Customer Reviews for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1366 x 768 Brightness: 450 nits Response Time: 8ms
Average Customer Rating:
2.937 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 91
(out of 95 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
17
1 star
28
49 of 95(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Review 21 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:November 12, 2010

Sound problem fixed!!

Model Number: 320VA
"I just purchased a 32" Vizio...great picture and lousy sound. But read Lubelle's suggestion that the 'automatic sound adjuster' be turned off through menu, and it worked!! I left surround sound on, although it was suggested it should be turned off, too. So far, so good and now I'm thrilled with my TV. Sound is now normal."
Review 22 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Date:November 13, 2010

Vizio 32" TV

Pros: good picture and sound
Cons: slow to turn on and change channels
Model Number: Vizio 32" 720P HD
"20 seconds to turn on, 10 seconds to change channels. Finally figured out how to keep the volume from going up and down. Good picture quality and sound. The delays drive me crazy when I channel surf, so I am returning it for a Samsung."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toms River, NJ
Date:November 15, 2010

Terrific company

Pros: a bargain!
Cons: none yet!
Model Number: Vizio 32" 720p
"While looking for a new bedroom tv, I decided to check out the reviews on this Vizio 32" and I was shocked. My sons each bought one for their rooms and we have one in the den. They all work and sound great! It is a great deal for the money and sound and work just like my expensive Sony. Commercials come on louder on every tv it seems and channels are slower to change on digital tvs in general. Have had no problems for 2-3 years now...knock wood!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Covina, CA
Date:November 21, 2010

Pay a little more, its worth it!

Pros: price
Cons: picture sound delays
"This TV is priced low but the quality isn't all there. This is one of the slowest TV's I have ever owned. It's like an old car, you have to wait for it to warm up. And just wait until you start changing the channels. I had trouble getting a clear picture. The setting where to dark. I changed the colors on it but it was still difficult to get a good picture. The sound is OK after turning off the TrueVolume on it. I will be taking it back and getting another brand. But to be fair this is the first VIZO TV i have issues with. I do own 3 other Vizo and I have nothing but good thing to say about them. This one is another story."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:November 26, 2010

Good with a Cable HD Box

"We bought one of these at Costco recently. It is in our bedroom and connected to a cable HD box. Since the TV stays on Ch 3, we have no problem with channel changing. The sound is louder during commercials, but we will try the solution recommended in another review. It is a good TV for the price. If you want something better, you'll have to pay more, For the price, it's a good TV."
Review 26 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 26, 2010

Know what you want in a HDTV

Pros: picture quality, good price, easy setup, 4 hdmi hookups
Cons: horrible sound, limited menu options
"I read all the reviews but compared to my old 1997 tv in the office, I knew anything was an upgrade. Since this was not my primary television for watching cable and movies, I was looking for something with a good picture to play video games. The picture is nice, but the sound is horrible. Just think of the sound on your computer monitor and there you have it. You must have an audio alternative to purchase this. It does come with one optical connection for audio but most folks that savy are looking for higher end televisions."
Review 27 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clackamas, OR
Date:November 27, 2010

Poor/inconsistent sound

Cons: audio!
Model Number: E320VA
"Alas, while picture quality seems great and set up was easy, I find that sound stinks (even after following advice of others writing reviews of changing settings)!! In addition, channel changing takes forever! Have just ordered the Hanspree model and will return this "turkey" once Hanspree arrives!"
Review 28 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mesa, Arizona
Date:November 27, 2010

For the Price a Very Good TV

Pros: great picture, not bad sound
Cons: slow channel changing
Model Number: Zizio 32"
"I noticed that some people complained about the sound. I brought back one because I thought the TruSound was not working. Found out when it is "Off" it works! When I got the second one it did the same thing, so I knew it wasn't the TV..or me. I think the sound is great for coming out of a TV. Picture is very clear and looks almost as good the 1080i that I get on my Toshiba. I had a Westinghouse TV that I replaced..that was a piece of junk! Also people complaining about delay time coming on and between stations. You can thank the Government for that one, wanting to go to total Digital TV. Come on people, are we that impatient that we can't wait 20 Seconds for a channel to change! I have all of my TV's on just an Antenna and I have no problems getting stations 85 miles away. I would not have a problem recommending this TV to anyone. I can see why it is the #1 Rated TV."
Review 29 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:November 27, 2010

Great picture/audio problems

Pros: great picture
Cons: audio problems
"I purchased this TV for my bedroom and was very pleased with the picture quality, but immediately noticed that there was an issue with the volume. The volume would go up considerably during commercials and back down during the programing. There is a setting which can be turned on to prevent this, but it does not work. I also purchased another larger Vizio LED 42" for my living room and the sound went out completely after 2 weeks and returned both of them for a set of Panasonics. Vizio, you have great looking TV's, but pay more attention to quality!"
Review 30 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:December 6, 2010

Not Impressed

Pros: none
Cons: volume issues, picture issues
Model Number: E320VA
"I purchases this TV for our bedroom after having excellent luck with a 42 inch VIZO for the last 4 years. Everything the reviewers tell you is true. The volume never stays the same and goes up and down by itself. The factory picture settings are all too dark - even at night in the winter. The colors are very green biased. I am returning it and will try the Hanspree from the onlinse site that everyone is raving about. Thank-you Costco for your wonderful return program. It's why I buy here."
Review 31 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Merced, CA
Date:December 9, 2010

Nice TV for the money

Pros: price, picture, sound, remote
Cons: sound, slow to turn on
Model Number: E320VA
"This TV was purchased for the kids game room. I originally bought the Westinghouse LED LCD TV at Costco and I took it back because I was not at all happy with that unit. So far I am happy with this one. The picture quality is pretty good, I can actually hear it, and it has a nice remote. I turned off all the auto sound stuff everyone is complaining about and that is fine now. I have the TV hooked up to an HDMI connection and I never plan on using the tuner so that is not an issue. It is a little slow to turn on - but I don't consider that a big issue. Most of the negative reviews are about this TV not meeting expectations - I can say that this TV is miles ahead of the Westinghouse and for under $300 I am VERY HAPPY!"
Review 32 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West Bloomfield, MI
Date:December 9, 2010

Buyer Beware

Model Number: e320va
"I should have listened to the reviews here, they are all accurate about the sound, slow start up and even picture adjustment problems (cant get to tint and contrast in their crazy menu). Plus the hook ups are few and in bad places.
I will be returning this tv.
"
Review 33 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:December 12, 2010

HD? Not even close

Model Number: VO320E
"Yes, they can claim it is HD. They can spec that. Picture is really on the level of my non-HD DVR. Think twice about it, as you will have to live with it until you replace it. I will be doing that as soon as money permits."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 14, 2010

VIZIO missed the mark completely

Pros: decent picture for the price
Cons: terrible ten second sound delay when changing chan, has choppy sound when using hd converter
Model Number: E320VA
"If I could have given this one a half star I would have. Terrible TV, there is a terrible ten second sound delay when changing channels using the cable line right out of the wall. It also has difficulty hearing programming through a Comcast HD converter or DVR, the sound come out choppy then eventually drops out. Take my advice, do not buy the 720p and expect it to be great quality. Spend the extra $100 and by a 1080P."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Waterbury, CT
Date:December 14, 2010

Figured out the sound issues

"I purchased this tv as a gift for my parents, after 2 days there were issues with the sound, up and down as well as garbled when you first turn the station. Thinking it was their cable service the repair man changed the boxes, twice, and then finally checked the HDMI outputs, bingo... The tv was fine when you used the colored connectors, but all 4 HDMIs were bad... bringing it back tomorrow, I am torn about exchanging or getting another model...."
Review 36 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midlothian, VA
Date:December 15, 2010

Good TV for price

Pros: price
Cons: slow to turn on and change channels
Model Number: E320VA
"I was looking for a cheap 32" LCD TV for my office. Found this one at Costco for $270. I have had none of the problems in the other reviews. I ended up turning off the TruSurround and TruVolume. The sound wasn't objectionable, I just like it better off. The channel changing is a little slow, but is it that much slower than comparable TVs? I have FiOS so unless I am using the antenna, channel changing is done with the their tuner. For $270, I would buy it again. For $330 or more, I might look around at a Samsung or LG."
Review 37 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010

Solid TV

"Ok i dont know why people are complaining about this solid tv. Here's my Review
1.Easy but long Set up. The channel scanning once u start setting it up takes around 10-20 min.
2.Solid Frame and does not wobble on the stand.
3. I had problems with the unit restarting and was so close to returning it. ALTHOUGH, i realized that i had my hd cable box on 1080p instead of 720p and it has NEVER had the same problem again. i even had it on for about 6 hours just to make sure.
4. Some of the settings aren't accessible BECAUSE u have to read the manual...Some settings are only available when you change others. or put it on "Custom"
5. I always switch from my cable box to my computer and vice versa with my HDMI cable and never had sound problems.
and i have it always on tru HD sound. when i use the other setting it sounds flat. the TRUHD setting gives it full nice sound. and its really loud and clear.
idk what everyones complaining about, maybe i got lucky, or maybe they just dont read there manuals. but either way if u have some problems just try to mess around a bit, im sure you will solve it.
i had trouble with taking off the Closed captioning on it, but my cable box just had the option right there.
so far ive owned this unit for close to 2-3 weeks and everyone i show it too is stunned and happy. i love my unit."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Keller TX
Date:December 18, 2010

I like this product

Model Number: VIZO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
"I wanted an economical 32" LCD TV for the master bedroom. I bought this one and at first experienced the wide sound volume changes that others have reported. This was especially true for many commercials. Here is how I solved that problem. I turned off the TruSurround and TruVolume. I don't find the resulting sound quality a bit objectionable.
The channel changing is a little slow when using a cable input (no box), but I have FiOS and so channel changing is done with the their tuner and it is instant.
The picture quality is excellent and I'm a happy customer so far."
Review 39 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Calhoun NE
Date:December 28, 2010

Horrific Sound

Cons: horrific sound, slow to start, slow to change channel, remote did not function well
"This one is going back to the store. THe sound is horrific no matter what setting you put it on. I tried it HD non HD and all the settings in the menu every which way. Believe me I tried my hardest to get better sound, because I did not want to have to pack it back up and lug it back to the store.which is not good for a bad back. But off I go!!
Our Costco has it for $289 - now I know why. There is also a long delay when you turn it on or change the channel and the remote would only work some of the time. bad bad bad
"
Review 40 for VIZIO 32" 720p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 31, 2010

Shame on Vizio

Pros: none
Cons: twenty-five seconds to turn the tv on, ten seconds to change from one channel to another, no programming guide, no freeze button, picture is too dark
Model Number: E320VA
"Shame on Vizio for putting this terrible TV on the market. I regrettably bought two of these TVs for Christmas presents for my kids for their rooms, choosing Vizio because of my satisfaction with three prior Vizio TVs I had purchased from Costco-- including a 32" Vizio like this model-- over the past several years. All the low reviews you are reading here are true: twenty-five seconds to turn the TV on; ten seconds to change from one channel to another; no programming guide (for digital over the air broadcasts); no freeze button (a feature I love on my earlier Vizios—useful for holding the 5 day weather forecast or a phone number on screen); picture is too dark.
Vizio did a good job building brand loyalty with its customers with its earlier quality TVs at very good prices but now it has decided to make a quick buck off of that loyalty by putting out this piece of junk. I can no longer buy the Vizio brand with confidence. I will now have to be suspicious of their products, confirm features in the store beforehand, and compare Vizio against other brands—that’s if I ever buy another Vizio again. Yes, I’m angry and will be returning these TVs. What a hassle.
"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>