Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading

Hot & Cold Water Stainless Steel
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
8
15 of 24(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Review 1 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2011

Worst cooler ever

"I purchased this unit to replace one that stopped cooling. Thank goodness for Costco's liberal return policy, I was able to return it after over 2 years of use, no questions asked. This is the replacement for the replacement. First one dripped after dispensing water. The 2nd one just dispensed all over. Once I loaded the bottle it just kept pouring and wouldn't stop. Complete piece of junk. DO NOT buy this unit, you are wasting your time. Thank you Costco for guaranteeing everything you sell."
Review 2 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:April 13, 2011
"Nice looking water cooler with cold water! Hot water has easy to use child safety button."
Review 3 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 5, 2011

It worked...for 2 months

Pros: relatively inexpensive, hot and cold were that...but
Cons: plastic taste for ~2 weeks, cold stopped working after 2 mos
"We bought this unit in order to stop paying $40/mo for Arrowhead, which was really more about the free cooler than the water. After the wife saw "Tapped" and did a little research to confirm that tap water is indeed safer, we opted for a Culligan tap mounted filter ($5/mo) and needed to buy a machine to heat and cool the water. It is amazing the absolute dearth of acceptable units. Opted for this unit from Costco for the returnability and glad I did. I, too, recommend running vinegar per another reviewer. Regardless, the plastic taste faded within 2 weeks of getting the unit. However, the unit stopped cooling after 2 months. Just ordered a replacement...will have to wait to see if it becomes a "fool me twice" moment."
Review 4 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011

Cleaning Directions?

Model Number: 900116
"Got it yesterday. Nicely packaged, but the "owner's manual" lacking any described method of cleaning (bleach, vinegar or otherwise). Went online to the company website and downloaded the manual for a similar model which had it (model #900139). It's still confusing because i cannot seem to replicate the process, in that the probe won't rotate counterclockwise to be removed, etc.) Anyway. I hope the taste issues that others have noted don't crop up or it'll be going back. Why can't people just write normal instructions? otherwise seems like an OK product despite the poor manua.l"
Review 5 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 7, 2011

Very good but one major flaw

Pros: nice design, nice functions
Cons: leaked
"I purchased this water cooler in August 2009. It has worked very well up until last weekend when it leaked. 2 to 3 gallons of water can make quite a mess."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2010

Good looks but not function....

"We got this unit 2 mo.ago.Initially set it up and cleaned it with the bleach solution which was a major hastle. A few hours after set up there was water all over the floor. Called customer service and they said if there is any crack in the top opening of the bottle that the seal will leak- it would have been nice to know this before the floor was flooded. After replacing the water bottle,it worked fine, but still had the plastic, gasoline taste. Called customer service and they said to try cleaning it with lemon juice which didn't help! Then the cold water broke! I gave up and returned!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 1, 2010

Stopped Cooling after 2 months

Pros: very hot water, fast dispensing of water
Cons: refrigeration stopped after two months
Model Number: 900139
"I've returned the unit because it stopped cooling the water, and have ordered another. Otherwise I think it a great buy. Water flows out quickly. I too had a problem with the plastic taste, but then read the instruction manual that gives you a process for removing the tastes before you begin using the dispenser."
Review 8 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tigard, Oregon
Date:September 11, 2010

Excellent water cooler

Cons: vinegar rinse should be part of setup process.
Model Number: PRIMO Model #900139A
"Good looking unit. Easy to move around. Hot water is hot!. Cold water is cold, but, not refrigerator cold. Just what I wanted. Setup instructions were clear. Biggest complaint was the HORRIBLE taste. A quick phone call to PRIMO tech support gave me the answer. Add 8oz. of distilled white vinegar to 1 gal of tap water. Soak, drain and rinse as in setup bleach process. I rinsed with an extra gallon of water. Water taste is excellent!!! 4-star rating is because PRIMO made me work too hard for a simple solution."
Review 9 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:September 7, 2010

Great cooler!

"It's been a month since the cooler arrived and I am 100% satisfied with the product. Yes, it did have an off taste during the first week or two (tastes like heavy plastic and I did not clean with clorox as suggested) but it's back to normal after that (either my taste buds got used to it or it is really gone). The water is cold/hot enough for my preference. I initially wanted to return the item after a few days of off tasting water, but I decided to keep it for longer and I am glad I did! I'd say give it a try for a week or 2 and see if the tastes go away before rating the cooler down! The cooler does make a humming noise but since it's in the kitchen it doesn't bother me at all."
Review 10 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lancaster Pa
Date:September 4, 2010

Shoulda bought another brand

"This is a nice cooler but the taste of what comes out of it is HORRIBLE! We are going to try using our softened and dual filtered spigot water to fill the water jug to see if that helps. I know that the water from our tap is very good so if that doesn't fix the problem we will sell this cooler to someone else."
Review 11 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2010

Bad taste, bad smell

"I should look those reviews first before placing order.
It's kind of small, bottom part is useless. I thought it was a container for paper cups etc.
But the worse thing is: water coming from cooler or hot dispenser tastes AWEFUL!!!!
It tastes like plastic, or gasoline, exactly like previous review said. Then i read those reviews online, i didn't want to wash it and wait. I just returned it ASAP.
I thought Costco carried top-quality stuff, but it really disappointed me this time. However, Costco Customer service is good, i forgot my receipt and CSR still had it back without any problem."
Review 12 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:August 27, 2010

Good

Cons: no room temperature water
"Good one and water tastes good. only thing we do not like is no room temp water."
Review 13 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 23, 2010

Aweful taste!

Pros: nice design
Cons: taste bad
"The taste of this water is so bad to where no one will drink it. Cleaned several times and it still taste bad!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 18, 2010

Good purchase

Model Number: Primo water cooler top loading
"The unit arrived in record time thanks to Costco's excellent shipping program.
The unit had an awful taste to the water and had a strange smell first time we used it. Followed the instructions to clean and flush out the system and it seems to be doing much better. Love the larger opening making loading water bottles easier. The cold water is nice and cold but the hot water is not hot enough when we use it for tea. Overall good product. I would give it a 5 star if not for the hot water.
"
Review 15 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jax FL
Date:August 10, 2010

Very Happy

Pros: works the way it should
Cons: a little low
"I had another unit made in Canada it never stayed cold. This unit is exellent I am very happy it keeps the water very cold at the factory setting didnt even have to set it colder. It is very fast at dispencing water also no wating or slow trickle, it has a large resevoir. The 1st bottle I put on it it guzzled up a good 4-6 inches of water to fill the resovoire much more than my old one. You will be happy with this unit I also looked in the back of the unit when I opened it and it is built well I could tell it was constructed better than my old one."
Review 16 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:August 7, 2010

Cool Cooler

"Used in an office setting with about 44 people drinking from it every day. We go through about 10 gallons a day. Prior cooler could not keep up with the demand and thus the water was rarely cold. Always cold with this one. Nice sleek and slim design; buttons seem less prone to breaking than other models (we broke three taps on our last one, a Sunbeam). No taste or bottle-loading issues for me. Very happy with purchase."
Review 17 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southfield, MI
Date:July 31, 2010

Water tastes like Petroleum

Cons: add a con
"Did everything that the manual suggested (ran a solution of bleach and water through the machine before using) to avoid an "off" flavor to the water. Unfortunately, this process while time consuming and a bit of a hassle, did not have a positive outcome. My brother lives on a lake that has a lot of boat traffic. Once in a while you get a mouthful of that water while swimming. This cooler makes my lovely Mountain Valley water taste like that gas/oil filled lake. Bummer."
Review 18 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Date:July 27, 2010

Disappointed with taste of the water.

Cons: add a con
Model Number: (21)900139A
"Purchased this model after having to return the "bottom loading" water cooler as no one could help us get rid of the "diesel" taste and smell. Pamphlet recommends clorox cleaning we did that and five gallons of water later we saw no improvement. Returned and ordered top loading hoping this model would be different and both Primo coolers had good ratings. Again after five gallons of bottled water wasted, clorox treatment same smell and taste. No help from company....return it was their answer again! We need a cooler and not sure where to go now. Costco is great to allow us to return a product as we really thought the second one would be the last return!"
Review 19 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2010

Everythings great except for 1 thing

"The only problem I have with this water cooler is the way the bottles load. It could be that I'm using sparkletts 5 gallon bottles but its a little difficult to mount. I'm a pretty strong guy so its not a matter of strength. It just doesn't go on smoothly and the bottle ends up slamming into place."
Review 20 for Primo Water Cooler & Dispenser Top Loading
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlingame, CA
Date:June 10, 2010

great water dispenser...

Pros: instant hot water, instant cold water
Cons: pours slightly slow with clean mounting adapter
"Great adapter allows for open top (pours quicker but could splash a little when loaded in) or the piercing top which allows for clean/easy loading (but pours a teeny bit slower).
Hot water is hot, cold water is cold. Who needs room temp when you can just mix the hot and cold to get it to your temp!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>