Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
2.914 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
8
15 of 35(43%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:November 10, 2011

Vizio 55" LCD

Pros: picture, ease of use, price
Cons: sound
"We've owned the 55" for about 2 years and it is absolutely the best tv we've ever owned for the price. the picture is awesome. We've used the tv with cable, dvds, computers and game consoles and all have performed fabulously. we also have a 37" lcd which has performed equally as well. the only complaint is the sound could be better."
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:October 21, 2011

TV Shuts Off

Model Number: E550VA
"Bought this TV in September 2011. Great picture and the price was right. Problems started with the pause button. TV would shut off. Called Vizio several times and their customer service was unresponsive. A Vizio repair service was to call us and set an appointment. Never called. When I called Vizio they said the appointment was cancelled. They had never called to tell us.No reason was given why. Said the problem was not theirs. With this quality of service I could not recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 3, 2011

Sound Problems

Pros: great picture, volume goes up & down on its own
"I bought this TV in June of 2011 and I was pleased with the picture BUT the volume in BUSTED! It goes Up & Down on its own to the point that I had to tell the kids they couldn't watch TV after I went to bed b/c it would go Up so much that it would wake me.
So I called Vizio and they sent me out a USB drive to plug into the back and download some software that was suppose to fix the problem...
It did not. I returned it to Costco and bought the 60" Sharp, I'll let you know how that goes in a few weeks...
"
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, UT
Date:July 30, 2011

Vizio 55 in problems

Pros: very nice for price, a price leader in regards to display size
Cons: sound and reboot issues
Model Number: VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
"This TV is a great bargain BUT it has issues that are built in the product which are evident when you have certain hardware connected.
First of all the it will shut off and reboot by itself. On our DishNetwork system the volumn will go up really loud on some commercials. I changed Dish from HDMI1 to 2 and it helped but why would it? But still the shut off (only on Dish) is not right. Works with DVD just fine. Taking it back
WE have two other Vizios and they have had NO problems whatsoever. Only this unit seems to have very major flaws.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surprise, AZ
Date:June 27, 2011

Best purchase ever.

Pros: great purchase, great picture quality
Cons: none.
Model Number: E550VA
"I bought this Vizio a week ago and have not experienced any of the problems that have been reported. The HD picture quality is fantastic and the picture with a standard definition cable box is pretty good. This is my second Vizio; a 19" for my travel trailer and home office."
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 28, 2011

terrible product

Model Number: E55OVA
"This is my second tv and it still performs as poorly as the first. Sound quality is awful. TV shuts itself off and reboots whenever it feels like. Returning this one to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:michigan
Date:March 28, 2011

sound

"same deal sound shoots up guess costco just wants to sell them seems like they would pull them until vizio comes up with fix"
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chico, Ca
Date:March 18, 2011

Very Disappointed

Pros: price
Cons: audio
Model Number: E550VA
"My first HD TV and I bought at Costco beacuse of the great customer service. I'm glad for the return policy now. I took it back, spent the difference in cost and got the Sony 55. Wow, what a difference in picture and performance. The Visio picture would just go away sometimes and more often the audio would begin ratcheting and then go away. I had to hit last channel twice to get them back. I called Visio and they blamed the cable box so I switched out the box twice. No help. The cable company blamed the TV but Visio couldn't offer the solution. Getting a Sony from Costco was the answer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA
Date:March 2, 2011

VIZIO 55" HD TV BUYER BEWARE

Pros: vizio is a good company
Cons: sound design flaw in the set up process
Model Number: E550VA
"i bought the new VIZIO 55" HD TV Model #E550VA last week. There is a VIZIO design flaw, which I have advised COSTCO Corporate Offices of. The audio set up allows you to select two important features, one, the SRSTRUSURROUNDHD, which should be kept in the OFF position UNLESS you have it connected to a true home theater system. That is ok. The problem is with the second feature, the SRS TRUVOLUME which regulates the volume of the TV during programming versus commercials. This function is NOT functioning properly and if in the ON mode will cause your sound to fluctuate from minimal to unbearable and THEN in most cases causes the VOLUME TO ***SHUT OFF COMPLETELY***!!!. The only way to solve is to change channels or shut the TV off and then back on. COSTCO concierge said to leave this function in the OFF mode to solve this problem! I notified COSTCO corporate that this "band-aid approach to fixing this issue was unacceptable for such an expensive TV.I told them and they agreed, you should NOT have to turn off a legitimate option to solve another issue, in this case, a desgn flaw. I was assured by COSTCO that they would contact VIZIO ASAP to get this problem fixed. I will wait to see what the resolution is before I decide the fate of my 55" VIZIO."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:February 28, 2011

Happy COSTCO SHOPPER

Pros: picture, clarity
Cons: 3 - 4 second time delay between channels
Model Number: VIZIOE55OVA
"this HDTV is the best bang for the buck, good job COSTCO you have done it again! the VIZIO E550VA does not dissapoint, great picture w/no sound problems some are sharing in the reviews. the sound is great and I only have it at a 1 or 2 rarely much louder. It is the biggest tv ever and we love it and highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 25, 2011

Do not buy Visio!

Cons: bad service, bad audio
Model Number: E550VA
"The lip sync was way off on QAM channels (more than a second!). I liked the TV overall so I decided to give Vizio a chance to repair it (after exhausting the convenient Costco Concierge services). They had their own troubleshooting and then passed me on to 2nd tier service.
The tech was condescending and insulting and ultimately refused to send a repairman, blaming it on an "incompatible" signal. This after I explained that no less than 5 other TV's in the house were completely in sync!
I returned the set. brought home a different brand of TV and the problem was gone. It may have been a simple fix for all I know, but if the manufacturer refuses to take any responsibility for their products, I have to move on and I would suggest that you do as well..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2011

Great Picture Bad Sound

Pros: great picture
Cons: sound, video picture, turn itself off
Model Number: E550VA
"I brought this TV 3 weeks ago . The sound was going up and down without anyone using the remote. I called Vizio and the Tech talk me through turning off the two sound effects. When I played a DVD the picture was so clear it look more like watching video or live performance. I watch my TV programs and they look like video instead of a movie. I called Vizio and they had no answer. Now the TV turns itself off while I'm watching it. My 42 inch Vizio has no problems. I will be returning it."
Review 13 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cameron Park , CA
Date:February 19, 2011

Volume / Sound issue

Pros: picture
Cons: sound
Model Number: E550VA
"The sound is terrible. Sometime I have to turn it to 90 to hear it, then other times down to 2.
Also about half dozen times, the volume goes way up on its own. W\hen that happens hitting the down volume arrow for some reason turns the tv off.
Also noticed the same half inch stripe across the top on some satellite channels.
So far I have had this tv for about 2 months, but do to the above, will be taking it back this weekend,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:February 7, 2011

excellent tv

Pros: picture quality easy setup
Cons: truvolume doesn't work well for sports
Model Number: E550VA
"Just got this for the SB and was in awe over the picture quality (just hooked up to an antenna). I noticed the sound fluctuation during the game - sometimes could barely hear, other times had to turn it down - and after a little thought turned off the TruVolume. Had no problems after that. I'll probably leave it off (at least for sports) since there's quite a mix of dead air and loud cheers in sports that would be difficult for any system to balance.
I had considered another tv with a higher refresh rate, but I'm glad I didn't spend the extra money as the picture was beautiful for the whole game with no noticable problems.
"
Review 15 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville TN
Date:February 4, 2011

Good deal

Pros: picture, price
Cons: variable sound, no rca outputs
Model Number: 55inch
"Took the time to read all the previous reviews which I highly recommend reading. Since Costco is excellent about taking returns, decided to pick up the 55". Enjoy the picture, especially the HD. Also like watching free shows through my Laptop and the HDMI connection. Did not have any of the major problems mentioned such as TV turning off or light coming out from the top or bottom. Do however have the variable sound problem. Goes well beyond the typical Commercial vs. Program variability with sometimes needing to have volume at level 2 and other times needing to be 40-50. Plan on getting a surround sound system in future so hopefully, this will not be a problem then. Sad that my Bass box with RCA's cant hook up to this TV, Plan to keep with no plans to take back at this time."
Review 16 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clarksville, MD
Date:January 22, 2011

Great Picture, Terrible Sound

Pros: great picture
Cons: terrible sound
Model Number: E550VA
"Just like everyone else here...picture is great, sound is terrible. Sometimes we have to turn it up to 80 to hear anything, other times it is too loud unless we turn it down to 2. While watching the same show from the same source you have to constantly turn it up or down. I have tried all combinations of turning on/off the sound settings on the tv and the sources. TV is going back, not sure why Vizio/Costco continue to sell this tv when so many people have the same problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:January 18, 2011

Terrible sound

"Picture is godd, but the sound is TERRIBLE! It is going back."
Review 18 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:toledo ohio
Date:January 17, 2011

good picture/volume control problem

Pros: picture
Cons: volume control
Model Number: ev550
"Purchased just before Christmas, volume problems started same day. Almost every time I turn it on, the volume fails. I have to change channels for volume to return."
Review 19 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:January 2, 2011

light bleed through, poor support, home theater

Pros: none
Cons: difficult to set up with home theater system, poor customer support, line of bright light across the top, lousy set up manual
Model Number: E550VA
"First off, there is a thin line of bright light that shines through at the top of the screen.
Second, they show 4 different methods of connecting the TV to a DVD box but none of which work with a home theater system. You have to dig through other parts of their poorly written user manual to find the information you need - and the info is still incomplete.
There is no audio return channel on the TV. The SPDIF jack in back of the TV will not hold an optical cable in place - it keeps falling out.
When I contacted VIZIO for support they told me to contact SONY . I am trying to hook up their BDV-T57 home theater system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:January 1, 2011

Clear picture

Pros: clear hd picture, multiple hdmi inputs, easy to select hdmi inputs, consistent sound, good price
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio 55" LCD 1080p TV
"The picture is bright, sharp and clear. It is very easy to select the HDMI inputs. I have another brand flat panel TV where it is difficult and confusing to select the HDMI inputs. With the Vizio the manual HDMI input control is readily accessible on the side and the HDMI inputs are easily selectable with the remote too.
The TV worked perfectly right out of the box with no problems.
The sound levels are consistently the same for the programs and commercials without doing anything.
"
1 2 next>>