Customer Reviews for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System

FREE SHIPPING
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
3
10 of 20(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Review 1 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 8, 2011

Best Buy

Pros: gorgeous surround sound, deep bass, the remote can control all your video equipment., am/fm radio, ipod dock
Cons: not wireless, cumbersome to switch from dvd to tv
Model Number: HT-SS370
"Incredible sound--absolutely room-filling and crystal clear. Deep, booming bass, soaring highs, excellent imaging. Still trying to learn how to work it and sync it to our video equipment but it's worth yet. Who cares if the speakers aren't wireless? The cables are plenty long for my room and you can adjust the sound field for the distance of the rear surround speakers from the receiver. The receiver comes with presets and is totally customizable. You can also listen to AM/FM radio and it comes with an iPod dock. I love this thing. It's like going out to the movies every night. Better buy it in the warehouse before it's gone."
Review 2 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:March 24, 2011

cool but not what i expected

"The original advertisement sold this unit as a wireless rear surround. That advertisement has since changed. The advertisement sold me on the fact that it was already wireless rear with expandable capabilities. Which if it was true was a great deal and awesome find for the buck! I purchased it immediately after reading over the (then) fine print. My only interest was the wireless rear. Once shipped to me I found that it is not wireless rear and that if I wanted wireless rear I would have to spend a combined cost of more than what this unit cost. for example you need a card to insert into the back, then you need a receiver to make wired speakers receive a rear wireless signal, or you can buy their speakers with built in receiving technology making the rear speakers that came with this set obsolete. Long story short is the advertisement was deceiving, and to have wireless rear your going to spend an additional 200+ dollars, making your overall investment 400+. Oh and FYI Costco does not even offer the products you would need to make this set actually wireless rear. Never even plugged it in to hear the performance. Returned it to my local costco with absolutely no problems. Love their return policy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Antioch, CA
Date:March 22, 2011

Real good buy

Pros: price is extremely good.
Cons: rear speaker wire: one of two should be longer.
Model Number: Item# 515370
"Impressive sound for its size.
One of the rear speaker wires should be several feet longer so that wires can be bundled and placed along one wall-side.
"
Review 4 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:BOSTON, MA
Date:March 16, 2011

Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Thea

Cons: s-air parts explaination, obscure instructions
Model Number: HT-SS370
"Great system with excellent sound for the cost. Unfortunately if you want the wireless option you have to hunt the web for obscure parts to complete the system. The wireless transmitter for the base unit is not part of the S-Air system. SONY website doesn't even list it! After reading all the fine print I found the part through Ritz Camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beverly Hills, FL
Date:March 15, 2011

Good Investment Value

Pros: best value for the money spent.
Cons: speaker wires...
Model Number: STR KS370
"For a compact unit, it delivers a lot of power from the five speakers. The whole system is well balanced and reproduces the best sounds in music."
Review 6 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Otter Rock, OR
Date:March 4, 2011

Good unit but beware!

Pros: good for the price
Cons: misleading wording on the box, left and right front speaker wires are too short
"For me, reading the description of the unit on Costco all I saw were the words "Home Theater System". To me a home theater system has a DVD player in it. And in the specs for this unit are the worlds "blu ray" player about 12 times. But of course I'm stupid and didn't realize it was "blu ray" capable or this and that, and that no actual DVD player comes with this. I felt really dumb and yes, it's my fault. But again a "system" to me means it has a way to play the movies. DUH.
I did not have any problem hooking it up to a Vizio TV, worked fine the first time.
For the price it's a fair speaker system far superior to that on the TV. This was to replace a Panasonic Home theater SYSTEM that came with a 5 DVD changer that broke after one year.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Customer service ?

"Product delivered in several pieces ! Customer service details are nowhere to be found ! Is that on purpose ? Thank you to answer me as soon as possible ! A very unhappy customer."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 3, 2011

Wish I had read other reviews

"In my haste, I should have read other reviews. I thought it was wireless rear speakers, not wireless compatible and you need to buy another piece of equipment to make it wireless. Still, we thought we'd give it a try, but wires for rear speakers were to short and it wasn't an easy fix to add more wire (again, should have read other reviews). But, plus side, Costco did accept return w/o any question."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:November 24, 2010

Good buy

Pros: flawless working with my sony tv, nice and neat, good radio
Cons: not very good with base
"For this price, it is a good choice. It works flawlessly with my Sony LCD TV, easy to hook up.
I love it comes with radio, and it is the once of the reasons for me choose this model
"
Review 10 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 11, 2010

Not for 3D fans

Pros: decent sound, relatively easy to set up
Cons: 3d-incompatible, cables are too short
"Usually I don't buy Sony products for numerous reasons, but I went for this set only because it was advertised as "3D ready" at our local Costco warehouse. Should have listened to my gut! Wasted a few hours buying it and setting it up, just to find that HT-SS370 area code U2 is the only model in the lineup that is NOT 3D compatible! It doesn't mean we cannot watch 3D with surround sound - I just had to run an extra SPDIF cable from the BD player to the receiver to make things work. However, having to manually select the right input every time you want to watch a movie is very annoying (and confusing for those members of my family who are not very technical:) 3D is pretty much everywhere these days. C'mon Sony, it's 2010!
Another thing overlooked by Sony designers is the speaker cable length. Adding 10 extra feet of cord for the surround speakers sure won't bankrupt the company. Even for my tiny apartment, the cables are not long enough. The AM antenna cable is ridiculously short, especially when you read in the manual how important it is to keep the antenna away from the receiver and other components.
Gonna return it tomorrow and buy a Yamaha YHT-393 for the same price.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 8, 2010

Advertising Misleading!

Pros: cheaper than other systems
Cons: not the best system
"We purchased this item thinking it included the Bluray disc player, because the information lead us to believe this with the Bluray logo on it. We saw this model in the store and opted based on the sales persons advice to wait and purchase it through the internet. So we were very bummed when we pulled it out and found no bluray disc player. And the cords to reach the box for the speakers are way too short for the center and right speakers. They should have made them all the longer length. Had to do my own splice and dice. Not a plug and play system!!"
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 15, 2010

Totally satisfied.

"Setup is easy but you need to do it properly. if settings is right then the sound quality is perfect.
I really enjoy everything about it.
"
Review 13 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 8, 2010

Could Not Get to Work!

"First let me say that I am not a neophyte when it comes to electronics - used to own a computer sales and installation business - been around sound systems etc for over 40 years. After hooking up to a new Samsung TV and getting no sound, called Sony service - he suggested that there might be something wrong with TV. We then called Costco service and we messed with it for nearly two hours - never got a sound out of it. Thank you Costco for your instant return policy."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SE NM
Date:September 17, 2010

Royal pain to get it to work

Pros: good product
Cons: poor tech support
"My wife and I are not the most technical people around, but, we always get stuff figured out.
We bought a 60" sharp from costco about 9 months earlier. I am hard of hearing and it went in a huge trophy room so we decided to get this surround sound so that I could hear the dialogue of a movie.
We got it and the wife spend several hours trying to figure it out and could not get it to work.
Next day she tried the online chat help. Total waste of time.
Called the tech support, finally got through was on the phone with the guy for over an hour and he told us it was the TV. Keep in mind this is pretty much a new TV. He led my wife to believe that the TV was not capable of using this system, and to call the maker of the TV to figure out how to hook it up.
What a JOKE!!!
She fooled around with it another half day and got it to work , but, the DVD player would not work with it. She fooled around another few hours and now it all seems to work.
Good product.
Poor service on the Tech side.
Poor directions from Sony.
Costco always has great service and a great return policy and we almost needed to use it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Rockville, MD
Date:September 5, 2010

questions for Sony and FYI

Pros: good price
Cons: need to improve
Model Number: T57
"Two questions for Sony:
1. Why the wires for the center and rear speakers are so short? Extra 10 feet for the center and 15-20 feet for the rear would be great. Sony told me I can cut the wire for the R and L speakers, but can not use the surplus to extend the rear speakers. The parts department does not have longer wire for sale.
2. Why TV has to be on when I play iPod? I want to listen to music but not watching boring image. Isn't there an estimated hours of watching time for TV? Why I want to shorten the TV's lifespan when listening to music?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2010

sound quality -average

"The installation is simple. The sound quality did not come close to the old (20+ years) Boise speakers and JVC receiver it was to replace"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 13, 2010

What We Wanted

"Good sound. Excellent HDMI choices. This system simplified installation and use."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Alamos, NM
Date:July 11, 2010

Buyer beware!

"Buyer beware! Make sure you read this very closely. It is blu-ray compatable. Not a blu-ray player. It also is wireless compatable if you buy the additional products. It by it's self is not wireless. It is a decent surround system if you dont mind investing quite a bit more money to maximum its capabilities."
16 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino, CA
Date:July 3, 2010

Solid sound at great price

Pros: bravia sync sony ipod dock
Model Number: HT-SS370
"I am a big Sony fan and their audio has never been even half decent. I had no idea it comes with the Sony ipod dock either. It doesn't say that anywhere on the box or in the description. At least I didn't see it. So it was a huge bonus when I opened the box up!"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony 1000watt 5.1 Channel Surround Sound Home Theater Speaker System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Peoria, az
Date:June 29, 2010

Good system for the price

Pros: very easy setup, supringly good sound for the price
Cons: subwoofer good but not room trembling.
Model Number: 515370
"Very easy setup. Great sound but don't expect room trembling bass from the subwoofer found in the more expensive sound systems. The subwoofer is not very big but it does a suprisingly good job for it's price. With the HDMI inputs and the color coded speaker wires, the system is up and running in no time. When I first read the features, I thought the system includes a bluray and wireless rear speakers.These are extra options you need to pay for."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.