Customer Reviews for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser

Hot, Cold & Room Temperature Water Use with 3 or 5 Gallon Bottles
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
14 of 20(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Review 1 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Juno Beach, FL 33408
Date:March 27, 2012

Just OK

Pros: both hot and cold
Cons: hot water hard to dispense- handle is tricky., takes long time to heat water
Model Number: the one above
"purchased 8/2011. Noticed today 3/27/2012 that the hot water function and light is no longer working so we will buy another and get a return authorization for credit back on the bad one. The other thing of note is that the hot water light does take awhile to come on, It isn't instant by any stretch, maybe 4 minutes. Maybe this was defective to start with, not sure but it's totally gone now."
Review 2 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:February 17, 2012

VitaPure Stainless Water Cooler

Pros: attractive with nice features
Cons: lasted only 13 months.
"Very nice looking. A little loud. Nice instant on Hot Water feature. However, product has 12 month warranty and it lasted 13 months before cooler stopped working. This was the fourth cooler I have owned of various brands all died in less than 2 years. Am going to try Costco's 'Commerical Grade' water cooler next."
Review 3 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:November 2, 2011

Very difficult to load

"Unless your water bottles have a "pierce-able" top it is almost impossible to mount a bottle without spilling a LOT of water.
Not only does it not include one of those convenient caps, but it actually has a protrusion coming out of the safety collar. So mounting a water bottle is a bit like playing horseshoes with gallons of water as the horseshoe.
I am going to try to use it without the safety collar. If that doesn't work, it's going back.
It's a bit noisy, but I could live with that. The other problem is a deal breaker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Haslet, TX
Date:September 27, 2011

Church Water Cooler

Pros: nice looking good cool & hot water and quiet
Model Number: PWD5445BLS
"This is a good looking water cooler. Easy to set up. Runs very quiet. Folks at our church love it. Water is good and cool (I turned it all the way up and it didn't freeze). It make excellent hot water if you want coffee or tea. "BUT" I had to order a paper (water) Dixie cup dispenser from Sam's Club. Product says "POLAR" but invoice says "Greenway Tri Temp Dispens" and web site is "Greenwayhp.com""
Review 5 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Alamitos, CA
Date:September 26, 2011

So Far So Good

Pros: all the features work well.
Cons: none yet
"We've had the cooler for about two weeks and it has performed well. The true test for this kind of product, however, is after 12 to 24 months of use."
Review 6 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2011

Been through 3 other water coolers in 5 years

Pros: push down levers, cold cold water adjustable, quiet, compact, energy efficient, great return policy
Cons: heat/room temp water lever difficult, have to wait 2 minutes for hot water, more $$ for no extra special features
"Had this product for a month, hesitated since it was like $50 more than others and read bad reviews. However, very happy with purchase.I prefer these type of levers to the push button on other coolers. it's a lot more ergonomic for the only the COOL side. the room temp water/hot water is absolute pain to learn to use. rarely use the heated water/room temp water.
noise is not at all loud. it holds about 2L of cold water before giving you slightly-colder-than-room-temp water. like it because it's very compact and the finish looks nice. need to get those pierce through covers so its a lot easier loading."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:long island, NY
Date:July 12, 2011

Very nice machine

Pros: also very quiet
"This is a nice machine. The black and stainless steel look beautiful. The cold water's temperature is adjustable. Room temperature water flows from the 'hot' side, and when you want hot water, simply push the button."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Date:March 24, 2011

Great Product and Speedy Delivery

Pros: reasonably priced
Cons: none so far!
"We recently received our Polar Water Cooler, and set it up without issues. The water is cold when it is supposed to be, and hot when we request it. We have gone through two other coolers in the past 8 years, and would expect this to last as long or longer than the others."
Review 9 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:los angeles,ca
Date:December 27, 2010

polar water cooler

Pros: water out
Cons: water in
Model Number: Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
"the polar water cooler's removable quart size cup can be slightly twisted and tugged upward removing for initial cleaning , inner cooling 1 1/2 gallon tank is silcone sealed to ring around cup and water taste is clean but getting the water bottle on top without spilling is tackling without piercing style water bottles. The features of heating , cooling,and when to add water are acceptable. Owner five months."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2010

Great water cooler!

"I purchased this water cooler not knowing what to expect since I've never owned one before. I liked the fact that this particular cooler is energy saving. When you want hot water, you simply press the red button and wait for the light to stop flashing and goes to a solid red color.
There are a few things that I didn't like about the cooler but nothing that I would consider to be a show stopper. While the red indicator is nice, it would be nice if the cooler could beep when the water is hot rather than just display a solid indicator light.
For those of you who prefer to bottle your own water, you may find that the central "no-spill" post can be a pain when you're trying to use standard jugs. Fortunately the jugs I purchased can be used with a special no-spill adapter that keeps form making a serious mess when trying to change out the water. Overall, this is a great water dispenser and I can nearly guarantee that you'll be happy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage Alaska
Date:November 16, 2010

Works Great

"Rinsed it out, plugged it in, turned it on, and out came clean tasting, cold water.
No bad taste, no loud noises, or hardly any noise at all for that matter.
Takes about three minutes to heat water, which is fine, since it doesn't need to stay hot 24/7.
As long as it doesn't spring a leak, it's perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
Date:October 29, 2010

Lasted a record 5 months--WASTE OF $$

Pros: tri temp
Cons: junk (leaks after just 5 months), difficult to utilize the roomp temp button, hot water takes about 8 min to get
"Our old water cooler finally gave out after about 4 years, so we turned to Costco to purchase a new one. We really wanted a tri-temp and after doing a bit of research, this one SEEMED to have a pretty good track record according to reviews...boy was I wrong. Basically, the thing worked fine (even though I hated how HARD you had to pull the lever to get room temp water), until 2 days ago. I woke up to find my house guest MOPPING MY FLOOR because apparently water had leaked out of the bottom of the cooler all night and led a wide trail all the way to my firdge. Thank goodness it didn't ruin my floors! Well, i watched it the next few hours and there was indeed a leak..AFTER 5 MONTHS of owning it!!! Thankfully I found my packing slip, called costco and found out that they offer an unconditional satisfaction guarantee...if anything goes wrong, just ship it back or bring it into any costco for a full refund, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. Well, thank goodness I purchased from Costco, but i do not want a new one and now need to find myself one that will not be junk. SKIP THIS MACHINE if you are smart, but if you have to buy it for some reason, at least buy it here because of how amazing Costco's return policy is."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2010

Bad manufacturing

"Doing the initial cleaning procedure as recommended in the manual, I poured the fluid in the tank and water started to appear on the floor below the cooler. I checked in the unit with flashlight and found the piping in the unit was not connected. I returned the unit ASAP. Do not let the higher price trick you into believing it is going to be quality manufacturing."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burbank Ca
Date:August 27, 2010

I love this cooler!

"I really like that doesn't use up energy keeping water hot, it works great and looks very nice. It is a lot better than others I have purchased."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:August 23, 2010

This Cooler Rocks

Pros: looks great & hot water is not constantly heating
Model Number: PWD5445BLS
"I purchased this cooler a couple of weeks ago and we love it. We previously owned a Whirlpool that stopped cooling just before one year. Fortunately it had a two year warranty and the place I purchased it gave me my money back. I really like the fact that the hot water is not constantly heating wasting electricity. Granted it takes a couple of minutes to heat up, but I think this is a bonus safety feature in addition to the safety dispenser for the hot water. Water is cold and taste is great as well. I think you will be very happy in this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:August 23, 2010

Better than others purchased.

Pros: sturdy and attractive
"This unit seems to be more sturdy and better made than other units I've purchased in the past. It was easy to set up, quick to use, and no funny taste to the water. I'm very happy with it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:August 13, 2010
"Cooler works great. But takes few minutes to heat up water. We are about to return."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2010

Elegant cooler

Model Number: PWD5445BLS
"We love this cooler, looks nice, easy to add the water bottle, doesn't use up energy keeping water hot. Only issues: takes about 3 minutes to heat a cup of water. also the red heating light burned out within two weeks. I am exchanging for a new one."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2010

Great Cooler

"I bought this for our office and it is great compared to our last one. It fill the glasses up quickly. The Hot Water will get hot in about 90 seconds when you turn it on. It does not store hot water so you are saving on electricity."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polar Tri-temperature Stainless Steel Water Dispenser
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:June 9, 2010

Best Cooler Ever

"This cooler is the best we have ever had. The last one was a "commercial grade" which turned out to not mean much. This has all of the best features of the ones we looked at. Dispenses hot, room temperature, and cold water."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.