Customer Reviews for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can

Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
11 of 26(42%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Review 1 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 20, 2011

Wow, products should be engd well the first time

Pros: the benefit of this product is the senser
Cons: the bad thing is it's engineering.
Model Number: DZT-42-9 and DZT-50-9
"Now I am convinced that the world has changed, and produced a incredible amount of cheap merchandise that creates a big trash heap in our society and community.
Thank goodness for recycling. I bought this beautiful trash bin back in 2009 with the confidence that it would last a long time and give me the advantage of maintaning an organized home. I was content and loved it, but just recently the lid decided to go beserk and open and close at it's leisure. There is no rat in my kitchen.
I thought the batteries were low, or the senser was being triggered by some shadow, etc. Nope ! I changed the batteries, checked the switch and hinge.
I went thru the troubleshooting in the manual, and even called the company. Now ofcourse, the warranty is expired, and Nine Stars solution was to offer a new lid for the wonderful price of 37.00 smackers. Thats it ! I didn't expect a free givaway.
So now I have this beautiful trash bin that doesn't work. I called awesome Costco and as usual they have made me a happy camper by giving me a refund. This is why I LOVE COSTCO.
So this is a fair warning for all of you who are considering purchasing this item.
It's true. This trash bin mechanism only lasts about two years. Then.......
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2010

Malfunction after warranty expires, pay what u get

Pros: very sylish and modern
Cons: malufunction in sensor and gear system
"We brought this in store and it was offered with a office can and the 21gal. It was a great trash can at first. We enjoyed it and keep it in great condition. After about a couple of months the office can sensor stops working, and malfunctioned. We frequently had to turn it off for a day or so and it would start working again. And about 9 months the 21gal senor malfunctioned 1-2 times and we would turn it off a day or so and it would work fine. However three months later, which is right now after the warranty had expired the 21gal would open, but it does not keep it open even when we pressed the open button that would keep lid open. Instead it would open half way really quick even when it still senors our hand. By the time the sensor see no movement, the lid was already closed, this could be some kind of problem in the gear system. Remember, our trash can is kept in good condition with regular maintenance. Would only recommend to those who need it for a year of reliability."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:September 12, 2010

Started out great!

"Like Cooner;s review, we bought this in-store with the bonus office can (which we never used). The kitchen can started out great, sensing the hand, opening up all the way to gobble up garbage...then over time, it wouldn't open all the way...opening half way. We put new batteries in it and it worked again....Over more time even with replacing batteries, it would sense a hand but open up lower and lower. Today, it's just failed. It doesn't work. We don't "trash" our trash can either. Why would we? We paid so much for it versus the $5.99 plastic buckets. (Will have to resort back to that).
I'm going to try and find the receipt to return it, but we don't even have the box. I think we may be out of luck. :("
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:August 2, 2011

Not as Good as Costco

"This motion sensor trashcan was purchased as a durable product. It was for three years.Now the lights indicate opening but the lid stays closed. New (Costco purchased) Duracell batteries did not improve the operation.
Like many value shoppers, I assume that a durable product from Costco will last for a very long time. Was three years a very long time? No. Am I really unhappy? No. It worked for a reasonable time; just not a long time.
The local Costco store has a toe kick stainless steel can that is cheaper and probably not prone to phantom openings. It is now in my kitchen."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:December 20, 2010

Great while it lasted

Pros: looks great
Cons: short life
"This trash can worked great - for a while. It looks stylish (for a trash can) It is super convenient, especially when your hands are full. Unfortunately, after about 9 mos. the sensor mechanism stopped working, and made the can a real nuisance to try opening manually. The idea behind it is excellent; the durability - not so much. My recommendation if you buy this item is to hang onto your receipt and warranty (which I didn't do), because you are definitely going to need it somewhere down the line."
Review 6 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:June 29, 2011

Ghost in the Shell

Pros: reliable, easy, mice can't enter under a pedal
Cons: none! :)
"We purchased in-store with included office can, which we use in the powder room. Both cans have worked perfectly for over two years and have garnered many compliments from our guests. Dust on the surface of the sensor will trigger a "haunted can" behavior, easily solved by wiping the surface clean. Battery life is excellent - may have been replaced once so far in the kitchen, never in the bath. LOVE THESE CANS!!!"
Review 7 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:N. Cal.
Date:July 11, 2011

Works well (until it doesn't)

Pros: looks great!, batteries last a long time.
Cons: needs a macgyver fix to keep it operating.
"It is a great looking trash can that works well for a few months - then the door only opens about an inch. I figured out (on my own) that the cause was that the IR beam bounces off of the door, and detects your legs. This causes the door to stop. If you attach some flat black tape or paper to the edge and underside of the door, the beam does not reflect onto your legs. The can will work properly again."
Review 8 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Date:August 25, 2010

Great Garbage Can

"We ordered this on-line via Costco and had looked at several trash cans after a recent kitchen remodel. We wanted something modern that would look nice in the space. It is strange to review a garbage can, but this one is great. The size is great - it is large. The opening and closing works perfect - I don't think it is too sensitive. This can was cheaper than a Simple Human Can and is SO much better."
Review 9 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:June 4, 2010

Auto open didn't last very long

"I was excited to purchase this garbage can but unfortunately, the auto open only lasted about 3 months although the close still works. We've tried turning it on and off and it will work for a day or so and then stop again. Luckily, it looks nice and we are still using it but we have to push the button. Not a big deal but I expected it to work as advertised longer then 3 months, esp for the price."
Review 10 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spring Hill FL
Date:July 12, 2011

poor choice of product

Pros: look nice
Cons: faulty motion operating system
Model Number: DZT 50-9
"WE have purchased two motion sensor trash cans manufactured by ST . 21 gallon and 13 gallon, both have lasted only 2 years. we purchased the second one because we blamed ourselves for the first ones failure. In retrospect the operating systems failed. Nine Stars will replace them for $37 dollars (each) plus shipping. based on this and other reviews , that would be throwing good money after bad."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:June 3, 2010

I love my motion sensor trash can

"I have had this set for about 9 months or so and I absolutely love it! My friends are going crazy over it every time they come over and everyone admires it! Not to mention how well it does it with saving energy (batteries) For 9 months I have changed them twice and I do use it a lot. It fits perfectly with my stainless steal appliances and my overall kitchen/dining room."
Review 12 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 29, 2010

We love it

Pros: hands free works well., easy to set up and empty., stainless steel looks great with other stainless.
"It works great. Easy to set up. Easy to remove and replace the garbage bag, which doesn't show. It could be more heavyweight, and it came with a slight dent, but we are keeping it anyway because it works great and looks great. Closed lid means no smell. Be careful where you put it. If you walk by it too closely, the lid will open and surprise you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011

Poor quality

Pros: low price
Cons: poor quality
"I exchanged this trash can twice, before returning this product for a better trash can.
The trash can worked at first, but quickly deteriorated. The lid wouldn't open, the silver paint on the top cover chipped, and would close even if I pressed the open button to stay open.
Horrible product. Costco shouldn't sell this product."
Review 14 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:September 21, 2010

Great while it lasted

Pros: looks good
Cons: dies young
Model Number: TOUCHLESS
"For the first 9 months or so it was great. Clean lines and very convenient. But last week the closing mechanism started to get sluggish. When it quite closing on it's own the auto opening portion slowed down. Now it will open when you walk in front of it and the lid just stays up. A lot of money for just a few months of service."
Review 15 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2010

Love this can!

"This is a beautiful addition to my kitchen that allows hands-free garbage disposal. My only hesitation is that at times the batteries need a rest and stop working. I put it on manual for a day and then change it back over and it works like a dream again."
Review 16 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:March 4, 2011

Looks Good But........

Pros: stainess steel shell
Cons: it will fail, poor engineering, poor design
Model Number: 563547
"I've had two 9 star trash cans in the past 3 years. Both failed. They work fine for a brief time and then the poorly designed and engineered opening mechanism fails. Then you have a manually opening trash can once you glue a pull tab to the lid."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 13, 2012

great trash can

"Love this trash can. Don't have to touch it! I have two free hands to manage my tasks. It is such a great size too. Holds enough that I can still carry the full bag but don't have to change it as often as with a smaller one"
Review 18 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis MN
Date:January 8, 2011

Guaranteed to be Short-Lived

Pros: none
Cons: cheap motor.
"This is the second auto motion-sensor garbage can I purchased. The mechanism on both failed in a year or so. The motor is cheap, and is guaranteed to fail before the batteries. Will never buy one of these again."
Review 19 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2011

DO NOT BUY!!!

Pros: cheap
Cons: poor quality
"Lasted exactly 15 months ,then mysteriously stopped working.That was our second one .The first one that we returned kept opening and closing on its own like it was possesed by a poltergeist.Horrible product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 21-gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eagle Mountain, Utah
Date:July 21, 2011

Always a Great Product

Pros: easy change of bags
Model Number: Item # 517749, 21 Gallon
"Currently have 6 in use and two ready if issues come up. Only had one failure 6 years back otherwise they are great. Can't ever remember replacing the batteries in one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>