Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
2.914 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
8
15 of 35(43%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA
Date:March 2, 2011

VIZIO 55" HD TV BUYER BEWARE

Pros: vizio is a good company
Cons: sound design flaw in the set up process
Model Number: E550VA
"i bought the new VIZIO 55" HD TV Model #E550VA last week. There is a VIZIO design flaw, which I have advised COSTCO Corporate Offices of. The audio set up allows you to select two important features, one, the SRSTRUSURROUNDHD, which should be kept in the OFF position UNLESS you have it connected to a true home theater system. That is ok. The problem is with the second feature, the SRS TRUVOLUME which regulates the volume of the TV during programming versus commercials. This function is NOT functioning properly and if in the ON mode will cause your sound to fluctuate from minimal to unbearable and THEN in most cases causes the VOLUME TO ***SHUT OFF COMPLETELY***!!!. The only way to solve is to change channels or shut the TV off and then back on. COSTCO concierge said to leave this function in the OFF mode to solve this problem! I notified COSTCO corporate that this "band-aid approach to fixing this issue was unacceptable for such an expensive TV.I told them and they agreed, you should NOT have to turn off a legitimate option to solve another issue, in this case, a desgn flaw. I was assured by COSTCO that they would contact VIZIO ASAP to get this problem fixed. I will wait to see what the resolution is before I decide the fate of my 55" VIZIO."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Papillion, NE
Date:October 8, 2010

Great TV for a Great Price

Pros: price, energy efficient, clairty of picture, in-home warranty
Cons: black levels could be a little blacker
"Went into Costco wanting the 47 inch version of this TV but they were temporarily sold out. Took home the 55 inch (due to great price) to try it but figured it would be too big. I was totally wrong. It's a big TV yes, but the picture is so clear and crisp that it really is not too big at all. It is amazing how sharp the picture is! I haven't even watched it with a Blu-ray disc yet. Only Dish Network HD and an upconvert DVD player. Even SD is pretty good quality on it. I've owned it for about three weeks now with zero problems. I bought two other TV's prior to this one. Both were smaller and both didn't have as good of a picture as this. The sound is even really good. Sure, it's not a big surround sound with a subwoofer and all, but it definitely gets loud enough for standard TV watchers. HIghly recommend this TV. Energy consumption is a big deal for me, this TV gets as good or better energy consumption than a lot of the new "energy efficient" LED TV's yet costs so much less and has just as good of a picture in my opinion. My second Vizio (first one is four years old and still going strong with no problems) and once again am thoroughly impressed with the price point and the quality that comes with it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 30, 2010

Good picture, some drawbacks

Pros: picture quality, easy setup
Cons: sound quality
"Since this was a new model, it did not have any reviews available. I took a risk on it and bought one from Costco, since it seemed like a good deal for the price and the picture looked no different from the LED-LCD versions.
After bringing the TV home, I would say that the quality of the picture is very impressive. I never owned an HD TV before and watching a Blu-Ray was absolutely incredible.
Unfortunately, there are several things about this TV which are disappointing.
1) The most significant issue is that about half the time, when the channel on the television is changed, the picture comes on, but then the TV goes blank for about 5-7 seconds. Once the picture comes back, it does not go blank again, but this is still very frustrating. The same thing happens regardless whether I watch broadcast TV or if I start watching something from Blu-Ray box. I also saw someone reporting this problem on a forum recently, so this may be a systematic issue. I called Vizio and they said they have never seen this problem. They told me to unplug the TV and then hold the power button for 30 sec. This did not fix the problem.
2) The sound on the television is not very impressive.
3) There is quite a long delay in turning the TV on
4) It takes at least 3 seconds for the TV to acquire the signal once the channel is switches. I am using the antenna.
Overall, if problem (1) was not in place, I would keep the TV and recommend it to everyone. However, with this problem I will most likely end up returning it."
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parkland, Wa.
Date:November 21, 2010

Do Not Hesitate and BUY it!!!

Pros: big+bad to the bone pic, i dont need to wear my glasses, takes hardly any space, i am happy again, that"s all folks!!!!!
Cons: not a darn thing
Model Number: 55" LCD 1080Pixels per square inch HDTV
"All I can say is WOWWY!!!!! I finally got rid of my dinosuar Proscan that was wider than my buttox and picked this up online from here. The picture is as clear as crystal and you cannot beat the price. When the 55" or bigger LED/LCD 3D's go down to around a grand, then this will have to go in my bedroom :) and the 47" lcd in there will go to my 15 year old who cannot get off his Xbox 360 (Call of Duty- Black Ops, do not play that if you have an addictive personality) Anywho, just click the add to cart button and get it, you will not regret your decision! God Bless and hope anyone reading this has an AWESOME Holiday- Love, Peace, and Hair grease~ Derwood"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 18, 2010

Great for the Price

Pros: picture quality
Cons: none so far
Model Number: E550VL
"Can't beat the quality for the price. Looked at the smug brands (sony, etc.) and I couldn't really see the difference that justified the extra cost. We just brought it home, took it out of the box and voila. Great picture, easy to use remote and the sound is fine (i am sure surround sound audio files won't think so but for us it is fantastic.). We couldn't be more pleased."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 25, 2011

Do not buy Visio!

Cons: bad service, bad audio
Model Number: E550VA
"The lip sync was way off on QAM channels (more than a second!). I liked the TV overall so I decided to give Vizio a chance to repair it (after exhausting the convenient Costco Concierge services). They had their own troubleshooting and then passed me on to 2nd tier service.
The tech was condescending and insulting and ultimately refused to send a repairman, blaming it on an "incompatible" signal. This after I explained that no less than 5 other TV's in the house were completely in sync!
I returned the set. brought home a different brand of TV and the problem was gone. It may have been a simple fix for all I know, but if the manufacturer refuses to take any responsibility for their products, I have to move on and I would suggest that you do as well..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Enfield, CT
Date:July 30, 2010

Problems out of the box

Model Number: E550VL
"We got this yesterday. Brought it home, dragged the 95 pound box up to the second floor and mounted it on the wall in our Master Bedroom. As soon as we turned it on, it had a ghost "blob" that took up over 50% of the screen. It was like a grey area in the middle. And it never went away.
It also had a green line down the right side if you used the HDMI input. And on non-HD stations it had an annoying interference strip across the top using the HDMI or Component inputs.
We are taking it back and hoping it is just this one TV. If not, we'll return the next one for a refund."
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:December 30, 2010

Good purchase for the Price!

Pros: price for the size, good picture quality out of the box
Cons: sensitive to power sorce & picture source setting
Model Number: E550VA
"We wanted to replace our smaller 42" Vizio for a larger one and decided on this TV mainly due to the price being less than a $1,000 for the 55". We were very happy with our original two Vizios purchased from Costco 3 three years ago so we decided to try this one out.
Setup was very easy we had it up and running within 15 minutes, and out of the box settings were pretty good. We did notice with the Smooth Motion setting on low, medium, or high that we got this Soap Opera affect where you saw more of the camera movement and angles that was very distracting, so we elected to turn this feature off. We were extremely happy with the picture quality and color. Then we started having problems with the TV randomly shutting off and back on or just off and we would have to manually turn it back on. This would happen two maybe three times a day and then sometimes it would go for a couple of days without any problems.
We called Costco concierge who had us do a reset of the TV by unplugging it. We waited another day and it started randomly turning off and on again. Called Vizio support this time and they asked us if we had tried it in a different power source. We tried that and the problem happened less frequently but was still happening. We decided to try an electrical line conditioner on the TV and that did not make much difference either. We then called Direct TV who is our sattelite provider and told them about our issue. They started going through our settings for DTV and we had our Native mode turned ON under the HDTV Video preferences in the Setup menu. This feature auto-changes the resolution to match each program. DTV told us to turn this setting to OFF. Since that time, no problems with the TV shutting off and now when we change channels there is less of a delay for the TV to display. Before changing this setting, when you changed the channel the TV would go black for about 5 seconds and then finally display the picture (assuming trying to readjust for this auto feature being turned ON). This was also the times it was most likely to turn itself off. Our old Vizio did not have any problems with this setting being ON but something in this new TV is more sensitive to switching the display. As far as the TV picture with this setting turned off, we have not noticed any ill effects from doing this.
We still think it has a great picture for the price that we paid and we were very happy with the support we got from both Costco Concierge and Vizio support.
Bottom line, be aware that other issues like your power source and picture source (ie. DTV) settings may need to be tweeked to get the best performance from this TV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burgettstown, Pa
Date:November 26, 2010

Great TV

Pros: great picture quality
Cons: none
Model Number: E550VA 955550
"We purchased this TV a year ago, and it is still working great. No problems like the other reviewers mentioned. The sound is OK too for regular TV watching, but for movies we play it through our sound system. The picture is excellent. I could not be happier with this set."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 28, 2011

terrible product

Model Number: E55OVA
"This is my second tv and it still performs as poorly as the first. Sound quality is awful. TV shuts itself off and reboots whenever it feels like. Returning this one to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California, CA
Date:July 14, 2010

Good TV for Price Paid

"This is pretty good tv for the price you pay, the LCD picture quality with blue ray is excellent; the sound are poor but i added sony sound system and that eliminated the sound problem. I had this tv for about six months and never had any problems."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:January 2, 2011

light bleed through, poor support, home theater

Pros: none
Cons: difficult to set up with home theater system, poor customer support, line of bright light across the top, lousy set up manual
Model Number: E550VA
"First off, there is a thin line of bright light that shines through at the top of the screen.
Second, they show 4 different methods of connecting the TV to a DVD box but none of which work with a home theater system. You have to dig through other parts of their poorly written user manual to find the information you need - and the info is still incomplete.
There is no audio return channel on the TV. The SPDIF jack in back of the TV will not hold an optical cable in place - it keeps falling out.
When I contacted VIZIO for support they told me to contact SONY . I am trying to hook up their BDV-T57 home theater system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chico, Ca
Date:March 18, 2011

Very Disappointed

Pros: price
Cons: audio
Model Number: E550VA
"My first HD TV and I bought at Costco beacuse of the great customer service. I'm glad for the return policy now. I took it back, spent the difference in cost and got the Sony 55. Wow, what a difference in picture and performance. The Visio picture would just go away sometimes and more often the audio would begin ratcheting and then go away. I had to hit last channel twice to get them back. I called Visio and they blamed the cable box so I switched out the box twice. No help. The cable company blamed the TV but Visio couldn't offer the solution. Getting a Sony from Costco was the answer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, UT
Date:July 30, 2011

Vizio 55 in problems

Pros: very nice for price, a price leader in regards to display size
Cons: sound and reboot issues
Model Number: VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
"This TV is a great bargain BUT it has issues that are built in the product which are evident when you have certain hardware connected.
First of all the it will shut off and reboot by itself. On our DishNetwork system the volumn will go up really loud on some commercials. I changed Dish from HDMI1 to 2 and it helped but why would it? But still the shut off (only on Dish) is not right. Works with DVD just fine. Taking it back
WE have two other Vizios and they have had NO problems whatsoever. Only this unit seems to have very major flaws.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Bernardino, Ca
Date:December 27, 2010

Bought this TV on black Friday.

Pros: picture
Cons: sound quality
Model Number: E550VA
"I bought this TV on black Friday 2010 because i could not pass the price up. I reviewed TV's on consumer reports and looked at customer reviews online and vizio received mixed reviews. I am also having a problem with the sound, i have to adjust the sound frequently and do not get dramatic results by turning it up considerably or turn it low considerably. I have HD cable the TV has a 5 second delay when changing channels and sometimes the sound will go completely out and the picture will lag. i do admit it could be the cable but if i turn off the TV and turn it on it returns to normal. I have also had problems with the TV turning off if i am changing simple menu controls. The picture is amazing but i am going to return this product and spend the extra money for a Samsung because i believe its the smart decision in the long run."
Review 16 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:October 21, 2011

TV Shuts Off

Model Number: E550VA
"Bought this TV in September 2011. Great picture and the price was right. Problems started with the pause button. TV would shut off. Called Vizio several times and their customer service was unresponsive. A Vizio repair service was to call us and set an appointment. Never called. When I called Vizio they said the appointment was cancelled. They had never called to tell us.No reason was given why. Said the problem was not theirs. With this quality of service I could not recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clarksville, MD
Date:January 22, 2011

Great Picture, Terrible Sound

Pros: great picture
Cons: terrible sound
Model Number: E550VA
"Just like everyone else here...picture is great, sound is terrible. Sometimes we have to turn it up to 80 to hear anything, other times it is too loud unless we turn it down to 2. While watching the same show from the same source you have to constantly turn it up or down. I have tried all combinations of turning on/off the sound settings on the tv and the sources. TV is going back, not sure why Vizio/Costco continue to sell this tv when so many people have the same problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cameron Park , CA
Date:February 19, 2011

Volume / Sound issue

Pros: picture
Cons: sound
Model Number: E550VA
"The sound is terrible. Sometime I have to turn it to 90 to hear it, then other times down to 2.
Also about half dozen times, the volume goes way up on its own. W\hen that happens hitting the down volume arrow for some reason turns the tv off.
Also noticed the same half inch stripe across the top on some satellite channels.
So far I have had this tv for about 2 months, but do to the above, will be taking it back this weekend,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:February 28, 2011

Happy COSTCO SHOPPER

Pros: picture, clarity
Cons: 3 - 4 second time delay between channels
Model Number: VIZIOE55OVA
"this HDTV is the best bang for the buck, good job COSTCO you have done it again! the VIZIO E550VA does not dissapoint, great picture w/no sound problems some are sharing in the reviews. the sound is great and I only have it at a 1 or 2 rarely much louder. It is the biggest tv ever and we love it and highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville TN
Date:February 4, 2011

Good deal

Pros: picture, price
Cons: variable sound, no rca outputs
Model Number: 55inch
"Took the time to read all the previous reviews which I highly recommend reading. Since Costco is excellent about taking returns, decided to pick up the 55". Enjoy the picture, especially the HD. Also like watching free shows through my Laptop and the HDMI connection. Did not have any of the major problems mentioned such as TV turning off or light coming out from the top or bottom. Do however have the variable sound problem. Goes well beyond the typical Commercial vs. Program variability with sometimes needing to have volume at level 2 and other times needing to be 40-50. Plan on getting a surround sound system in future so hopefully, this will not be a problem then. Sad that my Bass box with RCA's cant hook up to this TV, Plan to keep with no plans to take back at this time."
1 2 next>>