Customer Reviews for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update

FREE SHIPPING Lifetime Traffic Alerts OneTouch Favorites Built-in AAA TourBook®
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 15(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Review 1 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ellicott City, MD
Date:August 19, 2010

Duh!

Pros: nice large screen!, a lot of features for the price
Cons: not sure yet if traffic info is automatic or not.
Model Number: 5045-MU
"Seems to work well - I've only used one time so far - although the "instruction manual" is a joke. Just wanted to tell all those brilliant reviewers out there who complain about the ads - first of all, the ads only appear occasionally. Secondly, how do you think you get lifetime free traffic? All GPS units from all manufacturers that have free traffic have ads - that's why the traffic is free!! Duh!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:August 17, 2010

Give it a chance

Pros: easy to use, voice prompts never need to look at the screen
Cons: need to download documentation
"If NEW Magellan users would give the Magellan products a chance they would be VERY happy. For instance one entery said "The ads are an annoying intrusion that cannot be turned off. " and he had had the product for less than 5 days. They CAN be turned off, JUST READ THE INSTRUCTIONS instead of assuming you know it already. They do so much you HAVE TO READ.
I have had a 1340 for almost 3 years and finding NEW stuff about it all the time. Great product, easy to use."
Review 3 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:August 17, 2010

Poor screen quality in sunlight

Model Number: Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0"
"Functionality is great but if you can't see the screen what good is it if you can't see the screen. Screen gets washed out in bright sunlight to the point you cannot make out detail. Put sunglasses on and it is totally unviewable. Good screen at pre dawn and at dusk."
Review 4 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna Hills, CA
Date:August 12, 2010

What's With The Commercial Ads?

Model Number: 5045-MU 5.0"
"Just got the GPS yesterday and i'm already annoyed with it. The ads are an annoying intrusion that cannot be turned off. I didn't bargain to be hustled by ads on the GPS. This should have been disclosed upfront. I won't go to the crabfest at Red Lobster because that's too much cholesterol. The product will be returned and i will switch to Garmin. That's why I'm giving the product a poor review."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest Washington
Date:August 10, 2010

WOW!

Pros: every feature you need for "guided travel", easy to read for those of us that need glasses mor, the "chime" just before the turn is perfectly timd
Model Number: Magellan 5045
"First of all Costco.com gets a 5 star as well. Fast, easy to use the site, great return policy and excellent products......I've used them several times and been pleased, every time.
I reviewed many, many models before I bought this one. I've had 2 Garmins, and a Tom Tom (currently using).
I was reluctant to pick the Magellan. While they got the whole thing going, they sort of fell out of the lead and hopefully are making a come back.
I haven't used this one much yet, but, so far I'm blown away by how it does everything you want a GPS for........if you can't be happy with this unit, you just can't be pleased.
I'll post more when I've given it more use, but, so far, I'm glad I picked this one and the price is unbelievable for what you get.
"
Review 6 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:August 9, 2010

Great model

Pros: good size screen, audio voice is not annoying
Cons: does not come with carrying case.
Model Number: 5045-MU
"You will need to download the PDF manuel off the support site. The one that comes with the units is a quick overview.
This is our 1st GPS unit and my wife and I are very happy with it. As we are AAA members the extra features are great!
The advertisements that you get due to the traffic notice are not an issue. This unit holds up to our expectations."
Review 7 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:aurora, Il
Date:August 8, 2010

5045 MU

Model Number: 5045-MU
"This is a very good GPS. I like the dinging for the turns it really helps at night. The other GPS that I had borrowed didn't let you know where to turn until you got there.
I also like the setup for one touch menu5045, i can add before I go."
Review 8 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Encino, CA
Date:August 7, 2010

Annoying factors

"I enjoy the real time traffic. I don't enjoy the ads they have in your face. What is this TV? An ad on a GPS. That's very annoying. Is that the built in AAA Tourbook? If it is, then thats just another sneaky way of them putting commercials in your car. Also annoying was a direct route to San Diego from Los Angeles. I405 to I5 then you are there. This little computer took us on a side route of a toll road which cost us 15 minutes and $5. Not the best route by any means. And annoying. More negatives than positives so far."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cenetrville, OH (near Dayton)
Date:August 6, 2010

Good Unit; Good directions; Good Price

Pros: audio cues for navigation, re-routes are fast and accurate, next turn information clear and concise, lane-assist well done
Cons: can't expand to european maps, user interface is less customizable
Model Number: Roadmate 5045-MU
"I'd rate this as a very good GPS navigator. It does the job very well and has a lot of nice usability features that make it much friendlier than the Garmin's I currently own (or have owned in the past - Nuvi 370 and Nuvi 650). As so many other reviewers of these devices state - either of them (Garmin or Magellan) do a reasonable job of getting you to where you want to go - in the end you'll either prefer the Garmin or the Magellan way of getting you there.
In my opinion, the Magellan is a bit more 'fool proof' in that respect (how it get's you there). The prompts for turns seem to be more timely, the 'bell' that gives the audio cue as to when to turn and which way to turn (ding-dong or dong-ding) is well done and appreciated by both me an my wife. The way the Magellan provides information on the 'next turn' seems more sensible than the Garmin, and just generally, I find that I make fewer mistakes interpreting the information on the screen from the Magellan vs. the Garmin.
One of the other key differences I've found between the two manufacturers are the 'customization' aspects of the user interface. They are definitely limited on the Magellan models vs. the Garmin: there is only one voice for the audio (just in case that matters to anyone). The audio is generally clear, but it is a bit more 'broken' with the text to speech than the Garmin models; in the end it does the job just fine. The unit also only has the basic 'triangle' to represent the car on the map vs. the Garmin allowing you to customize the vehicle. I find these things a fair compromise vs. what I consider the 'friendlier' navigation.
Overall I would definitely recommend this unit. it was a good buy and I'm very happy with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 6, 2010

Very Nice GPS

Pros: large 5" touchscreen, aaa tourbook, local traffic alerts, great for the price
Model Number: 5045-MU
"The magellan roadmate 5045-MU is very easy to use, and accurate in my area.
The sound reminders are helpful in heavy traffic, if they bother you, you can always turn it down or completely off. Each address in type in for a new trip is easy to save, and easy to find, the next time you take that trip.
AAA tourbook is a nice feature, if you are AAA member.
"
Review 11 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St Augustine Flordia
Date:August 4, 2010

Still woundering

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: 5045MU
"My model # is 5045 MU. The package contained the manual for the 5045. I had to download the manual. Second. The web site for Magellan is now not working. It is for sale. Next the holder is the wrong holder. It is for a narrower screen . It will not go full sideways without hitting the RV window. I need to recontact Magellan for the proper holder. Their service department is very helpful so that is as good thing."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:August 2, 2010

I Like It

Pros: 5' screen perfect size, qwerty keyboard for address input
Cons: screen gets washed out in bright sunlight, commercial messages appear across top of screen
Model Number: Roadmate 5045-MU
"Being 10 years newer, this model is better in every way than the Roadmate 2000 it replaced. I like the way it automatically recalculates when I miss a scheduled turn, as the old one announced "Recalculating Route!" in an annoying way. I also like the lane assist, which is very realistic to the signage above the freeway, making it easier to stay in the correct lane for the selected route. Touch screen works well, and address input screen has qwerty keyboard, which I like. Don't like or need the commercial messages which randomly appear across top of screen. Any way to turn these off?"
Review 13 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Freehold, New Jersey
Date:August 1, 2010
Model Number: 5045
"the bell feature for every turn by turn helps a lot most specially on night time driving. Tested the Lifetime traffic avoidance feature and was great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 25, 2010

This unit re-routes like others

"I would just like to correct the previous reviewer. All Magellan units reroute, but they don't make the annoying "recalculating route" announcement and do so immediately (unlike some others which can take forever to recalculate).
If you turn incorrectly, Magellan units immediately update the route based on where you are headed now. So the next prompt you hear/see is the updated route.
Magic? No. Smart? Yes."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Magellan® RoadMate® 5045-MU 5.0" Touchscreen with 1 Free Map Update
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:July 17, 2010

flaky because inaccurate

Pros: screen size weight
Cons: inaccurate, no rerouting
Model Number: 5045
"Wide screen, light weight, fast, nice logos (e.g. starbucks, pizza etc), multi-route planner.
BUT, inaccurate - does not know where you REALLY are. Keeps telling you to get back on street. Another major pitfall is , does not reroute , if you miss directions/exits et al.
I suppose Magellan lacks lot of useful Garmin things, what u say?"
2 of 18 people found this review helpful.