Customer Reviews for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)

Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)

Simply buy a qualifying Office 2010 product now, and then download your choice of the new Office 365 Home Premium (1-year subscription) or another qualifying version of Office when available – free. Three steps make it easy. 1. Buy and activate Office – Buy, install and activate a qualifying Office product between the offer eligibility dates (10/19/2012 – 4/30/2013) 2. Sign up for an email reminder – Go to www.office.com/offer and provide your email address to be notified when you can redeem your offer. 3. Download your new Office version, when available – After you receive your email notification, return to www.office.com/offer to download your new version of Office by 5/31/2013 *This item may be found at your local warehouse for a cash and carry price. With Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010, you and your kids can create great schoolwork and home projects from multi-page bibliographies to multimedia presentations. Capture ideas and set them apart with video-editing features and dynamic text effects. Then easily collaborate with classmates without being face-to-face thanks to new Web Apps tools. The results go well beyond expectations with a little inspiration, a lot of creativity and Office Home and Student 2010.   Enjoy flexibility —now you can easily post your Office documents online and access, share and edit them with Office Web Apps. It’s an ideal way to extend your Office 2010 experience to the Web.   Work together —brainstorm ideas, share notes and work on documents with others simultaneously thanks to the new co-authoring tool in Word, PowerPoint® and OneNote®.   Find it on new Backstage™ view —replaces the traditional File menu to give you one go-to spot to conveniently save, open and print documents. Customize the tab commands to fit your individual needs so you can navigate tasks effortlessly.   Programs you rely on —Microsoft® Office 2010 is an industry standard offering our latest, innovative tools to make your documents richer and more informative. Product Features:    Comes with disc and product key. For use on 3 PCs in 1 household   Includes 2010 versions of Word, Excel®, PowerPoint® and OneNote®.   Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 gives your family the tools to manage everything from home to homework.   Enjoy powerful writing tools, new spreadsheet graph and analysis features and dynamic presentation capabilities.   Edit and share videos right in PowerPoint—no need for additional software.   The new Microsoft® Office Backstage™ view replaces the traditional File menu found on previous versions of Microsoft Office, to make it easier to navigate tasks, as well as access and manage files. Included Programs/Top Features Enjoy the same great features you know and love with Office and get some new ones when you upgrade to Office 2010. Word 2010: School fundraisers and neighborhood events come together efficiently when you use Word 2010. Create documents using new photo-editing features, lively text effects, then easily share them online and invite others to collaborate. Get more new features with Word 2010:   Add impact to your document with new picture-editing tools.   Better illustrate your ideas with diagrams by turning bullet-point lists into compelling SmartArt® graphics.   Apply new formatting effects to your text such as shadow, bevel, glow and reflection.   Capture and insert screenshots directly into your document.   Communicate with ease in many languages with improved translation tools. Excel® 2010: Saving for retirement, changing homes, cutting expenses—all are important financial decisions. Excel® 2010 offers useful direction with simple templates to help you build budgets and track expenses so you can focus on financial goals. Get more new tools with Excel® 2010: Highlight data trends by creating data charts in a single cell with new Sparklines.   Find the right data quickly with new filter enhancement in PivotTable® views.   Analyze data quickly. Highlight specific data with new and improved Conditional Formatting options.   Display data in a dynamic and interactive way with PivotChart® views.   Spend less time sifting through data—use the new search filter to narrow down pertinent data to display. PowerPoint® 2010: Pressed for time on a major assignment? Get ideas down fast with ready-made templates, new photo- and video-editing features and eye-catching transitions all with Microsoft® PowerPoint® 2010. Get more new features including:    Embed and edit video files directly in your presentation.   Set videos to fade in and out and apply a variety of video styles and formats.   Broadcast your presentation online with new Broadcast Slide Show.   Captivate your audience with new transitions and improved animations.   Use slide sections to navigate, organize and print your presentation. OneNote® 2010: Gather a wealth of information and resources all in one spot with OneNote® 2010. Post, share and edit notes for group projects online so everyone can work at the same time with real-time updates. Get more new features with OneNote 2010:   Use quick filing to organize notebooks, ideal when you’re working on multiple projects.   Apply styles and formatting to selected text to another paragraph with the new Format Painter.   See results as you type with improved Search functionality and view a prioritized list of Search results.   Easily organize and jump between your notebooks with the improved notebook Navigation Bar.   Take notes while working in Word, PowerPoint or in Internet Explorer and automatically link them.   Limit 3 Per Order Looking to stay connected? Step up to Microsoft® Office Home and Business 2010 and you’ll get another helpful program—Outlook® 2010. Now you can access projects, people and plans wherever your work takes you. Use efficient new email, calendar and social networking tools to manage your world from your PC, mobile phone* or online*. System Requirements:    Computer and processor: 500 MHz or faster processor Memory: 256 MB RAM; 512 MB recommended for graphics features and certain advanced functionality.1 Hard disk: 3.0 GB available disk space Display: 1024x576 or higher resolution monitor Operating system: Windows XP with Service Pack (SP) 3 (32-bit operating system (OS) only) or Windows Vista with SP1, Windows 7, Windows Server 2003 R2 with MSXML 6.0, Windows Server 2008, or later 32- or 64-bit OS. Graphics: Graphics hardware acceleration requires a DirectX 9.0c graphics card with 64 MB or more video memory. Internet: Internet Explorer (IE) 6 or later, 32 bit browser only. IE7 or later required to receive broadcast presentations. Internet functionality requires an Internet connection. Multi-Touch: Multi-Touch features require Windows 7 and a touch enabled device. Inking: Certain inking features require Windows XP Tablet PC Edition or later. Speech: Speech recognition functionality requires a close-talk microphone and audio output device. Internet Fax: Internet Fax not available on Windows Vista Starter, Windows Vista Home Basic, or Windows Vista Home Premium IRM: Information Rights Management features require access to a Windows 2003 Server with SP1 or later running Windows Rights Management Services. LiveID: Certain online functionality requires a Windows LiveTM ID. Other: Product functionality and graphics may vary based on your system configuration.  Some features may require additional or advanced hardware or server connectivity; www.office.com/products. 1 2 GHz processor or faster and 1 GB RAM or more recommended for OneNote Audio Search. Close-talking microphone required. Audio Search not available in all languages. *An appropriate device, Internet connection and supported Internet Explorer, Firefox or Safari browser are required. Some mobile functionality requires Office Mobile 2010 which is not included the Office 2010 applications, suites or Web Apps. There are some differences between the features of the Office Web Apps, Office Mobile 2010 and the Office 2010 applications. Model:  79G-02144
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Review 1 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake City, Fl
Date:September 5, 2012

Improved

"Had 2002 Pro Version and Upgraded to 2010 Student. It is a great improvement and am very pleased with this version."
Review 2 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley
Date:February 1, 2011

Does not include OUTLOOK

"I didn't read the advertising closely enough. I had the "impression" that MS Outlook was part of this product. It wasn't. I returned it and purchased Office Home and Business. Great product. I upgraded from Office Professional 2003. What a difference 7 years makes!"
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az.
Date:June 30, 2010

office 2010

Model Number: office home & student 2010
"I liked it word has expanded feature and great templetes for form letters etc. It was easy to convert from other formats to word."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:May 31, 2011

Microsoft Office 2010 Student & Home

Cons: where's outlook? an app that a lot of people use!
"Seems to have very similar function to Excel, Word & PowerPoint as 2007. Good price compared to where these apps were priced before."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood WA
Date:June 19, 2010

Be Careful

"I loaded this onto my PC and it deleted an old version of Outlook that I used only as an address book (think it may have been from 2003). SInce Outlook is not included with this version of Office, I thought I was safe. Big mistake. Microsoft support tried to help but their help caused more problems and I never did get my old Outlook (and data) back."
19 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2010

Why change things just to be changing them?

"Why all the unnecessary changes? And what's with the new names? For example, I still haven't quite figured out what a "library" is. Heretofore I thought it was a building filled with books--not according to Office 2010.
I want things to be easier, not harder, but each time Microsoft updates Office, I have to learn an entirely new vocabulary. I also have figure out all over again how to accomplish what used to be simple tasks. And "Help" isn't always that helpful.
Maybe Microsoft should get the Dummies people to write their instructions. I'd like to be able to take advantage of all the wonderful new features--if only I knew how."
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 14, 2011

What you expect from Microsoft but.....

Pros: low cost to install on three computers
Cons: it is what you expect from microsoft
"The Home and Student 2010 software is pretty much what you expect from Microsoft, but it lacks e-mail, calendar and contacts and yes that is important to kids in school. I'm not asking for Outlook to be added for free, but a basic mail app would be appreciated. Yes there is Windows Live, no it is not a suitable app. It was thought up in a vacuum again. Does export in useful formats, doesn't import in useful formats, doesn't allow you to import just contacts or calendar events. But I digress since this is about Office."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:February 21, 2011

Great Purchase

"Great Purchase, the price was excellant.I ordered it and literally 1 1/2 days later I had it. This is so much cheaper than the store, and if any problems, Costco will help you out and you can return. I love it and use it daily and it works great"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 3, 2011

Good Buy

"This Family pack is the way to go it saved me a lot of money"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:October 28, 2011

Great Product, Great Price

"We purchased the software with the disk and are so happy with it. Our 18 year old daughter was away at school and installed everything on her own in minutes. EASY!
Also, as usual, Costco provided excellent customer service. Shipping was fast. We were notified very well of shipping time, receiving time, etc."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 12, 2011

Complete Software System

Pros: intuitive, capabilities beyond this users abilities
"Allows writing, spreadsheeting and building presentations in the most intuitive software I've ever used. This package came with 3 licenses for only pennies more than the single-license package, allowing me to put it on my wife's and our daugther's computers."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW, TX and hate living here
Date:November 25, 2011

Microsoft Office 2010, Student

Pros: good solid product with years of service
Cons: none come to mind
Model Number: Office 2010 Home & Student
"I added this to my computers several months ago. I replaced both Office 2003 & 2007. Everything went well and, unlike other people commenting here, I did not lose the Outlook 2003 that was running on all systems. It is running on both Vista and Windows 7 systems just fine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:March 22, 2011

Great price for the full product

Model Number: MS Office Home and Student
"The price was at least $20 less than any other retailer. Software worked just as I expected. I've had no issues. I love being able to install it on 3 computers or enter the key on a system with it pre-installed without a CD-ROM"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Piscataway, NJ
Date:August 13, 2010

Great Value!

Model Number: Home & Student 2010
"Have used this now for about a month. A big jump from 2002 word. A lot more features to pick from. Took a little to get used to. Better search for word documents.
Excel has alot more features than I'm used to. Still learning. Great product and value.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 10, 2010

Great value with 3 licenses

Pros: 3 licenses, easy to use, great value
Cons: outlook not included
"You get three (3) licenses at a lower price, so you can install it on 3 different PCs. Program in the suite are Word, Excel, Powerpoint and OneNote. I don't use OneNote (but plan to at some point), and rarely use PP, but I love Word and Excel. Excel in particular is great, with the 64-bit version supporting over 1 billion (that's right, with a "b") rows and millions of columns. Now I can use Excel for a Monte Carlo simulation project for my class. No need to buy expensive stats software. The ribbon interface takes some getting used to for old-timers but once you get the hang of it, it's great and you'll never go back. The new version is easy to use and rock-solid. Absolutely the best version. Another good thing is Word 2010 outputs neat HTML code vs. the messy one from earlier versions."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Microsoft® Office Home and Student 2010 (Traditional Disc)
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 1, 2010

MS Office Home & Student 2010 (disc)

Pros: good new updates to programs
Cons: installs new trial versions over olders ms office
"Once I started using it all was OK. But be VERY careful when installing, it will overwrite your older versions of any MS Office program not in included in the Suite, putting a "Trial" version on which will expire in 60 days! Then you will have to buy a newer version to continue using your program, I wanted to keep my Outlook 2003 (new outlook not included with this suite). I even tried to do a custom install in which I checked "do not remove these older programs, it did it anyway. I got it resolved with Microsoft Tech support (off shore!) but it took them over 4 hours to get it done. A BIG waste of time! BEWARE!"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.