Customer Reviews for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric

Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric

Designed for your growing child, the Alpha Omega Elite™ Convertible Car Seat features our Quick-Fit Harness System that never needs re-threading and energy absorbing EPP foam. It fits children rear-facing from 5-35 lbs., forward-facing from 22-40 lbs., and as a belt-positioning booster for 40-100 lbs., making it the only car seat your child will ever need!    Color: Milan   5-point harness system   Quick-Fit Harness system easily adjusts without rethreading   3-position recline adjusts with one hand   3 buckle locations   Up- front harness adjustment   Comfy, pivoting armrests   Detachable cup holder   LATCH equipped for easy installation   Rear-facing from 5-35 lbs.   Forward-facing from 22-40 lbs.   Belt-positioning booster for 40-100 lbs.   Dimensions: 25.2" H x 20" W x 19.5" D; Weight: 20.2 lbs. If you have questions regarding this product please call 1-800-544-1108 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco or email consumer@djgusa.com.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 18(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Review 1 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2010

GREAT value & easy to clean!

Pros: easy to clean.
"I ran out and purchased this off the shelf at our local Costco when we suddenly realized our 3yo's car seat was long expired and no longer safe to use.
Assembly and installation took some time and effort but wasn't overly complicated. I will say it is a good idea to make ll the initial out-of-the-box adjustments inside with your kid before actually installing the seat in your vehicle. My son really likes it and seems very comfortable. I wasn't crazy about the color/pattern but soon realized the advantages-- it disguises a lot of dirt! LOL.
My favorite thing about this carseat, though, is that it is so much easier to clean than his previous seat-- an Evenflo Triumph which actually required us to unscrew the back panel and partially disassemble the seat in order to remove the cover for washing-- incredibly annoying. With the A/O, though, everything (except the harness straps themselves) is easily removable for washing-- the big cover, the head rest cover, the arm rest covers, and even the little pads that keep the shoulder straps from digging into his neck.
I found all this out the hard way about a month after purchase, when my son threw up all over the seat. I was able to get everything off and into the washer right away; some Lysol and sunshine on the harness straps while the cover was in the wash, and the seat is good to go again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 31, 2012

Adjuster Strap Frayed

Cons: poor design strap frayed
Model Number: CC061-MIL
"I have had this seat for 1 year. I'm having an issue with the harness adjuster strap (strap used to tighten the harness). The strap has frayed on one side. The harness doesn't release far enough to get my child in/out easily, which makes it extremely difficult to put a wriggling toddler in the seat. I have the CC061 model manufactured on 9/16/2011. There was a recall for earlier years for the strap loosening up on its own. I don't know if they fixed it and went too tight on the strap. Waiting to hear back from Dorel. They told me with my model, the adjuster strap is not replaceable, meaning they would have to send me a new seat. See what happens!
Taking the seat cover off to wash is a nightmare. You have to unhook the car seat so you can get all the little elastic bands off the tabs.
In rear-facing, it was really large. I have a Honda Odyssey and had to move the passenger chair up so far to allow the seat to fit. If I were ever in an accident it could be bad for the passenger seat (too close to the airbag).
"
Review 3 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nor Cal
Date:June 27, 2012

Not The Quality You Would Expect

Pros: price, appearance
Cons: lightweight construction, poor rear facing recline mechanism, flimsy armrests...held in by a bungee
"I have NEVER been disappointed with a purchase from Costco until today. This seat is no where near as solid or hefty as the Graco we have for our son. We want protection above all else. If you choose to install it rear facing you are unable to get it secure enough to be assured safety unless it is in the fully upright position. (Yes I know it is supposed to be hard to cinch down tight but this one with my full weight on the seat would not cinch down properly) If you want it reclined rear facing then you must loosen the strap due to the design of the recline mechanism.
Although this seat seams like it would be suitable in the forward position we need rear facing at the moment and we will be returning this seat tomorrow.
"
Review 4 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2011

Pain to remove the cover, not machine washable

Pros: comfy, looks nice
Cons: hard to remove cover, not machine washable
"Bought this car seat after reading someone's excited review here about "easy to remove and clean" the cover.
If your kid throws up in the car pretty often (like mine does), you don't want to use this seat, believe me, unless you don't want to break your finger in AWKWARD position trying to push on the plastic clips between the bottom of the seat and the base (which is not detachable) in order to remove lower harness guides and then use the screw driver to pop the upper harness guides. When you finally remove the cover, beware that it's NOT machine washable, read their instructions. Other than that, it's pretty good seat for the price.
Returning it and buying GRACO Nautilus.
"
Review 5 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ogden, Utah
Date:June 27, 2010

Great Car Seat

Pros: color, size
Model Number: 22456-MIL
"My son is getting to big for his infant car seat. For his birthday, my Grandma bought him this car seat. I read every where that it's hard to install. So i figured it would be.
I got it last week (06-24) and i looked at it, and just figured the seat belt or latch goes there. It'll be reclined while he's in the rear position.
So I took a look at the instructions. (any SMART person would), and sure enough I was right. The instructions also held more valuable information.
It took me ten minutes to install and I DID check it twice for my sons safety!
My advice to you is read the instructions. This is a really great car seat!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:July 2, 2012

Wish I Would Have Checked my Costco first

"This car seat is great. It was easy to install (if you actually take the time to browse through the instructions), and my son already seems to love it. I wish I would have checked my costco first, but my son outgrew his seat while we were on vacation and I wanted to make sure I could get the seat I wanted in a timely manner. If I would've checked my Costco first, not only would I have been able to get a black/grey seat (none of this weird brown color), but it was also $10 cheaper."
Review 7 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2010

Not good

Cons: not secure, not much padding
"I am usually a fan of all things Costco. However, this seat did not live up to Costco standards. I installed it facing backwards and it was so loose. I wouldn't feel comfortable putting any baby in this backwards. And the head pieces near the face were not soft like most other seats are. While the saftey ratings are fine, the seat itself is not worth it. Luckily, Costco has a great return system and I returned it without hastle."
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010

Solid Purchase

"Bought it for twin 1 year olds. They were outgrowing their rear facing car seat. Needed to have my sister in law help secure it in my wife's car because I am too big to fit in the back with the car seat (Average size). (Would have the same problem with any car seat.) Like the fact that they will be able to grow with this and they seem to like it and should be safe. Priced well and went out and bought two more for my SUV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 22, 2010

Solid Purchase, Value and Quality

"Shopped many models. Great value, saving over $50 for the same model at other retail chains. My 5 month old finds extremely comfortable, knapping nearly the entire time she is in it. Install is not too tricky, but takes some paying attention too. Easy to adjust all features except for the tilt. Seat needs to be unlatched from car to adjust tilt. Great color combo. An all around solid buy, especially for the price."
Review 10 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010

Difficult to install

Pros: nice looking
Cons: bulky base, difficult to install rear-facing
"This is a very nice seat, and will be wonderful when my child is ready for forward facing. However, it was very difficult to install in my Honda Odyssey. Any vehicle with much slope in the seat will be a challenge. We had to use three sections of a foam swim "noodle" under the seat and it is still not tilted far enough for a newborn.
Save the box until you get it properly installed, as it may not fit your car!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gila Valley, AZ
Date:May 20, 2010

Very Satisfied

Pros: ease of use, price, ability to grow with child
Cons: no fun colors
"I must admit I didn't get it for a backward facing position (personally wouldn't because its not like you can leave a sleeping newborn in it and take the whole thing out easily without disturbing the baby) but overall I like this seat. My son loves his seat and didn't want to give it up to his younger sister, so I'm having to get another one for her so he can have his seat back!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2012
"So far this car seat has been great for my toddler. We have only used it front facing and have not had it very long. He is able to sleep in it during car rides and his head is better supported than in our other car seat. I'm a little worried that it will be too restrictive as he gets bigger."
Review 13 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:August 21, 2011

Horrible rear-facing seat

Pros: arm rests
Cons: latches
"* The clips are hard to use
* We could not get it secured. It swayed from side to side and back and forth. We tried it in a sedan and small SUV.
* The fabric felt cheap
* Hard to set-up for the first time
It might be fine as a forward-facing, but it was very frustrating to try to install."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santee, CA
Date:October 1, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: good for all stages
"I just bought this car seat a couple of weeks ago and I absolutely love it. My son is three months old and he fits very well in it. I am very happy that I don't have to purchase another car seat because this will last me a very long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:March 20, 2012

Great Deal!! Great Car Seat at a Great Price!!

Pros: great value, fast shipping included, comfortable, looks very nice
Model Number: Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
"Great car seat! We wanted a nice car seat for our 8 month old boy. Did not want to break the bank for a nice safe seat. This one fits the bill for us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:June 18, 2012

Grandma Yia-Yia Loves It

"I bought this car seat at my local Costco. It's well made, good design and comfortable for my 20-month old granddaughter. A good value for the price."
Review 17 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cordova,ca
Date:May 22, 2010

I love this seat

"got this seat for my 7 1/2 month old and my 2 year old. I had no with it being lose in the rear facing position i love it"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safety 1st® Alpha Omega™ Elite Convertible Car Seat Milan Fabric
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:March 13, 2012

Good stuff for a good price

Pros: sturdy, good quality, durable
"What can I tell? It is a good product for the best price in the market."