Customer Reviews for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable

VIERA CAST™ Including NetFlix® WIFI Ready
Average Customer Rating:
3.118 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
20 of 34(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2011

Just sucks.

"I don't have very high standards for electronics (I don't even have this machine set up to play blu-ray) and this one can't even meet them.
We watch more Netflix instant play than dvds, but every time you turn the player on it goes straight to the disc. This would be fine except that a regular dvd takes a long time to load, and you have to wait until it's ready to play to switch to the menu, and a blu-ray disc takes almost twice as long. Even worse, the blu-ray disc either freezes or takes forever to load. The player gets caught up even on brand new discs. Sometimes it closes and doesn't read the disc at all.
As far as Netflix goes, the player is slow to respond. So slow that it's rarely worth the loading time to fast forward or rewind anything. It freezes often, or won't load the interface, and when it does freeze, it usually won't start up at the same place. Most of the time we end up having to restart the system, which starts the whole waiting game over again.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:May 1, 2010

Very Nice but...

Pros: good price fast load time
Cons: no divx, bad usb jack location, only accepts panasonic wireless usb jack, no inputs
Model Number: BD655
"I have been researching Blu-Ray players for past few month - I was waiting for something that did everything I wanted and was waiting for a reasonable price. I had been eyeing the Panasonic BD65K - because it did everything I wanted - Blu-ray, Wireless capable, Divx and USB support. I saw this BD655 -- I did lots of research on this one - but could not find anthing anywhere. Finally I --- assumed--- that the BD655 is same as BD65K but branded specialy for Costco. I am not sure if that is the case or not.
Before saying anything that I found lacking, let me say the good parts
- This player loads the blu-ray disks in 0.5 seconds just like it says.A friend of mine has the BD-60 and that takes a while to load
- It is wireless capable and had a network port in back
- It is netflix capable
- It has a USB jack - which I assumed could be used to play my divx files by connecting my thumb drive
However I was a bit disappointed with this one... for a few reasons -
-- This player DOES NOT SUPPORT DIVX
- The USB jack is in the front - which is good for temporary use but what if I want to leave something connected? Bad location
- Worst part - it does not accept any other USB Wireless device besides the panasonic brand wireless USB adapter. I tried my Belkin and Linksys one and it does not recognize any one.
- This was a total surprise -- There is no input jack (like Line1, Line 2 etc) I used to use this feature in my current DVD player to upconvert the cable box signal - cant do that with this one
I think I am going to return this one and either get a PS3 or go for the LG BD570 - which has the features I want.
However I would recommend this player if
- You dont care about Divx files
- You have an Ethernet port available close to player
- You dont intend to use USB jack
- You dont intend to use the player to upconvert other video sources like cable
"
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:October 20, 2010

AWESOME Blu-ray/DVD Player

Pros: viera link feature using one remote
Cons: none that we can see
Model Number: Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player Model DMP-BD655
"We bought this player at our local Costco store and it works great with the our Panasonic 720p plasma 50 '' tv that we also bought at our Costco a few months ealier. It has a great picture on blu-ray movies and also a great picture on all our older dvd's. which surprised us because we have read some reviews that were saying that older dvd's wouldn't look much better on a blue ray player, but that is not the case for us. All of our dvd's look so much better on this Panasonic blue ray player than they did on our newer sony and toshiba upconverting dvd players. There was also one review here that said that the player does not begin from where you left off in the movie you are watching when you stop it and we found that not to be true in our case because we have stopped the movie that was playing on many occasions and it always starts from where we left off even when we turn the player off and come back much later to watch the rest of it, so maybe that reviewer had a defective player.We also like the viera link feature so we only need to use one remote for both the tv and the player. We love this Panasonic blue ray player and would recommend it based on our personal experience using it. You will be amazed at how good your old dvd's look on this player if you have a plasma tv thats 720p or 1080p."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 26, 2010

Good enough

Pros: thin and small, great price
Cons: very slow disc load times, memory card reader mangles data, packaged in styrofoam (which can't be recycled)
"This is a good-enough basic Blu-ray player. The Blu-ray picture quality is gorgeous. Even DVDs (upsampled) get a boost, looking a bit better than on our old DVD player.
* Disappointed in the styrofoam packaging.
* The unit is pretty slow to start up. Menu after menu, it stalls for 3-5 seconds; it takes something like 45 seconds to get to the Avatar main menu. You can configure the device to quick boot, but then it sucks something like 5-10 watts, even when it's "off", which is not a solution in my book.
* When I put in my SDHC memory card to look at pictures, they were about 15% over- bright, and I couldn't find a way to turn this down. (Movies play just fine, though.)
* After removing my SDHC memory card and putting it back in my Canon S90 camera, I could no longer connect the camera to my PC via USB - I got a "Connection error" until I reformatted the memory card. (I was able to get the data off using a PC card reader, though.) This player must tamper with the data on the card, which is very irresponsible programming, in my book.
However, I can't complain much, since this is a fairly cheap player. Picture quality is superb, and that's the main thing we wanted!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:August 10, 2010

Do not buy

Model Number: DMP-BD 655
"Unless you watch every DVD from beginning to end in one sitting, do not buy this unit. Amazingly, it does not have the common feature of playback from stopping point. In other words, the DVD starts from the very beginning every time you start the player from off or standby. Called Panasonic to confirm, and sure enough, they indicated that this unit does not have this [basic] feature."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:June 11, 2010

Excellent blu-ray player

Pros: amazing picture quality and sound., incredibly fast load time.
Cons: none as far as i am concerned.
Model Number: Panasonic DMP-BD655P-K
"I wanted a blu-ray player with good audio-video and fast load times to replace my PS3. I did a lot of research and finally decided to try this Panasonic from Costco. This is essentially the same as the BD65k sold by other retailers. I could not be happier for the price. Great picture quality and the audio is noticeably better than my PS3. The load time is incredibly fast.
Bottomline: If you want a really good standalone blu-ray player, you cannot go wrong with this one. If you are looking for extras like wi-fi or Dvix playback, look elsewhere."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 18, 2010

Do NOT buy this item!!!

Cons: misleading claim of wireless connectivity
Model Number: BD655
"All Blu-Ray players give excellent performance playing the discs. It's the other features that you pay extra for. The BD655 claims to be able to connect to the internet via wireless USB. NOT TRUE (unless you purchase their proprietary adapter which costs more than the player itself). If you cannot use the device without a specific adapter, then the adapter should be included or should at least should have a warning somewhere on the box that no other wireless adapter will work! Very misleading."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2011

misleading as wifi ready.

"Cons: misleading claim of wireless connectivity
Model Number: BD655
"All Blu-Ray players give excellent performance playing the discs. It's the other features that you pay extra for. The BD655 claims to be able to connect to the internet via wireless USB. NOT TRUE (unless you purchase their proprietary adapter which costs more than the player itself). If you cannot use the device without a specific adapter, then the adapter should be included or should at least should have a warning somewhere on the box that no other wireless adapter will work! Very misleading."
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sparks, NV
Date:July 11, 2010

Excellent Blu- Ray DVD Player But....

Model Number: Panasonic DMP-BD655
"7/11/10 - WIFI ready but zero availability on the compatible Panasonic wireless adapter dy-wl10. Panasonic should have thought about the availability issue.
I can only use it's Viera Cast feature by connecting the unit via a 20-ft ethernet cable from the wireless router.
The unit however delivers nice resolution and audio.
It's going back to Costco.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 11, 2011

Wireless ready...Really?

Pros: beutiful picture
Cons: wireless capability requires an expensive add on., menu features on remote are difficult to navigate.
"This product may state it is wireless ready, but in reality you must purchase an additional item for about the same cost as the Blu Ray player itself. Usually items I by at Costco do not mislead people. I am very disappointed and weary before my future purchases from Costco."
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:August 29, 2010

Love thisBlu-Ray player

Cons: must buy wireless adapter
Model Number: BD 655P-K
"This is an easy to use,easy to set up blu- ray player.
Had it going in no time. Love the quality i get watching Netflix movies.
It is slow to load but so are all the other players out there.
Would have given it 5 stars but ,I hate that you have to buy a Panasonic wireless adapter(Panasonic DY-WL10 Wireless Adapter )so I just hooked directly to my router.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:March 15, 2011

Nice Blue-ray player for wired internet

Pros: mucho bang for buck, quick start up, compact
Cons: none
Model Number: DMP-BD655
"I prefer wired ethernet connections so this player was perfect. Within minutes of unpacking, I had the firmware update complete and proceeded to duly authorized connections with Amazon and Netflix.
This player is wireless ready IF you already have an adapter, of which there are 2 types:
The $100 Panasonic DY-WL10 USB adapter plugs in the front of the player (where it looks bad and can be easily broken). A better choice is a wireless bridge (such as Linksys WET 610N, or Buffalo WLI-TX4-AG300N) that plugs into the rear ethernet port with better performance for less money. The wireless choices will require some setup with your household wireless router.
Nice picture with DVD or Internet !"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kailua, Hi
Date:December 18, 2010

Disappointing

Model Number: DMP-BD85
"As soon as I turned it on, I tried my 16gb Cruzr USB Divx files, & other old dvd movies, & cd movies, & they all played.....gr8.
Then I updated the firmware. Now my USB is incompatible, & the old dvd & cd movies do not play. Some do, but not all.
Popped in my 4gb Cruzr USB & it played the Divx movie I have on it. So I am wondering what is going on?
The few internet programs offered it appears you have to subscribe to use them, except for youtube.
This unit is nothing like the old Panasonic DVD/VHS recorder I was going to replace. Now, I don't dare. Thought I was getting a better product.
Have an inquiry into Panasonic as to how I can undo the firmware & go with the old one that worked."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:June 23, 2010

Unimpressed

Model Number: DMP-BD655K
"Ok ok. Not necessarily with Panasonic, but with Blu-ray. This product has decent options. Not a fan of the USB port in the front. DOES start up quickly and I now have my home theatre, tv and blu ray all linked up and have NO use for the other two remotes.
Now.. this is my first Blu-ray player. I've heard SO much hype about the quality and this and that. Honestly, I can't tell the difference between this and my Panasonic 5-dvd up-convert home theatre system. Except that I just spent more money to get this player. I have a 1080 Plasma with ALL the HDMI cables plugged into all the right things, but I'm just unimpressed. Are they ALL like this or is this particular model not good? Maybe it was the movie. I'll give it a few more weeks and a couple more movies and if I'm not satisfied, it's going back! For this, I give it 3 stars..
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:July 21, 2010

Oops!

Pros: very good picture, easy set up
Cons: no wireless adaptor, cheap hdmi cord included, only 1 usb port
Model Number: DMP-BD655
"I thought I had researched BD players quite thoroughly, however when I got it home and set up, I realized I would need a proprietary wireless adaptor to use it for the streaming I need. (I have an older Vizio in the bedroom, and with my kittens, wires are a big no-no).
That little dongle would put me back at least $85.
In my book, it's a better buy to go ahead and get the player with the adaptor installed. Besides, who wants to switch out USB's every time one turns around? If you require a USB for wireless, put another port in for content. (Only comes with one).
Also, the HDMI cable is a little chintzy. Very thin, and no gold plating, which is what I understand to be the "gold standard" in connections.
It goes back tomorrow.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010

Not recommended

Pros: it plays the movie
Cons: missing basic functions, can't invoke top menu during trailers, can't click on stop during trailers, usb doesn't work well
Model Number: DMP-BD655
"Can't invoke the disk menu during trailers. Can't even stop it from playing the trailers using the [Stop] button. It gives an error message.
USB recognized 1 out of 3 storage devices that I connected, but couldn't display any of the images on it.
Bought it yesterday and will return it today. It's a terrible unit."
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010

disappointed and frustrated

"I thought I had researched the DVD Blu Ray selections carefully...apparently not. There's not enough information (Costco web people!) to indicate that even though the unit is "wireless ready" you need to buy a particular Wireless adapter (a Panasonic DYWL-10) that is nearly impossible to find. Costco (who I'm just as disappointed in) should purchase this unit with the adapter included OR have it available for purchase in the store. I've spent the better part of my day online, on the phone or in my car looking for the wireless adapter - even Panasonic's site says it's not available for purchase (on their site). So, I'll return this player but now I need to start over planning on which one will be best and easiest. UGH!"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:June 25, 2010

Very good BD player

Pros: good picture and sound
Cons: slow loading
Model Number: BD655
"Installation was very easy and fast after the extremely quick delivery. It is installed in my den and is hardwired to the internet. It wanted to update itself, which it did with no problemo. Netflix was easy to start and works well, about as good as my Roku in the living room. We had several grandchildren over and they were enthralled with the BD of The Fantastic Mister Fox. All in all, it works very well, only drawback is a little slow in loading blue-ray discs even with the fast start option chosen."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:April 24, 2010

Good DVD player matched w/Panasonic TV

Model Number: DMP-BD655
"Pros: Picture is good. No problems after 3 months. Works nicely with Panasonic's link system. If you have a Panasonic TV its a good choice. Netflix streaming, Amazon movies.
Cons: Consider getting a Sony Play Station (or like) w/ Blue Ray player you get more functionality
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PHOENIX
Date:July 18, 2010

wonderful

"Very easy to set up with great option to allow quick loading. Includes HDMI cable. Wireless adapter was available in our area but costly so we opted to hardwire internet to player through attic at minimal cost and little inconvenience. LOVE the instant Netflix capability. This provided us with an inexpensive alternative to satellite or dish TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>