. We unfortunatley went with another brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Angeles,WA
Date:July 3, 2010

Gaming TV

Pros: colorful and quick refresh rate display, decent sound with a nice eq to mess with.
Cons: gamemode gets laggy with noise filters on.
Model Number: LU32C540
"I got this tv for my PS3 that I have in the bedroom so that I could game without bothering anyone. I did a ton of research before choosing this one the construction is top notch. The table stand is metal and heavy ABS plastic it's not going anywere. The backing of the TV is metal covered in a black vinel.
If you are looking for a blu-ray tv I recommend steping up to the C530. This model the C540 being 720p is perfect for gamers as roughly 90 percent of all games run in a native 720p. And with the Game Mode on and my console set to 720 games like Modern Warfare 2 chug a 60 FPS with no problems.
Lastly If you have a newer 120 or 250GB PS3 slim the Anynet+ is awesome to have. With this feature active you can control your PS3's XMB,photo,music,video DVD and blu-ray playback with the tv remote. Also if you turn off your tv it will automatically turn off the PS3 as well. And I can also just grab my controller turn on my PS3. And a few seconds later the samsung is powered on synced to HDMI and ready to play without have to pick up the tv remote or worrying about what port it's hooked up to.
I can't recommend this set enough for the gamers looking for a good set at a good price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salinas, California
Date:August 5, 2010

Bedroom TV

Model Number: Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
"Easy set-up. Using our universal remote, we have excellent range. Colors good. Could be brighter. Overall just good."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 1, 2010

User unfriendly

Cons: poor instruction guide, remote cluttered
Model Number: LN32C540
"After all the great reviews on this Samsung TV, I felt compelled to give my feedback. I didn't like it at all and it is simply getting returned. Let me share the background story. I bought a 42 inch Vizio for the living room 2 months ago and love everything about it. So when my TV went out unexpectedly in the bedroom I went to Costco and picked up a 32 inch Vizio. The setup and base installation (no tools required) on both Vizio's are super easy and there are color quick setup guides... painless. But the 32 Vizio had some things I didn't care for and was not as great as the 42 inch one. So, I read the reviews and returned it for the Samsung 32 inch.
Right out of the box, it was dissapointing. There is no "what's in the box" list and I had a part I didn't know what it was. Set that aside and onto installing the base. The quick start guide and manual are in black and white and have the tiniest pictures. It is impossible to determine the front from the back of the base (although it notes to be sure to do so... lol). After much ado, it ends up only fitting one way, but the TV is now askew. ??? Fortunately, I recalled reading from another reviewer the base swivels after loosening some screws (this in not in the manual) and that fixes that.
Now for the setup. First, the remote has way too many buttons that will rarely get used and would be better suited on the "menu" screen instead of cluttering the remote. The "enter" and/or "OK" button is about 1/4 inch square, difficult to depress without depressing adjacent buttons and only labelled with a square with an arrow in it (and is not labelled on the remote control diagram in the manual?) so you're left to find this on your own amid this cluttery remote.
As the onscreen programing prompts you, the choices are confusing and no brief explanation of the choices. It asked me things about my cable connection, I doubt the cable guy knows... lol. So after the setup, I wasn't convinced I had chosen the right things. Do I have to research now... ugh! The Vizio was so intuitive. Why is this Samsung so much effort? As I went back into the menu settings, there were things I couldn't access (like picture settings). Again frustrating. Why is that not accessible? Does another setting have to be disabled to have access? It just became not worth the bother. It was simply not user friendly, the manual was terrible, I disliked the remote and the picture was no better than the Vizio. I did find one brief unclear sentence in the manual that led me to the conclusion the "extra part" I found is a cover plate for the hole for the base if wall mounted.
I ended up buying a 32 in LG TV and am loving it. Not quite as easy of setup as the Vizio, but overall a great experience and a much more functional remote.
Of the three 32 inch TV's which were all 720p and 60 Hz, the Samsung is the only one that had lag in the picture that I visually could see. The fact that it was so user-unfriendly, I will not consider buying a Samsung product again."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:October 19, 2010

Good product - poor manual

Model Number: Samsung LCD 540 HDTV
"Had to call costco conceirge to get help on putting base together - drawing very hard to understand - the top of the base slides up into the bottom of the tv and then you put screws in to attach it to base - great size for bedroom - sharp clear picture - takes some time to scan channels on initial setup - remote is intuitive - defaults to an eco sensor which dims the picture automatically to save energy - turned that off and got a very bright picture - bought because have a samsung 42" 1080i that has been a great tv for many years - can not tell a difference in picture quality although this one is 720p -"
Review 13 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marlton NJ
Date:December 6, 2010

Great Picture

Model Number: L32C540
"Setup was easy EXCEPT for missing ? screws for base. Called Costco Concierge and started explaining my problem of 4 missing screws for base. While on phone flipped over base and unscrewed one screw of base and out popped the bag with the missing screws. Once I had those attaching base was easy. Set is light and I carried it to table by myself.
The picture is beautiful and true High Def which is what I look for. Set up by menu was easy and my universal remote works fine. So far no complaints, just raves.
Also, set cover is 'clean' no additional unnecessary design, plain black frame.
"
Review 14 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:florida
Date:August 7, 2010

samsung 32" unit bad out of the box

Pros: none
Cons: unit bad out of box
Model Number: LN32C540F2D
"i purchased samsung 32 inch today at costco. set up and controlls volume and menu would not work properly. called samsung and was told unit is defective and they would set up for me to ship unit back for repair.
i told them i would return unit to costco and buy a different unit.
i am not happy that i had to set up and the unit was bad!!!
"
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alpine, CA
Date:December 30, 2010

Best around

Pros: connectivity color clarity brightness
Cons: none
Model Number: LN32C540
"Purchased on Black Friday. Picture was pretty good on just regular cable. Called my cable provider to add a box for this set in my office. The picture is stunning, the colors are stunning, the brightness is great. Would highly recommend. Samsung is the best. Purchased similar Samsung 9 months ago before the upgrade to USB movie capability. My son talked me into giving it to him for his birthday. We both love Samsung."
Review 16 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 22, 2010

Quality at a good price point

Model Number: LN32C540
"For the price you can't go wrong.
Excellent picture quality, decent blacks/contrast, plenty of inputs and easy to set up. The ability to play media direct from a thumb drive is a neat feature.
The first one had an uneven backlight, which resulted in a brighter area in the middle of the screen in dark scenes. Costco swapped it out for a new one and the new one is perfect."
Review 17 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:January 3, 2011

This is actually 1080p!

"Bought this as a second TV for the bedroom and was surprised to find out when I hooked up a PS3 to it that the TV is actually 1080p. This TV was a great price for 720p, when you consider that it is actually 1080p this is an excellent deal at $400. Originally I wanted an LED-LCD but for the price difference and features of this particular model, it can't be beat."
Review 18 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 7, 2010

Excellent TV

"This TV has excellent, crisp and bright picture quality. We have it in our bedroom and enjoy it very much. The only negative thing is that the picture is so good, that it keeps me up at night when I'm trying to sleep and my husband can't sleep!"
Review 19 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:July 17, 2010

Great TV

Pros: great tv for the $
Cons: nothing - so far
Model Number: Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
"I chose this model based on Samsung's reputation and the other reviews. It was easy to set up, picture is terrific, and it's the perfect size for our bedroom. We've only had it for 3 days, but everything works (so far).
Great deal for the $"
Review 20 for Samsung 32" LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:June 2, 2010

Very nice

Pros: good product for incredible price
Cons: i have not used it long enough to have a solid rec
"I have been using the TV for more than 2 weeks and so far everything looks very nice. The color are bright, the image is sharp and HD, and it was easy to program. So far everything says that it was a wonderful deal."
1 2 next>>