Customer Reviews for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle

802.11a/b/g & 802.11n draft 2.0 For use with: Samsung TV's & Blu-ray Players
Average Customer Rating:
4.16 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
(out of 125 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
10
90 of 107(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Review 1 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:virginia
Date:May 4, 2010

samsung linkstick

Pros: its so easy to do it took me 10 minutes
Cons: none
"This was so easy to do I could not belive it. Just go 1st to your wireless router and and write down the numbers on the side of the router,1 st it will ask witch router do you have and you check it off, then the router pass would. Thats all you have to do,"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BFL, CA
Date:June 23, 2010

Connects - doesn't provide content

Pros: wireless now, eliminate 1 hdmi
Cons: only eliminates 1 hdmi
Model Number: Samsung 2010 Wi-Fi USB dongle
"This device works very well. I use it to connect my Samsung BD and my 55" LED Samsung. Don't think the dongle adds content; your Samsung BD player does that., but the BD player has to be CONNECTED somehow. I just happen to like less clutter and I happen to LOVE Netflix streaming content (go online and set up your instant que, and then have at it with the Samsung). So the dongle only allows a wireless connection and eliminates yet another HDMI cable. My criticism? In the future probably most BD players will have internal wireless connectivity, as will most TVs, but for now we have to pay extra for this feature. And consider a good HDMI can run $40 or more"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:May 20, 2010

Just not that impressed!

Pros: easy to setup, nice angle conversion
Cons: doesn't add much value to the player, netflix blockbuster and pandora just not worth it
"It went on in a jiffy - like other reviewers said.. it was a snap to set up... I loved the 90 degree angle connector.... But it does NOTHING!
Yes - you can get YouTube - or NetFlix or Blockbuster, but who cares??
Neither NetFlix had any video worth downloading - I started a new account with NetFlix and the only movie worth anything (and new release) was MOON!!!
Forget about Blockbuster - they're just offering OLD TV shows!
Okay - YouTube is OK!!! But it gets very tedious quickly.
Pandora - decent...
Now, if anyone is getting this, they already have a router and an Internet connection. Piping Internet Radio is less than half a step away with anything they have in the home, ipod or anything similar.
The only reason you need this is to activate the BD Live function for Blu Ray discs.
I just don't think it's worth the money to buy this to get the NetFlix or Pandora."
5 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Texas
Date:September 5, 2010

Worked After Software Upgrades to BD-C5900 Blu-ray

Pros: it works!
Cons: could not use the supplied right-angle adapter.
Model Number: WIS09ABGNX/XAA
"Samsung 2010 LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle Model WIS09ABGNX/XAA worked after a Software Upgrade to my Samsung BD-C5900 Blu-ray Player. I bought it primarily to get Netflix HD movies, and it works just as well with my D-Link Router in 802.11n wireless mode as it did with an ethernet cable to the same router. No more tripping over the ethernet cable! I did have one slight problem, it came with a right-angle adapter to keep it from sticking out so far from the back of the Blu-ray player, but I had to plug it in directly (without the right-angle adapter) to get it to work consistently. I think it would have worked if the right-angle adapter had allowed for it to angle up instead of horizontally (which happened to be away from the router location and hidden behind all the cables attached to the Blu-ray player)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central Oregon
Date:February 4, 2011

Good performance after brutal setup process

Pros: strong signal
Cons: horrible documentation, may not work with "supported" routers
"The good news is this WiFi dongle has excellent range: it picked up my neighbor's WiFi network over 50 feet away. The bad news is that it is somewhat flimsy, not compatible with some routers it is purported to be compatible with and ill-supported by Samsung's horribly deficient documentation (which is written in very poorly translated pig-English in critical sections that deal with Internet-TV setup). When I first pulled the protective end cap off the LinkStick to expose the USB connector, the entire assembly came apart, exposing also the PCB board. That said, I could easily push the assembly back together, and no apparent damage was done.
I tried over the course of six hours to get it to work with my Cisco LinkSys WRT54G2V1 wireless router, a G-protocol unit which, according to Samsung, the LinkStick was compatible with. Even with the router placed less than 6 inches away from the LinkStick (plugged into my Samsung UN46C6400RF HDTV), the LinkStick could not "see" the WRT54G2V1 wireless router to connect to it. Multiple live-chat sessions with Samsung were fruitless; the Samsung agents directed me to reset my TV by holding down the Exit button on the remote control unit for over 30 seconds, but that did nothing but wipe out all my menu settings. Perhaps the problem was an incompatibility with encrpytion for the router, as I have a firewall.
Fed up, I bought a new Cisco LinkSys E3000 dual-band N-protocol wireless router. The LinkStick could not connect to it using Auto Setup mode. I navigated to Setup -> Network Settings, and the LinkStick found the E3000. With the router upstairs and the TV/LinkStick downstairs and about 12 feet away, I was getting 4 or 5 bars of signal strength at the TV via the LinkStick (out of a possible 5 bars).
Setting up my Samsung Internet@TV account was simple, but getting Netflix to work was not. Clicking on Netflix in Samsung Apps did absolutely nothing. Again, Samsung's Live Chat agent was totally clueless, having no idea how to fix the issue. I called Netflix, and their excellent agent immediately identified the problem: I had to power-cycling the TV to get it to download a software update (which it apparently would not do until I had my WiFi network connected to the TV and my Internet@TV account set up). It's ironic that I had to ask Netflix how to set up my Samsung TV and Samsung had no clue that a software update needed to be downloaded. Once I power-cycled the TV, the software automatically downloaded. Clicking on Netflix produced an access code which then allowed me to access my subscription.
One other thing: make sure your modem supports DOCSIS 3.0 protocol. Earlier DOCSIS versions don't support channel bonding and will probably not give you sufficient bandwidth for streaming video smoothly during peak hours of use such as on weekends. This is a commonly misunderstood reason why people complain unfairly about Netflix video-streaming quality; an outdated modem is often the issue.
My initial HD video-streaming experience was great. The LinkStick has been working great since I finally got it to work last night. At this early stage, it seems to be an excellent solution for WiFi access to the Internet. But getting to that point was like pulling teeth. YMMV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010

Just works

Pros: easy to install
Cons: price
"Plug it in and it works. It is very useful for Samsung ultra slim LED LCD HDTV sold at COSTCO."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 24, 2011

Works as promised.

Pros: fast wi-fi streaming
Cons: none
Model Number: WIS09ABGN
"If you follow the instructions given at the Samsung website on how to set up your computer & TV to work together, this adaptor works great without any glitches. After software updates, the TV may need to be turned off & back on first. This unit works more smoothly than those from most other brands, including Sony."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Denver Colorado
Date:August 26, 2010

Easy to Use

"We are using it with Samsung 6400 LED TV and it's been working great. It was easy to set up following the TV user manual. Connection speed is as good as when we had LAN. Been using it to watch Netflex for over two weeks without any problems. Must wait a minute or so after turning on the TV for connection to work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:July 7, 2011

Costly add-on that locks you into inferior brand

Pros: can be placed higher than the player for reception
Cons: costly compared with all-in-1 player, only works with samsung players, useless if you get a player with wifi built-in, useless if you switch to another brand
"I used this with two Samsung players, and it worked okay. I had it connected via a USB extension cord, and clipped to a shelf behind the TV to improve reception. Mine included a 90° angle adapter that I never needed.
Unfortunately, the first Samsung player, BD1590C, was "bricked" (rendered unusable) by a properly applied firmware update, and Costco graciously took it back for a refund so I could buy a newer player. This is not uncommon for Samsung devices. I sold that new player on to others after discovering that Panasonic BD players had better features. I'm very happy with a Panasonic BDT210 now (which some site reviews claim has the fastest load time).
The issue to consider is that you can get a good player with Wi-Fi built-in, so why save X dollars on a cheaper player and then pay Y dollars or more for this dongle -- you could end up spending MORE. And... You can only use it with a basic Samsung player.
Duh. Just ante up and get a player that provides all you need, including Wi-Fi ... you'll probably get a better player in the bargain.
[Note: I have not used this with a TV. But I HAVE read widely about Samsung TVs shipping with faulty PC boards which Samsung refused to repair/replace.]"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mansfield, MA
Date:August 14, 2010

Worked After Software Upgrades

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: WIS09ABGN
"Streams very fast. If you have Belkin wireless router, upgrade Belkin firmware to latest available and also upgrade Samsung software. Used WEP button to configure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010

Regrets

Pros: nothing good about it
Cons: dead slow connection. stopped working
Model Number: WIS09ABGN
"Nothing but mere regrets to have bought it. There cant be a DeadSlower connection than what this linkstick can give. I checked on another adapter and it was ok. I did this to verify if there is a prob with my router. It stopped working now. Absolute trash of an adapter."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:July 28, 2010

Worked with no hassles

"This was very easy to set up, and has so far given me identical performance to my wired ethernet connection. I'm able to get HD with Netflix, and there is no stuttering or dropoffs. Though my bluray player is fairly far away from my router, it has a pretty good line of sight without many walls obstructing, so maybe this helps performance. Most of the time when people have trouble with this type of device, it has more to do with the router/ISP than the device itself. I'm very happy to be free of the wires."
Review 13 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Westford, MA
Date:February 21, 2011

Works Perfectly

Pros: works as advertised, videos work just fine
Cons: samsung menus and navigation
"Samsung's install instructions and navigation are a real pain. It's not really the fault of the dongle, but it's Samsung's horrible set up menus and navigation that's the problem. The dongle itself works great and had no problem communicating with my Linksys E3000 router once I stumbled through the set up. On the plus side, once I figured out the pattern to the set up, it went fast. Only about 10 minutes start to finish. Downloaded videos from Netflix work without a hitch."
Review 14 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 12, 2011

So far so good!

"Had it for over two months. It does what it's supposed to do. Netflix streams like a rocket! One thing to keep in mind - if you think your LinkStick doesn't work - check your router first! We got Belkin N600 at Cotso - what a piece of junk! Because of that router we alomost took our Samsung TV and the LinkStick back to Costco thinking something was wrong with them. The problem was the router. Bought Netgear 3700 - WOW! Everything is working beautifully! Never a problem!"
Review 15 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:November 3, 2010

Works like it's supposed to!

Pros: works great makes tv fun!
Cons: not really necessary if you have a computer!
"The device works as advertised. It is easy to connect. It recognized the wireless network right away. The password for the network and the MAC address of the device are case-sensitive. This almost tripped me up. The netflix stream, internet apps, multiple video rental streaming sites all works very well. It makes it fun to have the AP stream news on the bottom of the display, to keep up with the latest news while watching another show! Highly recommended."
Review 16 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:near Mulino, Oregon
Date:November 16, 2010

Probably a good dongle, but....

Model Number: WIS09ABGN
"I ordered this after looking at my Samsung Blu-Ray player's manual, (no help) BUT Costco's internet product data did not have the compatibility listing that appears on the back of the package. Bottom line was (requiring a check with Samsung's product service line) my player was not compatible and I had to return it. Thankfully I read the back on the package before I opened it."
Review 17 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 13, 2011

AWFUL

Cons: not plug and play
"Patience ....Patience ....Patience .. it took me 1.5 hours to get this thing going. I cannot beleive that such a reputable company like Samsung does not make a product simple to use. If you do not have the patience to wait, i suggest to buy something else.... Be prepare to try more than one thing and make sure to do it, after your yoga class... you will need it."
Review 18 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:November 10, 2010

Great Connection with Samsung LinkStick

Pros: good range easy installation
"I own 2 of these and have an excellent connection using the Linksys Cisco E3000 router with a Samsung Blu-Ray and Samsung 6400 tv. After connecting, I was immediately able to upgrade and could not be happier. Minimal technological knowledge is needed for setup; just read the manuals for your devices if having a bit of trouble."
Review 19 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2011

Easy set up

Pros: ease of application and price
"Download and sync was a breeze. I was apprehensive after reading some of the blogs who had difficulty with the unit sync-ing with their wireless router. It took all of 10 minutes and I was up and running Netflix via Blu-Ray. The price at Costco was attractive as well as it was considerably cheaper than other sources."
Review 20 for Samsung LinkStick™ Wi-Fi USB Dongle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:July 28, 2010

Does exactly what's it's supposed to do

Pros: easy installation
Cons: a bit pricey even at costco's discount
Model Number: Linkstick
"The complaints about speed and content are off base. That's an issue with your Samsung TV ... it's just not a fast media server.
I bought this to free up my wire Ethernet connection for use with my BD player. It's as fast as the wired connection"
1 2 next>>