Customer Reviews for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo

Average Customer Rating:
3.754 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
12
46 of 65(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:COLCHESTER, VT
Date:February 16, 2011

BEST PRODUCED TRASH CAN, SO FAR!

"4 YEARS AGO I BOUGHT, FROM COSTCO 4 AUTOMATIC OPENING TRASH CANS. 3 OF THOSE WERE FOR FRIENDS, ONE WAS FOR MY OWN USE.
I AM, IT SEEMS, FOREVER COOKING, BAKING ETC. ETC. SO THE AUTOMATIC OPENING CAN WAS A GODSENT.
THE AUTOMATIC OPENING MECHANISM GAVE AWAY ON MINE ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO.
TO SAY I MISSED IT IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT.
TRY AS I MIGHT TO FIND IT ON COSTCO.COM, I COULD NOT.
I LOOKED IN MY COLCHESTER COSTCO, I STILL COULD NOT FIND IT. THEN ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO MARCIE, ONE OF THE PERSONNEL, IN COLCHESTER TOLD ME SHE WOULD TRY FINDING IT FOR ME. LO! AND BEHOLD!, AFTER 15 MINUTES SEARCHING SHE FOUND THE NUMBER FOR THIS CAN BUT IT COULD ONLY BE ORDERED THROUGH COSTCO.COM .
WHAT A WONDERFUL FIND FOR ME BECAUSE I TRULY MISSED THE CONVENIENCE OF HAVING THE LID OPEN UP AS IT DOES.
PLEASE, ALL OF U LOOKING FOR A WONDERFUL GIFT FOR YOURSELF OR A LOVED ONE CONSIDER THIS CAN.
TRYING IT JUST ONCE WILL THRILL U AND U WILL NEVER, NEVER CONSIDER ANOTHER CAN.
GOOD LUCK! AND THANK YOU COSTCO FOR BRINGING THIS ARTICLE BACK WITH IMPROVEMENTS.
MARGOT"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Stamford,CT
Date:September 9, 2010

Not ideal for your kitchen/day to day use

Pros: really great show piece.
Cons: not ideal for day to day house and kitchen use.
"I have purchased this product around 6 months ago. First 5 months I was happy, Then started seeing issues with the Lid, It does not open, i had to go and press the open button.
Called customer services, they called me back in a week, explained the situation. Nine Star advise me to reset the lid, by taking out the batteries for 24 hours. Followed the steps as they advised, did not worked, Called the customer service again, they advised me to ship it to CA. i had to ship the lid, top part, Shipping cost is around $15. After 4 weeks later i got back the same lid, it seams they repaired it.
It worked for 20 days or so. Now the same issues lid does not open the sensors does not work. I thought of sending back the Lid then realized the postage charges an additional $13 felt it is not worth it. Already I spent $80 including the repairs, felt is tis not worth the money.
I am using this without the lid, taking the kitchen trash daily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brookport, Illinois
Date:March 9, 2011

SECOND SHIPMENT WAS PERFECT!!!

Pros: keeps kitten out
Cons: better directions needed
"We ordered these self opening/closing cans to keep our inquisitive kitten OUT of the kitchen trash. When we opened the first delivery, we discovered we had been shippped either used or returned cans -- as there was no protective foam around the large can, it had a huge dent in it; however, the shipping box had no damage whatsoever! The small can had no damage but was not in a plastic bag either. The second shipment was perfect, but there was solid foam around the large can to prevent denting and the small can was wrapped and taped in plastic! CostCo, of course, took care of picking up the first delivery and replacing it with the perfect one. And it works! The kitten has not been able to figure it out -- yet! Although he knows the sound it makes when it opens and it gets his attention. Tip: If you want the can to stay open to scrape dishes into it or whatever, just hit the "open" button and it will stay open until you hit the "close" button. It took us awhile to figure that out -- and it doesn't stay open very long when it just automatically opens."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 27, 2011

Same price as one Stainless step-on can elsewhere!

Pros: stylish, convenient
Cons: unknown brand
"I am on my third set. The second set still works but I gave them to a friend and bought a new set for myself. The very first set I bought look just like the ones in the picture, but the ones I bought a few months ago at the local Costco look slightly different, where the frame of the lid is black plastic and the lid itself is stainless steel. I'm about to order another set and I hope they are the stainless lid ones instead of the plastic lid, since it will sit right next to my other one and be used for recyclables.
The only problem I ever had was with the first set. I think the sensor was acting weird and i smacked the lid closed which actually stripped the plastic gears inside it. The can was about two years old at that point.
Anyway I think they are pretty good quality, though I think Nine Stars is a rather cheap company when it comes to electronics, which may explain some of the buggy issues other reviewers have mentioned."
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA.
Date:July 9, 2010

LOve it

"I have had this can for about one year. Yes, the batteries do need to be changed about 2x a year. I just wish it had a power cord. The little can is perfect for the restroom or bedroom."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 5, 2010

UGH...sensor stopped working on large can

"The large can was great for about the first 8 months, but then the batteries needed changing, and when we changed the batteries, the whole thing stopped working. We tried other batteries, still nothing. Even tried other brands of batteries, and nothing. The small can is worthless...just a novelty that opens and closes and holds a couple tissues and a gum wrapper.
Since the Costco stores aren't carrying this anymore, it makes me wonder if it is because of all the problems others are saying they have had with this can. My advice...find a better product, because this one is not IT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:monterey, ca
Date:September 10, 2010

inferior quality of electronics spoils product

Pros: nice while it works.
Cons: doesn't work for very long.
Model Number: Item # 517747
"we bought this product a little less than a year ago. the large can is visually appealing and it was very convenient to use - until about a month ago. suddenly the lid started to open and close on its own. open-close-open-close-open-close continuously. it freaked out our dog, who began barking uncontrollably. i assumed that the strange behavior of the lid was some sort of signal that it was time to change the batteries, so i purchased four new d-size batteries and installed them. unfortunately, the lid just picked up where it left off - open-close-open-close-open-close...
so now we have removed the batteries, and created an easier to use handle for the lid. the convenience factor is gone. the sanitary factor is gone. now it's just an overpriced trash can."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:July 13, 2010

Motion Sensor Trash Can

"I agree with most of the comments of the most recent reviews. However, you do have recourse. I purchased mine in July 2009. Within two months the sensor stopped working. I had completed and mailed the registration card that came with the trash can. When it stopped working I called the toll free number. That was not an easy feat. They are located in California and I had to factor in the time zone. But, I persisted. The customer service associate had my information on file, she emailed me a UPS return mailer meaning they paid for the return of the lid part that contains the sensor and mailed me back a replacement lid. The sensor is working OK except the buttons that overide the sensor just stopped working which is a pain in the neck because the sensor only works for a few seconds. But for those who have problems with the unit call their toll free number and speak with customer service."
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010

Large trashcan: electronics dead within 3 months

Cons: sensors not durable, buttons not durable
"One of the buttons for the manual operation of the lid stopped working within 4 weeks of light use. Most annoying since the lid only stays open for a few seconds in sensor mode. The motion sensor stopped working after about 3 months. Warranty is uneconomical since it requires to ship the lid directly to the manufacturer at your own costs. The lid is heavy and bulky, and the shipping adds up to the price I paid for the set. When working, quite practical, but way too unreliable electronics."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burbank, CA
Date:July 13, 2010

Has lasted a long time

Pros: quality, durability, appearance
Cons: shutoff switch easy to flip on accident
"I've had this trash can set for over 2 years and it's still working great. The inside and bottom of the lid get a little messy and need to be cleaned every couple weeks but thats to be expected. There's a cutoff switch on the bottom of the lid of the big one that can sometimes be accidentally flipped if you put in a big box or something but that's okay. I've had better luck with the batteries lasting like a whole year with a lot of use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Napa, Ca
Date:December 28, 2010

great concept

Pros: easy to use, nice look
Model Number: 517747
"Overall I am happy with the garbage cans. When it arrived there was a dent on the big can, but not big enough to care about for returning. The batteries just died in the big can and we have had it for 3 months, but it does gets high frequency use. The design is great, use the sensor to open it and it closes on its own, or press the open button and it will stay open for you until you press the close button."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laporte, PA
Date:September 23, 2010

Great for a short time

Pros: looks nice, poor performance
"Worked great for about 6 months, then developed problems. Have cleaned the workings twice and found the design is poor. No protection from humidity which results in faulty performance-opens and closes on its own, doesn't open at all, closes instantly when it does work, etc, etc Will not buy another touchless can; am going to a step can."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missoula Montana
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: fills the bags all the way full, easy to clean
"We purchased this garbage can and we just love it,. I have never had a can that holds so much, usually garbage cans only hold half a bag, but this one fills the bag all the way to the top. I would highly recommed this to anyone, you will not be disappointed"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:January 5, 2011

Love this can!

"Easy to use (but does confuse guests at first), had it almost a year and havent had to change the batteries yet. No odd metal hanger for the bag inside that wastes space. So simple and looks nice!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:June 26, 2010

Sensor freaks out and starts going off

"I bought this a costco some time ago, the sensor on the larger can, somehow, freaks out and goes off and on for no reason.
I had to turn off the automatic opening.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:September 19, 2010

Had a brain malfunction.

Pros: nice when it works hands free
"This is my 2nd auto trash can. My 1st lasted years. This one was sower to begin with but I can live with that. About a week it got really slow and that's when it went nuts. I needed to peel a bunch of eggs so I hit open, it kept closing and I pressed open again, it closed after a few seconds, very irritating, it finally stayed open. That's when the real problem happened, it wouldn't stay closed. My old one did that once in awhile and I would turn it off for awhile then turn it back on and it would be fine. Not so with this one, it just kept thinking open was closed. I even took out the batteries and put fresh ones in, same thing, it stayed open. Maybe this was just e lemon, but when I returned it the service desk person had had others come back for the same reason."
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:March 16, 2011

Would Never Go Back to a 'Traditional' Trash Can!

Pros: easy to use! modern looking!
Cons: sensor on small one is almost too senstive!
"My fiance and I love this trash can. Despite some negative reviews we read, we are not worried about it breaking at all! We saved the box and the receipt in case something does happen, we know we can return it to Costco for a full refund or exchange. However, it works wonderfully right now and raises with simply placing your hand in front of the sensor, no need to even wave it! Sure, there is a slight delay with it opening, but maybe 2-3 seconds at the MOST. It also stays open until you are done (scraping food, etc.) which I LOVE! We love this set so much we are thinking about getting it for father's day gifts!"
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 13, 2010

2nd garbage can

Pros: works well, good for kids, entertaining
Cons: can is flimsy, lid can be tempermental
"This is our second purchase of this particular garbage can. The little can has been perfect for our baby's diapers. Our first 13-gallon trashcan stopped working when I dumped some tiny rocks into the garbage can and a few rocks got into the motor mechanism. We liked the garbage can so much that we purchased the same set a second time. It was disappointing that it stopped working, but our second one has been fine. We had the previous one for about a year. It works much better than the step-pedal garbage can models. The large can itself can be dented quite easily if pushed on from both sides."
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yuma, AZ
Date:July 29, 2010

Just as advertised!

Pros: nice looking very functional odorless
Model Number: ZDT-50-9 (kitchen) & ZDT-8-1C (bathroom)
"I've used two different set of the 9-Star pair of trashcans over a combined 9-month period and have never had a problem with either kitchen or bathroom model. The bag for the kitchen model is easy to install. The design of the bag collar prevents the collar and ring from loosing their perch and falling into the canister as one often experiences with the round-ring design sold by Costco, but made by a different manufacturer. Excellent product imo. I keep buying them. btw - my X got the first set of 9-Star trashcans."
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:August 21, 2010

Convenient

"I bought this exact trash can, same model as pictured, at Costco 2 1/2 years ago. Has worked great up until now. The motion sensor just now went out, so we can only open it with the little finger-hold or by pushing the open/close buttons. Sort of defeats the "hands-free" point of why we bought the thing. We are a family of 4, and I have only replaced the batteries 3 times. I think for the price, 2 1/2 years of usage is acceptable. The only thing I don't like about this trash can are all the little ridges and grooves on the inside of the lid - makes it very frustrating and awkward to clean properly. It is a real conversation piece though. Almost everyone who has been at my home comments on this, or is fascinated by it and wants one. The trash bag fits snugly around the plastic ring, and overall, it is an attractive addition to my stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. I wish I didn't have to display my trash can at all, but I have nowhere in the cabinets to put one, so since I have to show the trash, might as well show it in a nice can. I am buying another one of these today online, since my Costco doesn't carry this one in the store anymore. I tried out the one in Costco yesterday that is priced at $44.99 and has a step pedal for opening rather than touchless - the lid flew back so fast that I'm thinking it would dent the wall or the cabinet the can sits next to. Plus, it took 2 or 3 "steps" just to open the thing and when it closed, the lid was skewed."
1 2 3 4 next>>