Customer Reviews for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

Internet@TV BD-Live™ (Profile 2.0) AllShare™
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
4
21 of 38(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2011

Had to Return

"Sadly I had to return this machine as it did not have built in WiFi. I learned the hard way that WiFi ready did not really mean ready. I needed to buy another adapter to make it work. However....the guys at Costco alerted me to the fact that a new Sony BDP-BX58 was coming in and it was much improved and had the built in WiFi I was looking for. I am going to Costco today to pick it up!!!! I will review that one later...."
Review 2 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angels
Date:March 15, 2011

Worst Costco Purchase

Cons: freezes during play.
Model Number: BD-C5500
"This is probably the worst purchase I ever made at Costco. Web and Disc movies continue to freeze along with the player, which I have to reboot in order to get it to work again. The load time is also poor among other things."
Review 3 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crown Point, IN
Date:March 14, 2011

Solid player

Pros: love the gui, big front lcd display, touch buttons on the unit
Cons: remote looks and feels kind of generic, front usb flap door grrr
Model Number: C5500
"Outstanding player with best use friendly interface. Had to order Samsung online, not available in our store anymore. I have first tested Sony and Panasonic from Costco and keeping this one. Sony has a known issue with streaming Netflix and I have experience just that. Samsung was slow with an outdated online GUI making streaming a painfully slow experience. Samsung is light years ahead of the competition. It's like internet from 1999 vs 2009. I am purchasing right now second Samsung for another home. My setup: wired connection to a bridged wireless router in N only mode; optical audio; hdmi to a ceiling projector (109" screen). We have several Samsung products that last literally forever. I am confident in this player, especially with Costcos return policy. Just can't go wrong."
Review 4 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilsonville, OR
Date:March 9, 2011

Simple setup and great features

Pros: simple setup, great features, updated netflix
Model Number: CC5500C
"I was looking between the Panasonic, Sony, and Samsung Bluray players. I have a Panasonic TV and I was wanting to be brand loyal but found that the Samsung was has more features than all. Not only were there more, but the were better ones.
Netflix for example on the Sony and Panasonic were Instanta-cue view only, where the Samsung unit had a full browser.
Its been set up in my house for 2 hours now and its all that I have expected so far."
Review 5 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:February 26, 2011

product isn't ready for market. too many bugs.

"I bought this samsung Blu-ray because I have a samsung TV, which I like pretty well, and I figured they would go well together. The remote controls do, but the player and tv do not. I've lost track of how many times I had to power-off, to reset both tv and dvd player.
It is quite sad that the kinks have not been worked out of the player, because the interface is better than the sony blu-ray player I replaced it with. But until the bugs are worked out of the system, I can't recommend it. I give the second star, because it is a generation ahead of sony in the user interface.
"
Review 6 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:February 23, 2011

Lacking some basic features and abilities

Pros: netflix, pandora, speed
Cons: doesn't save movie location, unable to ff/rewind networked files
"This player does Netflix, Pandora and other online services very well, but it is lacking in playback of media via blu-ray and over the network. First off, it does not save your place if you stop a movie and restart it. So you will end up fast forwarding to the spot you were last at if you decide to finish a movie another night. Not a huge deal until it comes to playing files over the network. You can not fast forward/rewind files played over the network. The only available feature is to skip forward/back 10 seconds, which takes 2-3 seconds to do each time. Even this feature is not available on a lot of file formats.
Another problem is if you accidentally press the wrong button while playing back a video file (via network or usb) it might exit the file, meaning you would lose your location and not be able to easily fast forward back to that spot.
I held on to this as long as possible hoping a firmware update would resolve these issues, but one is not in sight. I'll be returning this to try out another brand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:minneapolis
Date:February 19, 2011

DOA

"Hooked it up, connected online and downloaded software update ... all seemed fine. Noticed I wasn't getting full 5.1 audio, just 2 channel. Checked the optical connection and found it wasn't really locking in place. Socket isn't working right, so I have to bring it back. Maybe just a fluke, but I've noticed a couple other posts here about quality control issues. We'll see. I'm giving it three stars since everything else seemed to work easily and the picture looked good. If I get another DOA, well that'll knock it down."
Review 8 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:February 17, 2011

Solid machine

Pros: has the latest netflix software, clean interface, reliable streaming with a good internet connection
Cons: no hulu
Model Number: C5500
"The people who have criticized this machine for its lack of wireless connectivity need to learn to read. It clearly states it needs an additional adapter. If you are having problems with any of the streaming services, it is your internet dropping packets or some other quality of service issue, not the machine. I have watched hours of Netflix instant streams (which are at 720p) without a single problem. The fact that the machine also has the latest Netflix "Watch Instantly" software vs. the older Instant Que software is a huge improvement over most players."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver Colorado
Date:February 15, 2011

Samsung Blu Ray Disc player

Pros: great detail and picture
"This is an excellent product, the clarity is fantastic, plays both Blu Ray and DVD. The setup was easy and HDMI is fantastic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 3, 2011

Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

Pros: ok picture quality
Cons: cannot conect to internet using wi-fi
"Ok performance... CANNOT CONNECT to Network using Wi-Fi. SAMSUNG MAKE IT IMPOSIBLE . This is true with TV also"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:January 31, 2011

Piece of Garbage

Pros: looks good
Cons: unreliable hardware, buggy software, remote is horrible
Model Number: 55000
"This has to be the worst piece of audio video celectronics I have ever owned. I am constantly fighting with this thing to get it work and read SUPPORTED media. I have only used it a couple of times but I am constanly unplugging the stupid thing to get the tray out to put in or get out media. All DVD skip and hop, it's ridiculous. I have actually thrown the thing in the trash tonight I have had enough."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:January 31, 2011

First Blu-ray 4 Me

"Every thing worked great out of the box. Use a hard wire to hit the internet so was not concerned about wireless function. Set up NetFlix acount with their free trial and was watching movies within an hour of plugging things in. NetFlix works great for me with Verizon FIOS service.
One issue was the price. Found same item in Costco physical store for $10 less. Returned the online purchase (unopened) at the physical store with no issues and picked up new box on the way out the same day."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:January 31, 2011

Looks nice - Bad for network streaming

Pros: look great, easy set up
Cons: horrible networking capabilities
Model Number: samsung bd-c5500
"One of the slickest looking Blu-Ray players on the market but not ready for being a networked player.
Why even have streaming capabilities for streaming movies when the player provides almost not functionality or controls to play the movie. When I tried to watch a movie that was on my home networked hard drive, this play does not have the ability to change audio streams or subtitles. Samsung support says they only play the primary audio stream - so why does it change in the middle of a movie? Even basic features like fast forward is clunky.
This player when used to play hard copy blu-ray and DVD disks works well and the unit is very easy to get up and running."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2011

Works Fine as an Entry Level Player

Pros: after software upgrade blu ray works fine
Cons: apps has no hulu+
Model Number: BD-C55000C
"After software/firmware upgrade, plays Avatar without a glitch - it took ~35 seconds to load DVD. Keeping in mind that it is an entry level player, it works fine. Apps are not great, & it does not have Hulu+. No problems using the Netflix App."
Review 15 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Date:January 19, 2011

Does not play regular DVD

"Connection was a breeze, it immediately downloaded a firmware update. Apps are cool but limited. I am disappointed that it did not play 2 of my DVD's that play well in a standard Toshiba DVD player."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 16, 2011

Works great

Model Number: 5500
"We have this connected to Netflix and it works great!"
Review 17 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010

Apps are very limited! Everything else is good.

Model Number: BD-C5500C
"This is my first Blu-ray and I decided on this one because I wanted to stream directly from my Netlflix and Hulu accounts. Once I hooked it up and went into the apps gallery, I was sorely disapointed that Hulu was not available. I contacted customer support and they confirmed that it's not available but said they might include it later on. I've decided to keep this player in hopes that they will soon include a Hulu app. The apps available so far are Netflix, Blockbuster, Rovi, Vudu, Youtube, Cinemanow and a bunch of games and picture gallery apps i'll never use."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:December 3, 2010

Not Great for Apps....

Pros: quality, price
Cons: limited on apps
Model Number: BD-C5500C
"I have had the player for a month and I have not had any issues with Blu-Rays or DVDs. There are fewer internet apps available than I hoped for. You get the basic apps that you find on all of these devices like Netflix and Pandora. Newer apps like Hulu Plus are not available. The usb connection and streaming also worked for me. Overall this product is OK. I would recommend to a person that just wants the basics."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:December 2, 2010

Great picture/ Easy to use

Pros: great picture
Cons: none
Model Number: BD-C5500C
"This is a great Blu-ray player. Very easy to use. if you have a Samsung T.V. you can control the player and the T.V. with the included remote. This BD player would be great for some one who wants something easy to operate, and is loaded with features for even the most demanding home theater enthusiast."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2010

Watching Avatar blue ray on this player is awesome

Model Number: Samsung BD-C5500 Blu-ray Player
"I got the Samsung BD-C5500 Blu-ray Player at Costco and works great with youtube, netflix. Worth for the money and works great with Samsung HDTV. Only issue had was playing Avatar blue ray disc. I updated the firmware to BSP-C5500WWB-1019.0 version. I had to reset the player ( with no Disc on the Player, press and hold the Stop button on front panel for 5 seconds) . Now the disc works great. Watching avatar blue ray on this player is awesome..!!! It gives immense pleasure now watching all the blue ray movies including Avatar..!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>