Customer Reviews for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet

Print From Multiple Computers Increase Your Efficiency
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
15 of 19(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Review 1 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ca
Date:November 10, 2011

Good Printer

Model Number: Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
"This printer has excelent set-up, very good functions, good quality, and has all in one ( printer, fax, copy and scan ) nicely organized and easy to use with out any problem."
Review 2 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 25, 2011

Love my Printer

Model Number: Lexmark S400
"This is a great little printer and does everything the big guys do, including FAX, copy and color print. It's a good size and looks good, too."
Review 3 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:October 2, 2011

Horrible - worst printer ever

Model Number: S405
"absolutely worthless printer. the printer lost connection with the computers everytime it went into powersave mode. i cannot turn off demo mode whatsoever. the only way to make it communicate with the router is if i reset the router everytime i have to print something. complete waste of money. i wish i could return it, but it is now past 90 days."
Review 4 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011

Problem with speed

Model Number: Interpret S405
"The printer seems to "balk", and take it's merry time actually printing. Once it starts printing it goes quickly....perhaps I don't have things installed correctly?"
Review 5 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ft. Myers, FL
Date:August 25, 2011

Great Value and Function

Pros: price is great, easy to use
Cons: takes a bit more space than the printer it replace
Model Number: Lexmark Interpret S405
"Costco delivered the S405 two days after ordering online. Took 1-1/2 hours to set up, very straght-forward if you follow the directions. I have it working on computers using XP, Vista, and Windows 7. I did call Lexmark support to id how to default to black print, and was very helpful service. My first scan worked well going to pdf format. I'm 65+ and not a techie, so i'm very pleased."
Review 6 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ridgefield, CT
Date:July 25, 2011

Scan to pdf quietly

Pros: quite scan fast print
Cons: text on tilt out panel hard to read
Model Number: S405
"When I upgarded to Windows 7 my HP printer / scaner / copier / fax stopped scanning into pdf's, it would only provide jpeg images. There were no upgrades for Windows 7 for this printer. The Lexmark offered the same features and at a low price. It took 3 days for delivery and pluged it in and it works great, sacnning much quiter than the HP and quick and sharp color and B&W prints. Very pleased with it's performance."
Review 7 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SAcramenott, CA
Date:June 21, 2011

Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet

Pros: the price, nice looking, prints well, seperate ink tanks
Cons: wireless operation is a bust!
Model Number: Interpret S405
"Great printer for the price, set-up was easy other than the wireless operation, set it up twice on our laptop but after working once it never works a second time, it says it can't find the printer."
Review 8 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Roseburg, OR
Date:June 7, 2011

Worst Printer Ever

Model Number: Interpret S405
"Bought this two weeks ago, immediatley it told me I need to replace the print head. Then it constantly tells me that there is an interference with the yellow ink cartridge. I called the hotline, they mailed me a new yellow ink and the print head of which took over a week when they said 2-3 business days. Replaced like they said, now it says the magenta is having an interference. Called the hotline and all they say is that they can send a magenta ink replacement. Have only printed a hand full of things on it and now the black ink is low just from all the test printing and aligning. This one is going back and will never look at this brand again!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2011

Good litle printer

"This is a great little printer. It was somewhat cumbersome to set up but everything worked out properly with the CD that came with it. You must have a wireless router and network already set up in order to use the wireless feature. The wireless feature does not connect directly to the WiFi on my computer. It is speedy. The colors are good. There is a "print progress bar" that is enabled while printing that is rather annoying as it blocks half the task bar. Likewise it is annoying for the Lexmark reorder to popup offering to sell you more ink! Have not had this long enough to evaluate ink supply and whether it is better with 4 cartridges (red,yellow,blue, black) rather than the usual 2 (color & black) of other printers I have owned. The black cartridge is larger than the color ones.I think it is a great printer for the money and I am expecting to get many years of use out of it!"
Review 10 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Monterey, California
Date:May 28, 2011

Horrible Printer

Cons: doesn't work.
Model Number: S405
"This worked for about a week before it ran into two huge problems:
1) It would only print one time successfully. Then you had to reboot Windows 7 to make it work again.
2) I received a "printhead" error message which turns out to be a common Lexmark problem without a solution. Now the printer is frozen and will not even allow me to do any diagnostics.
Finally, this printer is not made for Windows 7. The installation disc does not even work with it.
Back to the warehouse this goes."
Review 11 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:May 27, 2011

Adequate product

Pros: excellent print quality, reasonably priced, extended warranty when purchased from costco
Model Number: s405
"This printer is perfectly adequate for our needs and seems to do a fine job of printing. However we were somewhat disappointed in the lengthy and difficult set up which involved a live chat session with Lexmark. Once it was up and running, we found it to be a really good printer for the price. Warning...the printhead will need to be replaced quickly, however when you register the printer Lexmark informs you of this and gives you the opportunity to have them ship you one free of charge, and YES you will need it. Ours starting printing random grey squares about 2 days prior to the new one being delivered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Snohomish, WA
Date:May 26, 2011

Love it - Love it - Love it!

Pros: feature packed, quality construction, nice appearance, low price
Model Number: S405
"I was looking to replace my HP all-in-one with a similar HP, but after seeing how the reviews of HP printers are not what they used to be, I was reticent to purchase another HP. I was also not keen on Lexmark because I owned one prior to the HP. It was garbage. I decided to give them another chance because of the consistently high ratings of just under 5 stars. Even though this printer is priced very low, I was pleasantly surprised! Everything it does, it does well. It's reasonably quiet, it scans well and easily, and it makes great quality inkjet documents. I have not tried the fax or photo printing features so I can't speak to those. It saves energy by going to sleep automatically when not being used and wakes up when a document is sent from the computer. It far exceeded my expectations and has more features than I'll ever need. Suitable for a home office or even a local desktop printer in a corporation. If I must say anything close to negative, I'd say the WiFi had me wanting to call customer service. Instead, I just hooked it up with the supplied cable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Surprised with Results--So Far

Pros: responsive tech support, more features than expected
Cons: don't try to install without following directions
Model Number: Lexmark Interpret S405
"Just never expected a sub-$100 printer to become a mainstay on my desk!
As a real estate agent, broker and blogger, I needed a printer that would cover interim needs between the breakdown of my treacherously slow HP Photosmart and the printer and scanner that would (after much research) eventually take a more permanent position on my desk.
It's had two weeks of business use, and I'm not inclined to replace the Lexmark Interpret S405 anytime soon. It has a relatively small footprint and is full-featured with scanner, fax and photo capabilities. It also has a generous paper feed, USB port and SD slot--and is more responsive/speedier than the HP it replaced.
Installation of the printer and connecting it to my Mac was a little more complicated than expected, and I had to call Lexmark's customer support line for assistance. The tech remotely installed a new driver on my computer and explained that re-setting the printer might be necessary on occasion. This is done by sliding power unit from back of machine and re-inserting it after 20 seconds or so.
Quality of print is fine for my purposes and fairly equals that of the HP, though I have not yet done any photo printing.
Delivery from Costco.com was zippy and it's always a comfort buying from them because they stand so firmly behind what they sell."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio TX
Date:September 14, 2010

Shock and Awe!

Model Number: S405 Wireless Inkjet
"I figured this woud be one of two things: the best buy of a lifetime, or a total bust. Much to my surprise, it was the former. Never having owned a Lexmark printer, all I knew was what I read in the promotion. It was relatively easy to assemble, load software, and crank it up. Wonderful resolution and fast printing of multiple pages. I am truly experiencing shock and awe and cannot stop saying enough fabulous things about this product. In fact, I may just purchase a second one in case this one ever stops working!!! Buy it - you will appreciate it!"
Review 15 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fillmore, CA
Date:September 9, 2010

Lexmark S405

Model Number: Lexmark S405
"Costco delivery surprised me with next day delivery. The Lexmark did an excellent job of making the install and setup easy. I use wireless with WEP2 security and the CD did it so easy I didn’t think it worked. Took a couple of tries to make the scanner capture images and not have the software attempt to OCR the text. Only negative is printer goes to sleep and need to press start. Not a problem because it is within arm’s reach but would be a pain if in the other room. Printer is fast and colors bright. Bought the S405 as a replacement for an older big name multi function printer that would not install on Windows 7."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Garden Grove, CA
Date:August 30, 2010

Great Find

"Pros: Great lil printer, copier, and scanner. Very pleased with the quality. Set up was easy to follow (just follow the step by step instructions). Longevity of ink is also a big plus. Used almost 2 reams of paper and still have ink.
Cons: For some reason when switching Wi-Fi connections, wireless printing becomes complicated. Have not had the time to analyze...works with laptop and not desktop. It may just be the desktop and not the printer."
Review 17 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocklin California
Date:August 23, 2010

The best printer I have ever owned!!

Model Number: s405
"So far the Lexmark S405 has been working perfect. It takes a little bit of time to get everything set up but it is well worth it. It will go into sleep mode after a few minutes and when you are ready to print it comes right up and prints. I am wireless and love the way it performs. I had a HP c309 all in one and it was the worse printer ever. It would go into sleep mode and won't print unless you unplug it first and plug it back in. then the HP would take forever to be ready to print and it's loud. The Lexmark is nice and quite."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blaine, WA
Date:June 29, 2010

6thLexmark - It's by far the BEST

Pros: ouality is fantastic
Model Number: Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
"Problems installing until I READ the instructions. Software from MS update works great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lexmark Interpret S405 Wireless Inkjet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 16, 2010
Pros: excellent service
Cons: none
Model Number: Interpret S405
"Owned several Lexmark printers and all are excellent. Had to call Lexmark because I didn't know how to connect to wi-fi, no waiting time and the had this issues solved in a minute.
The printer workes great, and it is fast. You have to register the printer in order to get the 3 year warranty.
Shipping was fast orderd on Wed. night and received it on Friday morning.
Thank you Costco.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.