Customer Reviews for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable

VIERA CAST™ Including NetFlix® WIFI Ready
Average Customer Rating:
3.118 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
20 of 34(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, Idaho
Date:June 9, 2011

Very pleased

Model Number: DMP-BD655
"We are pleased with the performance of this unit after owning it for now for 4 months. We connected it to our internet modem via LAN cable and watch Netflix movies mainly. Great picture, especially when watching Blu-ray discs. We have had no problems at all."
Review 2 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Upland, CA
Date:May 31, 2011

Disappointed

"The Blue Ray Player is great for watching Blue Ray and DVD's but I mainly bought it to use my Instant Netflix. Well i didn't realize that you need an adapter to get it to work, so now I still cannot watch Netflix because I don't have an adapter, that's a whole other purchase."
Review 3 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2011

Just sucks.

"I don't have very high standards for electronics (I don't even have this machine set up to play blu-ray) and this one can't even meet them.
We watch more Netflix instant play than dvds, but every time you turn the player on it goes straight to the disc. This would be fine except that a regular dvd takes a long time to load, and you have to wait until it's ready to play to switch to the menu, and a blu-ray disc takes almost twice as long. Even worse, the blu-ray disc either freezes or takes forever to load. The player gets caught up even on brand new discs. Sometimes it closes and doesn't read the disc at all.
As far as Netflix goes, the player is slow to respond. So slow that it's rarely worth the loading time to fast forward or rewind anything. It freezes often, or won't load the interface, and when it does freeze, it usually won't start up at the same place. Most of the time we end up having to restart the system, which starts the whole waiting game over again.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 21, 2011

A-ok

"This set up was real easy and really simple to set up as I do not want any extras just play dvd's. The only problem I have is that the tray is on the left side and my glass door opens on the right. Like center tray like I had on my old dvd player. Great picture."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:March 15, 2011

Nice Blue-ray player for wired internet

Pros: mucho bang for buck, quick start up, compact
Cons: none
Model Number: DMP-BD655
"I prefer wired ethernet connections so this player was perfect. Within minutes of unpacking, I had the firmware update complete and proceeded to duly authorized connections with Amazon and Netflix.
This player is wireless ready IF you already have an adapter, of which there are 2 types:
The $100 Panasonic DY-WL10 USB adapter plugs in the front of the player (where it looks bad and can be easily broken). A better choice is a wireless bridge (such as Linksys WET 610N, or Buffalo WLI-TX4-AG300N) that plugs into the rear ethernet port with better performance for less money. The wireless choices will require some setup with your household wireless router.
Nice picture with DVD or Internet !"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 11, 2011

Wireless ready...Really?

Pros: beutiful picture
Cons: wireless capability requires an expensive add on., menu features on remote are difficult to navigate.
"This product may state it is wireless ready, but in reality you must purchase an additional item for about the same cost as the Blu Ray player itself. Usually items I by at Costco do not mislead people. I am very disappointed and weary before my future purchases from Costco."
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2011

misleading as wifi ready.

"Cons: misleading claim of wireless connectivity
Model Number: BD655
"All Blu-Ray players give excellent performance playing the discs. It's the other features that you pay extra for. The BD655 claims to be able to connect to the internet via wireless USB. NOT TRUE (unless you purchase their proprietary adapter which costs more than the player itself). If you cannot use the device without a specific adapter, then the adapter should be included or should at least should have a warning somewhere on the box that no other wireless adapter will work! Very misleading."
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:December 25, 2010

WIFI works!!!

Pros: doesn't need adapter if you have a cable box
Model Number: DMP-BD655
"We were initially upset that we needed to buy an adapter and then checked the back of our cable box and it has a cat5 or ethernet port and we plugged it in and the player is online and works great!"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles Ca
Date:December 22, 2010
Model Number: VA9FC002205
"I purchase this Panasonic blue ray DVD player. have not had it long the door to put the dvd in will not open. would not purchase another one will like my money back"
Review 10 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kailua, Hi
Date:December 18, 2010

Disappointing

Model Number: DMP-BD85
"As soon as I turned it on, I tried my 16gb Cruzr USB Divx files, & other old dvd movies, & cd movies, & they all played.....gr8.
Then I updated the firmware. Now my USB is incompatible, & the old dvd & cd movies do not play. Some do, but not all.
Popped in my 4gb Cruzr USB & it played the Divx movie I have on it. So I am wondering what is going on?
The few internet programs offered it appears you have to subscribe to use them, except for youtube.
This unit is nothing like the old Panasonic DVD/VHS recorder I was going to replace. Now, I don't dare. Thought I was getting a better product.
Have an inquiry into Panasonic as to how I can undo the firmware & go with the old one that worked."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 18, 2010

Do NOT buy this item!!!

Cons: misleading claim of wireless connectivity
Model Number: BD655
"All Blu-Ray players give excellent performance playing the discs. It's the other features that you pay extra for. The BD655 claims to be able to connect to the internet via wireless USB. NOT TRUE (unless you purchase their proprietary adapter which costs more than the player itself). If you cannot use the device without a specific adapter, then the adapter should be included or should at least should have a warning somewhere on the box that no other wireless adapter will work! Very misleading."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pocatello, idaho
Date:November 25, 2010

Excellent Blu-ray Player

"Fantastic Player, have had zero trouble with this product since I purchased it about a year ago. Excellent quality picture with some wonderful useful features."
Review 13 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:November 22, 2010

Not the Best...

"After automatic update of the latest firmware it stopped to play from network. Very slow when loading. Problems recognizing most USB. Good picture quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:October 24, 2010

Big Mistake

Pros: none
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: BD-655
"Purchased on 4/3/2010...Officially stopped working 10/15/2010. Beyond the warranty period. Panasonic is not what it used to be. Inferior quality for this type of product. Took out the two-year old Samsung it replaced and it worked like a charm. I guess we should have stuck with Samsung."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:October 20, 2010

AWESOME Blu-ray/DVD Player

Pros: viera link feature using one remote
Cons: none that we can see
Model Number: Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player Model DMP-BD655
"We bought this player at our local Costco store and it works great with the our Panasonic 720p plasma 50 '' tv that we also bought at our Costco a few months ealier. It has a great picture on blu-ray movies and also a great picture on all our older dvd's. which surprised us because we have read some reviews that were saying that older dvd's wouldn't look much better on a blue ray player, but that is not the case for us. All of our dvd's look so much better on this Panasonic blue ray player than they did on our newer sony and toshiba upconverting dvd players. There was also one review here that said that the player does not begin from where you left off in the movie you are watching when you stop it and we found that not to be true in our case because we have stopped the movie that was playing on many occasions and it always starts from where we left off even when we turn the player off and come back much later to watch the rest of it, so maybe that reviewer had a defective player.We also like the viera link feature so we only need to use one remote for both the tv and the player. We love this Panasonic blue ray player and would recommend it based on our personal experience using it. You will be amazed at how good your old dvd's look on this player if you have a plasma tv thats 720p or 1080p."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fountain valley, CA
Date:October 8, 2010

CEO

Model Number: dmp-bd655p-k
"I walked around costco to find a Blu Ray player for my HD TV and came across this panasonic one. I looked up on my iphone the important features to look for in a Blu ray player and they are: Netflix / ethernet support, and loading time for a movie.
I think this BR player is perfect! Best price, Great load time, the only little downside is that the functions menu is a tiny bit slow; BUT I love it. Good, solid product, solid brand and a great price. GET ONE!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:August 29, 2010

Love thisBlu-Ray player

Cons: must buy wireless adapter
Model Number: BD 655P-K
"This is an easy to use,easy to set up blu- ray player.
Had it going in no time. Love the quality i get watching Netflix movies.
It is slow to load but so are all the other players out there.
Would have given it 5 stars but ,I hate that you have to buy a Panasonic wireless adapter(Panasonic DY-WL10 Wireless Adapter )so I just hooked directly to my router.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010

Not recommended

Pros: it plays the movie
Cons: missing basic functions, can't invoke top menu during trailers, can't click on stop during trailers, usb doesn't work well
Model Number: DMP-BD655
"Can't invoke the disk menu during trailers. Can't even stop it from playing the trailers using the [Stop] button. It gives an error message.
USB recognized 1 out of 3 storage devices that I connected, but couldn't display any of the images on it.
Bought it yesterday and will return it today. It's a terrible unit."
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale AZ
Date:August 21, 2010

Excellent deal

Pros: great price panasonic name
Cons: do not recognize my usb disk that works with wd tv
Model Number: BD 655P
"I was looking for a NETFLIX upgrade for my WD TV. All this plus a blu ray !!
I was able to use an old wireless router to connect into my house wireless network instead of the $95 proprietary USB WiFi unit.
Not as many network selections as on some other units but presumably Panasonic will continue expading options via updates
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic Blu-ray/DVD Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:August 10, 2010

Do not buy

Model Number: DMP-BD 655
"Unless you watch every DVD from beginning to end in one sitting, do not buy this unit. Amazingly, it does not have the common feature of playback from stopping point. In other words, the DVD starts from the very beginning every time you start the player from off or standby. Called Panasonic to confirm, and sure enough, they indicated that this unit does not have this [basic] feature."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>