Customer Reviews for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

Internet@TV BD-Live™ (Profile 2.0) AllShare™
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
4
21 of 38(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:February 23, 2011

Lacking some basic features and abilities

Pros: netflix, pandora, speed
Cons: doesn't save movie location, unable to ff/rewind networked files
"This player does Netflix, Pandora and other online services very well, but it is lacking in playback of media via blu-ray and over the network. First off, it does not save your place if you stop a movie and restart it. So you will end up fast forwarding to the spot you were last at if you decide to finish a movie another night. Not a huge deal until it comes to playing files over the network. You can not fast forward/rewind files played over the network. The only available feature is to skip forward/back 10 seconds, which takes 2-3 seconds to do each time. Even this feature is not available on a lot of file formats.
Another problem is if you accidentally press the wrong button while playing back a video file (via network or usb) it might exit the file, meaning you would lose your location and not be able to easily fast forward back to that spot.
I held on to this as long as possible hoping a firmware update would resolve these issues, but one is not in sight. I'll be returning this to try out another brand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:April 22, 2010

Great Player but WiFi misleading

Pros: great functionality picture quality & price
Cons: misleading wi-fi benefit
Model Number: Samsung BD-C5500
"This model is similar to the other Costco Samsung player, BD P-1600. Both are excellent Blu-Ray players with online extra's such as Pandora and Netflix, and both have the same misleading issue with the Wi-Fi (Wi-Fi ready, but not any Wi-Fi adapter will work - only Samsung proprietary usb adapter). With the exception of the Wi-Fi (I have it hard wired via an ethernet cable), this is an outstanding player for its core function as a Blu-Ray player. Load speed is fast and picture quality is awesome.... even upscaling on DVDs is great. The price on this player is great considering this is an entry level player. If you are looking for a player that has built in Wi-Fi or do not want to spend the extra money on the samsung adapter (which is the only one that works as far as I can tell), this is not the model for you; consider spending an extra $40 to $60 on the next model up."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:King County, WA
Date:April 2, 2010

Incomplete Product Specs

Pros: price
Cons: not clear on parts needed, customer service
"This player did what it was supposed to in regards to playing blue ray media. One of the selling points was that it was WIFI Capable (Adapter not included). I was fine with the adapter not being included, as I have many WIFI adapters laying around. Unfortunately, what the box and manual do not tell you is that not just any WIFI adapter will work. Only a proprietary adapter from Samsung will work. This is only available from Samsung directly and costs about 70 bucks after order handling and the cheapest shipping."
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:May 5, 2010

Nice, but...

Model Number: BDC5500C
"I've had this blu-ray player for about 3 weeks and it has worked well. Being my first blu-ray model I can't compare it with others. But, I recently bought the new Avatar blu-ray dvd and it would not play in this unit. A warning appears that says the player's firmware must be updated. I got online, downloaded the firmware to a flashdrive and over a 3 hour period chatted with 3 Samsung reps but could not get the player to work. It accepted the new firmware but still would not play Avatar. Since it's likely this problem will occur with other blu-ray movies I'm returning it to Costco and will likely get the comparable Sony."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo, OH
Date:April 26, 2010

Great Blu-Ray Player

Pros: functionality, price, reliability
Model Number: Samsung BD-C5500C
"This has been a great Blu-Ray Player. It is extremely reliable and I have experienced no issues with it so far. In addition to handling Blu-Rays wonderfully, it also does a great job with online services such as Netflix. Some other players have been known to drop connections, etc... however, I have never experienced this on this player. I've noticed most of the more negative reviews have stated they were confused about the Wi-Fi capability. This player, just like all others like it, states it is wireless "ready". Just read the box and you will not be upset; you must purchase a Wi-Fi adapter if you do not want to use ethernet."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2010

Good Value

Cons: the master password system is a little confusing.
Model Number: BD-5500C
"So far this seems to be a pretty good value. I wanted a player that could connect to Netflix. This one connects to Netflix as well as Pandora, YouTube, Picasa and more. I can also play AVI and MP4 files through my Windows network and I was able to stream from my Mac by installing the free app TVMOBILI. You can also play media files from a USB drive that connects to the front panel."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010

Apps are very limited! Everything else is good.

Model Number: BD-C5500C
"This is my first Blu-ray and I decided on this one because I wanted to stream directly from my Netlflix and Hulu accounts. Once I hooked it up and went into the apps gallery, I was sorely disapointed that Hulu was not available. I contacted customer support and they confirmed that it's not available but said they might include it later on. I've decided to keep this player in hopes that they will soon include a Hulu app. The apps available so far are Netflix, Blockbuster, Rovi, Vudu, Youtube, Cinemanow and a bunch of games and picture gallery apps i'll never use."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2010

Watching Avatar blue ray on this player is awesome

Model Number: Samsung BD-C5500 Blu-ray Player
"I got the Samsung BD-C5500 Blu-ray Player at Costco and works great with youtube, netflix. Worth for the money and works great with Samsung HDTV. Only issue had was playing Avatar blue ray disc. I updated the firmware to BSP-C5500WWB-1019.0 version. I had to reset the player ( with no Disc on the Player, press and hold the Stop button on front panel for 5 seconds) . Now the disc works great. Watching avatar blue ray on this player is awesome..!!! It gives immense pleasure now watching all the blue ray movies including Avatar..!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:January 31, 2011

First Blu-ray 4 Me

"Every thing worked great out of the box. Use a hard wire to hit the internet so was not concerned about wireless function. Set up NetFlix acount with their free trial and was watching movies within an hour of plugging things in. NetFlix works great for me with Verizon FIOS service.
One issue was the price. Found same item in Costco physical store for $10 less. Returned the online purchase (unopened) at the physical store with no issues and picked up new box on the way out the same day."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:January 31, 2011

Looks nice - Bad for network streaming

Pros: look great, easy set up
Cons: horrible networking capabilities
Model Number: samsung bd-c5500
"One of the slickest looking Blu-Ray players on the market but not ready for being a networked player.
Why even have streaming capabilities for streaming movies when the player provides almost not functionality or controls to play the movie. When I tried to watch a movie that was on my home networked hard drive, this play does not have the ability to change audio streams or subtitles. Samsung support says they only play the primary audio stream - so why does it change in the middle of a movie? Even basic features like fast forward is clunky.
This player when used to play hard copy blu-ray and DVD disks works well and the unit is very easy to get up and running."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:December 2, 2010

Great picture/ Easy to use

Pros: great picture
Cons: none
Model Number: BD-C5500C
"This is a great Blu-ray player. Very easy to use. if you have a Samsung T.V. you can control the player and the T.V. with the included remote. This BD player would be great for some one who wants something easy to operate, and is loaded with features for even the most demanding home theater enthusiast."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:November 12, 2010

Don't Waste Your Time

Pros: remote worked with the tv
Cons: hangs at the menu with dvds, network (streaming) is poor
"I actually tried to like it, even tried returning it for several replacements, but they all had the same issue. I wanted a Blue-Ray of same MFR as my TV which is why I bought it. When I would put a regular DVD in the player, it would freeze at the menu. I then tried cleaning the DVD, but it did the same thing on every one of my replacements. The networking is slow and clumsy. My Streaming with Netflix was OK (not great like other streaming devices) but it would hang, give me poor quality, or forget where I left off in some TV series. Samsung needs to go back to the drawing board and put the same type of quality in these as their TVs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:April 7, 2010
Pros: works well with same-brand tv, handy video control
Cons: requires proprietary usb adapter, unclear software download instructions
Model Number: BD-C5500-C
"If you are interested in using the wireless internet connection you need to add significantly to the cost ($79 for the proprietary Samsung USB adapter plus $10 shipping). Based on packaging and instructions I thought I could use a generic $39 adapter I had on hand. Now I am pondering whether to take advantage of store's return policy. I regret not looking at other review before buying."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Date:January 19, 2011

Does not play regular DVD

"Connection was a breeze, it immediately downloaded a firmware update. Apps are cool but limited. I am disappointed that it did not play 2 of my DVD's that play well in a standard Toshiba DVD player."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:February 17, 2011

Solid machine

Pros: has the latest netflix software, clean interface, reliable streaming with a good internet connection
Cons: no hulu
Model Number: C5500
"The people who have criticized this machine for its lack of wireless connectivity need to learn to read. It clearly states it needs an additional adapter. If you are having problems with any of the streaming services, it is your internet dropping packets or some other quality of service issue, not the machine. I have watched hours of Netflix instant streams (which are at 720p) without a single problem. The fact that the machine also has the latest Netflix "Watch Instantly" software vs. the older Instant Que software is a huge improvement over most players."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2010

Great Product

Pros: quick & easy setup all widgets work great
Cons: none
"I've used many different Blu-Ray players and this Samsung is very straight forward if you READ the manual. The Netflix streaming and other widgets work great!!!
I highly recommend this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, Al
Date:May 29, 2010

No problems here

Model Number: C5500C
"This player has bend great. I had no trouble playing Blue Ray Avatar. t seemed to work great. I am using a projector hooked through HDMI if that makes a difference. I also have no trouble using any access point I had laying around for wire less. You do have to make sure you pre configure the access point for you network so it is basically like plugging a network cable in directly.The only problem I have had is when I hook a hard drive to it as a media jukebox. It will only plays AVI and other digital format files configured like it wants. The manual has a listing if types it plays but you my need a good converter to get some digital formats to play. them to be."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA.
Date:July 11, 2010

DLNA Compatible

"I bought this because it was marketed at being able to play media off of a Windows 7 computer using DLNA. Initially I couldn't get it to see my computer at all. I changed out my cable router with a newer model and then it worked fine. Unfortunately it won't play TV media recorded by Windows Media Center in either .wtv or .dvr-ms format. I have to convert all my TV recordings to .wmv (Windows Movie Format) and then it plays them fine. Unfortunately it loses all closed-captioning when this is done. If you are looking for a simple DLNA player and you don't mind working out the network issues. for the price it works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Not Great for Apps....

Pros: quality, price
Cons: limited on apps
Model Number: BD-C5500C
"I have had the player for a month and I have not had any issues with Blu-Rays or DVDs. There are fewer internet apps available than I hoped for. You get the basic apps that you find on all of these devices like Netflix and Pandora. Newer apps like Hulu Plus are not available. The usb connection and streaming also worked for me. Overall this product is OK. I would recommend to a person that just wants the basics."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:September 11, 2010

I really wanted to like it

Pros: wireless, 3d capable
Cons: limitted/confusing internet app settings, lost all app settings when power went out, takes 30-60 secs to load
"Unfortunately my relationship with my new blu-ray is in the category of "tough love". Blu-ray and Internet app functions feel like switching from one profile on your computer to another, just poorly thought out. Poor visuals and long screen pauses without visuals of what the player is doing can be frustrating, especially when it does something that you don't want it to do. Had it for 3 weeks and am returning it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>