Customer Reviews for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo

Average Customer Rating:
3.754 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
12
46 of 65(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:May 7, 2011

Great to send to a friend or just for yourself!

"I borught a Nine Stars trash can at a Costco store about 2 years ago which did not come with the bonus trash can(wish it did) for my home and I have enjoyed it. I decided to send one to a friend as a birthday gift because they needed a new trash can in the kitchen bad....he received the combo trash cans a few days ago and love them both! Order this product folks, you cant go wrong!"
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:March 26, 2011

Best Purchase

"I purchased this trash cans 2 years ago. It opens and closes every time and I have not changed the batteries yet. It is very convenient as regard to changing the bags. I am very happy about the quality of these cans."
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:March 23, 2011

Pleasantly Addicting Machine

Pros: great convenience
Cons: none
"This purchase replaces an earlier version which finally died. The hands free convenience is very addicting. The can is very neat looking and the convenient bag retaining ring adds to this for attractive day-to-day use in the kitchen. The little brother is a plus for the bath."
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:March 22, 2011

Best Trash Can Ever

"This trash can is so great and it is so much better than the old types of cans with the whole stepping on the pedal to open it. I would recommend this to anyone."
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:March 16, 2011

Would Never Go Back to a 'Traditional' Trash Can!

Pros: easy to use! modern looking!
Cons: sensor on small one is almost too senstive!
"My fiance and I love this trash can. Despite some negative reviews we read, we are not worried about it breaking at all! We saved the box and the receipt in case something does happen, we know we can return it to Costco for a full refund or exchange. However, it works wonderfully right now and raises with simply placing your hand in front of the sensor, no need to even wave it! Sure, there is a slight delay with it opening, but maybe 2-3 seconds at the MOST. It also stays open until you are done (scraping food, etc.) which I LOVE! We love this set so much we are thinking about getting it for father's day gifts!"
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lawrenceville, Ga
Date:March 9, 2011

Wonderful Product!!!!!

Pros: truly no hands experience and very affordable., batteries seem to last a long time
"I absolutely love this product. First of all it holds much more trash than my old traditional garbage can and it performs beautifully. The grandkids love to "behind" open it by waving their behind at it, and it opens everytime. It will not shut again until you move away from it so no chance of it closing while you are trying to dispose of anything."
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brookport, Illinois
Date:March 9, 2011

SECOND SHIPMENT WAS PERFECT!!!

Pros: keeps kitten out
Cons: better directions needed
"We ordered these self opening/closing cans to keep our inquisitive kitten OUT of the kitchen trash. When we opened the first delivery, we discovered we had been shippped either used or returned cans -- as there was no protective foam around the large can, it had a huge dent in it; however, the shipping box had no damage whatsoever! The small can had no damage but was not in a plastic bag either. The second shipment was perfect, but there was solid foam around the large can to prevent denting and the small can was wrapped and taped in plastic! CostCo, of course, took care of picking up the first delivery and replacing it with the perfect one. And it works! The kitten has not been able to figure it out -- yet! Although he knows the sound it makes when it opens and it gets his attention. Tip: If you want the can to stay open to scrape dishes into it or whatever, just hit the "open" button and it will stay open until you hit the "close" button. It took us awhile to figure that out -- and it doesn't stay open very long when it just automatically opens."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2011

just what i wanted

"fast delivery, great price . i especially appreciate the small one as it fits neatly in the bathroom"
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:March 8, 2011
Cons: none
"Easily assembled. It's motion control is great for infection control and it has a large bag capacity."
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Highlands, NJ
Date:March 4, 2011

Not so good

Pros: none
Cons: not very well made
"I bought this unit about a year ago and its been nothing but trouble. Had to return to manufacturer 2X and after trying to return a third time have given up. Just too much hassle having to keep shipping out. I would not recommend the purchace of nine star units."
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2011

Very pleased

Pros: hands free is good
"Previously I owned an infrared trash can that kept dying on me. Since Costco is so good at returns, I asked the store manager if they have more in the store. He looked and said "no" but then went on line and found this one.
I am very pleased with the operation. better than the old one. These hands free types are so much easier than the other kind.
"
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 27, 2011

Same price as one Stainless step-on can elsewhere!

Pros: stylish, convenient
Cons: unknown brand
"I am on my third set. The second set still works but I gave them to a friend and bought a new set for myself. The very first set I bought look just like the ones in the picture, but the ones I bought a few months ago at the local Costco look slightly different, where the frame of the lid is black plastic and the lid itself is stainless steel. I'm about to order another set and I hope they are the stainless lid ones instead of the plastic lid, since it will sit right next to my other one and be used for recyclables.
The only problem I ever had was with the first set. I think the sensor was acting weird and i smacked the lid closed which actually stripped the plastic gears inside it. The can was about two years old at that point.
Anyway I think they are pretty good quality, though I think Nine Stars is a rather cheap company when it comes to electronics, which may explain some of the buggy issues other reviewers have mentioned."
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:February 22, 2011

So far so good

Pros: price, deep/big trashcan holds more than others
"Bought this about a month ago. Works pretty good. Sometimes you might have to wave in front of the sensor...but most of the time it works pretty well. Teh smaller trash can is in one of our bathrooms. We don't use it that much...but works OK. Sometimes you may have to wave infront of it a bit to open.
Trashcan is bigger than our other 13 gal trashcan.
So far we are happy with them. Cheaper than other motion sensitive cans.."
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:February 21, 2011

AMAZING

Pros: price and 2-for-1
"We purchased the trashcan set and absolutely loved it! We had it for about 2 years before the lid mechanism went out and we were literally in a panic trying to find another set. Thank goodness for Costco.com!
It is hard to think of a trashcan as a crowd-pleaser, but we have received SO many compliments on it... Everyone who visits our home loves it!
Great value (especially for 2!) and something we can't live without! We are purchasing another set!"
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu Hawaii
Date:February 20, 2011

AWESOME the tops

Model Number: DZT-50-9/DZT-8-1C
"It is the best ever for trash cans keeps the hands from touching and germs free I love it"
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:COLCHESTER, VT
Date:February 16, 2011

BEST PRODUCED TRASH CAN, SO FAR!

"4 YEARS AGO I BOUGHT, FROM COSTCO 4 AUTOMATIC OPENING TRASH CANS. 3 OF THOSE WERE FOR FRIENDS, ONE WAS FOR MY OWN USE.
I AM, IT SEEMS, FOREVER COOKING, BAKING ETC. ETC. SO THE AUTOMATIC OPENING CAN WAS A GODSENT.
THE AUTOMATIC OPENING MECHANISM GAVE AWAY ON MINE ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO.
TO SAY I MISSED IT IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT.
TRY AS I MIGHT TO FIND IT ON COSTCO.COM, I COULD NOT.
I LOOKED IN MY COLCHESTER COSTCO, I STILL COULD NOT FIND IT. THEN ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO MARCIE, ONE OF THE PERSONNEL, IN COLCHESTER TOLD ME SHE WOULD TRY FINDING IT FOR ME. LO! AND BEHOLD!, AFTER 15 MINUTES SEARCHING SHE FOUND THE NUMBER FOR THIS CAN BUT IT COULD ONLY BE ORDERED THROUGH COSTCO.COM .
WHAT A WONDERFUL FIND FOR ME BECAUSE I TRULY MISSED THE CONVENIENCE OF HAVING THE LID OPEN UP AS IT DOES.
PLEASE, ALL OF U LOOKING FOR A WONDERFUL GIFT FOR YOURSELF OR A LOVED ONE CONSIDER THIS CAN.
TRYING IT JUST ONCE WILL THRILL U AND U WILL NEVER, NEVER CONSIDER ANOTHER CAN.
GOOD LUCK! AND THANK YOU COSTCO FOR BRINGING THIS ARTICLE BACK WITH IMPROVEMENTS.
MARGOT"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Texas
Date:February 15, 2011

Very nice!

"This trash can set is so nice! They seem to be made very well and are so sleek looking. We thought that the auto raising lid would be unpredictable, but so far it is working great! Costco got these out to us fast too. Really impressed, love these, great buy!"
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Date:February 9, 2011

great service

Pros: looks, manual switches, hands free
Cons: none
Model Number: DZT-50-9
"Ordering was easy, and delivery was quick. There was no damage (dents) because of very secure packaging.
The product works as advertised and looks great."
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pullman, WA
Date:February 5, 2011

Love this!

Model Number: DZT-50-9
"My son bought this can and after seeing it, I wanted one, too. It is great to have hands-free trash. Just a wave over the top and it opens and closes. I've had it over a year and it's still on its first set of batteries. It is simple to use, elegant looking (for trash!) and keeps odors etc contained. I woudn't be able to live without it!"
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13-gallon and 2-gallon Trash Can Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2011

not a good choice

"I purchased this garbage can and it broke within a few months of purchase. I would not recomend....junk!"
1 2 3 4 next>>