Customer Reviews for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma

Resolution: 1024 x 768 600 Hz Sub-field Drive
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
29 of 32(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Review 1 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burgaw, NC
Date:March 30, 2011

Best HD set ever! Forget about LCD

Pros: cost picture quality very realistic great sound
"I purchased an LCD 46 inch set from BB oc.t 2010. Now in March 2011 I wanted a second HDTV for another room and wanted to come down in size to a 42 inch. I did tons and tons of research on the net and window shopping. I bought this Plasma set from Costco for the good review it rxd plus the fact it has an extended warranty and return period backed by costco. Well I can tell you that now after having this 780p set for a couple weeks its hands down a better picture than any 1080p lcd out there. I like it so much more I moved this set into our main viewing area and the other bigger LCD into our room that gets less viewing time. Its a pure pleasure watching this set, the colors are so much more natural and the contrast is so great it feels so lifelike its almost three dimensional. Plus the sound on this set is so clear and powerful with no distortion. The sound and picture setting and setup are very easy to access and user friendly. Dont let the 780p worry you. I contacted Panasonic and when hooked via HDMI cable this set still gets 1080. And in viewing its obvious that it does. I wish I had never bought the first LCD set now, Plasma rules the roost in HD.
Dont let the picture you see in Costco fool you into thinking its not a good set. They are not hooking up most of their sets to the HDMI. They are using the RCA jacks which is analog not digital. So whatever you see in a picture will look 10 times better at home with an HDMI connection."
Review 2 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:March 18, 2011

Great TV!

Pros: awesome picture, great value
Cons: speaker quality. get a sound bar its great!
"I have this set for about 3 months now. I have to say that other than the speaker quality, you can't get a better TV for the price. I ended up purchasing the Pansaonic Sound Bar, and it is perfect!
I was unsure about getting a Plasma vs. an LCD, but now that I have the plasma, I can't say enough good things about it. The picture quality is outstanding! I was worried about the issue with seeing the screen in daylight, and it is NOT a problem with this set at all. And with Costco's return policy (90 days), its a no brainer. My 90 days is just about up and this TV isn't going anywhere!
"
Review 3 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:September 27, 2010

Outstanding Value

Pros: outstanding value, excellent picture quality
Model Number: Panasonic TC-42PX24
"We are very pleased with this TV. At less than $500, it represents an outstanding value particularly since it sold for approximately $1200 less than two years ago. It was a pleasure to watch yesterday's football games on it."
Review 4 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Helena, Montana
Date:September 4, 2010

GREAT PRICE!!

"this tv is just perfect!! easy set up, nice picture, I LOVE COSTCO!!!"
Review 5 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, Or.
Date:August 17, 2010

Can't go wrong

"You can't go wrong with the 2 yr wrnty. This TV is a GREAT bang for the buck, with the inputs/mediacard it is great. As far as the 720 vs 1080, per some of the other reviews. You will not see a differance unless you play XBOX or have bluray. Everything else only comes thru in 720 anyway."
Review 6 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 12, 2010

Best TV for the price

Model Number: TC-42PX24
"I purchased this for the price but will keep it because of the picture quality and ease of use. Set up was a piece of cake, I enjoyed it! You can't go wrong with this!"
Review 7 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:October 3, 2010

Lemon!?!? Nice picture while the unit worked

Pros: good price
Cons: unit failed after less than 24 hours of use
Model Number: TC-42PX24
"Was very excited to purchase this TV for my girlfriend, I took it to her place and set it up and we were able to enjoy the HD picture for all of one weekend before the unit just powered off on its own and will not power back on.
After contacting Panasonic help I was told to unplug the unit for a minute to let it "reset" then plug it back in. That failed to fix anything at which point I was told that I would have to have the unit serviced!! So it'll be getting boxed back up and returned. Not sure if i'll risk just exchanging the unit as my girlfriend lives a couple hours away, might just return it for some other brand."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2010

Buyer Beware

Pros: picture and color
Cons: sound and lifespan
Model Number: TH-42PZ700U
"I purchased the 2008 model of this tv for a much higher price and had it serviced two times, both under the concierge service. Then, 6 months after the 2 years were up the tv died. It will cost approximately $300 to repair. I found numerous blogs on the internet complaining about these plasmas from Panasonic and that Panasonic claims no responsibility. So....you may have a great tv for 2 years, but after that you are on your own."
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston Ma.
Date:December 7, 2010

Worst TV ever.

Pros: not one
Cons: it wont last 2 yrs
"I purchase a Panasonic 42" 2 yrs a go.The TV suddenly will not turn on.I contacted Panasonic and they told me out of warranty out of luck.I called a repair ctr and was told the repair was over $700 and the part was back ordered and no telling when it will be in.
I was also told Panasonic has a big problem with there TV's not turning on.
"
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:October 14, 2010

Great Pic!!

Pros: beautiful picture, price
Model Number: TC-P42X24
"It's hard to believe a TV at this price can have a picture this good. Makes me glad I didn't spend the extra $$$ for a 1080p 120hz LCD. Watching football on this TV is great. No blurring at all, even when they show an up close helmet shot of a player jogging across the field. I am a little worried about burn in still but I've heard it's much harder to do these days. If it does, I have Costco backing me up."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manahawkin, NJ
Date:November 28, 2010

Panasonic 42" 720 Plasma

Pros: the look on his face when he saw it, nice price, good picture
"I bought this TV on Saturday and delivered and set it up on Sunday at my fathers house. My sister and I got together and bought this for my 91 year old father for Christmas. (we gave it to him early) Let me tell you at that age they don't take to change very well. After the set up of the TV it was easy for him to operate and the only time I saw a look like that in his eyes was when he looked at my mother. He loves it. I have 2 other Panasonics in my home and my sister has several. I swear by this brand."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CA
Date:November 4, 2010

COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED

Pros: price quality value
Cons: none
Model Number: TC-42PX24
"This is my first HD TV, and I could not be more pleased. It is everything that I wanted and a whole lot more. The picture quality is amazing in SD, and the HD picture is totally awesome. I read all of the reviews prior to purchasing, and I must say that they were all correct. The price for all of this quality is unbelievable. COSTCO ROCKS!!!!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodland, CA
Date:October 9, 2010

All I could have hoped for!

Pros: can't beat the price, easy to set up, great picture quality
Model Number: Model TC-42PX24
"I read all the reviews before purchasing this TV, which definitely influenced my purchase, so I had to write my own!
I need to start by saying I am HDTV ignorant, so I really did not know what to look for in a new TV, or what to expect. I also did not have a lot of money to spend, but wanted at least a 42 inch. Well, let me tell you, as the title says, this TV is all I could have hoped for!
With 2 HDMI inputs I was able to hook up an HD Tivo and an HD DVD player.
The picture when watching DVD's is fantastic!
Standard def channels are good - 100x better than our old tube TV. But, I was truly amazed at the picture quality when on HD channels. Watching the baseball playoffs has been amazing!
I have no idea if a 1080 TV would be even better, but for the additional cost, I can't imagine it would be that much better.
Plasma vs. LED - again, I am ignorant, but we have not had any issues that I have read about with plasmas.
We are extremely happy with this TV, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a good TV at a great price!
I also want to say how great Costco is in offering a 90 money back guarantee - it made the purchase a lot less scary. The 2 year extended warranty is great too."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peoria AZ
Date:April 20, 2010

Happy Camper

Model Number: 111794948488
"I purchaced this TV after returning an RCA 42 inch LCD flat screen. The picture is clear and has no jerkiness like the RCA had. I am so happy with it I am thinking of buying another one."
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 6, 2011

Excellent Buy

Pros: great black levels, easy pq adjustments, easy wall mounting despite weight
Cons: heavy (as all plasmas are)
Model Number: TC-P42X24
"A long time plasma owner (for my home theater) I decided to upgrade my small bedroom tv and initially went with a 40" 1080p LCD - the black levels on a higher end Sharp were just atrocious! Details were washed out and the only way to make them visible was to turn up the backlight and brightness, which compromised the rest of the picture. That tv is being returned and I purchased this panasonic as a replacement. The inherent ability to handle details in dark areas of the picture is a known advantage of plasma technology and this panasonic does not dissapoint. The pq (picture quality) is great on this 720p set, Blue Ray's and Dish HD look amazing. For the price I could not find a better hdtv buy anywhere at this point in time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:February 14, 2011

Excellent TV

"I don't normally write reviews, but I felt the need to do so in this case. I brought home two different Vizios and wasn't satisfied. I was so frustrated, and then I read the reviews on this Panasonic. Well, everyone was right! This TV was the best of the bunch. I'm impressed with the picture, I think it looks much better than the 1080p Vizio I tried. I knew right away it was a keeper. As for sound, I run my TV through a Harman Kardon system with Bose speakers, so sound wasn't my main concern. However, the audio quality on this TV was much better than that of the Vizio. Great deal, great TV, I highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest
Date:February 7, 2011

Glad I bought it

Pros: picture is awesome, very good sound and useable remote.
"I took back a 26" Vizio because the sound was really terrible and the 26" looked much smaller in my house than it did in the store. When I saw this TV on-line, I went to the store to see it in person. Looked good so I bought it. This 42" plasma TV is AWESOME. The picture is outstanding. With local stations on my HD antenna, the people almost pop out of the screen. Remember to always keep this TV upright when transporting and installing. I think the glass (plasma technology) could break or get out of whack if you lay it flat. It's a little heavy but I'm average size and was able to transport and install it myself. Also, I really like the Panasonic remote over the Vizio. Absolutely no regrets with this TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston TX
Date:October 9, 2010

Good Companion to New Apple TV

Pros: price is right
Cons: sound weak
Model Number: TC-42PX24
"I got this as our first HDTV and because of the new small footprint Apple TV (max. 720p). Took a few minutes to read the instructions and setup was straight forward.
Signed up with Netflix, and streaming movies was a breeze. October 1, 2010.
I only tried the free Netflix SD movies for my kid, and they look great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo Oh
Date:September 28, 2010

You won't be sorry

Pros: price, value, quality
Cons: none
Model Number: TC-42PX14
"Picture is brighter sharper and way more life like than the 32" Zenith tube TV that it replaced.
Standard TV signals look very good on this set, DVD,s look excellent and high def "POPS".
I have had this 42" Panasonic in my bedroom for a couple of months. I also have a 58" plasma 1080P Samsung I bought from Cosctco about a year ago in my living room hooked up to a Bluray player. Samsung and or Panasonic arguably make the best plasma TV's and the fact that the Panasonic is only 720P should not deter you from buying this set. I think that if I had these two sets next to each other I'd be hard pressed to notice any difference. I would also remind you as previously stated that the HD on my satellite dish is switchable between only 1080i and 720P, Bluray or Xbox is the only way you will get 1080P anyway.
This set has full picture controls for color, temp, hue, etc. if your not getting good color or skin tones its likely not the TV but the settings. Changing one setting usually affects others so if your not adept it may take some educating and trial and error.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic 42" 720p Plasma
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
Date:July 5, 2010

Great purchase, 100% satisfied

Pros: costco extends the warranty to 2 years, costco's 90-day return policy
Cons: only 2 hdmi ports but that's not a problem for us
"Bought this for my husband for our 10th anniversary. He is thrilled and so am I. Sports are awesome on this TV, and we haven't even upgraded to HD, yet! This series was also rated highly on a well-known consumer ratings guide."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>