Customer Reviews for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Brightness: 450 nits Response Time: 8ms
Average Customer Rating:
2.397 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
(out of 73 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
17
1 star
28
27 of 73(37%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Review 21 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 31, 2010

Shame on Vizio

Pros: none
Cons: twenty-five seconds to turn the tv on, ten seconds to change from one channel to another, no programming guide, no freeze button, picture is too dark
Model Number: E320VA
"Shame on Vizio for putting this terrible TV on the market. I regrettably bought two of these TVs for Christmas presents for my kids for their rooms, choosing Vizio because of my satisfaction with three prior Vizio TVs I had purchased from Costco-- including a 32" Vizio like this model-- over the past several years. All the low reviews you are reading here are true: twenty-five seconds to turn the TV on; ten seconds to change from one channel to another; no programming guide (for digital over the air broadcasts); no freeze button (a feature I love on my earlier Vizios—useful for holding the 5 day weather forecast or a phone number on screen); picture is too dark.
Vizio did a good job building brand loyalty with its customers with its earlier quality TVs at very good prices but now it has decided to make a quick buck off of that loyalty by putting out this piece of junk. I can no longer buy the Vizio brand with confidence. I will now have to be suspicious of their products, confirm features in the store beforehand, and compare Vizio against other brands—that’s if I ever buy another Vizio again. Yes, I’m angry and will be returning these TVs. What a hassle.
"
Review 22 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 5, 2012

Do Not Buy - Junk

Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: sound picture
Model Number: E320VA
"I have had all the same problems that everyone else has had - sound adjusting itself, tv turning itself off, losing cable signal, etc. I regret ever having purchased this tv. It is after the warranty period, so I am stuck with this junk. I will take it to the dump in the spring for recycling. The only thing it is good for. Vizio's products are off my list!"
Review 23 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tigard, OR
Date:January 25, 2011

Stay away!

Pros: looks nice
Cons: looks can be decieving!
Model Number: 320
"I thought I was losing my mind, this TV was going up and down in volume. When I tried to adjust the volume the remote was slow to respond. Then I'd be watching and for no reason the TV would turn off and back on all by itself! I thought I was losing my mind until I just happened to read one of the reviews and found out the exact same thing happened to another purchaser. I'm packing up my TV and returning it to Costco tomorrow. Thanks for the REVIEW, I've got my sanity back!"
Review 24 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redford, Mi
Date:February 26, 2012

Move Along, Nothing to See Here!

Pros: picture quality acceptable
Cons: tuner lag slow, audio terrible, remote is cheap
Model Number: VIZIO E320VA 32”
"Wow! What a disappointment! I owned a previous Vizio 32" model for 5 years with no issues until the video went out. Looking for a comparable replacement, this looked like it fit the bill - WRONG.
Sound is tinny and lacking bass. Also the sound would drop out every now and then. The remote was cheap and incomplete. The tuner's channel switching lag is unbearable.
This TV's feature-set does not even come close to the low end Vizio VX32L from 5 years ago."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DFW, TX
Date:February 19, 2012

Pass on the Vizio TV line

Pros: decent picture, decent price
Cons: too loud, bright nightlight, miniature remote
Model Number: E321ME
"I purchased this set for a bedroom so this review pertains to bedroom use. It would get a little better review if I used it in the family room.
Sound is absolutely too loud. I have tried every possible setting. I listen to TV at the 1 or 2 volume setting. I have no idea how high it goes as anything over 10 can be heard all over the house. This is not appropriate for a bedroom setting. I have tried to tape over the speakers to quiet the volume but haven't been able to accomplish this yet. (Check other reviews as this is a very common complaint about this brand.)
There is a bright night light on the set which cannot be turned off. So if you don't like blue neon in your bedroom, try some black electrical tape over the light. (Again, check other reviews as this is a common complaint about this brand.)
The remote has such small buttons that you need to have fingers the size of a pre-teens to select a specific channel. Channel up and down is okay but punching in a specific channel is almost impossible. Maybe it is just me and my big fingers but the remote is next to worthless. I have even considered purchasing a generic remote to replace the factory issue.
If I were shopping for a TV and knowing what I know, I would definitely NOT consider this brand as this set has so many negatives that far over ride the fairly decent picture and price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2012

Not worth your time.

Pros: cheap
Cons: bad video, horrible sound, slow power-cycle&channel change
"This television is very disappointing. The sound is very bad, even after a great deal of tweaking. The picture is too dark, and your control of the video settings changes strangely based on other settings. The remote's button response feels cheap.
Overall, a customer would be far better off with purchasing an equivalent Samsung for around ten to twenty percent more than this price."
Review 27 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:September 6, 2011

I HAVE TO PAY TO SHIP DEFECTIVE WARRANTY TV BACK?!

Pros: none!
Cons: vizio's customer service, vizios warranty return procedures, quality of product, slowness of tv turning on and channel changing, volume issues
Model Number: E320VA
"Well, we bought 2 of these in Dec. 2010 for Xmas for our kids. Thought about returning during first 3 months cause of the slowness of turning on and channel changing and the volume fluxuating issue! Only payed $285 @ piece for these so I decided they will do. So 9 months later I have a dead pixel and sleep timer probs on the one. Called Costco concierge service and they call Vizio. Didn't expect Vizio to be involved in the first of the two year warranty, for one. Was told by Costco employee first year was thru Costco! Secondly was asked to take photos of full front of tv and of the burnt out pixel and send them via a link they would e-mail me so their Head Tec could determine if pixel was fixable or if tv would be replaced! How ridiculus is that! Who the heck can look at photos of a tv, while on, and determine that?! Oh I get it, saving money by not sending out service tec! Had 2 send photos 3 different times cause they did not recieve, even though I got confirmation e-mail saying they did, or photos were in a format that an electronics manuf. could not retrieve! Ok! They finally agree that tv needs 2 be replaced. So I'm told there are 2 different returns, standard and advanced. Whoa, whats the difference? Standard return they mail you a box from Cal. then you pack up tv and then send it back. When they recieve it they ship you out a "PRE-CERTIFIED TV!" Whats that you ask? A tv that can not be sold as new, but supposedly is new!?!? Or the Advanced method in which you have to submit a credit card or bank card # for them to put a hold on the amount of the value of the tv. So if you bought a $2000 tv, they are gonna put a hold on that amount for about a month! Just keep that in mind. Then they ship you the "PRE-CERTIFIED TV" and then you have to pack the defective tv in that box and ship it back. When they recieve the tv they will then take the hold off your money. I did not like the idea of giving any card # 2 Vizio! So I choose standard return. Which means my daughter will be without a tv for 3-4 weeks. Then they proceed to tell me that they will pay 2 ship me new, I mean "PRE-CERTIFIED TV", but I have to pay 2 ship their defective one back 2 them!!! NO WAY!!! Plus the customer service guy has a smart alec attitude with me asking what I think would be a good return policy. So I told him I should be taking the bad TV 2 Costco and they should give me a new one from the 50 of them off the floor and that Cosco should return defective one back 2 Vizio, why the heck should I pay anything?!?! I told him instead of paying $40 bucks or so 2 ship it back, I shoulda spent that when I bought the TV and got a better brand! So I had 2 call Costco concierge and get a manager 2 call Vizio to correct that! In which he did, but that is their policy, you pay to ship their defective piece of junk back to them! Keep that in mind also if you consider buying a Vizio! Kudos 2 Costo, but 2 thumbs down 4 Vizio!!! Still waiting for box and cant wait to see this"RE-CERTIFIED TV!" Bought Vizio cause of price and the Made in USA claim, but I want a good quality TV. Shoulda payed a little more and bought a different brand. Cant wait 4 the other one we bought 2 start having issues! I'm sure it will be soon, I would put money on it! By the way, I had warranty issue with an LG plasma b4 and they sent tech out 2 my house and once they deemed tv unfixable they gave me a certificate 2 take broken tv 2 store and get new one! So much easier and much better customer service! And no $ out of my pocket! So, bottom line, DONT BUY VIZIO!!! If you do, GOOD LUCK!!!"
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 13, 2012
Pros: ok picture
Cons: lousy sound, can't turn off lighted vizio logo
Model Number: E320VA
"Lousy sound. VIZIO logo lights up the bedroom at night."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Date:November 13, 2010

Vizio 32" TV

Pros: good picture and sound
Cons: slow to turn on and change channels
Model Number: Vizio 32" 720P HD
"20 seconds to turn on, 10 seconds to change channels. Finally figured out how to keep the volume from going up and down. Good picture quality and sound. The delays drive me crazy when I channel surf, so I am returning it for a Samsung."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Waterbury, CT
Date:December 14, 2010

Figured out the sound issues

"I purchased this tv as a gift for my parents, after 2 days there were issues with the sound, up and down as well as garbled when you first turn the station. Thinking it was their cable service the repair man changed the boxes, twice, and then finally checked the HDMI outputs, bingo... The tv was fine when you used the colored connectors, but all 4 HDMIs were bad... bringing it back tomorrow, I am torn about exchanging or getting another model...."
Review 31 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:January 1, 2011

Underwhelming TV

Pros: convienent packaging., lower price than competing brands.
Cons: weak tinny sound., weak remote control.
Model Number: E320VA
"I got this 32" Vizio TV to replace the old school 27" CRT TV but after a week of using the new Vizio TV I ended up wanting a better TV than the Vizio. The low price and the easy to open packaging are the only two positive attributes I can say about this TV. The placement of the coaxial cable input and component cable input are in a awkward upside down position, therefore it took awhile to get the coaxial cable in. Picture was decent, though some minor tweaking was needed for the picture to look right in the living room. The TV doesn't seem to respond to the remote control even from ten feet away, especially with fresh AAA batteries. The weak tinny internal speakers is a major annoyance, turning off TruSurround, TruSound or manually adjusting the equalizer did little to improve the sound quality of the Vizio. The Vizio TV isn't something that I want to keep using for the next 5-10 years so I returned it for a vastly better quality Samsung 32" TV."
Review 32 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2010

Disappointed with the sound

"I have a 42 inch Vizio 1080p 120hz currently in my bedroom which I love, the picture is true life like and sound quality is excellent. I thought buying any Vizio would be the same thing how wrong I was. As others have stated the sound is terrible, it get's very loud on commercials, and then soft on the tv programs so you are constantly adjusting the sound. The picture quality is good, but on some programs the picture gets distorted and stretched out. I am so disappointed because I paid my cable company to install it. I am taking it back and getting the Samsung. Costco's return policy is great which is why I buy most of my electronics there."
Review 33 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ventura
Date:July 27, 2010

Disappointed

Pros: cheap price, easy set up
Cons: wandering volume level, poor picture quality, some functions in the menus can't be accessed.
Model Number: E32vu
"After buying a Vizo 55" for our front room and being very pleased, we picked this one up for the bed room. The price, set up and loos are good but performance is a disappointment.
The picture hardly looks like HD, and skin and scenes seem to have too much of a murky yellow/orange tint. No amount of fiddling could make it look good.
Also, unless you switch off the "truvolume" thingy, sound volume seems to wander up and down from quite loud to too low. Constantly need to fiddle with the volume control. I think Vizio missed the boat with this one.
We're thinking of returning it for the similarly priced Panasonic we saw there"
Review 34 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:November 27, 2010

Great picture/audio problems

Pros: great picture
Cons: audio problems
"I purchased this TV for my bedroom and was very pleased with the picture quality, but immediately noticed that there was an issue with the volume. The volume would go up considerably during commercials and back down during the programing. There is a setting which can be turned on to prevent this, but it does not work. I also purchased another larger Vizio LED 42" for my living room and the sound went out completely after 2 weeks and returned both of them for a set of Panasonics. Vizio, you have great looking TV's, but pay more attention to quality!"
Review 35 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West Bloomfield, MI
Date:December 9, 2010

Buyer Beware

Model Number: e320va
"I should have listened to the reviews here, they are all accurate about the sound, slow start up and even picture adjustment problems (cant get to tint and contrast in their crazy menu). Plus the hook ups are few and in bad places.
I will be returning this tv.
"
Review 36 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clinton Township, MI
Date:February 9, 2012

Come on, Vizio!

Pros: price, remote
Cons: needs a lot of manual adjustment, lighted logo, a bit thick to hang on the wall
"The TV itself is not bad for the price. Ok picture and decent sound compared to other 32" flat panels. But the lighted VIZIO logo that NEVER shuts off? Come on, VIZIO - what were you thinking? I bought the TV for my bedroom, and it was like having a neon sign glaring all night. The light DIMS when the TV is off, but is never completely off. That's just poor design. Needless to say, I returned it."
Review 37 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:December 12, 2010

HD? Not even close

Model Number: VO320E
"Yes, they can claim it is HD. They can spec that. Picture is really on the level of my non-HD DVR. Think twice about it, as you will have to live with it until you replace it. I will be doing that as soon as money permits."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 4, 2011

too bad

Pros: picture styling
Cons: kept shutting itself off
"Had high hopes but it went back today. Good picture, goodlooking tv, did not have problems with the sound but every time you would pause, ff, rw, the dvr the tv would power cycle. I have 2 other brands of tv's on the same style dvr's and they didn't do it. Called vizio and they sent me a firmware upgrade swearing it would fix it. Nope. So back to the store it went to be replaced, and that's too bad."
Review 39 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Socal, OC
Date:August 14, 2010

Could have been great.

Pros: its a vizio
Cons: sound issues are frequent., hit or miss if you will have sound issues., sound is a known problem with vizio.
"I have a 44" Vizio and it is a very nice TV. So naturally I bought this model for my office. Picture was good but the sound wasn't always the best. Sometimes during commercials the TV would shoot up real loud and when trying to hit buttons on remote to turn it back down the unit would shut off.
Another issue I had was the hdmi ports were all on the left side. Not exactly a clean look if you ask me unless you invest in some right angle cords. I use Rocketfish and Monster cables and they don't exactly bend enough to be out of view.
Also the TV seems slow, when turning on I swear its a whole 5 - 10 secs. Literally have to wait on it. Dont get me wrong Vizio makes amazing TV's just not in this one I'm afraid. I returned for a Samsung 32" which is a world apart from this one with smooth volume and other features. Do yourself a favor and spend the few bucks more, trust me you'll end up returning this TV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:January 21, 2011

Not so good

Pros: decent picture quality
Cons: inconsistent sound, picture seemed to dark
"I bought this TV purely on the low price. After setup and using about a week, I concluded that I wasn't happy with the inconsistent sound and the size and brightness of the screen. Returned it with intentions to spend more for a better, larger TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>